We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great get away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isla Catalina

Isla Catalina
Book In Advance
More Info
$170.00*
and up
Full-Day Scuba Diving Catalina Island Tour from Bavaro
Ranked #12 of 89 things to do in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This excursion is available for guests of the Bayahibe, Dominicus and La Romana hotels and Punta Cana resorts. The Catalina & Chavon tour is a half day snorkel excursion to the island Catalina. The excursion combines the sea and the jungle, nature and culture, and poor and rich. This is a perfect tour for when you want a lot of variation and diversity in your outing.We will snorkel at the Living Museum of the Sea, where in 2007 the wreck of captain William Kidd was discovered. Followed by snorkeling of the beach of Catalina in the aquarium. We will peek at the rich along the coat of Casa de Campo. You will experience a jungle cruise through the breathtaking gorge of the Chavon River...This all-encompassing tour is ideal for children and offers great value as a family excursion (not a “booze cruise”). Tortuga Cruise again offers a fully jam-packed fun half day emphasizing ecology and the preservation of nature while creating memories of a lifetime.
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
137 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great get away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Trip to this little island was good, lots of drinks and some snorkeling. We had snacks on the boat and a good lunch too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WojtekLisicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,412
    746
    331
    114
    74
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Emmett, Idaho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

great excursion, the snorkling on the reef was awesome, the water was beautiful and the beach had nice white sand. we had a blast there!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank shth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana, La Altagracia, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Worth the travel time!!! Beautiful beach/Scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I am a local (i live and work in Bavaro/Punta Cana), but that doesn't stop me from traveling within my own country and giving out opinions to my vacation rental clients..hey, you gotta practice what you preach, right? Well, i take my time and go out to explore and give them my opinions when they ask for it.

This is one great trip!!! The island itself is about a 35 minute boat ride departing from La Romana. It's a National Reserve Park so what you will get is pristine waters, NO GARBAGE, no annoying sales people out on the beach bothering you.

If you are into Snorkling and diving, this is it!!! I recommend 100% you visit Catalina Island!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Claudinne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Scuba and Snorkling a must. Nice white sands.
Bring sun block, camera, good food was served - wanted to stay longer.
Some trash on the island

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WarmWater_Deep_Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Good time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was a fun all day excursion. After a catamaran ride to the island there is a banana boat ride, fishing, snorkeling(gear provided), lunch, entertainment, and (for a nominal fee)massages. If you're by yourself, this is for you!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isla Catalina also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Parque Nacional del Este, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Isla Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing