We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino
Nearby Hotels
Melia Caribe Tropical(Bavaro)
$252
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$335
$261
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Excellence Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$370
$315
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Caribe(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$160
$136
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$355
$249
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$346
$242
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$516
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$297
$190
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$633
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (10,973)
Filter reviews
10,973 results
Traveler rating
7,205
2,428
818
273
249
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,205
2,428
818
273
249
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiamond clubmartini bardips pool bargourmet marchesands beach barhunters steak housememories splashtravel smartjuan cruzhunter steakhousevip breakfastadult only poolzen restaurantsister hotelfamily vacationsports barbutler service
Filter
Updating list...
8,298 - 8,303 of 10,973 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed from april 5-12...diamond club, swim up , adults only. Loved every minute of our stay. everything was perfect from the start. We arrived at 1100, and our room wasn't ready...no problem, our butler gave us a tour and we had a few drinks, then into our room.
The food was great, especially the a la cartes....Zen and Hunter steak house were our favorites but Opa was good too! The buffet is o.k. could be better but we only did breakfast there. If there was a line up, we went to the diamond club lounge and ate there!
Our butler, Jose Luis was amazing . He is a wonderful man, very kind....he helped us with all the reservations and kept checking on us! Would love to go back and see him again.
The beach was amazing...really liked the adult only pool....the spa hydrotherapy was amazing, tranquil...tried couple massage and loved it...very professional.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kellycnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear kellycnurse,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Royalton Punta Cana not only for your wonderful comments that you have had about our team, but also for taking the time to share your positive experience with the rest of the TripAdvisor community.

We are really glad to hear your comments about the impression of our hotel. Reading your comments help us to know that our decisions are in the good way to give our guests the best possible experience. Your comments about the attitude of the staff will be shared with the objective to motivate to continue with the best quality and guest satisfaction.

We hope you visit us again and of course we will be very pleased to welcome you.
Best greetings,

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We spent a week here in March 2014. The resort is beautifully decorated and extremely clean. There was a variety of food to meet all tastes. We ate at all the restaurants on the resort and found them all to be very good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Jeffri, also known as Blondi, was exceptional. All of the entertainment activities he led were extremely enjoyable and he went the extra mile to say hello and inquire about your visit. Jose was another staff member who deserves recognition. I was traveling with my disabled mother and it seemed that Jose kept an eye out for us so he could assist her. The only thing I was dissatisfied with was the view from my room. We booked an ocean-view room but didn't get one.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Kim S.,

Thank you for taking time to report your recent experience at Royalton Punta Cana, we are really happy to read your feedback on TripAdvisor about your recent visit.

Your positive feedback is very much appreciated. We can assure you we always try to do everything as possible to create enjoyable experiences to our guests, and we will consider all your comments like a great value that help us to improve.

It would be a pleasure for all of us to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We go to Dominica every New Year. This resort can be compared with Barcelo Palace Deluxe which is our favourite. Spend 2 weeks at Royalton this winter. Great vacation, beautiful beach, great food. Martini Bar is a wonderful spot in the evening!!!!! Will be back. Definitely suggest to consider diamond club option, worth the extra money.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank SvetlanaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear SvetlanaY.,

It is a big pleasure to read not only your wonderful comments about our facilities, but also for your nice words that you have had about our team. Thank you so much for it and for sharing with another Tripadvisor's users.

Reading your comments help us to know that our decisions are in the good way to give our guests the best possible experience. In the same way, we thank you for the feedback about the things that were not to your standards. We are working in order to improve it and we truly consider all your comments for the next decision on the future.

Thank you very much again for your good comments. Certainly, we expect to receive you again as soon as possible and to greet you personally.

Kind Regards.

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I like many after booking this hotel read the reviews and was very nervous about some of the things that was said. I have just returned from the most amazing two weeks of my life that has changed my outlook on life for good, that I seriously wonder where the people stayed that gave all the bad reviews as it could not have been at this resort.

I want to start by saying that Thomson gets knocked all the time on these sites and by word of mouth but I have to honestly say that they made my holiday, as I was travelling alone I was very nervous on embarking on this trip, they were there for me all along the way and made me feel very comfortable about this trip. Upon arrival we were picked up by coach as you are and greeted personally, then checked in on the bus, so no wait at reception we were able to go straight to the hotel and room (more about that later) Domingo the hotel rep was an absolute angel and could not do enough throughout my trip to make sure I was happy and everything was to my satisfaction. Domingo is an asset to the resort and to Thomson. I also had the pleasure of meeting Evens his co-worker and he also was a pleasure to deal with and gave me so much information about the country. They are both Excellent hotel reps and both deserve every accolade possible.

Now onto arrival, as said I received my room key on the coach, upon arrival to the hotel was warmly greeted by the staff with a cocktail and hot towel. I went up to my room in the back of my mind as I was by myself, I did think will I get the room nobody else wants, nothing could be furthest from the truth, when I walked into my room it took my breath away, it was just so beautiful and luxurious that from that moment on I knew this would be a great holiday. The maids and cleaning staff were amazing, I am upset at myself that I didn't get any of there names, for my birthday they placed a bottle of champagne, chocolates and decorated my bed and door it made me feel so special.

Onto food, what can I say, it was 5 star all the way, every restaurant was excellent from the staff drinks and food. The presentation and attention to detail was world class and I cannot fault anything. I tried to write down everyone's name to mention them but seem to have lost the papers I wrote, so will do my best from memory.

Hector the supervisor of the Grazie, Cava and Opa is simply the most professional and accommodating staff member I have ever met. He bent over backwards to make sure all of the guests needs were met and trust me some were very difficult yet he did it all with a the greatest courtesy and a lovely smile. Royalton I hope you are reading this and take note that he is an great asset to your hotel and should be held in the highest regard, he motivates his staff to perform at the highest level of service and it shows.

Damari and Ynez were the sweetest waitresses and made me feel so welcome when I visited these restaurant and again could not do enough to make sure I was happy. Also Graciela the restaurant hostess was such a lovely young lady and so courteous.

Bartenders - All were terrific, such fun and full of personality. From Andy in the beach bar, Antonio in the night club, Jean in the Grazie late night were all so helpful and accommodating to me and sometimes our group could be quite demanding but that never phased them they always met our needs with a smile. Many other bar staff were so nice and helpful and again kicking myself for loosing the paper I wrote the names down on. Please forgive me but Royalton know that you have amazing staff and have trained them all well.

Elvira - Pool Waitress never let my glass be empty and always remembered my name, again there were others.

Now for the entertainment staff where do I begin this is an awesome, amazing, super group of people and honestly made my holiday complete. Being on my own I was very nervous about getting involved and finding friends which I soon did, but having the entertainment staff go out of there way to get me involved and spend time with me was something I never dreamed, you go so many places and you get that fake sentiment that you know they have to do, but this was not the case for all of them, they were so genuinely caring and did all they could to bring every smile to my face. Royalton take note that you must cherish and hold on to all of them as they are so amazing and work so hard to get to know your guests and make sure they are happy!

Luis - Totally amazing individual that could not do enough for my group and every guest in the hotel, always had a smile on his face that could light up a room, he is an asset to the hotel.

Happy (Francis) Words cannot describe what a truly lovely individual she is. Everyday she took time to come and find me to see how I was. We spent many moments with her teaching me Spanish and me helping with English, we had so many laughs together and I now consider her family and will miss her a lot.

Jeffri (Blondy) Another purely lovely individual who made my stay so amazing, always checking on me and even took care of an issue with a rude vendor that was being inappropriate, he spoke to the person and also told his supervisor and made me feel so safe and protected. He is always up and runs around making sure all the guests are having a good time.

Ismisa - Again I think I sound like a broken record but such a lovely person and full of smiles, always checking on me and making sure all was ok.

Antonio, Eric and others of the entertainment staff were also amazing.

So many amazing dancers at the resort but one sticks out in my mind is Eddie, he took time to come and dance with me, I felt so silly but he made me feel so comfortable, he is a really nice person and very genuine.

I literally could go on forever about my experience but I don't want to bore you all. This resort is just amazing and please go, stay and experience. The place is immucalate and I seriously don't know how, as I saw the messes and two seconds later it was all clean and spotless.

Don't let any of these bad reviews change your mind as they are not the case.

To the Royalton I appreciate all your hard work, dedication and commend you for hiring some of the most amazing staff I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. They are all irreplaceable and can't wait to see them all again.

I am booking again this week so see you soon!!!!

Room Tip: I was in a few rooms of friends and don't see there is a bad one really. I was in 1239 and it was wonderful
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Joanna I.,

We would like to thank you personally for sharing on TripAdvisor your kind feedback about your stay at Royalton Hotel Punta Cana.

We appreciate to hear that we have been able to meet your expectations and that our location, staff and facilities have contributed to a wonderful holiday in our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed our resort.

We hope to have you back soon enjoying Royalton Punta Cana.

Kind Regards,

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner have been together many years but have never been on holiday togetherx we have three children and one on the way so decided to book somewhere a bit special just for us before this baby was bornx the travel agent suggested this hotel to us even though it wasnt finished yet but assured us by april when we went it would be well established and live up to its five star ratingx from the moment we pulled up to the entrance we were offered cocktails( i very sadly had to decline the offer lol)and cool towels and I was already in lovex the hotel looked grand and modern and just amazing with its high ceilings and marble floorx check in at reception was quick and easy and the receptionist was lovelyx a bell boy took our cases and we were taken to our roomx we were staying in building 6 and outlr room overlooked the pools and the seax the room was beautiful and immaculate x shower is huge and the beds are amazingx mini bar is always stocked and as soon as I even stepped out of our room the maid was in replacing our towels changing beds and buffing the floorxxx she was a machine lolx
The complex is just beautiful and super modernxx its kept to such a high standard and they are always cleaning something ...even the floors outside! The pools arnt huge but there are enough to cater for everyone even little kiddiesx the swim up bar was my fave and the non alcoholic cocktails they serve are deliciousx the beach by far is my favourite place to be with its pristine white sand and amazing blue/green oceanx
There are hundreds of loungers and although sometimes we struggled to get one it really didn't bother mex there are hundreds of guests in that hotel and so will never be enough to go around everyonex same as the pool loungersx too many would just take up too much roomx they had the mix just right I thinkx same as the towels they offer you at the towel hutxx sometimes they do run out but this is purely because people take towels and then just leave them on the beach and then go back for more laterx they seem to be fighting a losing battle bless themx you should see the big wheelbarrow they collect them all with at the end of the day I feel for the guy trying to pull itx
Now the foodxx :)
Now I live in england and have visited most resteraunts and local food chains at home and some are better than othersx im not a expert when it comes to food believe me but the food I had whilst on holiday here is some of the best I have ever hadx the selection is huge...mexican..tapas...Mediterranean...japanese..italian...steakhouse...fish resteraunt.. international buffets and loads of snack bars cafes ectxxx all are superb and the staff are awsome and really cant do enough for youx they helped with the menus made sure our drinks were always topped up and generally had a giggle with usxx im a social soul and love to chat and the staff were more thans happy to listen to me ramble on lolx I learnt so much about them all and their families ectx it was so nice and the language barrier was hardly ever a problemxx the only downside is maybe a couple of the resteraunts are a little small and sometimes u will have to be prepared to waitx they give you buzzers however and we never waited more than a hourx we just sat at the beautiful outside bars and chatted with other holidaymakers xx
Like I have mentioned before the cleanliness of this hotel is just amazingx everything is pristinex the pools are cleaned all the time and the guys are out there every morning at the crack of dawnx the glass is always getting polished the tiles buffed and swept the gardens trimmed and preened the beach litter pickers are always out the staff really are amazing and work like diligently every hour of every dayx
There are enough shops on site to cater pretty much for everyone but if not the hotel offers a free coach to the local shopping centre at ten in the morningx we went and it was worth getting out and about and seeing the localsx
There is a casino. Theatre. Spa. And gym and although we didnt use any of these facilities others we spoke to said they were goodx
The only bad report I have is the guys who try to sell u timeshare but cleverly disguise themselves as guest services!!!!x they offer you free stuff and a welcome breakfast to thank you for being a valued gueat at the hotel when infact its really a sales pitch for a hour and a half to get u to invest in the companyx a total con and I was really annoyed at being lied tox
To sum it all up my holiday to the royalton was the holiday of my dreamsxx believe me im not easily pleased and for ages visioned what my perfect holiday would be and this was definitely it xx I have never been so overwhelmed and happyx tha k you to all the staffx

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank kayeyagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear kayeyagga,

First of all, thank you so much for selecting Royalton Punta Cana for your holidays, it is a big pleasure to read this wonderful opinion about our hotel. And of course, thanks for sharing it on Trip Advisor.

We are very proud to know that your last experience at Royalton Punta Cana exceeded your expectations. As you know our principal goal is to give you our best service, make your vacation exclusive and unforgettable. Your comments will help us with our continuing effort to assure our Guest Satisfaction.

We hope you visit us again next year. We will be very pleased to welcome you.
Kind Regards,

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews