We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The reviews are pretty accurate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My #1 tip would be to get a room on the second or third floor. The first floor traffic levels are very high and noisy. (I'm guilty of contributing)

Despite a mention in the daily newsletter about not reserving chairs, chairs are absolutely being reserved by people not actively using them. Since the resort clearly has no desire to enforce this, nor many guests to abide by it, they need to provide more chairs. This was probably the only thing I was truly annoyed by at the resort.

Food. The buffet is equivalent to a mid-priced Las Vegas casino buffet, but with more options. Not spectacular, but not bad.

Expect portions at the a la carte restaurants that will keep you at a healthy weight. (If you need more food, order multiple items. They don't mind.)

The best a la carte restaurant was Italian followed by the Japanese. For some reason, it must be the location, both of these restaurants were not particularly busy while others had waits.

My best employee moment was the sushi chef who genuinely seemed to enjoy his work. I was almost full one night and ordered a roll (so good), and the chef delivered it to my table and it was almost a triple sized portion with colorful soy sauce plating artwork. I also gave a nice tip to the waiter who hardly spoke any English in the Italian restaurant, but did his best to over achieve.

They loooove to serve rum, but I couldn't handle one more fruity sweet drink. Gin martinis became my drink of choice by day 5. Word of warning, come armed with a list of simple but varied drinks. For fun, say 'doble alcohol' when ordering.

The spa gets a thumbs up. (Find the $40 off coupons)

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor ONLY
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Troy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector T, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your objective and thorough comment. I am sure that future travelers will enjoy reading it.

We appreciate the time you have taken to let us know about your recent and what you thought about our services and practices.

Also, we would like to thank you for pointing out the areas you consider could be improved. It is with information like this that we can continue to enhancing our services, resulting in us meeting and exceeding our guests' expectations.

Should you ever decide on coming back to us, do not hesitate on contacting us; it would be our pleasure to have you among us.

remaining at your services,

Hector Torres
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11,626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,652 - 5,658 of 11,628 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

This was my 5'th time staying at dreams punta cana. The management there was extremely helpful.From Yann the G.M to Janderson assistant a&b.The staff always smile & goes out of their way to serve you.If you don't like this place you can never be satisfied.Food great .Pool and rooms are clean .Can,t wait to go back

Room Tip: pool side Rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALBERT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector T, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the time you have taken to let us know of your recent stay.

We are happy to know that you were given the type of service you deserve, from the General Manager to the rest of our staff. Our main goal is to meet and exceed all of our guests' expectations and we are proud that we have done so with you.

If you wish to come back to us, do not hesitate on contacting us. It would be our pleasure to receive you.

Always at your services,

Hector Torres
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I give Dreams Punta Cana and all the staff 5 stars for excellent service, especially Janderson Feliz, Jose Manuel, Hamlet Rosa, and Gregory for giving us an extra special dining experience...Beautiful resort with excellent service while lying on the beach or by the pool. Service with a smile from everyone. Beautiful weather and very relaxing pool. Rooms need a little updating but overall great experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keri w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector T, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to inform us of your recent stay. It makes us happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and even though the rooms may need a little updating, the rest of our services, amenities and staff make up for this issue.

Thank you for taking the time to recognize and acknowledge our staff's hard work and dedication. We know they are a major asset of our hotel and one of the main reasons why we have so many repeat guests. We hope all the aspects mentioned on your comment have left you wanting to come back.

Whenever you decide in honoring us with your presence, do not hesitate on contacting us.

Remaining at your services,

Hector Torres
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here in January 2014 and had a brilliant holiday in Dreams Punta Cana. They advertise the service as "unlimited" and genuinely, everything was unlimited. There was no issue with what you could have, when you could have it, where you could have it. There were no hidden T&Cs and it made for a great holiday.

Food: The quality and variety of food was very impressive. I have never seen a breakfast spread quite like the one here, and the individual restaurants serve very good tasty food too. The food is quite skewed to North American tastes (e.g. tortillas, hotdogs and burgers available in the afternoons, donuts and waffles for breakfast, and there is an American restaurant) but there is plenty else there for European tastes too. The only negative on food is that the milk is UHT but well there you go.

Drink: I only drink wine, and the wine was very good. I had been a bit nervous about it as I find wine doesn't really get much of a look-in in some countries, but it was Spanish and very drinkable. From what I could see, there was a great choice of all other beverages too.

Accommodation: The room was good. The only negative was that the doors were not at all soundproof and there could be a lot of noise as people returned to their rooms late at night. We had a swim up room. It wasn't quite like what the picture shows on their website (which shows a patio that steps directly into the pool) - you have your patio and then there is a grassy bit with paving stones that you can walk to down to the pool. I have attached a picture that shows what it actually looks like. But the room was clean and a good size, nice big bed, and good Air Con.

Service: The service was excellent. The staff were very obliging and friendly. Never felt obliged to tip but it can ensure faster service.

Gym and sports: There is a gym. It is in the spa. This is not signposted. There is a separate sports area with foosball, table tennis, pool, a climbing wall, tennis, basketball - plenty to keep you entertained!

All in all, other than the noisiness of the hallways, had a super time here and don't quite understand the criticisms in other reviews. The only thing I can take from them is that possibly when it gets busy (Christmas etc.) things might get a bit overwhelmed.

Top marks, will be back!

Room Tip: Go for a swim up room - great pool access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GromitDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector T, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the time you have taken to inform us of your recent stay. We are very happy to read that you had a great time with us and that every aspect of your vacations met and exceeded your expectations.

We also appreciate you signaling the points you consider could be improved. This issues have already been addressed with the corresponding departments and corrective actions are already in the process.

Whenever you decide on coming back, please let us know as we would love having you among us once again in the near future, offering you the same level of service you enjoyed and loved.

Remaining at your services and wishing you a great rest of your day,

Hector Torres
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My line dance group of 40 people experienced Dreams Punta Cana from 1-17-14 thru 1-25-14. What a dream vacation! The ambiance of Dreams is exquisite. The meals, although sometimes with slow service (we ate in large groups), were delicious. From the World Cafe Buffet to the Hibachi restaurants we had so many choices of restaurant quality food. But what made our trip so special was the entertainment staff. Stephanie, Shaggy, Omar and others made us feel so special while at the pool area and bike riding; their enthusiasm, warmth and fun made our stay most EXCELENTE! I even learned some Spanish with the help of the staff. I am taking my whole family back next January to experience Dreams. A+

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aroseblanck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector T, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to let us know about your recent stay.

It fills us with great joy to know that you and your great had a great time and that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay.

Your suggestion for improvement has already been addressed with the appropriate personnel in order to continue meeting and exceeding our guests' expectations.

As you are looking to come back next January, please let us know in advance, so we can prepare for your grand return.

Always at your services,

Hector Torres
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband and I and several of our friends stayed at Dreams Punta Cana from January 17, 2014 thru Januray 24, 2014. While there, we were pampered by the wonderful staff from morning til night. The restaurants were great, the entertainment was never-ending, and the food was plentiful! They took care of us like we were their family. If you would like to relax and have fun, this is the place to go. The rooms are very clean and beautiful, as is the beach and pool area. The service is top notch. There is nothing they will not try to do for you. We want to send a big thank you to the general manager, Yann Le Guillou and also Asistente, Janderson Feliz. Without you, we know this would not have been possible. Thank you again for such a wonderful time. We are looking forward to seeing you again very soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector T, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear guest,

We are very grateful for your loyalty and for the time you have taken to write yet another wonderful review of our hotel. It fills us with joy to know that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations, hopefully leaving you with more desire to come back to us.

Whenever you decide on coming back, please let us know. It would be an honor to receive you once again in the near future.

Remaining at your services and wishing a great rest of your day,

Hector Torres
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Soooooo beautiful and so much fun that our whole family is still talking about it! First of all the weather was perfect! The food at all of the specialty restaurants was delicious although the service was a little slow-but we were on vacation so it was no problem for us! The entertainment staff-Shaggy, Ducky, Juan, Stephanie-were all great to our teenagers as well as to my 70 year old parents!! Just a fun time with lots to do-yoga, zumba, spanish lessons, scuba lessons, wine tasting, beach volleyball, pool volleyball and the foam party!! The casino is small but fun and the nightly entertainment was cute! Would love to go back! Thanks for the memories :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector T, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for informing us of your recent stay.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your vacations and that our Entertainment staff and different activities kept you up and moving all day long.

Also, we appreciate your input on the point you consider we should work on. It is with this type of information that we can continue providing guests with even better service and help them meet and exceed their expectations.

Whenever you decide on coming back, just let us know.

Always at your services,

Hector Torres
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
13.7 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
17.4 mi away
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
#47 of 112 in Punta Cana
10,689 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 112 in Punta Cana
13,216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
14.1 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa

Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $215 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in a lush tropical paradise, Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa features one of the largest free-form swimming pools in the Dominican Republic, stretching from the lobby all the way down to the pristine beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sunscape Beach Punta Cana
Punta Cana Sunscape Beach
Dreams Resort Punta Cana
Dreams Punta Cana Resort
Dreams Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing