We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Nearby Hotels
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$328
$218
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $278/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$335
$262
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Excellence Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$370
$315
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Caribe(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$160
$125
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Melia Caribe Tropical(Bavaro)
$205
$128
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$371
$311
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$465
$311
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $346/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Zoetry Agua Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$516
$403
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$259
$181
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/30
Book now, pay at stay
$346
$270
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $310/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (10,967)
Filter reviews
10,969 results
Traveler rating
5,136
3,155
1,437
679
562
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,136
3,155
1,437
679
562
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden grillclub diamonda la carte restaurantsmain buffetkaraoke barbbq restaurantcloser to the beachmain poolguest servicesthomas cooklarge resortseafooddominican republicsteakbeach poolother resortst shirts
Filter
Updating list...
1,971 - 1,976 of 10,969 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed in the hacienda rooms near to the beach. The room was lovely and clean. The food in the hotel is very good, no low cost food but healthy food. The beach is amazing and you have a restaurant near to the beach. This was our first holiday at the dominican republic but it was my best ever. Next year we will return to Grand Bahia Principe. And the staff is very friendly and they help you when you have a question or a problem. For my this is a 6****** star hotel.

Room Tip: hacienda room : near to the beach, because this hotel is very big.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Tania,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro. It is a pleasure for all of us to read that we were able to fulfill your expectations during your first visit to the Dominican Republic.
We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again and continue providing the best holiday in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Kindest regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

the best hotel, best holiday and hotel ever.......just amaizing, the room was lovely and very clean and all people are very friendly, i will back there for sure, Very big resort but so much to do if you want to. There are plenty of trams running if you aren't into walking. Don't understand how anyone could complain.

Room Tip: bavaro, is good and cheaper
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 517michal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Customer,

It is a real pleasure to learn that this have been the best holiday you have ever had, and to know that you find worth to mention our lovely room and friendly staff.
We would be absolutely delighted to have the opportunity to welcoming you once again and continue providing you the best experiences at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Warm regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Let me start by saying we stayed at the Amber last year & it was are best vacation ever. This year we stayed at the Bravaro with the kids & the service was horrible. I asked for wash clothes for 3 days before I got any. The Sante Fe private buffet employes we're great but the selection is very limited not worth it. The room was horrible the fridge had warm presidente beer & soda. The bath tub also leaked & the shower backed up so you stood in a half a foot of water taking a shower. The worst part was of the room was the bugs everywhere. Called the hacienda DIAMOND service desk & they brought a can of bug spray NO HELP AGAIN! The pool & beach were great but the room & front desk service we're horrible. And finally took the privilege club sales tour! These guys are a bunch of pushy used car sales people who think people are super dumb & will open thief wallets & just give them money. I got the feeling the guys think Americans are stupid & rich.

Room Tip: If your trip only includes adults & you want to go here stay at the Amber!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayw412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Jay,

We would like to take this opportunity to extend our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay at our hotel.

Regarding your opinion about the bugs in the room, please allows us to inform you that our Housekeeping department follows established procedures and all rooms are subject to a very strict supervision, which are carried out continuously.
However, due to our tropical climate and the landscaping that surrounds the Hotel, and taking into consideration that we are located in a protected mangrove area, the presence of certain species coming from the exterior may not be avoidable at all times.

Kind regards,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here March and absolutely loved it. Our family (2 adults, 2 teens) plan on retruning in the near future. Fantastic food, entertainment, accomodations, beach. The bar at the beach serves both hot food and drinks with an incredible view to the sea. Shuttle service runs often from beach to lobby, just sit and wait. Staff was awesome, always coming around (lobby) to offer another drink. Took a snorkling tour, booked at the beach (take gravol if the motion of waves bothers you and wear a life jacket, you will be in deep water).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Chris,

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us on Trip Advisor.
We are glad to find out that there were some aspects you find worth to mention, especially our fantastic food and entertainment, the beach bar and our helpful staff. It is a pleasure to read that we exceeded your expectations.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I am no expert about Caribbean’s, this is my first time here, but this place is ridiculously beautiful. Imagine a movie scene with a tropical paradise, then throw a big hotel on it and lots of people, and you’ll be looking at Punta Cana. It doesn’t matter if it’s sunny or cloudy, it’s just so pleasant and fantastic.
We picked Gran Bahia Principe – Bavaro, travelling with Spies. This charter is operated by Thomas Cook Airlines (direct 10h flight from CPH).
The hotel turned out to be a gigantic hotel complex – 5 brands of Grand Bahia Principe splashed as 3-floor villas on an area of approx. 2 sq km. All beautifully composed into a botanic garden; super clean, super groomed, super nice.
To walk the complex south to north you’ll need about 10min, east to west 5min, that’s why they’ve got buses running inside it. All the palm trees, hedges, lawns etc inside are lush, vivid colors, and perfectly maintained. There is an army of gardeners working on it constantly – you can notice obsessive attention to cleanliness.
When you get to the beach you’ll see gorgeous white fine sand, palm trees background, and turquoise water. I don’t think I’ve ever seen better. But then it will be packed with tourists, really packed. This complex has over 1k rooms, and all guests who didn’t pick the pool, will end up on a beach stretching for around 0.5-1km. Tip: for best experience book Gran Bahia Principe Amber. They’ve got the best, and least crowded stretch of the beach. No kids allowed there though. There is a lot of cool activities at the beach and pools, I mean it, we got a A4 sheet written with font 10, to cover the week. Dancing/aerobics/yoga etc, there is a beach volley court, and a bunch of enthusiasts always ready to play.
Rooms are generously sized, with AC, looking okay, no fancy design. No room at the hotel has any special view, as far as I can tell, there is a palm tree forest in a way to the sea, even for the best villas. Cleaning is very good, but the laundry service took 4days, while it should 2.
Food is good. Really good. The main restaurant offers overwhelming selection, and changing themes every day. Well cooked, well arranged on display, with prompt service. There is a bunch of smaller restaurants too that you need to book in advance (Mexican, Japanese, bbq, Italian, French…). We tried most of them, and food is similar if not worse than in the main restaurant, which is a bit disappointing IMO, but they offer more intimacy and date-like setting. Once again, very good food, but there is space left for your good restaurants back home to be superior. Especially meats.
To sum up, I’d call this an ultimate vacation paradise, top class, to start with, and then list couple of things that I didn’t like.
The sheer size and number of people would be the biggest flaw. It doesn’t feel crowded at all in the 90% of the area, but it does in the most important 10% - at the beach and at the pools. It would feel so much better to have this paradise more for yourself – at least in my definition of paradise nobody ‘reserves’ sunbeds at 7am leaving stuff on them. I actually think the hotel should introduce some courtesy-policy and put an end to this. Many of those ‘booked’ sunbeds were empty until lunch time.
To handle the size, the already mentioned buses are necessary (this is questionable, but democratically most are lazyish here). They are actually diesel stinking vehicles that constantly ride the roads pushing pedestrians to the sides and making the place dangerous for kids. A golfcar riding with a texting driver is an every 2nd day observation. What stumbles me most is the fact that they put speed bumps here, in a closed resort, as if the drivers were not capable of respecting the speed limit, and I think in fact they are not, because they often race between the speed bumps. In addition the buses do not have suspension (as if they were bought before bumps had to be installed), and make terrible noise and shake on the bumps. Looking at the scale of this investment, I cannot understand why are these not electric? solar based perhaps, and with electronically limited speed, if it’s truly necessary, instead of the bumps. @Grand Bahia Principe, why?
I occasionally got annoyed by bartender’s behavior, trying to squeeze a tip out of me. Especially 2 gentlemen at the beach bar were borderline rude and very clearly disappointed by lack of tip, even in case there was no line. They’d feel a sudden urge to take something to the back or clean something, exactly when I approached the bar... This is in sharp contrast with general warmness of the staff, who spoiled our kid at every occasion.
Last but not least, some ripple effects of the all inclusive thing. It occasionally attracts a goldrush behavior of some sort, like chain-sipping cocktails throughout the whole day, making people seriously dizzy or some primal reflexes to cut the queue right in front of you. Another thing with the closed AI resort, is that prices for silly things are pumped to the max, expect Danish or higher prices for things like sunscreen, razors or souvenirs. Take your time while packing to save yourself couple of ‘seriously?’s. I don’t believe the hotel is making any money on the little lobby shop – not enough turnover, but the steep pricing does negatively influence the mood of people who are forced to use it.
To summarize, this place, although not free of issues, is pushing the bar for dream vacation really high. We had an absolute blast of vacation. I’d absolutely recommend Caribbean area, as well as this hotel (Amber even more), unless you can give me a similar one, free of the mentioned issues (write me in private, it will be our little secret )

Room Tip: If you can afford and have no kids, Amber, has better, quiter beach.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marcin_cph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear Marcin,

We are glad to find out that there were some aspects you find worth to mention, especially our clean premises and beautiful beach and gardens.

We thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you once again in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Always at your disposal,


Customer Service
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews