We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bavaro Resort 2014 Feb7-14”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Ranked #60 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Bavaro Resort 2014 Feb7-14”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Good resort, nice staff, food decent. Beaches so nice, long and water so warm. If you don't like walking, or disabled not the resort for you. Although the trams run quite often. Maiko Japanese restaurant good stir fry, Steak House good (not friendly staff at Steak house, felt rushed). They do a good job keeping this place clean for its size. Very huge resort, but I like the hustle bustle, so if want small and quiet don't go here.

Room Tip: We stayed in building 34212, great location close to lobby, right across from 2 pools. Far from bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Susan M,

I really appreciate that you take the time to send us your comments regarding your experience during your stay with us.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,926
    2,974
    1,345
    635
    504
See reviews for
3,294
3,964
131
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,221)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We traveled from Feb 2 - 7th, 2014 and stayed at the Grand Bahia Principe. This place is a huge complex and for us we went last minute at a cheap price. But we got what we paid for. At check in the girl hardly spoke English which I understand since your in a different country but still lack of communication was very frustrating. She told us where our room was but then sort of just brushed us off and said here you go go find your way around this massive complex. The room was nice and okay, had to kill a pretty big spider but not a big deal. But for the most part the room was clean. The beds are pretty hard. They stock the mini fridge with soda, local beer and water everyday. We ate at one of the many buffets located by our room, there are several sections of rooms each having a buffet. The first one was not impressive. Food was oaky and I read reviews of people getting sick from it but I don't think that was the case. Alot of people come over from Europe and just are rude about it. They refuse to line up and wait their turn. People cutting in from of you and putting their face or hands on all the food. That was kind of gross. So be careful about what you eat. Also many of the waiters don't speak English so getting a straw was kind of hassle but that's no big deal. One other buffet we tried was by the main lobby which was a bit better service but the food choices are all the same. They have several restaurants on the property which you should make a reservation right when you get there. We did but still got the short end of the stick with late times to eat. Our dinners were at 9 and 9:45pm. I mean this was frustrating since we just got there and everything was booked up. Not cool. The guy did give us one extra dinner since someone cancelled so that help out a bit. All these places are okay. There was a Dominican place which was not that great I would skip that one. Ordered a steak and it was like a cube steak back home, so not a big deal. The Garden Grill was the best place for steak, very good. Santa Fe also was good if you want Mexican food. The pools are nice, the only huge problem is chairs. They have signs all over that you can't save chairs but nobody follows the rules. People get down there like 6am to save chairs with their towels and leave for hours at a time which sucks if you're not a morning person. I never thought on a vaca I would have to work so hard for a freaking chair. I understand if you leave for lunch or something but people would be gone 2-3 hours a day and expect their chairs to be there, crazy. Same for the beach you have to search for random chairs. Also the beach to packed, all the way down the coastline so if your coming here and expect an empty beach this is not the place for you. Also if you hit the beach BE SURE TO BRING BUG SPRAY. Sand fleas are crazy there we got bit up on feet and legs. These little things suck. My wife got it pretty bad so be sure to brind bug spray and spay your legs. Trust me the itch like hell. There are alot of activities around the pool and beach be careful of the self serve soda machine they don't clean it very well alot of bees around there and they get into your drink, be careful. Also if you stay in the Principle part you have about a 15 minute walk to the beach and the huge pools. They have several pools around the complex but the ones up by the beach have the most action. They have shows throughout the week, to me not really worth going to they are okay but not worth the time. There is a casino the size of a small bedroom didn't play in there looked shady and not a whole lot of action. Also when you arrive you may get something under the door trying to get you to go to a seminar for an hour. They tell you that you can get some watches or something, this is a joke. My wife tried it and they give you watch but like the 25 cent ones that are like for kids then you go to this seminar which they give you tee shirts way too small for anybody and a massage. But it's longer than an hour and it a whole thing selling you vaca time around the world which in the long run will save you money but it's a pressure push to do it. I mean if I was retired and have the cash it maybe worth it but I don't take trips every year and it's touch to pull out 15-20K on the spot. My wife said the massage was nice but not worth the 2 hours we wasted at the seminar. So your call on that. Overall what we paid for I was happy with the place. We were looking for sun and warm weather being from Michigan. But by the last day we didn't want anymore buffets and wanted to get home to the snow. It sounds crazy but after dealing with the service and people we felt like we need another vaca from this one. so if your looking for a quick trip to warm weather and don't care about food and little things this is for you. To us we will never be back to Punta Cana, been there done that.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the beach do not stay at the Principle part of the complex. It's clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Ryan,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel.

In the name of all of our staff members I would like to offer you a big apologies for all the inconveniences you have experimented during your stay and also for the dislikes, and we hope you could consider giving us the opportunity to host you again in Punta Cana.

Kind regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Travelled as a group, my husband and I, with another couple with a twenty year old and a twelve year old. Stayed in the Bavaro section. We enjoyed the fact that there's was lots to do. Shopping, mini golf, teen club, pools, etc. Great choice for mixed crowd. A little something for everyone.
The food was good, buffet offered a changing selection. A la cartes we tried were the beach buffet, the Italian and the French gourmet. Italian was a hit and miss depending on what was ordered, I really enjoyed the beef with red wine sauce, Hubbie was pleased with the chicken roll. French was very good and the beach buffet was a nice treat to eat outside with the sound of waves in background.
Service was also a hit and miss. Some of the lobby bar staff were friendly some were dutiful but obviously burnt out. Language barrier was there but did not affect the service. Some of the friendliest staff were not that fluent in the English language.
Rooms were ok. Could use a deep clean. Travel companions had issues with a musty smell and mosquitos in their room but ours was fine just a little dusty. We stayed in the 78 block which was closer to lobby but still only a quick jaunt to beach.
As other reviews state the seats do get "booked" up but we were at the beach about 930 and found six seats without a issue. Same with the pool days.
We did the dune buggie excursion. Be prepared to get muddy. Really muddy. Take a plastic bag to put your camera and towel in. As well as a scarf for your hair and bandana for face.
Zip lining we did as well. But didn't know that zip lining with monkey was a separate bus and group so we were split up. So know that if you want to stay with your family when you book it. You can't easily just meet up after.
I would recommend this place for people that want to do more than just sit at the beach or in their room. There is a lot to do. Just wandering around the grounds was enjoyable. It is true it is very big. You don't get the interaction with the animation team like other places because of it. Or the first name basis with the staff. But if you are a quiet beach person I couldn't recommend it. At least not the Bavaro and Punta Cana section because the beach is busy with lots of people on it.
Experience with shopping on the resort proved that the more you looked around before buying the better deal you can score. We found that surprising the best deals came from the shop with the prices on it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Wishuwereherewithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Customer,

We are very pleased to read that you had a good time thanks to our good food. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations, and it is wonderful to know that you spent your time shopping and making excursions, and we provide a lot of things for everyone.

Thank you for your comment and we are always at your disposal,


Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We had a fantastic time at this resort - the pools, bathrooms, facilities, were all immaculately clean. Our room was spacious, however, the shower leaked somewhat and the bedding/furniture could definitely use an update.

All this said, we would definitely visit this resort again, here are some specific notes:
- we were in the Superior section, which is the farthest from the beach. keep in mind if you are in this section, you will have to take the tram to the beach, but not that annoying by far - it was nice to visit the beach and come back to our pool, which seemed less crowded than others.
- the superior section is great if you have kids, since it's right by the kids water park, which looked fantastic! plus, a bar by that pool, as well, everything a family would want.
- the room was large, but definitely needs an update - we had an older tv, thin bedding, and the shower leaked somewhat thru the glass partition.
- the mini-bar is minimally stocked with 2 beers each day; however, we gave our great housekeeper a few dollars every other day with a "mas cervezas, por favor, gracias!" note and she had no problem providing some extras.
- the food is just okay - breakfast is fantastic, great omelettes, and the snack bar by the pool had fabulous calamari, but most meals tasted pretty similar. The French and Japanese restaurants were our favorite experiences.
- top shelf liquor available everywhere, and bubbly always open on command! the drinks were fantastic, and the servers and bartenders were great everywhere we visited on-site.
- Team Animacion (the activities team) made our trip so fun! We loved aquagym and learning to dance by the pool and at night in the hacienda.

Although I mention a few things to consider when booking, we booked through Expedia at a great all-inclusive rate and we were thrilled with the value of this resort. If you are looking for a super-modern, updated room, where you will spend a lot of time, consider an upgraded area. But, if you love spending all your time at the beach and the pool, relaxing and drinking, you will have a great time!

Room Tip: The superior section is great if you have kids - right by the water park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Mandy,

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed a fantastic time in the Resort and to know that you find worth to mention our French and Japanese Restaurant, your favorite one; and the Animation team.

At the same I apologize for the inconveniences in the room you have experienced but please rest assured that we have taken your observations into great consideration.

Best Wishes,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Resort is to big to operate as a four and a half or five star resort. Our experience this time at this Punta Cana resort was not up to what we enjoyed several years ago. We were a party of three adults and were promised a room with two queens but for that we would have to upgrade to royal golden for a few extra dollars. Our first night was spent in two double beds, then we were moved into a room with king and cot. The royal golden amenities we did not require! and only bought this in order to get the larger beds. The 175 ml bottle of rum, which I was insulting, comparable in size to the sample bottles one gets free from the liquor store. The extra bottle and t shirts for our inconveniences didn't make up for it. Room lighting was dismal, even after obtaining a second stand lamp, and we are disappointed with our stay. The drinks served were of substandard quality, hardly even suited for bar stock, and to switch to slightly better brands were at a ridiculous extra cost given the fact that we had already paid the all inclusive price. Food quality was poor, uninspiring, and although presented well, monotonous. The Japanese restaurant was very disappointing, as normally there is some sort of cooking acrobatics, which was obviously stricken from the program to save time. Guests were shuffled quickly through the dinners and plates were being removed even before you were able to finish the course. When the last plate was finished, we were moved out of the cooking area to make room for the next group, and seated at tables by the exit for dessert. The included Internet availability of only one hour per day, for only one guest per room, for only one device per guest, all at one sitting per day, and only in the lobby, was ridiculous. Consequently, after being forced to purchase a 49.00 US internet package for the week in order to have normal service, it did not work on all devices, and spent several hours with Spanish tech support in huge middle of the night, to try to resolve the issues unsuccessfully. Due to the huge numbers of guests compared to beach lounge chairs, we found it very difficult to find seating anywhere. This resulted in having to rush out at dawn's first light to reserve 3 chairs together, then go back to sleep.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxxHOMEBREWxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Client,

I would like to take this opportunity to extend our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during the stay at our hotel. Please let me inform you that room’s petitions are subject to availability and may not adjust to your exact request but we always try the best we can.

We regret if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to. I’m really sorry to read that you were not satisfied this time with us.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you once again in our Resort.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This was my 5th visit to Bahia Principe in past 5 years. (4x Bahia Punta Cana) and this time Bahia Bavaro (Jan 29- Feb 8)
The Pros: Beautiful hotel, the landscapes and pools/beach are spectacular. I found the Buffet downgraded a bit from previous stays but still relatively good. The specialty restaurents El Pescador and Japanese were great.
The Cons: The hotel had no clue i am repeat customer, i had to tell them. I called them a few days before arrival and requested a room close to the beach or at least half way in the middle. we were given Villa 78 which is one of the farthest away from the beach. Is this the way you treat a repeat loyal customer? I was not made to feel appreciated for my loyalty to the hotel. The Barbecue restaurant a la carte is outdoors and had stray cats walking around looking for food. they would walk under your table or stand near your legs and beg for food. Some customers (cat lovers) would throw food at them while other (non cat lovers) were disgusted and had to leave. Hotel management must address this issue. Also the hotel offers Free Wi-Fi (great) but is restricted to 1 hour daily and confined to the lobby area only. For an all inclusive hotel i did not like that we were charged for room safe in our rooms. I found this a bit tacky.
Overall this is a beautiful hotel, management should pay closer attention to some of the details i mentioned here. Next year i will try them again. I hope they recognize me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Montreal1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Customer,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel.

As you are one of our repeater guests for fifth time your opinion is very important to us and whenever our special clients like you feel they are not receiving the treatment they are entitled to, we try to make our best effort to change that perception and regain their trust. I deeply apologize for the difficulties you have experienced in your dinner.

Next year we will give you the best treatment you have recieved in order to change the negative perception from this time in our resort.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop's Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is a great resort! We stayed in the Diamond Club villa 27 and it was a 5 minute walk to the beach and pools. The service was great from the time we were picked up at the airport until it was time to leave to go home. Rooms are little older but still clean, food was good and staff was very friendly. Be sure to check out the night time entertainment - it was fun! The steak house was really good too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frances G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Frances,

We are very pleased you enjoyed the Diamond Club section thanks to our good food and exceptional service from the helpful staff. We appreciate you have taken the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel.


Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Punta Cana.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
22.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
956 reviews
21.3 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,790 reviews
8.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#63 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,163 reviews
44.0 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
21.1 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#86 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Address: Arena Gorda - Macao Seccion Baigua | Arena Gorda - Macao, Seccion Baigua, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#53 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#53 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Large sun terrace New relaxation zone with Bali beds, sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towels BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts (floodlit for an additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffet restaurant and 17 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 10 bars 3 Snack Bars Cocktail Lounge Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Golf Punta Blanca Golf Club designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino Rooms 816 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Hacienda Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Sitting area with sofa Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Alarm clock Satellite TV Minibar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Wifi (additional charge) Club Hacienda Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teens' Club (11-16 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Meeting and convention room Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, BP USA TRAVEL INC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Punta Cana
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Bahia Principe Dominican Republic
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Punta Cana Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Punta Cana
Principe Punta Cana
Bahia Punta Cana
Bahia Resort Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing