We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay except for terrible middle of the night robbery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Ranked #63 of 114 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Resort was big and beautiful. Grounds were well kept, many fabulous pools, outdoor bars everywhere, great daytime activities by the beach and pool which got people going, and very entertaining evening shows at 2 big theatres. Food was good for an all inclusive. Staff were super efficient /friendly. Beach was perfect. Check in/out was simple. Clean rooms. Fantastically run hotel.

Our second last night we woke up in the middle of the night to a man yelling loud and aggressively in Spanish to a woman screaming in terror on the third floor. From the loud bangs and hostile yelling that sounded like a military we thought our villa building was undergoing a robbery raid. The screaming and yelling stopped after 10-15mins, from the sound of radios through our door security finally showed up and we heard the woman crying and explaining the robber climbed up her 3rd floor balcony took everything and jumped down. We heard her luggages roll out a bit after and that was it. The next day guest services, our villa staff and the front desk wouldn’t give us any information/ tell us what happened. The next night security was walking around the villa. After an internet search it looks like balcony robberies no matter what floor happen all the time! Not trying to scare u, but remind ppl no matter how beautiful the resort, always put safety first and lock even your third floor balcony door.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Dear Lisa,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Hotel.

We are glad to find out that there were some aspects from our services you find worth to mention, especially entertaiment staff and our pools and beach.

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Looking forward to seeing you soon

Regards from Bavaro!!

María Maciá Bas
Customer Service Manager
Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10,811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,880 - 2,886 of 10,811 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

first off i never ever complain about resorts you can check my other reviews i always look on the bright side friends were actually shocked that i had negatives to say but after reading this i hope ppl spread the word because we were scared for our life & something needs to be done because its not the first time when i looked into different review sites
REASON TO STAY AWAY........ THEIFS & SOME DEFINITLY WORK THEIR TO KNOW WHEN PPL WERE NOT AROUND & TO COME IN AND OUT OF ROOM

We took this trip because a close friend was attending a wedding and we wanted to spread some of our vacation together they…. the wedding party was separated in 2 different buildings and the only rooms targeted locks ripped right off. The brides wedding money & wedding ring stolen along with other family members in other rooms. If that wasn't bad enough the next day wallet back in the room with i.d. but no money ppl were owing in & out of the room no problem we think it had to definitely be part of the staff between dinner staff cuz they ate same time everyday & security & who knows who else the hotel didn't seem to care nore did the police

i read a review that some ppl were even robbed on the amber side while they were sleeping so i had right to be scared so glad to be back so sad been to punta cana 3 other times all amazing

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank beachbumcanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
13020, Gerente at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Dear beachbumcanadian.

Thank You very much for your post on Tripadvisor about your stay at Gran Bahia Principe Bávaro.
We are very sorry if you didn't enjoy totally your holday, be sure we are always trying to do our best and the most important goal for us is the total satisfaction of our guests.

Concerning the serious facts you are reporting, we must say that after a deep investigation, our Security Department haven't found decisive evidences that any of the room doors were forced to the limit to allow people entered violently.

Thank you again for your comments and I really hope to welcome you again at Gran bahía Príncipe Bávaro.

Yours sincerely

Miguel Calafat
Manager
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

hello everyone ,just got back from bahia principe bavaro in punta cana ,great hotel very clean ,nice people all the time ,my kids enjoyed it.its very good for family vacation ,weather was beautiful all week ,no humide no bugs no animal of anykind ,again very clean resort ,the food was k nothing special but we all know that where ever u go its the same things u eat everyday ,we enjoyed our stay at this hotel its been twice now and im satify we everything ,

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear Antonella,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen once again one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice time together during your last stay with us.

As a repeater client your opinion is very important to us. It is thanks to guests like you, that our Company has reached the success and gained prestige through the last years.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

Looking forward to seeing you soon

Regards from Bavaro!!

María Maciá Bas
Customer Service Manager
Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We were at the resort from July 16 to July 20 and had a nice vacation but we would be unlikely to return.

First, the good. The resort property is huge and beautifully maintained. Every place we went was extremely clean; something was always being scrubbed, polished or fixed. The pools were beautiful and clean, even around the swim bar. There were many activities around the pool so there was always something to do if you chose. The beach was clean, except for the seaweed which was in the water and along the shore (can't do anything about nature.) The evening shows were a bit cheesy but we enjoyed them anyway, especially the circus show. There was always a tram available if you didn't want to walk, which was really nice given the size of the resort.

Now, the bad. We did not find the staff to be particularly friendly; in fact, several times it seemed we were putting them out merely by being there. Our room key did not work at first and it took two trips to the lobby to get the problem fixed (considering the size of the place and the heat, that was a real inconvenience!) Our room was very clean but the light bulbs were so dim you could barely read or apply makeup. Our shower had a half door so we constantly had water on the floor despite all our efforts to redirect the spray and build towel barriers. The towels were literally tattered and our bed pillows were musty. Like the towels, our mattress had seen better days.

The food was terrible. While we certainly understand that a buffet is the easiest way to feed large numbers of people, the quality and taste of the food was poor. It was difficult to find something that wasn't tough, soggy, overcooked or undercooked. We had hopes that the a la carte restaurants would be better but were again disappointed. The Spanish restaurant, El Meson, was definitely better than the buffets but still average. The Barbeque restaurant was just another buffet, though in a beautiful setting on the beach. The drinks were also bad, made with watered down, bottom shelf alcohol and super sweet frozen bases. We stuck mostly to the highly carbonated beer and the kids had the frozen lemonade.

While the pool activities were an upside, the constant blowing of whistles to the beat of the music got really old by the end of the week, as did the highly sexualized, pool side dance contests. I'm all for dancing and having fun but it just got to be a bit much. When even your teenager says she's had enough, you know it's not just you!

They set up a market of sorts in front of the lobbies one day. Every stand sold the same jewelry and junky souveniers so the vendors were extremely aggressive to try to get your business and would not take no for an answer. It actually got a bit uncomfortable and we tried to avoid "running the gauntlet" whenever we could but it was difficult because you had to pass them to get to the lobbies.

We had a nice time overall but couldn't wait to get home to get a real meal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
13020, Gerente at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Dear Laura D.
Thank you very much for post a comment of your experience with us on Tripadvisor.Thank you again for your positive comments and negatives as we do appreciate all feedback from our guests.
We regrett you didn't find our staff friendly, because is well known in the entire world the natural friendliness of the people from Dominican Republic.
We are taking good note about all the issues you found whether in your room or with food, although some of them are standar of the Company, i.e. half door shower (which other guests consider is totally enough.
While the food is something particular, as our food is rated above the average, sometimes could be a question of taste. Especially our theme Restaurants have a very good reputation of food and service.
As you mentioned, the resort is huge, so that we have different atmospheres to enjoy, the most crowded pool is the one we have with animation team, but there are quiet pools for those who are enjoying a pool with smooth music and no entertainment, open to everyone.
Of course the "flea market" is very popular among our guests, you can bargain the prices and the attitude of the sellers is part of the show, you don't need to buy anything.

Looking forward to have a new opportunity to welcome you at Bahía Príncipe.
Yours sincerely

Miguel Calafat
Manager
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

i found some of the staff rude around pool bar area ,it took 5 days to get the free upgrade that thompsons promised and no comprend was the saying of the day moved rooms 3 times due to the views of the building sites next to the hotel ,constant battle around the pool for sunbeds and the hotel has to many rules ,the hotel is allinclusive but the mini bar in the room has 2 cans of beer and 4 soft drinks per day and if you want any more a charge will be made to you room and the area outside the hotel is a no go area all in all dominican is a hole.i went on 2 trips while on holiday both involved boat trips ,trip 1 involved 2 hour bus ride the aboat trip to a stunning island well worth the trip my only concern was on the boat there was about 25 people but not a life jacket in site or advised of the location of them and the same could be said about the fishing trip the thompson rep claimed all trips that was on offer were to a british health and safety standard

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Bavaro Hotel.

We regret to hear that your perception about some aspects was not positive, however be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager attention, and we will give the matters the proper attention and corrective measures are going to be taken in order to avoid these situations from reoccurring.

We are very concerned about the situation you reported. Please allow us to inform you that we constantly train our Staff members through our Human Resources Department as well as the Bahia Principe Quality Department in order to ensure that we provide our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people.

Your point of view has quite surprised us since it is not normal that we receive those kinds of remarks from our clients, but on the contrary, we usually receive excellent feedback about their friendliness and attentiveness.

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Looking forward to seeing you soon

Regards from Bavaro!!

María Maciá Bas
Customer Service Manager
Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at the Bahia Principle Punta Cana. First impressions are that it is a very big complex but you soon get to know your way around. The checking staff were lovely and very friendly and so helpful and the bell boys the same. We were taken to our room along with our luggage in a sort of golf buggy - these are always going around the site and you can always flag one down and hitch a lift. The rooms are lovely, bed was very comfortable and always very clean. The gardens and grounds are kept immaculate and we couldn't get over the level of cleanliness everywhere, there was always cleaning of some sort going on but this didn't affect us at all. The buffet / food areas are always kept spotlessly clean and again there is always someone cleaning. The food was good in the buffet restaurant but the a la carte restaurants are lovely and really break up the usual monotony you suffer when you are all inclusive. The mexican was not one of our favourites along with the bbq restaurant but the french was superb as was the japanese and the italian. We had 4 visits per week to the a la carte restaurants so had lots of variation on meals and found this perfect. The staff are lovely, so helpful and friendly and so very polite, always smiling and happy to help.
There are shuttle buses running around the complex all the time so even though the complex was large there was never a problem getting anywhere as you just jumped on the bus.
We found a lovely spot on the beach and chose to go there everyday. The pool by the beach got a bit rowdy from lunchtime onwards so it suited us better to be on the beach in the peace and quiet. We didn't get to sit by the other two pools so can't say what they were like but people we had spoken to said they were ok - one noisier than the other but quieter than the pool by the beach.
The sea was a bit of a let down as it is full of seaweed so apart from paddling in it we didn't venture any further.
There is a shopping square and shops at each hotel that you can wander about but they could do with having a few more up market shops as most of them just sold the usual tat that you find on holiday so present shopping was a bit of a challenge.
All in all we had a really lovely holiday and didn't want to come home and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pibbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Dear client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Bavaro Hotel.

It is wonderful to know that you could enjoy a nice time together during your stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

Looking forward to seeing you soon

Regards from Bavaro!!

María Maciá Bas
Customer Service Manager
Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The resort at first is overwhelming, it took us 4 hours to check in as it was so disorganised. We stayed at the Hacienda in the Bavaro-its so confusing you will certainly need a map for a few days to know your way about. We were closer to the beach which meant we were around 10minutes walk to the lobby. Its such a pain that you have to go back and forth all the time just to do simple things at reception. We chose this resort as we were advised that it was exactly like Sandals only cheaper-not even close. Me and my husband were sick for 3 days after eating in the mexican resturaunt. We met numerous people who were also sick for days it was very common. It was difficult to make reservations for dinner- the staff are very rude, if you have queries and they dont understand they just shrug and walk away or in most cases laugh and walk away. It was extremely frustrating trying to deal with them. I had a spa day and again the therapists were not friendly and couldnt understand english very well. It was the worst massage Ive ever experienced at one point I had to leap off the bed as the 'relaxing' water jets turned boiling and burned my back. I cut the massage short after that and still had to pay the $190 for 1hour 15mins. There are a few extra cost such as the safe in the room which we werent expecting. The a-la carte meals are ok but nothing to rave about. The rooms are also ok but a bit dated and tired looking. Its a very lively hotel which was good fun but I couldnt find a spot on the beach which was quiet its far too busy. The beach is very crowded and not the cleanest Ive seen we were only in the sea once as it was full of seaweed and very murky. I could go on and on but we were mostly disappointed with the staff, the service is very poor. The 5* ratings must be down to the grounds and possibly facilities they are very well kept. The entertainment is also really good. I wouldnt go back to this resort mainly because of the service and that alot of people we met including ourselves became ill.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joanneddcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service department.

First of all, we would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

Regarding your comments about the food in our resort, we must say that the level of satisfaction obtained concerning the quality and variety of breakfast, lunch and dinner services has always been very elevated according to the opinions reflected in our quality questionnaires

We regret to hear that your perception in this matter was not positive but be assured that your comments has been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort.

We would like to state that our hotel is a safe and disease free complex; since we follow a very strict hygiene program and constant monitoring of all standards of quality in our Hotel.

We should take in consideration that certain risks are involved when traveling to the tropics; there are various factors that may contribute to illness, such as climate, temperature variation, combination of food and beverages, excessive sun exposure, personal reactions, among others.

Please allow us to inform you that we constantly train our Staff members through our Human Resources Department as well as the Bahia Principe Quality Department in order to ensure that we provide our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people.

Your point of view has quite surprised us since it is not normal that we receive those kinds of remarks from our clients, but on the contrary, we usually receive excellent feedback about their friendliness and attentiveness.

We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort and we will give the matters the proper attention and that corrective measures are going to be taken in order to avoid these situations from reoccurring.
We are glad to find out that there were some aspects from our services you find worth to mention, especially the service provided by the entertainment staff.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any misperception you may have about us.

María Maciá Bas
Customer Service Manager
Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#61 of 114 in Punta Cana
2,348 reviews
0 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
0.9 mi away
Occidental Caribe
Occidental Caribe
#62 of 114 in Punta Cana
9,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro

Address: Arena Gorda - Macao Seccion Baigua | Arena Gorda - Macao, Seccion Baigua, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $163 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Large sun terrace New relaxation zone with Bali beds, sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towels BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts (floodlit for an additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffet restaurant and 17 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 10 bars 3 Snack Bars Cocktail Lounge Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Golf Punta Blanca Golf Club designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino Rooms 816 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Hacienda Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Sitting area with sofa Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Alarm clock Satellite TV Minibar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Wifi (additional charge) Club Hacienda Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teens' Club (11-16 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Meeting and convention room Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Punta Cana
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Bahia Principe Dominican Republic
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Punta Cana Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Punta Cana
Principe Punta Cana
Bahia Punta Cana
Bahia Resort Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing