We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Bahai Principe Bavaro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Ranked #63 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This was our fifth visit to the very same resort during the past thirty months . Each visit features improvements in an already perfect venue . Staff , accommodations , food , amenities, and the BEACH all deserve high praise from a couple that desire time alone , warm weather in a secure environment . Highlight of this trip was a day tour provided by Jungle Safari, host George was knowledgable , outgoing and an eager instructor on Island life .
We will return soon to enjoy more of what this resort has to offer .
Thank you.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
9  Thank Sandy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen for fifth time one of our Resorts as your holiday destination.

As a repeater client your opinion is very important to us. Posts such as yours delight us and inspires us to continue striving towards excellence, and maintain the magic that makes our dear customers choose for their holiday destination this paradise called Dominican Republic.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays thanks to our staff, accommodation, food, amenities, and beach.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10,685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,570 - 2,576 of 10,686 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

We loved our stay at the bahia principe...After you leave you will see that rhymes when you learn to say it right.

It took about an hour to get to the resort from the airport because we went by two others before being dropped off. On the way home it was a straight shot and took about 30 minutes.

When we arrived we were helped at every turn. We were driven directly to our rooms from the lobby. The resort was very large but they very nicely have it broken into 5 different hotels and everything we needed was close to the room. The beach was a short trolly ride away.

The room was very nice with tile throughout. The bathroom was nice with a jacuzzi tub (that was pretty loud when used) and a nice shower. We had no issues with water pressure or temperature. They did not put washcloths in the room which we dealt with, figured it was a foreign thing and we didn't care enough to ask for some.

We appreciated the green features in the room. The room had a feature where a door key card had to be inserted in a slot on the wall to turn on electric. Also the ac shut off when patio door was opened.

There were many pools, snack bars and places to eat. The entertainment was good. There were staff all around all day doing fun activities, games etc. They had shows that started around 9pm and then you could move to the outdoor theater. The shows were fun and the circus show was really good.

The beach was very clean with plenty of staff willing to help you find a spot and a chair. The sand was beautiful and the water was the best blue I have ever seen.

We booked our alacarte restaurants through email before leaving which was a little troublesome to us because it took a while for responses. If we had to do it again we would wait until we got there. However we were there on a slow week so we would have had more choices than a busier week.

The size of the resort was very large. It did take about 10 minutes to get to the beach and other areas. The food was good. The drinks were also good.

We did the excursion with the dune buggies. It was fun. We drove the buggies through town to macao beach and then back through town to macao cave both were nice. We were told to wear tennis shows but flip flops would have been better because you can get pretty muddy.

We exchanged us dollars to pesos and should have just left our money in dollars. It seems they almost prefer dollars.

Be prepared to bring your patience when trying to leave. We STOOD in lines for over two hours to get tickets and through security. None of our flights through Miami were on time and we had to sprint to make it home on the last flight out. On our next trip, we will consider this when planning flights.

Overall we had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ewright147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Hotel. We are proud to hear that you had a fantastic time.

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for highlighting the good stuff, such as staff hospitality, nice room, and good entertainment.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at our Resort and continue providing the most memorable experiences, which reflects the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed and Gran Bahia from December 14th-20th. A friend of mine told me that she got really sick from eating the food there before, but I figured it was unlikely it would happen to me. Boy was I wrong! We were sick most of our time there and the staff did nothing to accommodate us! They were rude, gave me the run around, and very untruthful. They have a pharmacy, but it didn't have any antibiotics. We basically laid around in our room most of the days in pain. Also, I didn't find any of the specialty restaurants good at all. I ate at Le Gourmet, the Japanese restaurant, and the Mexican restaurant. The buffet was okay. Much of the food was cold. Could have been much better. The beds were very hard and uncomfortable and there was a very little and old television in the room. Most people there, staff and visitors, spoke spanish. While it was kind of hard to communicate, I didn't mind it much. The shows were okay. To top off this terrible trip we had to call 3 times for the trolly to come pick us up from the room and take us up front to the taxi. They never showed up so we had to walk our luggage across the resort. When we were almost there a worker who was passing picked us on a his trolly. I told him I checked out and needed to get a taxi. He drove us passed the front lobby, where we were suppose to catch a taxi, and to a parking lot. We waited for about 15 minutes while he said someone was coming. He didn't know English and called someone else for me. The guy said he should have took us to the lobby. I had to yell at this guy as he kept saying someone was coming. Then some guy finally showed up. He drove us to the airport. But the whole time he was doing about 90 miles and hour, and switching lanes, while talking on the phone! I WILL NEVER stay at this resort again in my life. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

Regarding your comments about your experience, allows us inform you that on those days and taking into account the high occupancy, we cannot conclude that our hotel is the causative of your illness. Our hotel follows a very strict hygiene, quality and security program monitored by the international company Cristal.

In relation to your observations about our specialty restaurants, please allow us to inform you that our menus are done taking into consideration the diversity of our guests. Every night, at our buffets, we have a different gastronomic offer. We must say that the level of satisfaction obtained, concerning the quality and variety of breakfast, lunch and dinner services, has always been very elevated according to the opinions reflected in our quality questionnaires.

Concerning your opinion about our staff let us inform you that we constantly monitor our employees through our Human Resources and Quality Department, in order to ensure that we are providing our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people.

Your point of view has quite surprised us since it is not usual that we receive those kinds of remarks from our clients, but on the contrary, we usually receive excellent feedback about their friendliness and attentiveness.

We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort and we will give the proper attention.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again at our Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Hotel and that way be able to change any negative perception you may have.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Overall - a good vacation but certainly room for improvement.

The Positives
- wonderful weather - we were lucky I think
- beautiful beach - fairly large waves, good for strong swimmers and those comfortable with water
- animation staff were wonderful - kept everyone very entertained, for those who wanted to be, but left those alone who were happy to do their own thing
- beautiful pools - nice and clean
- Japanese Restaurant - certainly the highlght from a culinary perspective
- rooms were large and kept very clean

The Areas for Improvement
- the beds are in desperate need of replacing - everyone in our party complained about the beds
- did have an issue with our maid - seems she had a sweet tooth as she helped herself to chocolate from our room as well as my nieces room - more funny than anything
- food at the buffet - very repitive
- I am quite fussy when it comes to food - so I didn't really enjoy it that much, but others in our party were ok
- while we knew this going in - this resort is simply too large for us - will know better for next time

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhonad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback, as it enables us to continue improving and providing better service for our guests.

Regarding your comments about our food, please allow us to inform you that every night, at our buffets, we have a different gastronomic offer. Also, our menus are done taking into consideration the diversity of our guests. We regret to hear that your perception in this matter was not positive.

Please be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager for their analysis.

Thank you for highlighting our beautiful beach, wonderful animation, nice pools, clean rooms, and our Japanese Restaurant.

We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Very large resort, bland food,old Tv's in the rooms, internal transportation runs until 3:30 AM and keeps you up late at night ,watch out for the solicitors offering free gift to attend time share meetings, safe will cost you $6 per day.

Room Tip: 2nd floor and stay away from the internal transportation routes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bubbs_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

We regret your observations about our food concepts, but please allow us to inform you that our menus are done taking into consideration the diversity of our guests. Indeed, our satisfaction’s questionnaires always reflect high punctuations. In the same way, we will look for new alternatives to improve our services.

It is important to remark that due to internal policies the safe has a cost of USD$4 per day.

Despite these inconveniences, we hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again at our hotel and that way be able to change any negative perception you may have.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We visited this hotel in December 2012 for 2 weeks. It was a very nice hotel with friendly staff. The guys in one of the pool bars, Super Kelvin, Jesus and Felix, were very nice to us and the kids! Children's pools were good, there were a lot of activities for the kids at the hotel and even for adults. The rooms were fresh and the cleaning was okay, but to get good cleaning you have to leave a tip everyday. The food in the buffet was good, the French alacart restaurant was very good, the food was delicious! We tested BBQ buffet, Japanese restaurant, Mediterranean restaurant and Garden barbecue restaurant. The restaurants were good, except garden barbecue, the service was poor and the food was not so tasty. We had two wonderful weeks at this hotel and we recommend it for others to visit it too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from the entire team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays thanks to our rich gastronomy, as well as the good service from our employees. At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your stay become an unforgettable experience.

Please be assured that it is an honor and a great compliment for us to forward such wonderful comments to Kelvin, Jesus and Felix.

Thank you for recommending us!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Just getting back from the Gran Bahia Bavaro (Dec 14-21). Other than an extremely hard bed, let me tell you this hotel is sure to impress. Definitely well managed with great employees!!

The property is immense! From the facilities to the grounds and on to the beach, this property is stunning and exceptionally well maintained! Don't be fooled by the size of it. It makes for interesting walks, always something new to discover and we never felt overcrowded. The beach is just amazing. Soft sand, plenty and plenty of Palm trees and palapas for shade!! Never had a hard time finding a beach chair. Nice rolling waves for everyone, providing hours of fun!!!

Food was great!!! Big buffet spreads at every meal!!! Lots to eat here! Tried 4 a la carte restos and were all good! Especially appreciated the French one (food was amazing and staff made it an extremely enjoyable experience).

Free wifi in lobby. Spacious rooms! Always had hot water. I wouldn't recommend for party goers but you can always party at one of the pool bars. Definitely a great spot to relax whether on your balcony, by the beach/pool or on a chair in the lobby! I would definitely recommend this hotel to any of my friends and I will definitely return here! I walked around on the beaches of adjacent properties and this one definitely tops them all!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
7  Thank BeenThere01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for mentioning our great employees, maintained grounds, amazing beach, great food, and spacious rooms. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon at our Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro and continue providing the most memorable vacations.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#60 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,280 reviews
0 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
0.9 mi away
Occidental Caribe
Occidental Caribe
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
9,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
6.1 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
5 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro

Address: Arena Gorda - Macao Seccion Baigua | Arena Gorda - Macao, Seccion Baigua, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $149 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Large sun terrace New relaxation zone with Bali beds, sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towels BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts (floodlit for an additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffet restaurant and 17 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 10 bars 3 Snack Bars Cocktail Lounge Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Golf Punta Blanca Golf Club designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino Rooms 816 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Hacienda Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Sitting area with sofa Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Alarm clock Satellite TV Minibar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Wifi (additional charge) Club Hacienda Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teens' Club (11-16 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Meeting and convention room Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Punta Cana
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Bahia Principe Dominican Republic
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Punta Cana Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Punta Cana
Principe Punta Cana
Bahia Punta Cana
Bahia Resort Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing