We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

It was forecasted that it would rain for the duration of my stay at the Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, but luckily it didn't and it turned out to be a great experience. This family trip was perfect as we were treated with much hospitality and care. The staff was extremely friendly and entertaining. It was great that despite being very large and open we did not feel like we were the only family there for our stay.

The family features of the resort were very often utilized and the service was fantastic. The facilities were top-notch and I would recommend anyone who is looking for a terrific family vacation to stay here.

Our water aerobics guide, Jose Fernandez was a superb entertainer and his activities were fun and easy to follow. This guy is the man. Also Santos Frias served us like royalty and treated us with much care.

Overall it was a great trip, P.S. make sure to check out the sunrise at the beach, its greeeaaatttt ;) - tony the tiger

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickYOLOSWAG420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,887
    760
    246
    69
    45
See reviews for
2,488
1,303
55
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (817)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014

October was pretty quiet apparently. It was perfect for us. Enough people everywhere that it does not seem deserted. When we arrived, concierge n check in staff were gay friendly. Even asked us if we were celebrating anything. Rooms was so spacious and clean but we had the reserve section which was the upgraded units. Not sure what the regular units look like. We were told that the resort is in the process of renovating them so they must be pretty old. AC in our room was great n cold. Beach and water was so clean. A truck came in the mornings to get the sea weeds out of the shore. Beach was not too busy which was great. Security at the hotel beach at all times. Loan bikes available. Police patrol on dunes bike up and down shore so it feels safe. Guests leave stuff in their areas to go to the water or walk around. Pretty safe to leave stuff but use common sense

Grill restaurant was accommodating. We arrived late on Friday so didn’t have a reservation, but reception got us a table. She was so friendly. Everyone there was friendly. It was our favorite restaurant. Food was pretty good. Nice selection and some made to order stations and buffet. Entertainment at night or you can choose to have a quiet evening or drink all night.

At the beach: Waiters didn’t come around enough at the reserve beach section. Even after giving them tips. They went around in the morning but that’s pretty much it. Maybe they need to schedule to go around every hour or something. They were just sitting at the bar. Girl there was rude or language barrier. She seemed annoyed when ordering something she couldn't understand. But most of them were really friendly and helpful especially the girl who look like she was Caucasian mix.

Internet was patchy but I think that's a good thing. Our room couldn't connect but pool some beach areas and restaurants had good signal.

Finally one thing that could have been an issue was, I specifically asked to be placed in the adult section of the hotel. Out of all the several reserved villas, we were placed at the only 2 family villas. It didn't really bother us but I can see how this would have been an issue to others. We later realized why there were toys and crayons in our villa lobby.

And for some of the gay readers.. There is nothing gay about Punta Cana. No gay bars that we know of. All staff were friendly and the whole place was very comfortable. I think we were the only gay couple in the resort but we still had a blast and met some really nice people. No issue what so ever.

To some readers going solo. Only saw a few solo guest but the bar was always full of friendly people and I'm sure the staff will make you feel welcome. I think going in the high season would be better because there will be more People and probably more activities unless you want some peace and quiet, then low season is good.

Weather in October. Before leaving from the east coast, weather says it will be 30% chance of rain. It was sunny and gorgeous most of the time. If it did rain, it was in the morning and after about 30 minutes of rain, ll day the sky was so blue and the water was so clear. Hot but breezy. Very comfortable and nice. The beach water had the perfect temperature. Thanks to the awesome staff we met, Jose Reinoso, Judy Guerrero, and Ariel Brito.

Room Tip: ask for renovated ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hkboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

The resort is immaculately maintained and landscaped. We stayed at The Reserve because of its additional family-friendly features. The room was extremely comfortable, well appointed, clean and looked out over the pool and the Gabi restaurant. In addition to the great pools and fantastic beach access, the greatest resource the resort possesses is its staff. Every staff member with whom we interacted was genuinely friendly and helpful. Because I speak Spanish fluently, I was also able to interact with them from a slightly different perspective. From the concierge Asia who helped us organize a special evening to celebrate my parents' 50th wedding anniversary to the wait staff at the restaurants, we had unfailingly excellent service. In particular, Celso Peralta, a waiter at Vento and Gabi, was absolutely fantastic. As an example of the thoughtful service he provided, when we dined at Vento, he asked a performer at the restaurant for a balloon animal that he gave to our toddler. Other truly standout staff were Marilin Villa, Judith Soriano and Samuel Dimas, all of whom work at Gabi Beach and/or Naos restaurants. Their friendliness, helpfulness and genuine warmth added greatly to our experience. We appreciated the opportunity to interact with staff on a more personal and substantive level, as we were able to do with Celso, Marilin, Judith and Samuel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steubenville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We were on vacation in June - the rooms were gorgeous, the amenities were plentiful, the beach was absolutely breathtaking, the food was excellent. We were treated well by all and our trip was extremely enjoyable. We also have to mention the beautiful pool and the cabana's - all your drinks flowed all day - we definitely have to included how enjoyable our visit at the pool areas was made by Emilio Sanchez - he was fantastic and a real asset to the Reserve!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ginny h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Ginny,

Sunny Greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana! thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We happy that we were able to exceed your expectations and that your holidays were absolutely fantastic! We congratulated Emilio Sanchez for his great labor, for being so fantastic and as you said a real asset to The Reserve.

We hope to welcome you back in no time; please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed at the resort for 9 days in June 2014. Two adults, three kids; 21, 12, and 9. The resort was clean and comfortable, and the various choices for restaurants and food were very good. However, what really made the vacation special were the employees. They were all incredibly friendly and were very quick with their hellos and smiles. One person in particular really made a difference. I'm sure he will run the place some day! Melvin Reyes worked at the Gabi Restaurant. He recognized us everyday, had nicknames for the kids and really went above and beyond. One of my son's nickname "Miami" is still remembered many months later! I didn't write down names for the gym employees or a couple of the staff at the beach and pool areas, but again, just above and beyond for service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Tom G.,

Thank you for selecting The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana! It was a pleasure to host your holidays.

We are glad to see your review! Thank you for posting your experience and sharing your thoughts about Melvin, he truly is an excellent associate and we have no doubt that he earned your gratitude by providing a great quality service.

We hope to have you back in no time; please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit.

Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2014

My family and I just returned from a wonderful vacation at the Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana from August 12 - August 19. The only hiccup with our entire stay occurred at check-in, when apparently they needed a little more information to find our reservation (I don't know if this is an issue with the hotel or an issue with booking through American Airlines Vacations). The issue was quickly solved and appropriate apologies were made. After that our stay was perfect!

My husband, our three year old, and I stayed in a One Bedroom Master Suite at the Family Concierge level, which is 100% worth the additional expense! Our Family Concierge, Estefania, was our point person for everything. As soon as we met her, she made sure we were well taken care of in every manner. Within minutes Estefania had ascertained our likes and dislikes, reserved our beach cabana for the following morning, ordered milk and cookies for my daughter, secured a babysitter for date nights, and made reservations at different restaurants for every night of our stay (with the exception of the first night - when we stayed in and ordered room service).

Every morning Estefania would great us either in the lobby or in our cabana and go over the day's itinerary (always asking if there was anything we needed, or anything she could do for us). One day we asked for crayons for my daughter and Estefania returned with crayons and a brand new coloring book! Estefania also surprised us one night by drawing the most luxurious and fun looking bubble bath for our daughter, complete with balloons and sparkles! Estefania also picked an excellent babysitter for us (Leady), and when Leady wasn't available one night Estefania did the babysitting herself(!). Estefania was kind and warm and made our vacation easy and relaxing.

As for the food and drinks - exquisite. Every restaurant served excellent food (which was a pleasant surprise for an all-inclusive resort). Even the buffet (which I tend not to like) was delicious. Whenever I had trouble finding something for my picky-eater daughter, the staff was more than happy to accommodate an "off-menu" french-fry and hot-dog request.

Speaking of the staff, I was so pleased to find that everyone there seems to really and truly like children. My daughter would be greeted everyday with a big smile and "Hola Princessa" or "Hola Amiga" from everyone we would encounter. She loved the attention and would ask about Estefania or Jose Reinoso (server at the buffet and Hydro-Grill) all the time. At one point she just started calling the buffet and the HydroGrill "Reinoso's."

In a nut-shell, I love the resort, our family concierge Estefania, the food, the drinks, the Michael Jackson Show (seriously go see it - the impersonator looks JUST LIKE MICHAEL JACKSON), and our favorite waiter Jose Reinoso (great sense of humor and service).

Frankly, it was so nice to be surrounded by such kind and warm people. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilvyCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Silvy,

Sunny greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana! Thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination and having the trust to share your experience with us.

We are very glad to learn that we were able to meet you expectations, there is nothing more important than to give to our guests the service and attentions they deserve We will congratulate Estefania, Leidy and Jose Reinoso for providing you everything you needed and that you were well taken care of.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we are looking forward to hear from you!

Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2014

I vacationed with my husband and 2 children (ages 7 & 9) at the Reserve from July 19 to August 2. We travelled with another family as well, who also stayed at the same resort. We went with very low expectations as our previous experience at an all inclusive was very disappointing. We heard great things about this resort but didn't get our hopes up. This resort blew all our misconceptions out of the water! What an amazing, amazing experience! From the moment we were picked up at the air port, checked in with the amazing Juan Carlos, to the very last teary goodbye, we were so well taken care of. Never have I stayed at a resort where every single staff member is so friendly and accommodating. I don't even know where to begin...

Our room was superb! We had the 1 bedroom master suite with concierge service. Super comfortable beds. Our concierge Estefania out did herself to ensure that our every need was looked after and taken care of. She was amazing and delivered time and time again, going beyond the call of duty many times. She was always a phone call away even when she was off duty. Our kids just fell in love with her immediately and so did we! She made sure that our kids always had something fun waiting for them in the room at the end of the day, from a ballon filled bubble bath, chocolate covered strawberries to cookies and milk. She's the Gem of the resort! Can't say enough good things!

The woman in charge of maintenance (can't remember her name) was also very nice and accommodating. She replaced our coffee maker and iron the moment we told her they were not working. No hassles at all! She always had a friendly HOLA in the morning.

A big shout out to the room service staff as well! Great service time after time! The food at the resort was exceptional! Every restaurant and every buffet delivered high quality food day in and day out. By far the best food at an all inclusive resort.

Our high quality experience and service was seamless throughout the resort. The cleaning staff and turn down service never disappointed. The morning staff at Gabi club were great. Always in a good mood despite an early start to their day. Melvin Reyes made sure that we had our coffee every morning just the way we liked it. At the Reserve Pool, Santos was the most attentive waiter we've ever seen! He had our drink ready for us the minute we sat down. At the beach Ramon, Luis and Mikey (drinky drink Mike) were awesome and lots of fun! Even the bell service was incredible: Hazael made us feel like family, providing personalized shuttle serve when we needed it and always showing true Dominican generosity. He was always ready and willing to please. Melvyn at Hydro grill made sure we had our late afternoon oven baked pizza delivered to our room with frosty beers on ice!

The resort is beyond beautiful and breath taking day and night, but the people are what truly make it a cut above the rest. Unparalleled service is what elevated our vacation experience to new levels. We will most definitely be back and can't wait to see everyone again!

We have since highly recommended the resort to friends and family, and our very good friends just booked 8 nights in October.

Regards,
The Robinson's

Room Tip: The reserve section is relatively quite. We were in section 39 on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Natasha,

Thank you for choosing The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana as your holiday destination and for taking of your time to share your experience with us.

We really appreciate you kind words, thank you for trusting us into host your vacation. It is always great to know that we were able to exceed our guest’s expectations and provide you the services and treatment you were looking for. It makes is happy that you had an amazing experience!

Estefania is thrilled learning that she earned your appreciation by taking care of you and your lovely family. Estefnia, Melvin, Santos, Ramon, Luis, Maiker, Hazael and Melvin Brizon from Hydro Grill already received your gratitude; they and the complete The Reserve team will be waiting for you to welcome you back!

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we are looking forward to hear from you!

Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
2.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
14.6 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,046 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
2.2 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
0.0 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana
Paradisus Punta Cana
#23 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana

Property: The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Address: Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing