We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“I had a fabulous time during my stay at "The Reserve" & the service was EXCELLENT!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Ranked #6 of 108 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Clinton, Maryland
1 review
“I had a fabulous time during my stay at "The Reserve" & the service was EXCELLENT!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

From the 1st day at "The Reserve", I was stunned of how beautiful everything was layed out.. The grounds, the room and the service was outstanding.. Please give my special thanks to Ines Ruiz, the Guest Service Concierge, who was the perfect host!! She did a great job making sure I had all the directions and services that I needed.. I will be back again for sure!! Thank you, Ken Fulmore

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KENFULII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Ken,

Sunny greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana! Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with us.

It is great to learn what a fabulous time you had during your stay with us and more important, that our team service exceeded your expectations. We will gladly congratulate Ines Ruiz, for making sure that you had all the directions and services you needed.

We will be waiting for you in a neat future, to once again make you live the Pure Freedom experience to Just Be.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we are looking forward to hear from you.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,204
    643
    187
    49
    36
See reviews for
1,982
1,061
43
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This resort is NOT quiet. If you want quiet, do not get a room facing the very large pool. You will hear children screaming all day. Yes, there is a kids pool as well but many parents take their children to the main pool. There is also a daily Zumba and water aerobic classes at the pool with blasting music. If you want peace and quiet, it won't happen, hence, the ear plugs!

The grounds are beautiful with small, three floor buildings (I didn't see an elevator). I've never seen so may different kinds of palm trees. The grounds people do an amazing job. The rooms are spacious but dated. There is no signage in the rooms regarding conserving water so they take your towels even if you hang them up. My personal pet-peeve.

Every building has a "guest concierge" in the lobby, however, our concierge didn't seem to understand that he was there to service the guest. The beach is at least a 12-minute walk away from the hotel. Also, many of the restaurants are near the beach so you will either walk at night (there are lights), or take the trolley, which is infrequent. So if you want to be on the beach, this isn't the hotel for you.

The food is a tad better than Applebees, at best; however, Vento was good. The house white and red wine is truly undrinkable. I didn't expect Opus One, but their wine is truly terrible. Ordering off the wine list will cost you $40.00 or more for a decent bottle. You must make reservations on your very first day or you run the risk of eating at the main dinning room, Gabi Grill, which serves mediocre buffet. There are two restaurants that required an additional fee: $25 pp and $45 pp. Unlike our experience in Mexico, most of the staff do not speak English so communicating with them or asking for help was challenging. Due to the language barrier, checking in and out was not ideal. The airport is 40-minutes away.

PLEASE NOTE: Upon check-in they will volunteer to take you to breakfast the next day near the beach. Since we didn't know the resort, we agreed to meet with a staff member only to find out this was a time-share scam. The staff person wanted us to fill out paperwork with our annually salary and credit card number! Not to mention, she wanted to sit with us for 90-minutes. This really left us with a bad taste and seemed extremely underhanded. The resort needs to find a more transparent way to address this since 99% of guest do not want to sit with a stranger for 90-minutes on their much deserved vacation. I'm glad I got to visit Punta Cana, but we'll be returning to Rivera Maya (Playa del Carmen) in January. I find the high-end resorts in Mexico really exceed at guest services and the foods is excellent.

Room Tip: Opposite side of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Williams86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear William,

Receive warm Greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana; thank you for taking from your time to share us your experience.

Thank you for trusting us by expressing your thoughts and concerns, and let us apologize for the situations that might get you uncomfortable, it really sadness us the fact that we couldn’t meet your expectations; although, we would like for you to know that every area of opportunity you have mentioned are already taking care of by our heads departments, in order to provide to our guest the personalized and relaxing experience they are looking for.

We would love to have a second chance, to prove you that our only objective is to exceed our guest’s expectations and make them live the Pure Freedom experience to Just Be.

Please do not hesitate to contact us in case you decide to give us a second chance; we are looking forward to hear from you.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bethpage, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband & I went to The Reserve at the Paradisus for a week late October & had an amazing time!!!! We went with a bunch of other people, some with kids... Some with grandparents & there really was something for everyone!!
The service was incredible!!! This is where I have to be very specific:
Nikel Lendor was our concierge. His nickname is "superman" & we quickly found out why...he made all of our arrangements even if our requests were out of the ordinary or last minute it was never an inconvenience to him. He always had a smile & was just so like able! We really felt like he was family that takes care of family. Our every wish was fulfilled!! The next time we go there & yes we will defineatly be going back we fully intend on requesting this very special person that we now consider a friend, as our concierge.
I could keep singing the praises of our dear Nikel but that would take up a lot of space!!
There was another concierge that very nice named Fernando Mengo, we met him the last few days of our trip, he worked with Nikel too & was also very good.
Upon checking in I have to give credit to Luis Amparo... He made everything went smooth & was very assuring that our stay would be like no other, "welcome to your new home away from home" that's what he said & he meant it! He was terrific.
Every morning we had the same server, her name was Bridgette & she always had a smile on her face, She brought out coffees, cappuccinos & a great attitude every day! My husband was especially fond of her which made me happy too.
Our housekeeper Lacey was fantastic, it was the special touches she did like adding flowers & making hearts out of the petals that just made you feel special.
There was a young man that held the water exercise class in the pool, he was really good & absolutely adorable!
We did spa treatments, & a romantic dinner on the beach that were all arranged by our special Nikel Lendor. I've been on many vacations & this was by far my favorite!!!
Sherry

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrylynnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Sherry,

Sunny Greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana; it was a pleasure to host you during your holidays.

It is lovely to know that you and your husband had an amazing time and that our team, especially Nikel Lendor, Fernando Mengo, Luis Amparo, Bridgette and Lacey, were able to exceed your expectations and made you feel the Pure Freedom experience to Just Be.

Being our reason to exist to serve and treat our guests as they deserve and wish, your review makes us feel that we are in the correct path, committed to you and your happiness.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; it will always be a pleasure to welcome you with us.

Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint James, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I wish to thank the following staff for making our visit at the Paradisus, an absolute pleasure:Hilario Vasquez,Eddy Wilson, Evan Ricodo, Fernando Mengo, Nisia Corforreal, Ada Morlo, Sandra Cedeno, Francisco from Room Service and of course Chocolate! Looking forward to returning. This is a large beautiful resort w/ a very hospitable staff. The food in the restaurants was very good, including the buffets.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isabel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Isabel,

Receive warm Greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana; thank you for choosing us to host your vacation.

We really appreciate your warm words and gratitude showed to our associates, especially to Hilario Vasquez, Eddy Wilson, Evan Ricodo, Fernando Mengo, Nisia Cortorreal, Ada Morlo, Sandra Cedeño, Francisco and Chocolate; we know how fortunate we are having them in our team, their passionate and caring labor is the main reason for our success and we couldn’t be more proud.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; it will be a complete pleasure to host you again in a near future and make you live once again a wonderful vacation!

Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

An exquisite, serene place to relax, swim, sunbathe, dine, drink, dance. Something for everyone in the group. We stayed in the RESERVE, and the suites were modern, immaculate and comfortable!! Champagne magically appeared in our rooms whenever we finished a bottle..The concierge Sandra Cedeno, was extremely helpful, by decorating one of our suites for brithday celebrations!! We practiced our merengue and salsa moves with "Chocolate" GRACIAS!! Our room service waiter Evan Ricodo took care of EVERY request we called in.
All the staff was instrumental in handling ANY and EVERY request that we made, and there were a lot...We were a group of six women... A HUGE GRACIAS goes out to all those who made it a PERFECT vacation for us in Paradisus...Hilario Vasquez, Fernando Mengo, Nisia Corforreal, Eddy Wilson, Maria Carela Sosa & Ada Morales...Gracias

Room Tip: Corner suites were large, sunny and quiet, on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Ingrid,

Receive warm Greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana; thank you for having shared your experience with us.

We are very pleased to know that you had an exquisite, serene and relaxing holiday, being that our main priority we feel happy and grateful for our team; because of them our guests enjoy the Pure Freedom experience to Just be.

We will extend your gratitude to Sandra Cedeño, Evan Ricodo, Hilario Vasquez, Fernando Mengo, Nisia Cortorreal, Eddy Wilson, Maria Carela and Ada Morales and congratulate them for the great service provided and for always show the commitment and passion for what we do.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we will be waiting for you.

Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I am someone who reads reviews until my eyes cross but seldom comments. If I did not tell you that this place was more than my high standards could imagine then I would not be a good person. This place was amazing and pictures did not do it justice. The Reserve is fantastic, the food was delicious, the service was excellent, and we will be returning in the near future.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RavenE2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Raven,

Receive warm Greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana; thank you for taking the time to share us your experience.

It is really pleasant to know that you had an amazing holiday and that our team was able to exceed your expectations; it was an honor to host you and show our high standards. You can be sure that our true pleasure is to accomplish our guest’s satisfaction and make them feel the Pure Freedom experience to Just Be.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we are looking forward to hear from you.

Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This resort was recommended by a friend--she has stay three times in the past so I was expecting more. PROS: Beautiful, CLEAN hotel and very nice pools, the standard rooms are being renovated so we were upgraded to The Reserve side, which was nice, but keep in mind you will need to bike, walk or take a staff driven golf cart to where a lot of the activities take place; we didn't mind the idea of it once we figured out how everything worked. The the beach is as wonderful and calm as their website states, spa services (plenty of services to chose from), drinks are good depending on where you get them on the property, decent tours/excursions to choose from as well as activities on the beach (i.e. parasailing, canoeing, snorkeling, wind sailing) CONS: There's tons of pressure to listen to the time share presentation...JUST KEEP SAYING NO! the food is nothing to write home about, but manageable over a week, Wi-Fi is a bit slow and the TV channel selections are slim (just added that in case you need your technology creature comforts while on vacay). We weren't too comfortable walking more than 5-7 minutes away from the resort due to busy local traffic, but the resort property itself is super safe. AREAS TO IMPROVE: Even with the private concierge service we had at The Reserve, there were still a lot to learn/figure out about the resort; we asked other travelers that had been there for a few days while.

It was an okay vacation, but when we visit the DR again we will definitely try another resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natalie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Natalie,

Receive warm Greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana; thank you for taking from your time to share your comments with us.

Let us begging be telling you how much we lament the fact that we couldn’t exceed your expectations, you can be sure that your comments and concerns are already in the hands of our head departments, in order to improve ourselves and have the certainty that this situation does not repeat again to any other of our guests.

We will continue to work with our areas of opportunity so we can be able to provide to our guests the facilities, services, treatment and relaxation that characterize us.

Please do not hesitate to contact us in case you decide to give us a second chance; we are looking forward to hear from you.

Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
2.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
14.6 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#1 of 108 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 3,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
0.0 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana
Paradisus Punta Cana
#12 of 108 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 10,129 reviews
13.7 mi away
Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana
#15 of 108 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 11,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana

Property: The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Address: Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 108 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing