We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the worst, but certainly not the best.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not the worst, but certainly not the best.”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Just returned from a 7-night stay at Dreams Punta Cana. We were a group of 40+ attending a family wedding. There were a couple of children on the trip, but the majority were in the 20-35 age group.

Like many others have said - you cannot equate a 5-star in the DR to what you would find in a developed country. So you need to put things in perspective given the price you're paying. My wife and I have been to the DR 4 times and have had good experiences (Sirenis Tropical in Punta Cana) and some bad experiences (Coral Hamaca in La Romana). But it has been about 8 years since we last did an all-inclusive so we were looking forward to not having to fend for ourselves for a week.

Before I begin - we don't have children so I can't comment on the family aspect of this resort. Also, we aren't big into the entertainment staff, shows, etc. We aren't pool people - we just like to stay on the beach and lounge all day, have a good dinner at night and drinks afterwards.

The good:
Whether it was the front desk staff, bartenders, servers, etc. I found the service to be very good. The staff was friendly, courteous and would always acknowledge you with a friendly 'hola'. We didn't have the opportunity to meet a lot of staff, but our server at the beach, Miguelina, was fantastic.

What also stood out was the above-average selection at the bar. As Italian-Canadians, we were impressed that we could have a Campari & Soda before dinner - this was a pleasant surprise. Also had a choice of scotches, import beers, etc.

Room service was very efficient as well.

The bad:
I was extremely disappointed with the rooms (we were building 4, 2nd floor). The rooms were small, but that's not a big deal since you really don't spend too much time in them. They were slightly outdated, which also isn't a big deal - again, we're not at a boutique hotel in Manhattan - this is the DR. The big issue for me was the noise levels. Literally, we only had 1 night of uninterrupted sleep.

Maybe it's a function of the design of the resort (people walk need to walk through each building to get to another); or, maybe it's just the fact that the walls were thin or noise would echo through the halls. But almost every night we would be kept awake hearing people heading back to their rooms after a night of partying. Keep in mind - we were out late too...so we were part of the problem. But there were a few instances where people would be partying in their rooms down the hall from us, doors closed, and we would hear every word of their conversation. I actually called security two nights in a row - once because a group wouldn't stop screaming (which I know is beyond the control of the hotel) and once because there was a FIST FIGHT outside of our room. I expect that in Cancun, not in DR. Again, not necessarily the hotel's fault, but just wanted to highlight this. We didn't bother changing rooms since the rest of our group was in that building. If we were solo, I would have demanded a room change to a quieter building.

So, my tip would be to be in Buildings 1 or 2 (which have the least traffic) and definitely avoid the main level as that is the loudest.

So/So:
The food was average. Breakfast buffet was decent, the Italian was surprisingly ok (linguini pesto was good). The Mexican was a bit disappointing (I had higher expectations based on my other DR experiences). We had a good time at the Asian restaurant as well. For party goers, the buffet has late-night pizza which was fantastic. My recommendation would be to do the Seaside Grill for lunch - burritos and skewers were very good. Dinner buffet wasn't good (although I find this is always the case at all-inclusives).

Like I said, we're beach people. As others have said, this stretch of beach isn't as nice as other areas around Punta Cana. The sand isn't as white, and there was a ton of sea weed. So, if you're looking for an immaculate beach, this is not the place to go. With that said, we spent at least 9-10 hours a day at the beach so it wasn't all that bad!

Overall, a decent vacation but I would definitely not return to this hotel based on the price we paid. I believe there are better options in Punta Cana.

Room Tip: Buildings 1 or 2 are closer to the beach and more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operacionesdrepc, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to our resort and share your experiences with our future guests. As a service oriented company our main concern is our guests´ satisfaction and we truly appreciate your informative observations and suggestions, and we’re sure that many of our future guests will find this information very helpful when looking for answers to many of their questions. We understand that there is always room for improvement and our guests’ feedback is a very important tool in helping us identify and address any issues that may affect our daily operation.

We´re sorry to learn that our beach did not meet your expectations and that you were unable to truly enjoy that part of your stay. There are times of the year when the tide brings in more seaweed than what is considered normal due to climatic conditions, but our beach crew is constantly removing the seaweed and closely monitors the situation.

Thank you for acknowledging the quality service you received from our staff, and we hope you decide to visit us on a future trip to Punta Cana.

Sincerely,

Nancy De Lara
Operations Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,935
    2,539
    990
    428
    291
See reviews for
4,489
3,956
114
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,887)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Firstly let me start by saying that we loved this hotel and had an amazing holiday. We travelled here for our wedding with 17 guests. We read hundreds of reviews before travelling here as it was our wedding and obviously wanted it to be perfect. All I can say is ignore any negative reviews unless you are extremely hard to please! All 19 of us who travelled from the UK absolutely loved it!

Staff – All the staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The entertainment team were great fun and were always smiling and happy to stop and have a chat. They were really up for a laugh. Especially Grecia who was fantastic! She really made our stay more enjoyable. Also we would like to mention that the concierge (especially Carlos) were fantastic and always more than happy to help.

Food and Drink – There was so much choice. The world café had a wide selection of food however we found that on most evenings we would dine at one of the à la carte restaurants. The quality of the food was very good especially the seafood in Oceana. There is a massive range of cocktails available and the staff are willing to have a crack at any that you make up on the spot! A massive range of branded drinks available as long as you specifically ask for them.

Rooms – Big, comfortable and very clean. Minibar was fully stocked every day.

Pool - Amazing, best part of the hotel. It runs the full length of the hotel and is not crowded. We had no trouble 19 finding sunbeds together.

Beach - Very spacious and again, plenty of sunbeds. I don’t understand how people can complain about sharp rocks in the sea. The coral is beautiful and made great snorkelling! Plus, there is a dedicated area on the beach by the trampoline for swimming that has no rocks.

Wedding - We were worried about booking a destination wedding as we felt we may not have as much control over what went on. We were not disappointed though as the wedding co-ordinator Yessica had everything under control and was very approachable and really helped make the day special. The gazebo is beautiful and far enough away from the bars and rooms to not make you feel overlooked. The service was great and the photographer (HDC photo) was amazing. The meal afterwards was great even though we could not have the private terrace we had booked due to rain. Again, due to the weather we were moved to the disco for speeches and first dance. This was privately booked for us until 10.30 which was great.

Complaints - Our only complaint was that unfortunately we were staying over spring break. This meant that the hotel was very busy with 16-18 year olds. There was one very large group of what seemed like 40 kids. This was never a problem until later on in the evening when they were all extremely drunk and throwing themselves around the disco. We complained to the security on the door but they were not interested. This even happened on the night of our wedding which was a shame.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dtracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We travelled as a family of five with children aged 1, 4 and 6. Overall the holiday was very good. On arrival it took quite a while to be seen. We had already decided to upgrade and spoken to the manager before we arrived who was very nice and helpful - once seen everything went very smoothly.

On the first morning we went and had a proper look around. Sunbeds were very difficult to find by the pool and for the rest of the holiday we were getting up at 5 to reserve sunbeds as otherwise there was no chance!! That was probably the biggest negative of the holiday. The poolside is quite dated and could do with sprucing up but this did not really detract from the holiday. There are floats around the pools for general use which is a very good idea.

The beach was probably the nicest I have seen (and we are well travelled) with plenty of sunbeds and the ocean trampoline is a great addition (as is the climbing rock in the pool - kept my girls entertained for ages!!).

The staff in this hotel are probably its best feature - drinks are delivered to you on both the beach and by the pool and the staff are very friendly to the children. Roxanne in the seaside grill/seafood restaurant was an absolute star - so lovely and my daughter cried saying goodbye to her!! The delivery of drinks at mealtimes could be slow (once we had finished breakfast before we received our juice!!) but that said things are at a slower pace out there!!

We only used the kids club a couple of times and although a nice option wasn't the best we have used - once the kids were painting wine bottles which were sent back with us when returning to the pool - can't imagine that would be allowed in the UK!!!! It was a real shame that the park and kids pool facilities were only available if using the kids club and was probably the biggest thing that let it down for us (as well as the sunbeds) as we always book holidays with parks in the grounds for the kids and are guided by the children regarding the clubs as we don't really go away to pack them off for the day!

The best bit about this hotel over others we have visited is probably the food. The buffet restaurant was very well stocked with good variations and food was hot. The seaside grill was our favourite with huge steaks cooked to perfection. The seafood restaurant and mexican restaurants were both nice. One night the buffet restaurant had lobster which was lovely and there was loads of it - no chance of them running out and no rations with regards to how much you could have like some places we have been!

Overall a very pleasant holiday - would we go back ... probably not but we don't often return to the same place and we would probably book another Dreams hotel in future.

Room Tip: We upgraded and had a beautiful spacious room but it did cost us!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic_Gabs_Freya_Koby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operacionesdrepc, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to comment on your visit to our property, and we´re pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay. Please allow me to take the opportunity to inform you that since your visit we have received 400 new sun-beds to include to our inventory, therefore this is no longer an inconvenience at our property; nevertheless please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you encountered because of this.

Thank you for the lovely compliments on the service you received from our staff and we hope to have the opportunity of hosting your stay once again on a future visit to Punta Cana.

Regards,

Nancy De Lara
Operations Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Arriving to the hotel lobby my sister and I (who go a sister vacation yearly) were sent to the preferred checkin which is quite a ways from the lobby. Once there though checkin was quick and efficient. Room was on third floor with no elevators but not a problem for us. Room was Jr suite with sitting room. Only shelves in the closet for unpacking clothes with few hangers. The food was above average and the service was good overall. The beach was clean and well kept. Pool was huge with lazy river but never saw where you could get floats. Entertainment staff targeted younger ages too much. Made it difficult to participate in activities if you were older. Hotel seemed to be more family and kid oriented than advertised. We did have an incident where we recieved harassing phone calls from the staff one night. This was reported to the night manager. However the hotel management made sure that we never had the opportunity to discuss this with them nor did they respond to request for discount on bill since 2 of our 6 days were disrupted dealing with this. I am extremely disappointed with handling of this from a hotel of this quality. I would caution female travelers on picking this resort. I will not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and the shower water temperature cycled from very hot to cold with no hap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lawndocsparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
operacionesdrepc, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to post your comments regarding your stay at our resort, and we´re sorry to learn about the incident that you encountered with one of our room service employees. Our staff is constantly coached on professional customer service and is expected to treat our guests with respect at all times; therefore it is very disconcerting to read about this alleged incident. Our management team has addressed the issue and proper measures were taken to correct and prevent this type of incident from occurring again at our resort.

We truly apologize for the inconvenience this occurrence may have caused you, and regret that this negatively affected your holidays.

Respectfully,

Nancy De Lara
Operations Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

My husband and I were there last Labor Day for a wedding. We had a lovely four days, and would definitely go back. The rooms were large and inviting, with a very good bed. The food was good, especially at breakfast. We found the Japanese restaurant the best. Hamburgers on the beach were great. The beach was very nice, we took long walks daily on it. The pool is beautiful and the drinks were free flowing. The wedding on the beach was delightful. The only complaint we had was with check in. It took us over two hours to get in our room and we arrived after 3:30 in the afternoon. Also it was very hot and humid(95 to 98 everyday with 90% humidity) but our room was always nice and cold.
We were approached to visit a new property, but when we said no, they pretty much left us alone the rest of the time.

We rented a car with driver and made a trip to Los Romanos to the cigar factory and it was great. Our driver was very careful and very knowledgable and helpful. We had a wonderful tour of the cigar factory and a safe trip back to the hotel. The excursion took most of the day, but was worth it. We did get to see all of the poverty as we drove by and it was very sad.

We would go back to Dreams, just not in the hot summer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Currently at Dreams with family of 5 (including 11 yo, 7yo, father in law , and wife). Having a blast here. Spent a lot of time on Trip advisor reading reviews that were very helpful in choosing Dreams. One of the employees , CHIQUILAN, stands out the most for his positive energy and happiness!! I swear i would see him multiple times a day and he would come up each and every time!! Ill follow up with pics and a more descriptive review when i return home. Mike Nicely (4/26-5/3)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillyincanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.C.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Had a great, relaxing trip. A few things could have been better but nothing bad enough to make a big deal over. Encountered some language barriers with housekeeping but eventually got what we needed. Beautiful grounds!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoopy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
17.4 mi away
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
#15 of 111 in Punta Cana
10,968 reviews
13.6 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
11.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
11.4 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#20 of 111 in Punta Cana
12,818 reviews
14.1 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in a lush tropical paradise, Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa features one of the largest free-form swimming pools in the Dominican Republic, stretching from the lobby all the way down to the pristine beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sunscape Beach Punta Cana
Punta Cana Sunscape Beach
Dreams Resort Punta Cana
Dreams Punta Cana Resort
Dreams Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing