We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful Experience! A True Delight!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alsol Luxury Village
Ranked #87 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful Experience! A True Delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Excellent choice for all inclusive. Very relaxing and quiet - this is not a party hotel. Awesome beach with prompt transportation back and forth by Basilio - not a challenge at all. Food was very good, although I did miss room service for breakfast. Wonderfully appointed rooms - could use a softer mattress for me. None of the usual waiting for a room - ready immediately upon early arrival. Our room was serviced each day at the requested time. The service was incredible - staff wanted to please. It was easy to be patient because everyone tried so hard to comminicate. Used Spa facility for a facial - excellent experience. It was an ultimate 4 days of complete rest and relaxation - no noise. We went for an afternoon over to Sanctuary - could not wait to get back - noisy, loud, buffet food was less than average, rocky beach - not what we expected over there at all. We have been to Zoetry Agua in DR, and AlSol definitely is comparable. The only difference was not having an oceanfront room - for the cost AlSol is a less expensive alternative. Yes, it is convenient to be on the beach, but in this case it worked out well because in 4 minutes you are there. My husband spent his afternoons reading on the Punta Cana beach - this is one of the most beautiful beaches in DR. My guess is once more travellers figure this out, it will become more pricey and obviously less quiet. No need to get a private pool room, because the pools feel like they are your own. Great padded chaise lounges, too! It would have been nice to have someone in a golf cart service the few folks at the larger pool for food and drink every 30-45 minutes since the bar there was not open.The smaller pool had an open bar and grill each day. There is also another lovely small pool by the Italian restaurant where one could have food/beverage service. It had a wonderful view overlooking the marina. The night club will not be open until September for those looking for more evening entertainment. My advice would be to ask for anything you would like, whether it is a food option, bar drink or room challenge. The staff is learning and eager to please any reasonable request. Our favorite staff included Raul (bartender), Basilio (he does so many things!), Jose (Italian restaurant) and the food service manager is awesome. I would recommend this hotel for couples, and family gatherings. Parents with small children would have a more difficult time with food issues. Each meal is more of an experience - not fast food style. Of course, there is your own kitchen in the room....we also had a washer/dryer which came in handy. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheriebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria M, Manager at Alsol Luxury Village, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing AlSol Luxury Village as your vacation destination in Punta Cana and for taking the time to post a review about your experience.

I would personally like to express our satisfaction when reading that your recent experience was "Peaceful" one. We are honored to see that our rooms, beautiful premises and the service provided by our staff surpassed your expectations based on your vacation experience in other Punta Cana Hotels.

The staff at AlSol Luxury Village is committed to provide the best service to our guests. We look forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,417
    491
    179
    59
    59
See reviews for
1,072
1,142
67
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dauphin Island, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a very beautiful resort - we had a two bedroom condo with living room and kitchen. We had double balconies overlooking the harbor. The lower level units had private swimming pools. When we visited, the resort was very quiet with very few guests. We rented a car and went to a local outdoor mall (towards the airport) with several restaurants and a nice grocery store. There is no beach at this property, but the resort next door has a nice beach, and staff will give you a golf cart ride there - or you can walk. There is also a nice beach at the sister resort, Sanctuary which is a five minute drive away.

The resort was very quiet and probably not a good place for 20 somethings or those that need a "party atmosphere". I would recommend a rental car.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria M, Manager at Alsol Luxury Village, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
It's an absolute pleasure for all of us at AlSol Luxury Village to read such a wonderful review. We want to sincerely Thank you. Your valuable feedback is very well received!

We have been striving for three months now, to create in this stunning property, a vacation experience that is full of long lasting memories for all of our guests.

We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Returned to end summer vacation in stlye. In three months, what a difference. Service is even better, staff went out of there way to serve us. Food, wao, I can't describe it, it was excellent! We had an awesome time. Can't wait for Thanksgiving weekend to return!

Room Tip: Depending on how many you are. It is a condo. You cant go wrong one or two bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank In_vacation_mode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria M, Manager at Alsol Luxury Village, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We would like to thank for posting a review on Tripadvisor about your experience at AlSol Luxury Village and for choosing our hotel to spend the weekend.

It has been a pleasure to have at AlSol Luxury Village as a repeat guest. It is so encouraging to receive positive comments on our facilities and culinary services.

We will share your comments with our entire team .

We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again for Thanksgiving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Thank goodness we did not book all inclusive. Only one restaurant open and same menu every night. It is totally closed tonight. Rooms and resort top notch but nothing is open. It's a total ghost town here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephcfetch03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria M, Manager at Alsol Luxury Village, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing with us your review on your recent stay at AlSol Luxury Village.

We appreciate your details as they are of an improvement opportunity. We hope that your good overall holiday experience are not overweighed by the quietness of our property.

We are taking daily steps up to reach the level of service and standards that our guests expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

TLDR: The rooms are new and nice. The staff is friendly. But it is weird being in a deserted "all inclusive" and the choices management makes are poor.

Pros
+ The rooms are big, beautiful, and very tastefully decorated
+ The staff that are there are nice (in fact, having learned that this was an anniversary trip for us, the staff sent up a special cake and decorated the room a little)

Cons
- There were only 15 other people at the whole resort. While i did want to get away from it all, we spent 3 hours in the afternoon in the main pool without seeing another person - no staff, no other guests, no one driving through on a cart - and it started feeling uncomfortable
- Maybe because there are so few guests, only one bar is staffed during the day, and for some reason its not near the main pool. This is not the type of place where you can get a drink order. Restaurant availability is also very limited. Only one place is open for breakfast, and two places are open for dinner. Both dinner places serve exclusively italian food. Tip: do not get the Tiramisu.
- You can't walk to beach from the resort.
- Despite having so few guests, they gave us a room with a bunch of barking guard dogs outside.

Tip: If you do stay here, try to spend your days at the sister resort, Sanctuary, which is a $2 cab ride away. It is right on a beautiful beach, there are fun activities there, and many choices for dining and drinks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria M, Manager at Alsol Luxury Village, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback regarding your experiences at AlSol Luxury Village.

It always our goal to provide the utmost attention to service delivering an excellent guest experience and meeting the demands of our guests.Understanding that our guests are exposed to different experiences, quality and insights, we are rotating the availability of our restaurants to alternate the variety of our cuisine giving our guests daily alternatives.

AlSol Luxury Village, located in the Cap Cana area. Genreally known as Punta Cana is a 30km (19-mile) strip of oyster-white sand set against a backdrop of palm trees that encompasses Punta Cana, Cap Cana and Bavaro. AlSol Luxury Village is within the privileged area of beautiful Cap Cana – an ecologically pristine 30,000 acre exclusive retreat featuring ocean, beach, including famous Juanillo beach, cliffs and forest. In addition to hiking trails, an unsurpassed array of water-based options, world-class golf, biking and running trails and variety of nature based activities. There is plenty to do and see within Cap Cana, we gladly invite you to consider discovering Cap Cana’s attractions in a future visit.

Also, as you have experienced at our sister property, Sanctuary Cap Cana we offer a variety of daily day and evening entertainment available to our guests, including children activities program.

We hope to have the honor to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our vacation at Alsol Luxury Village was awesome. I had read all the reviews prior to our trip. The two or three bad reviews are only from the transition period from Marina Sands to Alsol. So do not consider the negative reviews about this resort. Under the name Alsol they have been top notch. The resort close by, Sanctuary, now owns this property. When you go to the Sanctuary website you will see a link for their "sister" resort, Alsol. Alsol has their own site as well. We did spend part of a day at the Sanctuary. The Sanctuary is for sure more crowded and more of a "party" place. Alsol would be the alternative, quiet, not crowded, but with amazing service resort. So you have two options from the same management. Sanctuary does have three beaches right there, plus the pools. Alsol has multiple pools, with the marina, beach is a golf cart drive by staff away. In all honesty, we actually preferred the beach by Alsol better. That beach is run by Punta Cana Resort, so the drinks and food there are not free. We ate breakfast, got the ride to beach on golf cart (very close). We asked to be picked up at 3pm, ride was there at three on the dot. Very clean beach, beautiful photo ops there with beautiful beach, rocks, trees growing out of sand in water, and a two story hut type structure. The staff were over the top amazing, absolutely no complaints. The food was the same, over the top. Everything was all inclusive. This is amazing, one night the staff said they wanted to do a special dinner for us, they set up a beautiful table for the four of us outside the restaurant, right next to the beautiful marina. My wife and daughters and I were amazed, we felt so fortunate, like royalty. The rooms are top notch, as this was previously a luxury condo village. There are a few condo owners still in the village, we talked to all of them that we came into contact with, very nice people. So in a nutshell, if you want a quieter relaxing vacation with over the top service in a 5 star setting choose Also. If you want a more lively, party place, with outstanding service as well, choose the Sanctuary. This was absolutely our best vacation ever. Through site directly or through southwest.com there is currently a 60% sale now through December. I will post some pics as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria M, Manager at Alsol Luxury Village, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
We would like to thank you for your positive comments and beautiful pictures regarding your recent stay at AlSol Luxury Village.

We are pleased to read, that you have had an AMAZING vacation at our resort, we are glad to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and Service. We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by our staff. We have a commitment to provide quality service beyond our guest's expectations, is for this reason that our team is always ready to go the extra mile; and it becomes a reward for us every time we read the wonderful reviews and mentions of our guests.

We will share your feedback with the entire team.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at this, your Sanctuary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Arrival:
After an incredibly frustrating day of travel we finally arrived to AlSol around 12:30am instead of 2:15pm when we were supposed to arrive. We called ahead and they had someone there to greet us and show us to our room (which they upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite - easily the nicest room I've ever stayed in), with a promise of a tour of the facilities the next morning. True to their word, we made our way down to the lobby for breakfast (complimentary according to our booking), and after finishing we hopped on a golf cart and were shown the resort. We absolutely loved our stay, my only complaint would be that the resort seemed deserted, but I'll write that up to the fact that it is a brand new resort and the word hasn't spread yet. (The good side of this is that their website has some incredibly good deals!)

The Resort and Grounds:
This place is beautiful, designed like a small european village, everything seemed to be recently constructed and flawlessly finished and expertly decorated - seriously, they have done photo shoots and filmed a music video here already. They have 3 pools, one of them being an enormous, winding pool surrounded by palm trees with a pool side bar (unfortunately, this wasn't staffed due to their only being a handful of guests booked in the resort - but we spent most of our pool time at this one as it was only 10 steps from our room). The 2nd pool being smaller but with a pool volley ball net and another pool side bar and grill (this one was staffed and we spent quite a bit of time there due to the proximity to drinks and chef prepared food). The third pool was much smaller and seemed to be more of a quite pool on the side of the marina, it looked nice, but we never went in this one.

Beaches - Technically there is no beach at this property, as it is more of a marina. However, you have access to both a beach next door (The Punta Cana Hotel beach) which they provide free 5 minutes shuttle via golf carts whenever you request a pickup at your room. You can also utilize the beach at their sister property (Sanctuary Cap Cana - we actually stayed at this resort for 4 days as well), which is a measly $2 USD cab fare away. There is also a beach club named Catelon (sp?), that you must pay for, but is absolutely gorgeous and we thought, worth the money. The beach next door was very nice, with white sand beaches, great water and extremely convenient. I should mention that you cannot walk there, however, and you must take the provided golf cart. This is because you have to go through a security gate to access the other resort's property.

The Food:
Simply the best All-Inclusive food I have ever eaten. Honestly, its probably the best Hotel food I've ever eaten as well. Everything is a la cart, and is 5 stars in taste, presentation, and variety. Every dish seemingly had a local twist to it, and was perfect at every meal. As a side note, the Pizzeria is independently owned and is NOT part of the All-Inclusive package (so eater beware), the pizza is, however, incredible and reminiscent of the pizza I ate in Italy during my stay - wood fired, thin crust, lightly sauced.

Service:
Amazing, while the english was limited in most of the staff, there were several employees that were quite conversant and always seemed close by to help translate should the need arise. Fortunately, I speak enough spanish to have never needed the help, but it was available as the other guests that we saw sometimes needed assistance. Every employee we encountered was smiling, friendly, and always went out of their way to see that we had everything we needed. Our favorite employee was the bar tender at the pool bar named (I think) Andrew.

Final Thoughts:
We absolutely loved it here, and the solitude of the place actually fit exactly what we were looking for after our nightmare travel day. We only stayed for 2 nights, but with the airline's mistakes, it wound up being 1.5 days before we moved resorts (this was planned ahead of time and wasn't due to any fault of the resort) I would definitely stay here again, and would gladly recommend it to my family and friends. The resort lends it self more to a tranquil and relaxing vacation than for those looking for a party atmosphere however, so it would depend on what you are looking for in your time to the Dominican Republic.

Room Tip: Our room was just steps from the largest pool and our huge balcony over-looked the courtyard below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SurfSevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria M, Manager at Alsol Luxury Village, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your memorable AlSol Luxury Village experience online. It is always an amazing feeling when our valued guests share so many wonderful comments about their vacation with us.

We are more than happy to learn that we actually fit exactly to what you were looking for you and that you enjoyed our beautiful scenery as well as the enthusiasm of our staff. All our team members are honored with your kind remarks and we are glad we were part of your unique experience. Reading your reviews it’s something that warms our hearts and drives us to improve every day.

We certainly will be ready to welcome you back to AlSol Luxury Village in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
3.1 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#47 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.3 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
37.6 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#80 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
67.4 mi away
Emotions by Hodelpa
Emotions by Hodelpa
#1 of 12 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
53.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alsol Luxury Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alsol Luxury Village

Property: Alsol Luxury Village
Address: Cap Cana, Punta Cana 23302, Dominican Republic (Formerly Marina Sands Luxury All Inclusive Beach Resort)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alsol Luxury Village 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alsol Luxury Village is located at only 10 minutes from the Punta Cana International Airport in the biggest and most luxurious marina in the Caribbean, surrounded by the famous white beaches of Punta Cana and Cap Cana. Alsol Luxury Village is an impressive luxury resort complete with 299 suites of all different sizes and decorated with premium materials and designer furniture to give a true Mediterranean feel.Luxury suites may vary in size and style, but all rooms are designed with innovative architecture, high quality finishes and beautiful decor. For the most demanding we even have luxury suites available with a private swimming pool. The Resort has a variety of beautiful panoramic views with several categories of suites of different sizes.Comfort, convenience and elegance – these elements reflect the beautiful lifestyle of the Alsol Luxury Village. Guests can enjoy a superior level of service while enjoying the five thematic restaurants, ars, four pools, a Dominican style Chapel for weddings and Sunday Mass, a state of the art fitness center with Finnish sauna and other exclusive services and activities to satisfy even the most demanding. Guests at AlSol Luxury Village can enjoy the magnificent Punta Espada Golf Club which is considered the top course in the Caribbean and Mexico, as well as other courses such as Corales and La Cana which are also highly rated, boat rentals, a diving school, activities for children and much more. There are also exceptional event, function and wedding spaces, including a waterfront amphitheater and salons that can be decorated to your personal style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alsol Luxury Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing