We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas and New Years”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Ranked #59 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Christmas and New Years”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We arrived on Christmas day to this beautiful resort. We were slightly disappointed with the lack of Christmas atmosphere at the dinner buffet, but were told that the main Christmas celebration occurred on Christmas Eve. Fair enough. The beaches were beautiful, but crowded and if you didn't "secure" a chair early in the morning, you spent a lot of time scouring for chairs. Most of these chairs with towels on them sat empty most of the day.....surely there is another system for this!

We were blown away with the festivities of New Years Eve. The restaurant had incredible displays of chocolate cravings and a huge 2013 shrimp display that were the most impressive that I have ever seen. The party in the square, time clock, fireworks were just wonderful.

My husband got up early in the morning to go back to the square and it was completely cleaned up!

The staff were courteous, friendly and approachable. It was a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wellgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination.
Thank you for mentioning the festivities of New Year’s Eve and our courteous staff.

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration. We greatly appreciate your feedback, as it enables us to continue improving and providing our service for our guests.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,885
    2,936
    1,315
    610
    495
See reviews for
3,231
3,920
130
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,209)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dix Hills, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We are traveling to the Grand Bahia Principe resort March 22 - 29, 2013 to celebrate my daughters birthday and have been trying to make dinner reservations at the "ala carte" restaurants and confirm our room choices for over 3 days now. My husband has made multiple calls to the hotel and main management office with no success. He has been told everything from, I am too busy to speak with you", "you can do this yourself on the internet" to "just eat at the buffets" or "try calling our office in Spain". He was transferred so many times that he actually ended up being transferred to a different resort. The people who answer the phones are rude and not at all helpful. I am very concerned about this "luxury" vacation resort that I have booked not 1 but 2 rooms in. Each call is an international call for me and I am hopeful that someone will help us soon or I am considering another resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you very much for choosing our Resort as your holiday destination. It is an honor for us to assist you.

We have contacted you in private asking for you to please provide us your contact information in order for our address you directly.

Thank you in advance for taking your valuable time to contacting us.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We spent 1 week in January 2013. The impressions are that the service is very poor but the premises (buildings, pools, rooms...) are good. The problem in this hotel comes with everything that has to be with people working there: since the breakfast, that is very poorly served (few things to eat in the morning, and no variation at all, always the same things) to the specialities restaurants (the meals are so poor and with such few things to select that there is no real necesisity of going there to have dinner. It's better to go to the buffet).
Only pool animation is good. Cooks are very bad (imagine a breakfast with no scrambled eggs!!!, or a japanish restaurant so lowly served that we were there 2 hours to have dinner!!!).
It's a piti because the premises at the hotel are good, but it is not well attended.

Qulity of drinks is very very poor, with almost no variaty, and very bad served.

Other issue to have in mind is that some Dominican or Puertorrican tourist use thsi hotel, and noise by ninght can be owful (fight, screaming...) making quality of sleep very poor and even scary.

The beach is good but narrow and pretty full of people.

Room Tip: There are 5 hotels inside this resort: - Club priviledge (far from the beach, but very near to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JM_SEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for highlighting the good aspects, such as good beach, buildings, pools, and rooms.

Your point of view has quite surprised us, since it is not usual that we receive those kinds of remarks from our clients, but on the contrary, we usually receive excellent feedback about their friendliness and attentiveness.

Please allow us to inform you that we constantly monitor our employees through our Human Resources and Quality Department, in order to ensure that we are providing our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people.

Concerning your comments about our food, please allow us to inform you that our menus are done taking into consideration the diversity of our guests. Every night, at our buffets, we have a different gastronomic offer. We must say that the level of satisfaction obtained, concerning the quality and variety of breakfast, lunch and dinner services, has always been very elevated according to the opinions reflected in our quality questionnaires.

We regret to hear that your perception in this matter was not positive, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager and Food & Beverage staff.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any negative perception you may have about us.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The place was amazing for our 7 day trip with are 2 kids.

Rooms: we had 2 rooms and they were very clean all the time. They are also pretty big. The only bad thing was that they forgot to change the towels 2 days in a row but not a big deal.

Food: the buffet is pretty good with the themes each days and the smaller one on the beach is at a perfect place, close to the beach, for a snack. The Italian a la carte restaurant was excellent and the fish one was okay. But the one that people told use was the best, the gourmet, took 2h15 way to long. Stick to the Italian and buffet. We want to point out that the pregnant women(forgot here name sorry) and Nathalie were very nice.

Entertainment: the 9h00 shows were amazing especially the mickel Jackson on new year eve, great dance crew! The music band also. On the beach, or kids loved the activities especially Lenny Dickson he was very nice with them. Please tell him he's amazing at entertaining kids. Finally I want to say that the people taking the pictures are very nice and good, we spent 160$ for amazing photos. Lots of fish and coral to in the water.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tristan2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be forwarded to all our staff.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were extremely impressed with the helpfulness of Guest Services staff, Mr. Thomas Newton at the Ambar. He set up 6 nights of Ala Carte dinners for us, and even set-up a Crab legs and Lobster dinner by request at one of the resort ala carte restaurants. He also gave us good tips and got us a good deal for golf at one of the neighboring resorts. What a great experience! We would return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

First of all, we would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro.

It is an honor to know that Thomas had provided our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people. He will be delighted to know that they are making a difference in each guest experience.

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to have provided you an unforgettable experience, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

Thanks for your comments and looking forward to seeing you soon at our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I visited recently. We left our bag on one of the Safari vehicles. Mr. Simon - Carlos Luis Charleston called the Safari company multiple times for 2 days in order to have our bag hand delivered back to the hotel. He went above and beyound his normal duties to do this. What a great example of Customer Service! We would return to this resort again.

Room Tip: Although, we stayed at the Ambar, which is adults only, the (Bavaro) is one of the 4 resorts togethe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro.

It is an honor to know that Simon had provided our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize our staff. He will be delighted to know that they are making a difference in each guest experience.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The trip was a last minute get away before my boyfriend was deployed. When we arrived we had to wait to for our room to be cleaned in order to check in. We walked around the resort for a while, but I was wearing Ugg boots (coming from cold, cold Pgh, Pa) so that got old kind of quick! Also it's a HUGE complex of a few hotels all in one resort location, so it's easy to get "lost" but you'll find your bearings within a day. They were a little late with our check in, so we checked out the buffet. There are always QUITE a few different options for food there, but it is nothing to write home about. It does serve it's purpose, though.

Our room was nice and spacious, we had a junior hacienda suite. It was very clean, only complaint was that the bed was pretty hard. Also it's important to point out: the AC only works when the room card is "plugged in" to it's little spot by the door, AND the patio doors have to be completely shut with the handle in the proper position. We were able to leave a card in the door all day (although they don't recommend it.... oops!) but we like it pretty cold.

It's really hard to get a seat at the beach/pool after 8:00 am. Most people go down and save their seats and then seem to disappear for the day. So I would recommend going down early! There is a beach staff to help you find chairs, you just need to flag them down (we didnt find this out til day 3).

Overall the staff is friendly, but mostly Spanish speaking. I would recommended brushing up on some Español before going, you'll thank yourself later!

We went through Apple Vacations via a Living Social deal. Worth the price and an overall good value! We also did a couple adventures, I really recommend the side-by-side tour! It's about an hour away from the resort, but really fun if you like atv-ing!

The best restaurant we went to was the Italian option, but we also heard that the Japanese was good, too! The other food, as I mentioned before, was just OK but honestly, who really cares when the rum is free and can fill your tummy with that just the same! ;)

Room Tip: Hacienda Suites in Villa 27 were close enough to the beach and not too, too far from the main lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel. We will take your opinion in the highest consideration.

We also are very pleased you enjoyed the all-inclusive program which includes a wide range of delicious food and beverage.

We greatly appreciate your feedback, as it enables us to continue improving and providing better service for our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
22.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
21.3 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
8.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#60 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
44.0 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
12.2 mi away
Sunscape Dominican Beach Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Address: Arena Gorda - Macao Seccion Baigua | Arena Gorda - Macao, Seccion Baigua, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#52 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#52 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#53 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Large sun terrace New relaxation zone with Bali beds, sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towels BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts (floodlit for an additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffet restaurant and 17 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 10 bars 3 Snack Bars Cocktail Lounge Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Golf Punta Blanca Golf Club designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino Rooms 816 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Hacienda Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Sitting area with sofa Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Alarm clock Satellite TV Minibar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Wifi (additional charge) Club Hacienda Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teens' Club (11-16 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Meeting and convention room Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BP USA TRAVEL INC, Hotwire, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Punta Cana
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Bahia Principe Dominican Republic
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Punta Cana Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Punta Cana
Principe Punta Cana
Bahia Punta Cana
Bahia Resort Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing