We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”
Review of Alsol Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alsol Del Mar
Ranked #44 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2014

My Husband & I knew we were going to be at a lovely location. It was better than we had ever dreamed it would be! The staff, our room, the food were just the best! Dino and Christian were great waiters and Yvette always helped us, from the beginning to the end of our stay!

Room Tip: Call the hotel and ask them for the type of room you wold like.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Miguel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2014

Dear Miguel M,

It always very satisfying for us to know that such an especial vacation, like your honeymoon, has been what it is meant to be, an unforgettable experience filled with happy memories.

We now look forward to welcoming you for every anniversay!

Hasta pronto.

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (975)
There are newer reviews for Alsol Del Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 975 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2014

Had an amazing time!!! As a constant traveler we have stayed in many, many hotels from to Ritz Carlton to Hampton Inn and I can say without hesitating that Alsol Del Mar has one of the best staff out there. It`s just fantastic. Very helpful staff will go out of their way to help. The room, sheets and bathroom were very clean. We opted for the all inclusive option once we checked in and it was great. It also included meals at the Sanctuary which is another hotel owned by the same company and its a short walk from there, if you take the beach. Our Jacuzzi had an issue and it was 11pm we called the reception to let them know and we were surprised that the maintenance crew showed up right away. Not in a single hotel in America you get that quick service much less at 11pm. Amazing!!!! It looks even better than the pictures.

Room Tip: We stayed at building 9 and it had a fantastic view but almost all of the room have great views.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joraj13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2014

Dear joraj13,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of your stay at AlSol del Mar. We feel honored that being such an experienced traveler, you have placed our service level up there, with so many well-known properties. We do indeed make it our main goal to make every single guest looked after, pampered, and their needs attended to.

We will be honored to have the opportunity of welcoming and serving you again.

Hasta pronto,

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2014

We had a wonderful time during our stay at Alsol Del Mar. My daughter and son-in-law had a beautiful sunrise wedding and sunset reception at the resort! Our family and friends had a beautiful time. The staff, Accomodations and food were great! We look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aplusnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2014

Dear Aplusnurse,

Thank you for taking the time of summing up your experience at AlSol del Mar. We definitely make an intimate and romantic setting for a wedding and we are always honored when given the opportunity to host such magical events!

We look forward to welcoming you again!!

Hasta pronto,

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2014

It really depends on what you are looking for in a vacation. The resort is a very short drive from the airport and the lobby welcome was wonderful. The room was unbelievable. I was really surprised by the room and it was the highlight of the trip for me. It was decorated beautifully and it had a nice balcony with a private Jacuzzi.

The pool was huge with a great swim up bar. I can say the entire staff was very accommodating (one bartender brought us room service drinks in the rain after they closed – impressive).
The down side, at least for us - it was SUPER quiet. I asked the bartender and he said they only had 35 people checked in all week. Probably since it was so few people none of the activities happened. Luckily we went with friends otherwise we probably would have been bored out of our minds. We tried to visit the Marina and the sister property but the sister property was closed for maintenance. The marina was dead. It was creepy, like something out of a zombie movie!

Like another reviewer identified, they have one restaurant with three menus. I thought the food was decent, but started to get bored with it after the 3rd day.

We did have a great time. Went on a Living Social deal on the all inclusive option. My point of reference with all inclusive is a Sandals. Sandals had a lot more nightlife and people which we enjoyed, but again - that might not be your cup of tea (plus Sandals was A LOT more money). If you are looking for a quiet retreat, good service, and a nice view then Al Sol Del Mar is for you. If you are looking for a nightlife and activities, then probably should keep looking.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2014

Dear Robyn M,

We couldn´t agree more with the heading of your review!... Not all resorts are created equal and that is the beauty of having customers review the properties they visit: The expectations are set right... We pride ourselves of not being the typically loud and crowded all-inlclusive resort.

AlSol del Mar is indeed and intimate resort where looking after our guests, and attending their needs is our priority.

It is important to notice that summer is our low season and being a small resort, the feeling is that you have the resort to yourselves... For some guests, this is ideal. Privacy and intimacy are appreciated by many. Of course, there is more going on when there are a few more guests to socialize with and participate in schedules activities.

The three menus come as well as a result of having fewer guests. We try to gather everyone in the same area without limiting the food offer, so all the restaurants meal options are made available to you.

We are very happy to know that you had a great time and would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you again.

Hasta pronto!

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2014


Service, service, service! Unmatched so far of all the resorts we've visited in the Carribean this far. Ezequiel, Juan Carlos, Santiago and Contessor. These guys are awesome and it doesn't appear fake or just for tips. Theyre consistent not overbearing, ensuring that you're ok and having a good time. Like the ultimate host. They're why I will come back to this resort. The food was good, rooms was lovely, clean and spacious. We stayed in ocean view room overlooking the pool in the updated section. The beach is not really for swimming. Lots of seagrass this time of year. Was still awesome, private and enjoyable.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank ClaudiaDor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2014

Dear ClaudiaDor,

Thank you for your beautiful review of your recent stay at AlSol del Mar, it is very rewarding for the entire team that you have felt looked after and sincerely taken care of by our staff.

The great members of the team you mention have been made aware of your comments. And we are delighted to know that aside from their personal service, you have enjoyed the accommodations, food and overall facilities.

We would love to have the honor of welcoming you again!

Hasta pronto,

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2014

My experience was nothing less than awesome. Overall staff extremely helpful (although a bit of a language barrier exists). I hope Alsol Del Mar recognizes what an great employee they have in
Eziquiel Nunez, absolutely the best, always a smile, always a kind word and always remembered how I liked my coffee and that ICE in everything I drank was a MUST. The rooms were laid out well, the grounds were nicely kept. Alsol is a more laid back resort, which was wonderful because we were a large group and could always be together. Food did not disappoint. Visited the sister property Sanctuary Cap Cana - much larger, much more noisy, but their Italian and Steak House restaurants were excellent. On my list of places to go back to.

Room Tip: Looking at the building (from the pool area) that houses the restaurant and resort lobby, book the r...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weekendgetawaysamust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2014

Hola Weekendgetaways,

We are very happy to read your review and know that once again we have accomplished our goal of having our guests leave with happy memories, new friends and the desire to come back.

Thank you for bringing attention to the wonderful members of our staff that have made a difference in your stay.

It is great that the accommodations, food, beverages and services were to your satisfaction, and we cannot wait to have the opportunity of welcoming you again.

Hasta pronto,

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We arrived at Alsol Del Mar a
t 4pm on 8/15/2014. Our luggage was taken from the cab and set in front of the hotel and we were escorted to the patio. There we received a glass of champagne given key and completed check in. As we were exiting the patio the bellman asked us to come to the holding room to identify our luggage but the luggage was not in the room. My wife looked in front of the hotel and our luggage was there were the bellman had taken from cab and left, this was very upsetting to my wife. When we arrived to the room it was clean with a partial view of the ocean and pool area this was pleasing to my wife. The beach is very narrow and could not get in the water because it was covered with seaweed.
After an all day excursion on 8/16 when we back to the room there were only 2 bath towels and no hand or face towels. Called front desk asked for face towels at 4:45. At 6:00 no towels called front desk again,6:30 no towels walked to front desk the guy who was bellman when we returned from the excursion is now at the front desk. So I asked to speak to the manager he said he was the only person there. At 7:50 a maid came with 2 bath towels and 1 hand towel and stated there are no face towels these are all the towels she has. They also advertise 3 restaurant there is only one. However, when enter the restaurant they give you 3 menus with each having a different restaurant name. The food in the restaurant is not good. They also advertise a number of activities such as biking,beach volleyball, spanish lessons and several other but not any ever took place. We only saw approximately 4 couples the 5 days we were there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank roneyguinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskya C, Owner at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2014

Dear Roneyguninn,

We thank you for taking the time of reviewing your stay at AlSol del Mar and we appreciate all feedback, since we listen, act upon and amend where improvement is needed.

We are used to rave reviews and are saddened to know of your experience. The issues with your luggage and towels has been addressed with our Housekeeping and Concierge departments. We never want to be careless with our clients´ belongings or negligent to attend their requests. We want all our customers to feel looked after and pampered.

It is unfortunate the food was not satisfactory to you. We pride ourselves of bending over backwards to satisfy all palates and normally a simple request for any particular want will have you satisfied. We are flexible and our chefs are trained to please.

Being a small resort, during the low season there are very few guests (with the advantage that you have most of the resort to yourselves) but normally lack of quorum or participants would not allow us to carry out certain activities. Regardless, our entertainment team is always visible and available for any activity off or on schedule that you want to participate in.

We are always honored to have the opportunity to serve, and we would be delighted to have the chance of welcoming you again.

The AlSol del Mar team remains here at your service.

Best regards,

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
3.1 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,873 reviews
35.9 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
0.5 mi away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#38 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#85 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,404 reviews
51.8 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection
18.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alsol Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alsol Del Mar

Address: Boulevard Zona Hotelera Marina Cap Cana, Punta Cana 51101, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range: $94 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alsol Del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cap Cana, this 254,000-square-foot private beach complex features spacious suites ranging from Deluxe Studios to 2 Bedroom Suites, all finely designed with innovative architecture and Caribbeanstyle decorations. Guests can enjoy our beautiful white sand beach, large infinity pool with a swim-up bar that cascades into a serene hot tub area, complete with a gorgeous ocean view. Between the wealth of amenities we offer, the pristine facilities, and our devotion to exceptional hospitality, which is felt from the moment you arrive and are greeted by the spectacular panoramic ocean view in our lobby. These are just some of the many reasons why Alsol Del Mar offers guests the very definition of a luxurious Caribbean lifestyle. Conveniently located, Alsol Del Mar is just 15 minutes from Punta Cana International Airport, in close proximity of the famous Punta Espada Golf experience, which is considered the best golf course in the Caribbean, and near the Cap Cana Marina, which is considered one of the best in the world, accredited for its superior fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Alsol Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing