We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (10,918)
Filter reviews
10,918 results
Traveler rating
5,120
3,141
1,431
670
556
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,120
3,141
1,431
670
556
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden grillclub diamonda la carte restaurantsmain buffetkaraoke barbbq restaurantcloser to the beachmain poolguest servicesthomas cooklarge resortseafooddominican republicsteakbeach poolother resortst shirts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,886 - 1,891 of 10,918 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I just returned back from our honeymoon in Punta Cana where we stayed at the Grand Bahia Principe Bravaro. We had booked the all-inclusive trip through Expedia/Sunquest about 5 weeks ago and ended up just booking the Superior Suite on the Bravaro side (the cheapest option at the time). After reading reviews on this site I was a bit worried that I didn't upgrade to the Diamond or Ambar and decided that we'd ask for an upgrade once we got to the resort. When we arrived it turned out that everything was booked up (peak season, of course) but we weren't mad because we ultimately knew that we wouldn't care where the room was... as long as the surroundings/company was good. And it was!

We ended up in Villa 33 - about halfway between the lobby/buffet and the beach. The room was large and decorated with 'Honeymoon' decor upon arrival. It was spotless clean, the shower was great, no problems with the air conditioning, no leaks, the bed was big, extra blankets in the closet if we needed them, beach towels ready for us to use, large bathroom.... overall we were very happy with the room location and the room itself. We ended up paying for the safe ($4 a day) and glad we did... we felt comfortable with leaving our valuables in the safe. The Bravaro rooms don't have wifi so if you NEED wifi at all times then try to upgrade to Diamond. But who goes to a tropical paradise for the wifi usage? The lobby gives you 60 minutes of free wifi daily if you need it.

We left little gifts each day for the maids with a note that read "Gracias" so that they knew the gifts were for them. We came back to our hotel room with stocked mini fridge and a very clean room. We did find out on the first evening that while we were out for dinner the maid must have gone into our room and left a "goodnight" message with a couple of chocolates. We were surprised that she let herself in that late in the evening but were okay with it. If you don't want them to come in to do so then just put the "do not disturb" sign up, which we failed to do that evening.

The resort is really big but the walk isn't bad at all. We never once used a tram to get around. I'm not sure why people did to be honest... I would estimate that it is about a 12 minute walk from the lobby to the beach and most people go to places like Punta Cana to enjoy the sun and the surroundings.

Like many of the other reviews mentioned... you should try to get down to the beach to 'reserve' your beach chairs before the morning rush hits. We woke up before breakfast and made our way down to the beach to reserve a couple of chairs where we wanted to be by throwing our towels/books/sandals on them. After we went for a run or walk on the beach, then to breakfast, then changed, and back to the beach. Our chairs were still available for us. I know that's frowned upon but EVERYONE did it and it seemed to work for everyone. No conflicts. The beach is beautiful and the water is nice... lots of activity going on... the pools are also clean and refreshing if you don't want to swim in the salt water.

You definitely will not go hungry at this resort. The buffet serves breakfast, lunch and dinner (dinner can also be reserved at Guest Services at the a la carte restaurants) and there is also a "snack" buffet near the beach pool which is open between meals. However, you could definitely eat a full lunch at the snack buffet - it served more than just snacks! The food was good - not excellent but definitely good enough to eat. You'll find something you enjoy (for me it was the guacamole and fresh fruit!). Both my husband and I enjoyed the breakfast buffet the most. They had two omelette stations, lots of fresh bread and fruit and yogurt and cereals. Everything you'd want in a good breakfast. The lunch and dinner buffets were similar. Like I said... you'll find something you enjoy to eat.

The only thing that bothered us were the mosquitoes that ended up in our room at night (the maids leave the doors open when they clean so the bugs come in). We tried to swat as many as we could before falling asleep but what can you expect - mosquitoes like warm places and Punta Cana is definitely warm. Just bring bug spray for the evening and you'll be fine.

I wouldn't be afraid to ask guest services if you need anything or any help. They were friendly and tried their best to accommodate everything. My husband and I both had a great time and would definitely return to this resort. People on this website like to complain about the small petty stuff when it comes to this resort but don't worry... the trip is what you make it and the resort was great.

Try the tea or coffee with warm milk. It's delicious!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank LJaneG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to know that we were able to meet your expectations, and it is wonderful to read that your nice comments and nice to know that it was worth the trip.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again and continue providing the greatest vacations.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Regards from the Caribbean!


Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I think that this resort is very very good and we enjoyed our stay but a few minor things that are fixable stop it from being GREAT, so here are some things that may be helpful to you as you prepare to travel here.

We booked through Apple Vacations and they have a "check-in representative" who has your info when you arrive. This person was unnecessary, and added to our nightmare frustration at check-in.

When we arrived we knew that our room would not be ready until 3 so we were prepared. However, when we came back to the “Check-in rep.” at 3pm we were told that our room was not yet ready, we sat in sight of the rep. waiting for our room, and at 3:45 he simply got up and walked away. It was finally after 25 minutes of waiting for him to return, did I find a Guest Services person who got us in our room by 4:30pm. So be prepared to be persistent, and know that if you booked through an agent like Apple, you will have an extra layer of check-in. (Note: the reason that our room was not ready was because when we were scheduling our restaurant nights, I mentioned that my birthday was coming up, and the guest services lady asked them to add a birthday greeting to our room. A very wonderful gesture that went very badly)

The resort DOES have wifi access throughout the property, but it is not free (except for one consecutive hour a day in the lobby only). We have traveled to the D.R. many times and this was only the second time that there was a charge for wifi. The cost ranges from $8 an hour to $50 a week. This is not mentioned on the resorts info page so be prepared to either upgrade to a room that includes wifi or take extra money.

There is an in room safe at an additional cost. We couldn’t sign up for it at check-in (see unnecessary step comment earlier) and had to go back to the front deck. You cannot charge it to your room so take you credit card with you.

The rooms are comfortable but lack outlets for charging devices. The hotel does NOT have extension cords, and the outlets are very few, already used, and poorly placed, so if you are travelling with devices that will need recharging, or have a C-PAP, take extension cords with you because they will suggest that you by one.

There is nowhere on the resort to get U.S. currency, so take enough with you. All ATM’s dispense Paseos. Our rep told us that it is better to have your home currency rather than try to convert Paseos, but then told us that we could not get anything on the resort except Paseos. (That was a little frustrating but we survived it)

The resort is big. There are 5 hotels on the same resort (Bavaro, Punta Cana, Premier, Esmarelda, and Ambar), but they have a good shuttle system that helps to get you around. Depending on your pricepoint, you may be able to use most of the resort but not all so check at the front desk and they will let you know. [The drawback (although minor) is that we were approached EVERY DAY by someone wanting us to sit through a timeshare (Now called Vacation Club) presentation. They were not pushy about it, but they were there every day asking again.]

Each area has its own pool, buffet and lobby area with nightly entertainment. The staff does a great job of keeping things lite and fun. The drinks are made very well, and for an extra fee you can order “topshelf” items.
Some of the rooms are VERY far from the beach so take everything and make one trip. If you arrive before your room is ready, try to set-up your restaurants while you wait. The Guest Services people did a REALLY GREAT JOB.

There were a lot of families with young children and they all seemed to be having a great time. There is also one section that is adults only.

The evening shows are fun, and really crowded. They do two shows.

All in all, this is a very good resort and we did have fun. Since we have traveled to the D.R. many times before, some of the small things that this place charged for (or wanted to) made it fill like they were nickel and dimming us, and made it a little frustrating. But with the stuff that I have told to to be prepared to deal with, I would say GO to Gran Bahia Principe and have a great vacation and a very relaxing time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sratts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor, which we will take in the highest consideration.

We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome once again at our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar, Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, Golden Club, or Hacienda Club, which rooms are located near the beach.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Regards from the Caribbean!


Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My wife and I arrived at the Grand Bahia Principle Bavaro in Punta Cana on Jan 3-11 and expected a 4 Star All-inclusive Resort. What we received was a poorly managed 2 Star hotel with very few employees who could speak any English. Most had very poor attitudes and seemed to wish you weren't there and had no idea how to help you. The rooms were very dark (poor lighting) and the shower water went all over the bath floor. Need of a complete update. Towels in bath were the worst I have ever seen. The door lock didn't work. The room safe didn't work. All took hours to get fixed. The beach was a 25 minute walk from our room (or 20 minutes by the ride). The beach and hotel were 116% of occupancy (per front desk). Kids were everywhere. A miserable place to spend a week. We have stayed at 8 other hotels in Puna Canta and all were good except the Grand Bahia Principle Bavaro. Avoid this place

Room Tip: Get a room near the middle of the resort. you will be between the beach and restaurant
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with others on TripAdvisor which we will take in the highest consideration. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance. We regret not having been able to achieve our main objective with you, which is our guests´ entire satisfaction.

Thank you for your comments and we would like to have another opportunity with you in any of our Resorts.

Kindest regards,


Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

it is a huge place, and facilities are good. food was average, with lot of variety. tried 4 separate l restaurants, liked italian the best.

staff generally helpful and pleasant. beach is beautiful.

they could use some maintenance, found washrooms with old squeaky taps and bath tub won't drain and or will not shut off.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mohinderd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Customer,

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with others on TripAdvisor which we will take in the highest consideration. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance. Thank you for your observations, which plays a key role in our continuous process of improvement and lead us to achieve our commitment to excellence.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Kindest regards,


Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

A place for everyone! Service by all staff was outstanding, everyone went out of their way to serve us. Highly recommended! By staying at the Bavaro you are where the main buffet restaurant is as well as to both entertainment halls. Even though the resort was booked to capacity, there was never a line-up at the restaurant. Due to the resort being so large, there are shuttles that take you to the many facilities like the beach, waterpark, a la carte restaurants, spa, etc. You also never have to wait for a shuttle, its a continuous service till the wee hours of the morning. It's a perfect place for everyone. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: By staying at the Bavaro you are where the main buffet restaurant is as well as to both entertainment halls.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rose Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente,

Palabras tan halagadoras como las suyas, nos inspiran aún más en nuestro compromiso de brindar las mejores experiencias a todos nuestros huéspedes. Es un gusto conocer que han disfrutado de unas vacaciones de ensueño.
Esperamos poder contar con su visita el próximo año a Punta Cana y muchas gracias por recomendarnos!!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, su mejor hotel en Punta Cana.

Saludos cordiales,


Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews