We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #11 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersSilver level
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had a wonderful time at this all inclusive resort. Be sure to book the Royal Service. The bartender, Leonardo Mota was outstanding and was always happy to please! Our butler, Jose Salvadore made all our dinner reservations, complied with all of our snack/drink requests for our room and was geniunely concerned that we had fun and were comfortable! Ramon Cardero always saved us a lounge either at the pool or on the beach in the exact combination that we requested. All three of these gentlemen were outstanding and should be commended for their efforts! We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, General Manager at Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am glad to hear you have had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our services and that you appreciated the friendliness and dedication demonstrated by Ramon Cardero, Jose Salvador and Leonardo Mota. We are aware that is thanks to our great team that we can achieve our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests.

I am looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,066
    1,922
    627
    303
    264
See reviews for
2,994
4,261
125
619
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,989)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

While on vacation we met an exceptional chef! His name was Joan Forne! He was incrediable. We had some lobster, shrimp, and baked chicken that was prepared by him... I will never be able to match those meals anywhere. He was very professional when he came and presented. He is a beautiful person inside and out.
When visiting please find Joan for the best food on the resort.
The overall experience was wonderful too. All employees were very nice and fun.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, General Manager at Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review regarding your recent visit to our property. I am happy to know that you enjoyed our facilities and that your overall experience was a positive one.

I appreciate your compliments on the professionalism and dedication demonstrated by Joan Fortuna. He is a big asset of Paradisus Palma Real Resort.

Best regards,

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have just returned from a week long vacation in this beautiful resort. I must say that it is the most expensive resort that we have ever stayed in and not likely to return as it was a once in a lifetime vacation. The minute you walk into the lobby area you are blown away by the beauty.
Amazing beach -no merchants pressuring you to purchase goods unless you walk down the beach and then I caution you they are very aggressive and not so polite if you don't purchase. The activity staff was amazing in particular Famel Saldana,Wilfredo Flores, Francisco Reynoso and while we just met her for a short time Yubi. Every morning we ate in the buffet area and found a wonderful waiter "Edward Campusano". The Avenue Bar favorite server was Lucia she always made sure that we were very well taken care of! Franklin Delacruz while we didn't take part in the time share presentation you were most gracious and helped us with our reservation bookings and any other requests that we had. I must say that our favorite of all was Luis at the pool bar this gentleman is one of the resorts greatest assets...he greats you with a smile, entertains you with his voice and serves you a beer by bringing it to you on his head. There are only a couple of cons to this resort and one being it was hard to be understood by some of the staff both in the front desk area and some of the dining and lounge areas. Also the service in the lounge in the lobby area left a lot to be desired. Our friends and us ended up calling it the no service bar. Other than that everything was wonderful!

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor just off of the lobby area it was very quiet and close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tehya159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, General Manager at Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am glad to hear you have had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our overall services and that you appreciated the friendliness and dedication demonstrated by Franklin Delacruz, Yubi, Edward Campusano, Famel Saldana, Wilfredo Flores,and Francisco Reynoso. We are aware that is thanks to our great team that we can achieve our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. I also appreciate your observations regarding service in some of our areas, you may rest assure that an appropriate follow up will be given in order not to repeat this situations in the near future.

Best regards,

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We just returned from a wonderful vacation at the Paradisus Palma Real in Punta Cana. We enjoyed a stay last year and had such a good time, we booked again. There are three areas of the hotel: the main part of the hotel, the Reserve which is a separate building designed for families with its own pool, restaurants and beach, and the Royal Service area which has an up-charge for additional services and is for adults only. We booked the Royal Service. It offers butler service, separate check-in and check-out, a lounge with snacks, a dedicated concierge team, computer center, its own restaurant and access to all other restaurants at the resort except one which features a menu by a name chef that has a significant surcharge. It has its own beach and pool area as well. The manager, Maria Gil, was very attentive to our needs.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were immediately ushered to the Royal Service lounge where we were given bracelets which designated our access, introduced to our butler, Agustin Nunez, and given telephones to reach our butler directly. The check-in was seamless. We had rooms in the 2100 building. This building is closest to the beach and we prefer the second floor. There are no elevators and there are 3 floors. The second floor allowed us privacy without having to walk too many stairs. While we prefer having an ocean view, there is a significant up-charge and the garden views rooms were perfectly lovely.

Agustin was very attentive. He made sure our dinner reservations were made (something that can be a challenge given that the hotel has 1700 guests). He also arranged chairs and a palapa (thatched umbrella) for us at the beach. There were a few things that needed attention in the room (the curtains were off their track and our router didn’t work) and he took care of them immediately. They have recently put wireless routers in every room because internet access had been very spotty in the past. The routers made a very big difference. I still took my own travel router and that seemed to work better than the one supplied by the hotel. We could not get an internet signal at the beach and our Verizon phones could not access data either. (The manager of the hotel indicated that they know this is an issue and are working to remedy the situation).

Every day when we returned to the room after a day at the beach, he had prepared a bubble bath in the Jacuzzi decorated by rose petals. He also made sure that special foods we liked were waiting for us in the room. The bathrooms can be an issue since they are open directly to the room and there is no privacy. One aspect of Royal Service that needs to be upgraded is the quality of their towels.

For us, the beach is the primary asset of this hotel. The sand is pristine white and not hot. The Royal Service guests have their own quiet area, palapas and Bali beds. Every day, our beach attendant, Francisco Cabrera, had our chairs and palapa waiting. He is one of the hardest working staff members at the hotel. He made sure we had water, and any other drinks we might want. Their smoothies were a particular favorite. Francisco Gil also greeted us with a smile and was there for any requests.

There are many restaurants on the property. My husband needs to be on a special diet, he can have no dairy or beef. Last year, communicating this was a very big challenge because there can be a significant language barrier. This year, we contacted Maria Richardson and Jorge Mora in the management office before we arrived to make special arrangements. In every restaurant, they were made aware and ready to accommodate. We particularly liked Bana bistro, Vento and the Royal Service restaurant Palazzo.

We were there over New Year’s and the hotel arranged a wonderful experience. A large platform was put into the open air plaza in the center of the hotel, they had a great DJ and there were large count down screens, and fireworks to usher in the New Year.

After dinner we like to go into a casino. This casino needs significant improvement. This does not seem to be the fault of the Paradisus Palma Real Management. While the casino is on the specific hotel rounds, it is managed by Melia corporate. This hotel is beautiful with attention to every detail, however, the Casino is a disappointment. It is dingy, sparse and generally not inviting. Cigars are sold there and for us the smoke was an issue. Additionally, the black jack dealers were inexperienced and/or very quick to make mistakes in the hotel’s favor, paying incorrectly, taking money that should not have been taken, often before a hand was even finished! You had to watch the dealers like a hawk and that significantly affected our experience. The pit bosses were very attentive to when a dealer made a mistake in the house’s favor and didn’t seem to care if the players were paid correctly. In fact the dealers laughed and smiled as they said “sorry”.

The casino is not a reflection of the hotel in general and, overall, we had a wonderful time and would recommend the hotel highly.

Room Tip: For Royal Service guests, choose a room in the building closest to the beach and on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSNewYorkNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

If you love spas this is the place for you!!It is a dream.Upon walking in you will love it.A very natural and zen feel.I got a massage followed by a coffee and rice scrub with a body wrap.When I was done the attendant told me it was time for me to shower and remove the scrub.She opened these large curtains and a glass door that were in my massage room and there was a beautiful outdoor shower filled with plants and a shower head that look like a frog with water coming out its mouth.It was a dream!!I felt like a princess! I came here for work but brought my son and he had so much fun in the kids club.They had video games,large flat screen TV, and fed them lunch[whatever they wanted].The staff was so sweet.At the grill by the pool they would make my husband a steak with fried tostones even though it was not on the menu,but that's what he likes.We will come back and this time not for work.Remeber to go to the Spa you will love it!!This is coming from a person who always tries out every spa in hotel and resorts on my trips.

Room Tip: Go to the spa and check it out,you will be amazed!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelWithChrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, General Manager at Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate the time you have taken to write a review about your recent stay with us. As a service-oriented company, our goal is not only to fulfill, but also surpass our guests’ expectations; therefore we put our greatest interest into your opinion. It is a real pleasure for us to learn that we have achieved our goal.

I would like to thank you for your compliments on the great experience that you had in our Spa, this facility is one of our greatest attributes. I am glad to know that son had fun at our Kid Zone.
Our team will be more than glad to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed here in October for our wedding anniversary, and it was everything we hoped for. I am a hotel manager in the states, so we did extensive research before deciding on a place to stay. We actually stayed 2 nights in the city of Santo Domingo, and took a transfer with CocoTours (about a 2 hour drive, very good experience) to Punta Cana for 7 nights at The Resort. If you have the time and a sense of adventure, you should absolutely take this route to experience more of the culture. Just make sure you keep the windows rolled up during the transfer, or you will get bombarded with locals at every traffic light. DO NOT drive in this country unless you are experienced with not following traffic signals. We upgraded to Royal Service and an Ocean View Room at check-in, which gave us access to a different area of the resort (private pool, jacuzzis, additional dining options, private cabanas), and a private butler. Yohel was great! It was also an area comprised mostly of couples, whereas the main pools had larger parties, kids and noise- SO worth it if you are looking for a romantic time. The Reserve is just another section of the Resort, and it seemed to be more dedicated towards families. However the spa is located at The Reserve, so you just have to take a shuttle to get there. We felt as though we had known the staff for years. Miguel, the F&B Manager, took many times to speak with us, and we definitely miss Roy's Negroni's at the lobby bar! If you want classic cocktails, the main lobby bar (or whereever Roy is that night) is the place to go. We walked down the beach, and the water in front of the resort seemeed to be the calmest and was great for swimming. The beach was also guarded by resort security on each side, to prevent any local 'salesmen'. If you want to do excursions, we recommend booking them through the hotel VIP services, as they are from trusted sources. They do a different show every night of the week, and the performers are great. This country is on the cusp of becoming a well-known resort destination, so go while the prices are still low! We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the 1st floor. The climate can make it very humid. We had a 1st floor room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McWood84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, General Manager at Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to extend you my gratitude for selecting Paradisus Palma Real to celebrate your wedding anniversary, and for sharing the impressions of your recent stay. It is a pleasure for me to hear that you and your husband had a great experience with us.

I appreciate your compliments to our staff. We are aware that it is thanks to our great team that we can achieve our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests.
Our team will be more than glad to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Just the second you step into the amazing lobby of Paradisus Palma Real for the very first time is breathtaking.. an amazing marble avenue with the bluest ocean at the end.
Beautiful white sand beach with warm peaceful water.
Great restaurants, a bit of trouble reserving sometimes.. but definitely any option is fine!
Nice rooms, very warm people and good service.
Coming back for sure!

Room Tip: Not quite sure if Royal Service is needed... small private area and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael T, General Manager at Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate the time you have taken to write a review about your recent stay with us. As a service-oriented company, our goal is not only to fulfill, but also surpass our guests’ expectations; therefore we put our greatest interest into your opinion. It is a real pleasure for us to learn that we have achieved our goal.

I also would like to thank you for your observation regarding restaurant reservations. You may rest assured that appropriates measures will be taken in order to not repeat this situation in the near future.

I am looking forward to host your next stay at Paradisus Palma Real Resort.

Best regards,

Rafael Torres
Managing Director
Paradisus Resorts Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.0 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
2.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
6.0 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
17.0 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,764 reviews
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 554
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the epitome of resort elegance. Paradisus Palma Real Resort envelops you in privileged comfort and simply astonishing beauty. Discover crystal Caribbean waters, pristine beaches, towering palm trees, stunning gardens and magnificent architecture. Delight in sumptuous private Suites, championship golf, seven world-class international restaurants and stunning pools lined with exotic Bali beds. An all-encompassing paradise of grace, elegance and charm located 25 minutes from the Punta Cana International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Palma Real Hotel Punta Cana
Paradisus Palma Real Punta Cana
Paradisus Punta Cana
Paradisus Palma Real Resort
Punta Cana Paradisus
Paradisus Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing