We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to spend the day”

Playa Blanca Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 306 Restaurants in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $39
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located directly on the Caribbean Sea, this tropical setting serves fresh local seafood, grilled meats, and cocktails for lunch and dinner daily. Playa Blanca is also a unique venue for a private event or wedding to remember.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing place to spend the day”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I am obsessed with Playa Blanca, you have access to the most beautiful beach in Dominican Republic, the staff is extremely kind, and attentive. I actually have not tried their food but I am sure it is very good. I tried the Pina Colada and it was delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrichrilove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    182
    62
    14
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle La Motte, Vermont
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very Good Food and Ambiance”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Hard to get into this restaurant and a reservation well in advance is required. The food was really good and well prepared and a good variety on the menu with daily specials. The service was excellent. Well worth going and definitely will return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Real D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good food for the price!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We were staying at the Westin and quickly grew tired of the food there, so ventured over to the Playa Blanca and ended up having dinner there 3 times. Kids loved the pasta, my wife enjoyed the steak and the chicken, and I had the spicy goat twice, as well as the fried grouper the other night. Much better prices than the Westin, with better food. Agree with earlier comments about the relative lack of decent wines, but that was across the entire resort.

Great service by Martina and Olived.

Would highly recommend!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bkp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puntacana123, Manager at Playa Blanca Restaurant, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to talk about your experience in Playa Blanca. It was a pleasure having you more than twice with us.

We will take notes about your comments on the wine list.

Hope to se you and your family soon.

Warm regards,
Carla Valbuena Matheus
Services Manager
Playa Blanca Restaurant
Puntacana Resort & Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“not as good as advertised”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

First nite in Punta Cana staying at the Westin and decided to visit this nearby recommended restaurant. Atmosphere is great (on the beach) and the wait stuff is very friendly. Problem was the food.

2 in our party had the catch of the day - mahi mahi - and both dishes didn't taste very fresh at all and the grilled preparation was dry and tough. Another in our party had grouper and again was underwhelmed.

I must admit, I got the spicy goat and it was Dee-licoous.

But disappointing fish at a seaside restaurant means a disappointed review

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puntacana123, Manager at Playa Blanca Restaurant, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Good afternoon Mike M,

Thanks for your message, we appreciate the time you took doing it.

I will share the comment about seafood with Chef and his staff.

Let us know when you will be back at Playa Blanca Restaurant to provide our services and signature dishes like the Spicy Goat you liked with an outstanding view.

Regards,
Carla Valbuena Matheus
Playa Blanca Services Manager
Puntacana Resort & Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Family and I are staying at the Westin close by. Read the reviews and thought it would be worth the stroll along the beach.

It's a nice location for sure, but none of the food or drinks were stuff to write home about. Tried to order mid price wine from the list and none of them were available. The food is very average.

We stuck with beer and had constant attention from stray cats during the meet. I would not go back, there are better places. The highlight was the waiter but even the best service doesn't cover up for average food and half of the wine list out of stock.

Helpful?
Thank GRDorkings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puntacana123, Manager at Playa Blanca Restaurant, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. GRDorkings,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your thoughts. We am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

At Playa Blanca, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen Gómez
Internal Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Blanca Restaurant also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Playa Blanca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing