We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,272)
Filter reviews
1,272 results
Traveler rating
699
383
94
49
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
699
383
94
49
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la yola free shuttle punta cana village cigar bar brassa grill ecological reserve close to the airport indigenous eyes spg platinum six senses four points eco park shuttle service minutes from the airport beautiful property dominican buffet the hotel offers
Filter
Updating list...
919 - 924 of 1,272 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We went to Punta Cana for the 1/2 marathon a few months ago, and the original hotel we were booked at was full, so they transferred us to the sister hotel, the Westin. What a pleasant surprise. The view as you arrive in the lobby is amazing, looking straight over the pool down to the beach. Check in took a while, but think it was due to the change of hotels etc. Rooms were great, and we had a stunning pool and beach view, everything worked really well in the room. There are only 2 restaurant's on site, but the Punta Cana village is just up the road with a large choice of different eateries. Bartenders were great, very attentive and helpful, as was our waiter for the evening. Food was good, venue was great, we ate at the one on the beach. For us, one of the things that need attention would be some water sport equipment, some paddle boards, and kayaks etc. Overall the staff were really helpful and friendly, hotel was great and was a very welcome change of plan!

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Intrepidtravellers04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Intrepidtravellers04:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are glad that us moving you to our new The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club was such a positive experience for you.

We are glad you enjoyed the hotel, the beach and the staff among other things.

Hopefully you will be back soon.

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Beautiful room, wonderful people. - both count for alot. However, very limited dining choices - two restaurants with very similar menus. One excellent place off premises (La Yola). While the people try to be helpful, they get it wrong most of the time. Tried to order a burger without the bun - you would not believe how that order got messed up. They arranged our transit to and from the airport - got neither one right. They recommended a local snorkeling excursion - stick to the name places, like Gray Line. Phone was not working properly, A/C went out our last night (the place is less than 6 months old).
As i rated it, Average.

Room tip: Get 3rd or 4th floor and be as close to the beach end as possible for best view
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Jay H:

We are terribly sorry that you did not have a great stay in our hotel.

We apologize about some of the mix-ups that you report, these should not have happened.

It seems that we also failed to explain the resort properly to you, because we have many dining choices between what is available and what is in Puntacana Village, which is a short 5-minute shuttle ride away.

Believe me when I tell you that we will analyze the points you mention here to make sure we are consistent delivering the service.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that you will give us another chance at a later time.

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I checked into this hotel today and i cant say enough about the service at the front desk when i arrived. Melissa was excellent, she checked me into my room and explained everything about the hotel quickly, but yet professionaly. I realized quick that I was in a top resort as soon as I walked into this hotel. It was AMAZING to see. I even had a minor mix up when my girlfriend cut her foot and Ivettania at the front desk not only offered to help but insisted on giving us medical attention with bandaids. She didnt only care about us that instant but gave us enough bandaids to help with our entire trip. Kudos to the manager for putting such great staff on the front line at The Westin Punta Cana Resort!

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMattingly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear JMattingly:

We are glad that you had such a great experience in our hotel and that you found the staff so accommodating.

We are sorry your girlfriend cut her foot, but we are happy that it was taken care of satisfactorily.

Thank you for reviewing us and we hope to see you back soon.

Have a great week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This review is a bit late as our stay at the Westin Puntacana was March 8-15, 2014, but we loved our vacation there. The hotel has high security and we felt at ease walking the beach at night. As other reviewers have said, the first few reviews when the hotel opened scared us a bit (especially since we booked before the hotel even opened) but we were pleasantly surprised. As Starwood Lifetime Platinum members, were were pleased with the free buffet breakfast each morning, which included both hot and cold items that changed daily. We had our two kids (2 and 5) with us as well as another couple and their 2 year-old - and we always managed to find something for the kids to eat (mostly scrambled eggs and OJ). We booked one of the few puntacana suites and were very impressed by the massive size of the room. One closet was large enough to put a bed into, the sofa pulled out to a bed as well, and our room was separated by a half wall - so there was plenty of room for the 4 of us to spread out. The wraparound balcony was wonderful as well, though there was one issue of glass falling from a balcony while we were there so we didn't let the kids out there much. They did come immediately to all of the hotel rooms to ensure the glass panels were secure so that was comforting. The thing I loved most about this hotel was the quick access to the beach and pool. With little kids, you (we) are always forgetting something in the room. At this resort, which is not a massive and impersonal place, you are always 2-3 minutes from your room whether you are in the lobby, at the Kids Club, on the beach (obviously not far down the beach) or at the pool. Everything was quick to get to. As for food, we did go to the Supermercato in the village using the free shuttle bus and picked up some essentials when we arrived. Prices for wine there were higher than duty free in the Punta Cana airport so I recommend picking up a few bottles when you land (we had a lot of time while waiting for our bags and the crowds to dissipate). We ate often on resort, with Sergio "I Love My Job" attending to our every need. The kids ate pasta a lot, but by weeks' end we convinced the chef to make grilled cheese sandwiches and the kids were thrilled with that. We took the shuttle to a couple of local beach restaurants, and walked up to Playa Blanca twice as well. All our meals were delicious! Unfortunately the lobster is endangered so there was a ban on eating it, but I found that the skirt steak was one of the best meals at almost every restaurant - so tasty! The bartenders/servers at the pool bar were VERY slow - even slower than is typical for "Island time" - with one gentleman making the drinks, another recording the drink, and a third taking payment. It was surprisingly inefficient, though I have a feeling the patrons of the hotel aren't big drinkers. In all, we had a truly wonderful trip, which was highlighted by our flight home to Canada being delayed 2 hours which meant some extra time in the sun!

Room tip: Book a puntacana suite if you can - it is markedly bigger than any other room on property. A ground level floor was also attractive with kids because of quick access to the pool and beach.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlecanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear mlecanada:

We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and that you had so many positives to mention such as your room, the breakfast, access to beach and pool, etc.

We are also glad that you enjoyed our Puntacana Village.

Sorry about the balcony incident I was not informed but I will make sure to find out what happened and to make sure that this does not happen again.

We hope to have you back soon.

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

AMAZING staff... almost all of them would call us by our names! Great food! Try the FRESH pescado frito, mangu (local dominican mashed plantains) and the fresh juices! Right on the beach.. Beautiful clear Caribbean waters! Shuttle is available if you want to go to Playa Blanca or the Village (restaurants & grocery store), etc. We went in May, during low occupancy season which is great and intimate family time.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrInternational2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear MrInternational2014:

We are very glad that you had such a positive experience in our hotel and we are happy that you enjoyed our staff so much and that you liked the local food prepared for you.

We are also glad that you enjoyed the amenities of Puntacana Resort & Club and our Puntacana Village.

Have a great week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews