We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diamond Club is the way to go!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Ranked #57 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Vaughan, ON
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Diamond Club is the way to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2008

After reading mixed reviews, we decided to expirence the hotel for ourselves. Our travel agent suggested we upgrade to the "Diamond" package.......and we were glad we did.

Pros to the upgrade:

-Received check-in (armbands, roomkeys, maps, etc.) while on route from airport to hotel.
-Had access to semi-private pool and swim-up bar - huge bonus as we didnt have to fight for sun chairs, it wasn"t noisy or crazy busy
-Had access to a semi-private restaurant for breakfast & lunch
-Had access to support staff exclusive to diamond club members - who could assist you on a number of issues - wonderful and helpful staff!
-Choice 4 a la carte restaurants

The resort grounds were immaculate
The beach was stunning.
a la carte restaurants were very good. the japanese was the best by far!
Daily excursions were available for an extra fee. choose wisely from among many options. Most highly recommended is Marinarium! Fantastic staff.

Areas for improvement:

-staff at the casino and the burger joint - need some serious review for friendliness!!
-need access to more snack bars between 3 - 6 and 9 - 12
-the mini club for kids - was REALLY MINI - it was more geared to toddlers under the age of 4/5 ..

more organized kids activities needed - for ages 7-12

Conclusion:
Resort is very family oriented, and a good place to kick back and relax. This is not a local sight seeing kind of trip. The resort is the place to stay - with the exception of the day excursions you choose.
The"Diamond Club" was WELL worth the upgrade - as we had all of the special items above, but could still access all other amenities on the resort if we chose to.

  • Liked — The entire resort was spotless! Beautiful beach, grounds and buildings.
  • Disliked — The entire resort shut down at 11pm, except for the disco (til 2am) and the burger joint.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank Hottublifeguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,818
    2,898
    1,285
    601
    485
See reviews for
3,171
3,854
128
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,198)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2008

When it was time to pick a destination for our honeymoon we could have chosen anywhere but decided to go back to Bahia Principe. We had a wonderful vacation last year in November 2007 when this hotel was rated #1. We were not disappointed on our first visit and all expectations were met again.

We came back for the following reasons

1. excellent food. The buffet has so much excellent selection and lots of restuarants to choose from. We booked at four restaurants.

2. Beach and lots of ample shade and beach lounge chairs. The same goes for the pool areas. Beautiful surroundings and no nonsense of needing to wake up early at 6am to scounge for decent locations

3. service is actually really good. We never had language problems. our room was always replinished with bottled water every morning

Take everything in moderation. Too much sun, drinks with coconut cream, or pineapple may make you spend more time in your room recovering vs. having a good time. drink lots of water, bring lots of sunscreen

We had a great time and without hesitation would return again

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Luv2Travel2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2008

this was my third time to D.R. and won't be my last ,we took our kids with us this time they loved it.we enjoyed scuba diving para sailing and the helicopter rides.We were treated with upmost respect.i would recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank luggage43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2008

Absolutely brilliant ! Amazing views and beaches...just go, relax and enjoy ! Definately DEFINATELY recommended !

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gingersweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brit in Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2008

I have stayed in hundreds of hotels all over the world, and many have been a disappointment, this one was not. The beach was clean and pretty, plenty of things to do (i played beach volleyball), good and diverse restaurants, many pools including a large main pool, lovely reception area with very large bar, live music and very comfortable. Fantastic rooms, large and nicely decorated. I am returning this month, and happy to do so.

  • Liked — Great room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank casinonick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

You have to keep an open mind that this country is a 3rd world and therefore standards are not the same as we would typically expect back home.

Ambar is part of the Gran Bahia complex that has Gran Bahia Bavaro (the biggest complex) and Gran Bahia Punta Cana. There is yet another complex just being finished called Premier. The latter is so far from the beach though.

Bavaro has by far the most villas, many certainly not walking distance to the beach. It also caters to families. In fact there are little trains to take one across the complex. The train does come to Ambar also so you can go to the other complexes. Ambar has the villas nearest the beach and walking distance. None really have beach views though you will get a nice pool view and partial beach one if you get to be in villas 67 or 60. Amabr is of course adults only.

We stayed here for 2 weeks. The welcome was warm and even though check in is 3pm, we got our room 12.30pm which was nice. The rooms are very clean, spacious and cosy. The bathroom certainly was well laid out also. They give you a mini bar that comes with the all-inclusive. They normally fill it up every day and is free!

The maids do start to work outside around 8,30am and they scrub the tilled floors which does make some noise. With night life ending here 11pm every night, you tend to go to bed early, unless you venture over to Bavaro. The latter has a daily show from 9.45pm - 10.45pm. The Michael Jackson show on a Monday night is pretty neat. They also have an OK circus show on Thursdays. This area is a covered, but open theatre with lots of smokers. You can then move to the outside band area that goes until 12am. You also have the disco that goes to 2am.

One headache we found is the attire one needs in Ambar. For breakfast and lunch guys HAVE to wear t-shirts or sleeved shirts though can get in with shorts. In the evenings guys HAVE to have full length pants. I tried with capris and was told to change! Women at the pool/beach restaurant must be covered from waist down to eat here. You will need a wrap around or shorts. Guys are OK wandering in with swim shorts only; no top is needed. This gets tiring especially when you are in warm climate.

With the buffet in Bavaro and Punta Cana complexes, shorts are OK for guys in the evenings, though no tank tops anywhere any time. All buffets are the same each evening everywhere and have themes, eg Mexican, Oriental, etc. All la cartes can be booked at guest services. Don Pablo was by far the best and you need to be dressed up to get in. El Olivio, their Mediterranean restaurant was terrible, We walked out the food was so bad. Equally as bad in Bavaro was Pescador.

Maika, the Japanese place in Bavaro was great. Teppanyaki and the sushi was not all that bad!

Buffets had very good variety and quality was pretty good. We never went hungry though its gets tiring for 2 weeks. Good thing is there is no smoking in any restaurant. The lobby bar in Ambar is also no smoking, but elsewhere it is allowed.

Nice drinks to try are Coco Loco, a coconut/rum cocktail. Service was mostly pleasant though there is an element of pretentiousness here. The hotel dings you for everything. Make sure you bring enough suncreen or you will need to buy it here for about $33, literally, per bottle. Beach was beautiful with ample chairs to lie down on. September had 35% occupancy. Pool area typically had the chairs occupied under the umbrellas, otherwise lots left to bake in the sun.

You get a pillow menu that features scented pillows. We got chamomile pillows which smelled nice at first, though were so strong we had to send them back. They impregnated the room with their smell for a few days later!

We had a late checkout as our plane was 9pm Saturday night. They actually charge you $15 US per extra hour that you stay over. That drew a sore thumb.

Be cautioned about some of the tours that can be made in the Bavaro side. The dolphin swim one is $110 US each and gives you about 10-15 minutes of interaction with them in a group. This was a rip off. You will really enjoy the sea lion swim at half the price.

Some days around the pools you can get your picture taken with parrots and a monkey. $10 per picture.

  • Liked — The beach, the cleanliness and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Dress codes, night life and bars shutting down 11pm
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GoWithoutBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2008

We just returned from a one-week stay at the Gran Bahia Principe, Punta Cana, and loved it. We had seen a couple of unfavorable reviews and were a little concerned prior to our arrival. However, we were very happy with the hotel, the staff, the room, the food, the restaurants and the beach was much better than the ones I have seen in Mexico and other parts of the caribbean.

Many of the staff do not speak much English, but they do try to understand you. Most of the people at the front desk speak English pretty well, as do guest services. Our maid provided us with various daily towel creations, accented with flowers. The room was very clean with nice furniture, king-size bed, couch, two chairs, table, dresser, small refrigerator with soft drinks, water and beer, bathroom was large, with a great shower and jetted tub, lots of hot water, hair dryer, soap, shampoo etc. lots of towels, changed daily. Also, every room had a big golf umbrella for when it rained, which was very handy since we had some rain while we were there.

We ate at three restaurants, the Garden Room (steak which we really enjoyed), the Italian (pretty good) and Seafood (O.K. but nothing special). The rest of the time we ate at the buffet and the food there was very good, lots of variety, every food container labeled, so no surprises. Desserts were excellent - I'm a dessert lover and here they were all good, plus they had icecream available every day.

The beach was wonderful - lots of chairs and palapas for shade. Water was of course very warm - sun is hot so bring lots of sunscreen and don't go out without putting it on! The pools looked very nice, with swim-up bars, but we spent most of our time on the beach. The hotel grounds were beautiful and very well-kept. The hotel employs a lot of people too keep the place looking the way it does.

Most of the guests were European (probably Spain) but there were English and Canadian plus some American. In talking with guest services, they said the American guests tend to come later in the year, from Nov. on to get out of the cold weather.

We loved this hotel - traveled there on an "Apple" package and were very happy - flight was good, representatives were helpful and we will definitely by back.

  • Liked — Beautiful beach
  • Disliked — hurricane season
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eldoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
18.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#42 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#61 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#48 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Address: Arena Gorda - Macao Seccion Baigua | Arena Gorda - Macao, Seccion Baigua, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#51 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#51 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Large sun terrace New relaxation zone with Bali beds, sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towels BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts (floodlit for an additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffet restaurant and 17 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 10 bars 3 Snack Bars Cocktail Lounge Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Golf Punta Blanca Golf Club designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino Rooms 816 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Hacienda Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Sitting area with sofa Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Alarm clock Satellite TV Minibar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Wifi (additional charge) Club Hacienda Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teens' Club (11-16 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Meeting and convention room Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Punta Cana
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Bahia Principe Dominican Republic
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Punta Cana Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Punta Cana
Principe Punta Cana
Bahia Punta Cana
Bahia Resort Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing