We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and average all inclusive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean and average all inclusive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just returned from stay at this resort. Best part about this was the pool, very long and winding and plenty of space. We had a swimout room in building 2 which was about 20 feet from the pool and a short swim the the bar. Our lounge chairs outside of the room were very old and the wheel fell off of one when I attempted to move it. Room was outdated but clean. Fridge in the room with Coke, Fanta Orange, Coke Light, Sprite, beer and water. Drinks at the bar were okay and if you tell the bartender you want a specific brand of liquor they will use it otherwise it is whatever they have available in front of them. Food was typical of all inclusives and the best restaurants were Oceana and World Cafe. We tried Portofinos and Sea Side Grill, neither very good. Resort allows vendors on the property to sell local jewelry and such and most of them had decent items but some are very persistent that you buy something. Beach was not as we'll kept as we have seen at other resorts. Most of the staff were friendly and spoke very little English. Shows were not bad and we did not visit the casino. There is not much of anything near this resort. Overall not bad for the price.

Room Tip: If you want something to do and you like dune buggies, Adventure Boogie has a fun excursion that tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal M, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your trip. we are happy to see that you have enjoyed our pool that was named one of the nicest in the DR. We are in the process of replacing some of our long chairs by the swinout rooms but you do understand that with more then 1500 chairs in the resort it sometimes get hard to keep track of all of them. Also we do have lots of choices in licors and since we have to please a lot of different tastes we do also have our house brands. we will also be passing on your comments to our chef since we take your feedback to help us improve our day to day operations. Once again thank you for taking the time to write and hope to see you back with us.

Have a pleasant day

Pascal Messier
Resident Manager
pmessier@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,660
    2,483
    963
    425
    285
See reviews for
4,322
3,823
112
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,810)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Worst place i have ever been to.Food is very bland.The drinks are very weak.I had a piece of metal in my pasta and was sick for 3 days.The chief concierge Jean Carlos Arredondo is the worst in the world.He is very rude and lies thru his teeth.The rooms all smell musty.The staff can't speak english.I asked Diana a waitress in the world cafe for glass of ice water. After 35 minutes and no water I left.I had to explain to the bar tender at the bar up stairs what a glass of ice water was.Beach is ok but no life guards amd WATCH OUT FOR THE ROCKS.If you know someone you don't like please send them here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Guy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA (Moon Twp)
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just recently returned from a 6 Day/5 night stay at this resort. I have travelled the Caribbean extensively over the past 20 years and believe I have a fair understanding of the types of resorts and how they compare. Here is what I think you want to know: 1. Resort is an hour away from the airport by taxi. Taxi is $70 US one way. 2. The property is very long and somewhat narrow in width (think rectangular). 3. The grounds are beautiful and well groomed. The pool sits in the middle of the property and is long and winding. Lounge chairs line the pool and we never had a problem in finding two. 4. The hotel rooms are dated, that is, they show their age. While they are clean, they are old. In the three separate rooms that we had, the air conditioning in two did not work very well. The electronic card reader for my front door only worked after a number of key card swipes. Some of the rooms smell musty. We actually moved our room right after check in because of the heavy musty smell. 5. There are several "luxury" restaurants on site and included. Men must wear long pants and collared shirts to be admitted. I ate at 3 of these restaurants and found the food to just be average but the service to be very slow / borderline poor. The best restaurants were the Oceana down along the beach and the World Cafe which is where the buffet is. This buffet was actually the highlight of the dining here on the property. There is a wide selection of food, it is an air conditioned room, the service is very good and it is open 24 hours per day! 6. The service at the bars was reasonable but the drinks are not high quality. 7. There is an on-site casino with a couple of tables and about 20 slot machines. It is smokey inside the casino. 8. The beach was pretty decent but be careful there are some rocks in the water that can be hurtful if you step or walk into them. 9. At 3:30 PM until 5:30 PM every day there is entertainment at the pool near the beach that is very lively and loud. Fun to watch. 10. I did feel very safe for me and my kids on this property. Security seemed very high and well in control. 11. Do not drink the water from the resort. The resort does provide you plenty of Dasanti water bottles at your request. 12. Room service is 24 hours a day too. 13. You can get as many free towels as you need for the day without any concern regarding towel cards. 14. Most of the resort's staff speak primarly Spanish. I found that there were many times that I couldn't properly communicate with them since I speak no Spanish and they spoke no English. 15. I did find the staff of the property overall to be very accommodating in hoping to serve you well. 16. There is NOTHING in the area surrounding this property. Meaning, there is no reason to leave the property since there is no where to go.

Room Tip: Upgraded to Preferred Club and would recommend it. Stayed in Building 7 which seemed to be a great m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheBlueWaterBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal M, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Dreams Punta Cana. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We value all of your comments and we look them over in our daily briefings so that we can keep on improving our clients experience. Ounce again thank you for your comments.

Have a pleasant day

Pascal Messier
Resident Manager
pmessier@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from Dreams this week. We were there with a group of approximately 45 people for a wedding. I was very skeptical when we first booked back in the fall because there were many unfavorable reviews. I am very happy to report all those previous reviews were completely inaccurate in my opinion.

Prior to this trip, I had never been to an all-inclusive; I'm more of a cruise person. I can say with 100% certainty we will be traveling back to dreams within the next few years. We booked the basic room, and for us it was perfect. I didn't see the necessity of having a swim out room as you could walk down one or two flights of stairs and be at the pool. We were in building 3 which was right in the middle of the resort. We loved the central location because it was easy to run back to the room.

Our room was very clean, and modern. My only complaint was that we did not like the pillows. However, the hotel offers a pillow menu in order for you to get the type of pillow you like. We did not utilize this option, but we thought it was a great touch!

The food was fantastic, and we ate at every restaurant except for El Patio, the Mexican restaurant. We did not upgrade to preferred and noticed no real difference in the drinks. My bf didn't like the beer, but he switched to mojitos and was happy and content. The mimosas at check-in are a great touch, and they help you feel comfortable after a long flight and then ride from the airport.

Overall, we had a fantastic time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal M, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Dreams Punta Cana. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed so much your first experience in an all inclusive resort. We take great pride in all of our staff and all of the efforts that they do on a daily basis. Also to hear that you will come back to a Dreams resorts make us even happier. So hope to see you back soon.

Have a pleasant day

Pascal Messier
Resident Manager
pmessier@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Staff was great but everything else was poor.

I booked a swim out room and called to confirm that I would receive this room with a King size bed. When I got to the hotel Julio said we would not receive the room we paid for and then her giggled and shrugged his shoulders. He said this is how we work. UNACCEPTABLE!!!! They tried to make it better by upgrading us to a "VIP" room with an ocean view and access to the VIP amenities. The room was awful. You had to bend down to see the ocean and the air conditioner broke 2 nights in a row. It took the night manager, Junior, 2 hours to get us another room. We didn't go to bed until 2:30am. It was fixed the next day but broke again that night. When we called for a new room the desk knew but about the situation for other couples on our floor but it still took them 2 hours to get us another room. If they had known about it they should have prepared for other rooms knowing what had happened the night before.

Overall - awful. Would NEVER go back!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal M, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you for taking the time to wrtite your comments about your trip. During your stay we did have a full occupancy and also all rooms requests are based on availability. Also we did have an issue with the AC for your building and the room change did take a while since we did not rooms available. Our main concern is to ensure that all of our guests have a great time but those wher issues that we could not control. we hope that in the future you might give us another chance.

Have a pleasant day

Pascal Messier
Resident Manager
pmessier@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowansville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

At our recent vacation at Dreams Resort in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic, we experienced some of the best service at the World Café in the resort. Not only was the food great and presented well, the service was fantastic. I spoke to the staff manager Onel Santana who was always present and very accommodating. He managed the dining area like a conductor directing a symphony. Some other staff who was great was Domingo Ozuna, Yonaliza (?) and Melany(?) to mention only a few. We loved the experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were here for a week and it was great. The staff was friendly. The drinks were good. The entertainment team was amazing! Here are the folks you need to see if you come Arismendy, Stephanie, Justin...these folks are great! And Robert and Swagger and of course Alejandro, the Entertainment Team Supervisor.

The food was good. The rooms were clean. The restaurant staff was friendly. We had a great time!

Room Tip: We stayed in a double but the next time I will take a king room because it is right by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
17.4 mi away
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
#19 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10,418 reviews
13.6 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
11.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Ocean Blue & Sand
Ocean Blue & Sand
#13 of 25 in Bavaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12,697 reviews
8.6 mi away
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
14.1 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in a lush tropical paradise, Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa features one of the largest free-form swimming pools in the Dominican Republic, stretching from the lobby all the way down to the pristine beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sunscape Beach Punta Cana
Punta Cana Sunscape Beach
Dreams Resort Punta Cana
Dreams Punta Cana Resort
Dreams Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing