We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gran Bahia Principe Bavarro - Dominican Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Ranked #59 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
West Seneca, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gran Bahia Principe Bavarro - Dominican Paradise”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Clean and well kept resort, great food and drinks, lots of sun, good times, great memories! Nightly entertainment was fun, casino is small, sportsbar was a good place to end each evening. Ate ala carte at American steakhouse, food was great, service so-so. Japanese ala carte restaurant was the best, food and service terrific. All resort workers were polite and accommodating. Food at main buffet was good and they change things up every day!

Room Tip: 3rd floor walkups are tough after full day of sun and fun, doesn't matter where you are really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BufaloJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmedia b, Customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear client,

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed a nice stay in our amazing resort. At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your vacation become an unforgettable experience.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,888
    2,936
    1,317
    612
    495
See reviews for
3,233
3,924
130
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,210)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My husband and I booked a last minute trip and stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in mid-March. We enjoyed ourselves off the premises by doing excursions. The hotel is huge and the mini trolley was very helpful getting around but we weren't too pleased during our stay at the hotel.

Dislikes (Food and Room):
1. We had to wait until 3pm for our room to be ready, so we waited for 3 hours.
2. When we finally got into our room, there were cobwebs behind the door, we spent 10 mins killing mosquitoes and the TV didn't work. My husband was pretty upset about the tv because March Madness games were on. We spoke to the front desk about our issues and they didn't care to resolve our issues or accommodate us.
3. There was a lady who was VERY intoxicated and the bartender kept give her more drinks. She eventually threw up in the pool and the hotel staff just stood there without kicking her out, so everyone voluntarily left the pool since the hotel staff did nothing.
4. We were told from Guest Services that you need to make reservations for the restaurants but no matter what time you go to make reservations, the restaurants are always booked. However, if you walked pass the restaurants at night, they were a lot of tables available. We didn't want to eat dinner at the buffet again because the food was horrible, so during the remainder of our stay, we went to a restaurant and gave the hostess money just for them to let us dine in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTraveler554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmedia b, Customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear client,

We regret your observations about our food concept, but please allow us to inform you that our menus are composed by carefully selected products, and done taking into consideration the diversity of our guests. Also please let me inform you that the check-in time is at 3:00 Pm and we need to comply with this rule.

I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced.

Yours sincerely,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had an excellent week; great food and service, awesome beach, multiple pools, good entertainment etc. The resort is large but that presented no problem from our perspective. Recommend the Japanese cooking table at the a la carte restaurant.

Room Tip: we were close to the beach and adults only section which made for a short walk to beach, buffet or p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmedia b, Customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay and for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro. We are very pleased you enjoyed an excellent week with us. It is a pleasure that we were able to fulfill your expectations.

Best regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Definitely one of my favorite places to stay on the island, and we are residents of the DR.

We have stayed there twice already and look forward to returning again and again. The place is huge, however, it is still extremely well run and organized. This was one of my greatest surprises, as the place for its size would normally feel uncomfortable. But not here.

One of the reasons we first stayed here, was the children's pool section. In fact, when my family came to the states with my grandson, he and my stepchildren loved the slides, the pools and the easy access.

The restaurants are excellent! One thing I do advise, as that you make reservations to eat int he restaurants as soon as you arrive. As I said we have been there twice, but still have not been able to eat in the steakhouse. Ate in the Japanese, the Italian, the French, all excellent service, food, and atmosphere.

In short, I have no complaints. Look forward to my return again and again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DR_Gent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmedia b, Customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear client,

We are extremely proud to read that once again your stay at our Grand Bahia Principe Punta Bavaro was wonderful and for you this is one of the best places in this paradise named Dominican Republic.

Thank you for this wonderful comment and for always preferring Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Punta Cana.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

From the time we arrived to going home was wonderful,let me tell you a "little" more.
We checked in with Nairobi(she had a most beautiful smile)which could not have gone any smoother.Was driven to our room(17250)it was nice,clean and spacious got unpacked and went for a look around.
It has 2 pools close by and 1 further down to the beach all were busy as was the beach.Back into the foyer is the restaurant we ate our meals and also a bar and seating area all spotlessly clean.
We are early risers and were on the beach at 8 most mornings however if you want a bed by the sea make sure you are up at the crack of dawn(or before!!!)you could either walk,which was not far or ride on the bus which was always there. The sea was warm and the sand soft,nice area for a stroll.
The restaurant was large and well set out the food was good,if you couldn't find anything to eat here there must be something wrong with you!!! they had a really good selection and the staff were nice and polite we were always greeted with a "ola".
After eating our dinner we went for a stroll then back to see the shows which in the main were good. Michael Jackson being the most popular,the circus act were good and there was good dancing throughout. The staff had quite a problem getting people up on stage for the Man versus Woman show which wasn't very good anyway.
All in all the whole experience of staying in this large but wonderfully looked after hotel was really good for my wife and I and would go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmedia b, Customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Robin,

We sincerely appreciate your feedback. It is a pleasure to know that you received the best smiles and services from the staff and our facilities were good for you to enjoy your vacations. It is good to know that you liked the food and always found something for you.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
643 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I regretted not asking earlier which drinks were included because our brochure said that some cocktails were extra so I avoided anything out of the standard. However, many drinks were available as included. I liked the nightly shows, probably the best at any place I stayed, although I have only been to about 3 other resorts with evening shows, but these were far superior. I ate a lot of passion fruit at the buffet because they cost so much at home. At every all inclusive and cruise ship I have been on, I found the restaurants that required reservations are not as enjoyable as the flexibility of the bar restaurants and buffets and I never found the food particularly worth the trouble. I don't like DR because of the surrounding neighborhood and all the begging and poverty. Perhaps that is snobbish, but the other option to trying to ignore it all is to give them everything you own and live in poverty too. The hotel was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMahdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmedia b, Customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear client,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for highlighting the nightly shows that you enjoyed so much and were the best you have seen.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a dream in the Caribbean.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My partner, two friends and I stayed from April 11-17 and we loved the resort, to be honest its the only resort that looked big, nice and clean, we went to other ones picking up people for the excursions but they werent the same as this one, we even asked people about theirs but they had a negative part of it. In our side we don't have one. The staff there are extremely nice very helpful, the food was amazing each day it was a different type, the drinks were also excellent, there was a different show everyday, also one of the good things is that it is also a family resort because they have kids playground and even a little water park. Pools were clean, all around was clean. The only thing is that the souvenirs in the hotel are very expensive because they don't have the prices in them the employees put price to it and its not fair. Also the discotheque was very boring because the DJ wasn't spanish he didn't put spanish music which he had to since we were in a spanish country, he was very mean by answering us back saying that most of the people were white and they wanted hip hop and r&b which we don't think that was the right answer for people that were also staying there that were spanish too, we stayed for 3 hrs and he never put spanish music so we left. We would definitely go back to this Resort We wont change it :)even tho for those two negative things, so go people take the chance you wont regret it. IT IS AMAZINGGGGGG!!! Love Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro in Punta Cana... Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmedia b, Customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Jessica,

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to know that we exceed your expectations and you experienced an amazing time at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro. It is wonderful to know that you can’t wait to come back to our Resort. Please be assured that it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you once again.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
22.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
21.3 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
8.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#60 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
44.0 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
12.2 mi away
Sunscape Dominican Beach Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Address: Arena Gorda - Macao Seccion Baigua | Arena Gorda - Macao, Seccion Baigua, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#52 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#52 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#53 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Large sun terrace New relaxation zone with Bali beds, sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towels BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts (floodlit for an additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffet restaurant and 17 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 10 bars 3 Snack Bars Cocktail Lounge Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Golf Punta Blanca Golf Club designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino Rooms 816 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Hacienda Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Sitting area with sofa Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Alarm clock Satellite TV Minibar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Wifi (additional charge) Club Hacienda Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teens' Club (11-16 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Meeting and convention room Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BP USA TRAVEL INC, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Punta Cana
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Bahia Principe Dominican Republic
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Punta Cana Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Punta Cana
Principe Punta Cana
Bahia Punta Cana
Bahia Resort Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing