We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel, had a great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
bishops stortford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel, had a great holiday”
Reviewed December 24, 2009

Dreams Punta Cana has everything! even I would consider the most fussy people would like it here.
The kids club is amazing, we have travelled a lot and this is far best we have seen.
There is always something to eat and of a high standard, we loved the Seaside grill which is the steakhouse restaurant and they do the most fab Rib-eye steak.
we upgraded to preffered services, which we found beneficial especially to get away, use the internet and sit with a lovely brandy watching the sun set.
Also we were fortunate enough to have the suite, with the jacuzzi on the balcony, which made our holiday, so much space, if you can afford it then go for it, it made our holilday:)
The Entertainment Team worked so hard and it was really fun to participate in the evening shows.
You really mustn't listen to all the negatives, you really must go.
We only arrived back today and I am missing it already...
It really is up to you to make up your mind, but like I say we have travelled a lot and prefer not to return to the same place twice, but I can honestly say that we haven't been to an All inclusive resort that gives you what this one does so this may be a first.
Well done Dreams! you did excellenteeeeeeee

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jimming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,803
    2,509
    984
    424
    287
See reviews for
4,393
3,906
114
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,853)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2009

Attention to detail was amazing, bars are great, staff is amazing and super friendly, explorer club was incredible

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g_famliy_of_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a friend's wedding in late December. First off, I highly recommend purchasing the travel vouchers to get you from the airport to the hotel. The hotel is about 1 hour away from the airport and it's a bit sketchy to jump in a cab.

Overall the resort is fairly nice for an all inclusive. The grounds are very large and it is a substantial walk from the lobby to the beach. The resort includes an Explorer area for kids, a casino, night club, entertainment stage, a few restaurants, a large pool. Drinks and food were good, the rooms were disgusting. If you are used to staying at name brand hotels (i.e. Marriott, Hilton, Hyatt, etc) you will be disappointed by the rooms. Our TV remote didn't work, our phone did not work properly, the alarm clock didn't work and the room had a very dirty feel to it. The best way to describe the place is it is a crusie ship (i.e. Carnival) on land. It has all the same features and feel of a Carnival cruise ship in the Carribbean.

Beyond that, the resort is in the middle of nowhere. Overall Dominican Republic is a third world country and there is not much to do at all beyond the hotel. This will be my first and last trip to the DR.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmbRJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, OH
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2009

This was our 7th time to the Dominican Republic and our first trip to Dreams Punta Cana. We have been to Dreams La Romana so we do have "dreams" comparison.

Check in: Went very quickly. Asked about an upgrade but decided not to purchase it due to price. They originally put us in a room with a double bed, but the front desk called to ask if we were sure about not doing the upgrade so we asked to be moved to a room with a king and they took care of it right away. We do not know if they intentionally gave us a double bed at first in the hopes we would pay $ to upgrade. I think that's probably a little cynical. We did have the opportunity to see an upgraded room and it was huge and had a hot tub.

Food: We are vegetarian, but certainly never went hungry. Even at the specialty restaurants the chefs were very accommodating and would find something without meat for us to eat if there was not an option on the menu. For the Japanese we recommend getting there early to reserve as they only do three seatings (6pm, 7:30pm and 9pm). We where there by 6:30pm two nights in a row and the only open seating was at 9pm. There was a little bit of a wait at the French restaurant but there is a little bar outside and some places to sit. I am a soup fan and enjoyed the soup options.

Shopping: If you walk up the beach there is a gift shop called the Blue House Beach Shop. A guy named Kiko runs it with his brother. He is a very nice guy. Items that he does not have on display he will get for you. We bought our rum and coffee from him.

Beach: As has been mentioned going to the left of the turtle trampoline you will find swimming with no rocks. One day there was some great boogie boarding waves and the resort has boards scattered around for guest use which was very fun. Some people have mentioned that waves are too rough. We had yellow flags up the days we were there and there was really only one day when the waves seemed kind of rough. The only downside was people placing towels on the beach beds but not actually using them.

Pool: Long and gorgeous of course. Never had a problem finding a lounger or finding shade. Many people hoarded the rafts though...some even placing them under the cushion on their chair. Maybe a fun game would be to go around and place all the "saved" floats back in the pool.

Staff: Overall very friendly and can speak quite fluent English. We personally really enjoyed Leonel at the lobby bar, Oscar at the World Cafe Buffet, Ronaldo of the entertainment staff, and Luis at the late night pizza. We are concerned about some staff being inappropriate with some female guests. This concern is based off an incident we observed one night. If you want any elaboration please contact me.

Drinks: We did not think they were watered down, and we are drinkers. If we did want more alcohol in a drink we just asked. After asking once, we never had an issue with "weak" drinks.

Disco: not that many people seemed to go, but it felt more like a personal dance floor that way. Not sure how busy it gets during peek times, but seems like a good venue for an after wedding spot if the attendance is about the same as when we where there.

Entertainment: Activities during the day can be fun. Night shows are also fun and sometimes very funny. There are also some fun events around 5pm like "Caribbean Sunset" and the circus on the beach. We went to the "couples only" bonfire and champagne and it was okay.

Definite perks: We thought the canopy king bed was nice. We also thought the beds on the beach and at the pool where nice. The friendly people both on and off resort. Late night pizza at the World Cafe: we would go in, eat some pizza, play cards and drink wine.
Having breakfast offered until 10:45am was a nice change for us (other resorts we have been to stop breakfast at 10am). Watching Monday night football on the beach and the option to watch movies outside was great. Glass of olives and or peanuts at the bar was a nice touch. The house wine (I only had the red) was decent which has not been true at other resorts we have been to.

Downsides: Wished that the internet were free or at least less expensive. The a/c in our room wasn't great but we were okay with it overall. Select staff and behavior toward young women (particularly intoxicated ones). Some guests who hoard floats and "reserve" but do not use beach beds, and some of the derogatory comments we heard made in a rather public manner.

Overall we had a great vacation and lucked out with it raining the day we left.

Please feel free to contact me with any questions.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lovetheDRAthens_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

Everything you have read about this hotel is true. Good value, decent food and very good service but the Rooms is another story. They really need to renovate the rooms. We changed rooms 3 times. The first 2 rooms was so bad we had to pay extra just to upgrade to junior suites. Now at least the Junior suites were liveable.Anyhow I would not go back to this resort even though I have enjoyed eveything else!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bahman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Thomas, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2009

We stayed from 3-10 December, 2009 with another couple. We were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary and our friends their Honeymoon.

The hotel is located about 50 minutes from the Airport. Others have said the ride was horrible. I personally did not think it was that bad. There were a few bumps in the road, but really not anything different than some of the roads in your hometown.

We book the preferred club honeymoon suites. We were in building 7 on the third floor. We loved the rooms. They were clean and our room actually had a view of the ocean. The only downfall to the room was the air conditioning. It really wasn't that cold even on Max and the shower temperature. It was never constant. As long as you don't mind adjusting in the middle of your shower, you will be fine.

The food was good. We ate a three of the alacarte restaurants and they were okay. The World buffet was always good and if we go back most likely this is where we will always eat. The staff were excellent and always tried to please. The barefoot grill on the beach for lunch was amazing. We ate there everyday and I think this was the best barbeque I have ever had.

There was always some activity going on so you could never be bored. If you just wanted to lay by the pool or on the beach and relax with a book, you could do that to. The swim up bar was great as was the pool. The whole pool is three feet deep. It was nice to be able to just float or walk along and not have to worry about any deep parts.

The entertainment staff were excellent. They always went above and beyond to try to include everyone in the fun.

This was our first trip to DR and we loved it. Our friends have been to DR several times and this was there second trip to Dreams. They thought it was great as well

I was a beautiful resort with lots to see and do.

We will definetly be going back again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolphinsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

I stayed there with my twenty-something beautiful daughter. We arrived late in the day and had to wait a hour and half to get into our room. The room was nice and we had no issues except it was cleaned only once in the 5 days we stayed there. We actually ran out of toilet paper and I had to track down a maid to beg for some, including towels.. Yes, the mini refrigerator had soda, water and beer but it didn't work so everything was pee warm. No ice machines anywhere. The food was not horrible but not good either. Every place was basically the same just a different spin on the same stuff served. The worst part of this place was the young men who harrassed my daughter every 15 minutes. It was creepy. The beer was good but the mixed drinks were not good. We did enjoy the pool and the beach but not the locals and staff harrassing us. Also, alot of the guests would hord the floats and were just plain rude. Upon leaving, I asked for a later check-out and was told it would cost an additional $30. I have been to many places in the Carribean and this was the most uninviting place. From the minute you are herded at the airport and pay your $10 to when you leave. I guess you get what you pay for. DON"T GO THERE! DREAMS Punta Cana was no dream vacation!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank smarttravelerNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
17.4 mi away
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
#17 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10,686 reviews
13.6 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
11.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Ocean Blue & Sand
Ocean Blue & Sand
#13 of 25 in Bavaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12,865 reviews
8.6 mi away
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
14.1 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in a lush tropical paradise, Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa features one of the largest free-form swimming pools in the Dominican Republic, stretching from the lobby all the way down to the pristine beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sunscape Beach Punta Cana
Punta Cana Sunscape Beach
Dreams Resort Punta Cana
Dreams Punta Cana Resort
Dreams Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing