We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost but not quite there yet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Almost but not quite there yet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

This hotel is in one word beautiful, the rooms are nice, at least the preferred club ones...the staff is very friendly and look foward to deliver a great experience to the customers. The reason of the title is due to two things, first off the name is very misleading since the hotel is in uvero alto and not in Punta Cana wich is about 30 miles from the actual location of the hotel, the other is the food...for a hotel of the category as this one the food was less than ok at least for the a la carte restaurants, the buffet almost made but I wouldn't recommend the other.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ignacio E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary U, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for informing us of your recent stay.

We are very pleased to know you enjoyed the room we offered you, as well as the attentions by our staff members. Our mission has always been to make our guests feel like home and providing them with the exceptional treatment they deserve. Thank you for choosing our resort as your vacation destination.

We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to share your comments and feedback, as we always strive to improving our overall quality in order to offer our guests the best services they could receive.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Should there be anything else we could assist you with, please let us know.

Best Regards,

Gary Ubiera
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,660
    2,483
    963
    425
    285
See reviews for
4,322
3,823
112
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,810)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

For starters at the gates they stop you, while you are in the vehicle, to confirm you do have a reservation, which looks so tacky, then to go to reception and do the same thing... And then proceed with the check in. I was in the preferred, therefore after all the wasted time, had to go to the preferred club wich is far and they have no cars to take you there, a good 8 mins walk. The food at the specialty restaurants was taste less or salty, the Ocena's filet mignon tasted like nothing. And the tepanyaki food was salty and the meat hard, also there wasnt any shrimps there.

Now the good part is that the rooms were beautiful, there are bathtubs in the preferred rooms, and it looked all neat, new and classy.

Also people were mad friendly! So that made up for the horrible food, also the best food was at the buffet. Is just an average hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary U, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for informing us of your recent stay.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience. We are very happy to hear you were pleased with your room, and at the same enjoyed the exceptional services provided by our staff. Making our guests feel welcome and special is what we do best.

We regret learning that certain aspects of the resort did not fully meet your expectations, and we thank you for bringing them to our attention as we strongly believe there is always from improvement. Your comments are very important to us, and you can be sure they are being forwarded to the corresponding departments in order for corrective actions to be taken.

We look forward to an opportunity of hosting you again in the near future. Thank you for choosing us.

Best Regards,

Gary Ubiera
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keedysville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Another Great Vacation. We just returned from Dreams Punta Cana, Dominican Republic. This was our third trip and each time, they just keep making our time that much better. The food, the room, the pool, the beach, everything was awesome. Our favorite restaurant is the Oceana. Each time, we are preferred members and just love to sit, each breakfast and watch the ocean. Margarita is the hostess and she welcomes you with a great smile and wonderful personality. Our favorite bar is the preferred club bar and again, Anibal and Adrian make you feel special and always welcome you back with a smile. We definitely will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary U, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for informing us of your recent stay.

It is always a pleasure to have you with us, and we appreciate your loyalty so much. Thank you for choosing Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA as your home away from home in the Dominican Republic.

We are very happy to hear that once again you had a wonderful stay. Our staff always strives to provide our guests with the exceptional assistance they all deserve to make them feel welcome and special. We are glad you still enjoy every aspect of the resort. Thank you for sharing your experience.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Should there be anything else we could assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Always at your service,

Gary Ubiera
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

5/8/14
This is not intended to be a negative review which is what you typically see. This is just TRIP ADVISOR report that i hope will help with planning

We stayed as family of 7 -Two delux family preferred. Bldg 6 - nice tropical view. Delux Is just basic. Just expect that!

Family rooms actually turned our to be two sepr rooms with connecting door. All needs renovating. Just expect this!
We spend some time complaining -expecting more delux rooms- but gave out. Staff is trained to "wait you out"

Every one really tries to make you feel welcome. Overall friendliness and service is great
Preferred club is a good feature
We settled in to enjoy ourselves with our 5 and 3 yr old grandchildren who had a great time in pool. Foods ok.

But. They obviously overbook. I can only guess that they expect a %age to cancel out last minute (with ins). Like the airlines. While in preferred club i witnessed 3 different families (with tired children ) learn there were no family rooms available.

While in lobby waiting for a family member i chatted with several that were waiting to see if Dreams could find them accommodations at other resorts
Several weddings this week. That may have been the lodging issue??

I will not return because we know there is more value for dollar. Others may feel different
Expect a C/B facility and you may have a nice vacation

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dgrzenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary U, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for informing us of your recent stay.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience, and we thank you deeply for choosing our resort as your vacation destination. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we would be honored to have you and your family back in the near future.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the attentions provided by our staff who are always trying to make you smile and feel as special as you are to us; as well as our club members only and our large swimming pool in which your kids had so much fun.

We would also like to thank you for your feedback, as we strongly believe there is always room for improvement, and therefore we constantly strive to enhance the quality of our services in order to provide our guests with a remarkable vacation experience.

Should there be anything else we could assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Always at your services,

Gary Ubiera
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Spent 6 nights in tropical paradise at Dreams PC. Room was great, food was excellent, service attentive. Other than the remarkable natural beauty of the resort, my favorite parts of the stay were all the entertaining extras (aqua aerobics, zumba in the sand, water balloon fight, water polo, cooking class on the beach, to name just a few) and the high level of relaxation and friendliness most all the guests displayed, after being treated so well! By 5 p.m., the swim-up bar area was one giant lively cocktail party. I can't remember when I have laughed so much. I have never met so many fun-loving people! I will stay at Dreams Resorts again.

Room Tip: Buildings 6, 7, and 1, 2 are nearest to the beach and the noisier bar area (daytime only). Buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamara202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary U, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our resort and informing us of your recent stay.

It was a pleasure to host you at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, and we are very happy to hear you had a wonderful time with us.

We are glad to know you enjoyed every aspect of the resort, and had so much fun with the activities held by our Entertainment staff, who's fully committed to making sure everyone is having an awesome time.

Consider Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa your new home away from home.

We look forward to hosting you again very soon.

If there's anything else we could assist you with, please let us know.

Best Regards,

Gary Ubiera
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had a wonderful time at Dreams Punta Cana. The rooms were very nice and clean, the resteraunts were fantastic and the grounds were absolutely beautiful! The staff was wonderful, especially Stephanie, our pool concierge, and James, part of the entertainment staff! I would definitely recommend this property to anyone and we will definitely be returning as soon as possible!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary U, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your Dreams experience.

It makes us extremely happy to learn about the wonderful vacation time you've spent with us, and how much you enjoyed every aspect of our Unlimited-Luxury®, such as the room you stayed in, the beauty of our grounds and the food, but most of all, the attentions provided by our staff, specially Stephanie and James. We constantly strive to make our guests feel welcome at all times.

It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Should there be anything else we could assist you with, do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Gary Ubiera
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

My sisters and I vacationed at Dreams in Punta Cana from April 10-17th, 2014. We booked the Prestige level-which I highly recommend!! The extra perks include a private clubhouse and a private restaurant for breakfast and lunch right on the beach!! Our room was a suite. It was a fair size for 3 women!! I loved that you did not have to book your a la carte restaurants!! I guess you had to wait around 8 pm. The people were wonderful!! Our favorites were in the private restaurant!! Mama Margarita would always greet you with a smile!! We actually cried when we said good-bye to her. I couldn't find one thing to complain about!! Food was amazing!! Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: We were in block 7. Room 7312. Lots of stairs but good for the exercise!! Very quiet and close to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary U, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for informing us of your recent stay.

We feel honored for having the opportunity to host you. Knowing that your vacation time was nothing but wonderful, makes us extremely happy, as it is our number one goal to provide you with the exceptional services you deserve while enjoying our Unlimited-Luxury® by not needing a reservation to have dinner at any of our a la carte restaurants.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your Dreams experience. Our lovely Margarita and the rest of the staff will be very pleased to know how special they made you all feel while you were here.

We can't wait to have you back. Thank you for choosing Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa as your home away from home in the Dominican Republic.

Should there be anything else we could assist you with, do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Gary Ubiera
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
17.4 mi away
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
#19 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10,418 reviews
13.6 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
11.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Ocean Blue & Sand
Ocean Blue & Sand
#13 of 25 in Bavaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12,697 reviews
8.6 mi away
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
14.1 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in a lush tropical paradise, Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa features one of the largest free-form swimming pools in the Dominican Republic, stretching from the lobby all the way down to the pristine beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sunscape Beach Punta Cana
Punta Cana Sunscape Beach
Dreams Resort Punta Cana
Dreams Punta Cana Resort
Dreams Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing