We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino
Ranked #24 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This resort was absolutely amazing! When we arrived we received "welcome" drinks and were greeted immediately. The bell men were eager to assist with our luggage and the lobby was beautiful. All areas of the resort were very clean all the time, the staff was very nice and helpful, and the restaurants served delicious food. I would recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lieamissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear lieamissy,

Firstly, the entire team of Royalton Punta Cana wants to thank you for sharing your positive experience with the rest of the TripAdvisor community.

We are really happy to read words as nice as yours. To know that our staff and service have exceeded your expectations encourages us to keep working day by day to maintain this proposal of high level that we want to achieve.

We will be glad to welcome you back again. We are at your disposal for anything you need.
Kind Regards,

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10,287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,262 - 7,268 of 10,291 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Rooms and Hotel:

Very modern, clean, beautiful and dangerous. The floors are VERY slippery throughout the entire property (rooms, hallways, pool area and the water park).
Restaurants and Buffets:

Opa: Amazing food was so good we ate there 2 days. Staff and service 5 star from the hostess to the cook.
Hunters: Food was wonderful and our waiter at Hunters (Roger) was excellent!!!
Under The Sea: Gross, yuck and Never again!! Service dismal at best! It took 1 hr and 47 min to get our food after we placed our order (there were only 4 other tables with people as they sat us 15 minutes before the restaurant closed. When served horrible, we ended up walking out and ordering room service.

Buffet: Had everything you could imagine and every night was a themed menu - Mexican, seafood, Dominican etc... So you never got bored.

Service was very good but there were some people that went above and beyond. Luis at the Coffee Shop was very attentive and patient with our kids and the all-inclusive ice cream. Then there was Nilson Mercedes, he was wonderful and very tentative to our needs as we were a group of 16. He made sure that our needs were taken care of and even checked in on one of the members of our group that suffered sever chest pains while on vacation.

There was a lack of activity, at times we were bored because most hotels have several activities throughout the day for the entire family but Royalton did not this was very disappointing. Even other people not in our group mentioned the same thing.

When we first arrived at the reception where you get your bracelets one the of the guys (wish I would have gotten his name) told me that if I paid him $35USD per day he would ensure that we could drink top shelf liquor. Luckily we were forewarned and did not fall for this scam. Our purchase included top shelf.

There are several hotels that offer more family activities at no additional cost, I think I will try those before I consider this hotel again.

These was also some guy sitting at a desk in the hallway (Miguel) trying to sell time share or something. He would call the room and mention something every time someone from our group would walk by him. It got to the point that we would take the long way just to avoid this guy. HUH

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank Zeni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Zeni C.,

Thank you for taking time to report your recent experience at Royalton Punta Cana, we are really happy to read your feedback on TripAdvisor about your recent visit.

Your positive feedback is very much appreciated. We can assure you we always try to do everything as possible to create enjoyable experiences to our guests, and we will consider all your comments like a great value that help us to improve.

It would be a pleasure for all of us to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Excellent resort, nice and clean rooms, . We were 8 people, 4 adults and 4 kids, we loved everything about it. The staff made us feel welcome. there were some employees that were awesome like Luis at the coffee shop, the cleaning ladies, Francisco at the front desk and the waitresses at the buffet outside. Almost all the restaurants were very good, excellent food, the only one that we didn't like was the Mexican. The animation Edrey, Luis, Scooby Doo and the show and music at the beach party was excellent, the DJ was great. I want to give thanks to Orestes from Gallo Travel, he prepared this trip for us and Cecilio our tour representative in Punta Cana. We all want to go back for another nice vacation there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josefina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Josefina F.,

We would like to thank you personally for sharing on TripAdvisor your kind feedback about your stay at Royalton Punta Cana.

We appreciate to hear that we have been able to meet your expectations and that our location and facilities have contributed to a wonderful holiday in our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed our resort.

We hope to have you back soon enjoying Royalton Punta Cana.
Kind Regards,

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

PROS:
The resort is beautiful
Very clean
Staff is friendly
Beautiful beaches

CONS:
Horrible cheap food
Cheapest liquor I have ever tasted
Cheap plastic beach chairs


This is the second resort I have vacationed in Punta Cana. The other resort was the same price just as beautiful but had name brand liquor and great food. If you are NOT okay with cheap buffet food quality then this resort is NOT for you. Half of my group had some type of stomach issue. Almost every resort is built the same and all have equally beautiful beaches. It is important to choose a place that has good food and drinks because you have to eat every meal there.

Room Tip: Make sure to pay extra for the rooms that have swim-up patios!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Joanna A.,

We regret you couldn't enjoy a comfortable stay with us, and we would like to offer you our sincerest apologies for not be able to get pleasant experiences during these days at Royalton Punta Cana.

Sharing your opinion you will help us to continue working to improve our services, especially on the food and beverage issues, As you know we believe it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our customers, we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we want.

We are at your complete disposal.
With kind regards,

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We were a group of 12 and we loved everything about it but there was an employee that was very rude and disrespectful, he works on the reception and his name is David. He doesn't knows how to treat the customers who are looking to have a great experience on the property, he acts like he doesn't likes his job and it bother us the fact that the manager was there and didn't try to make the situation any better. So we hope that the staff let him know that he needs to change and to act more professional.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Yoel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Yoel E.,

Thank you for taking time to report your recent experience at Royalton Punta Cana, we are really happy to read your feedback on TripAdvisor about your recent visit.

Your positive feedback is very much appreciated. We can assure you we always try to do everything as possible to create enjoyable experiences to our guests, and we will consider all your comments like a great value that help us to improve.

It would be a pleasure for all of us to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My wife and I got married July 2nd at the Resort. We had 29 of our family friends to witness this wondering day and week. The resort was awesome, very clean, rooms were incredible, food was very good and the staff was friendly and helpful. The week was incredible and our group would definitely vacation at the Royalton Punta Cana again!

Notable staff: Junior (Butler - was amazing), Yanilsa (Hostess), Martires (Server), Dario (Concierge - Building 6)

Room Tip: Try a swim up room with private pool, bar and food service. Upgrade your stay to a Diamond Package...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Dean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Dean A.,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Royalton Punta Cana not only for your wonderful comments that you have had about our team, but also for taking the time to share your positive experience with the rest of the TripAdvisor community.

We are really glad to hear your comments about the impression of our hotel. Reading your comments help us to know that our decisions are in the good way to give our guests the best possible experience. Your comments about the attitude of the staff will be shared with the objective to motivate to continue with the best quality and guest satisfaction.

We hope you visit us again and of course we will be very pleased to welcome you.
Best greetings,

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We just got back from our vacation in the Dominican Republic. We stayed at the Royalton. From the minute we got there, they made us feel so welcome and at home. They treated us seriously like royalty. It was by far the best family vacation we had ever taken. There was always something for us to do on the resort. Jose Miguel and Nilson were the best bartenders at the Diamond Club bar. They have such great personalities and were so helpful. One of the guys in our party had a birthday while we were there. They took it upon themselves to get him a birthday cake. They went above and beyond our expectations. Junior at the Dips pool bar was also amazing. Remembering each one of our names, made us all feel very important. The staff at the Royalton were all phenomenal. We were very pleased with our stay and will definitely recommend the Royalton to others.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brittany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Brittany W.,

Firstly, the entire team of Royalton Punta Cana wants to thank you for sharing your positive experience with the rest of the TripAdvisor community.

We are really happy to read words as nice as yours. To know that our staff and service have exceeded your expectations encourages us to keep working day by day to maintain this proposal of high level that we want to achieve.

We will be glad to welcome you back again. We are at your disposal for anything you need.
Kind Regards,

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0 mi away
Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana
Hideaway at Royalton Punta Cana
#87 of 112 in Punta Cana
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Memories Splash Punta Cana
Memories Splash Punta Cana
#32 of 112 in Punta Cana
8,215 reviews
8.1 mi away
CHIC by Royalton Luxury Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
0 mi away
Royalton Bavaro Resort & Spa - All Inclusive
2.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino

Address: Arena Gorda | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range: $280 - $989 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royalton Punta Cana is a modern "All-In Luxury" Resort on Bavaro beach with unique all inclusive features like Reservation-Free Dining, international drinks, 24 hour room service and Dreambed. Guests can also take advantage of our All-In Connectivity exclusive features including: • Free Wi-Fi throughout the resort • Unlimited free in-room calling to North America and most of Europe • Convenient USB recharge and Bluetooth audio stations in your room • Download our free Royalton app and receive unlimited free calling plan from your mobile device while on our property, as well as unlimited free app-to-app texting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing