We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Ranked #6 of 114 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 28, 2013

my wife and I were in our honeymoon as soon as we arrived at the reserve we were greeted by a friendly staff, the were very accommodating to us once were we were settle we were taken to adult section pool etc , we met jose reyes,pamela arias and onesimo let me tell we were extremely happy these guys we're amazing they treated us in such a way we we're amazed they attended to our every needs dinks we're amazing, thank you guys for all the effort u guys put in, in making our honeymoon the best experience we ever had, we would definetly come back to the reserve and see u guys again,' U GUYS ROCK"

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frsh2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,585 - 3,591 of 5,567 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

I recently stayed at the Paradisus Punta Cana resort for a wedding. The hotel is about 30 minutes from the Punta Cana airport. I was upgraded to The Reserve which is like a hotel within Paradisus. The room was nice and spacious with a jacuzzi tub, glass shower and separate toilet with double sinks. The Reserve has it's own pool, and restaurant but is about a 5 minute walk to the beach and the rest of the resort where the other restaurants are along with the main lobby which is where the casino and nightly entertainment is located. The Reserve mainly had families so it can get a bit noisy but it wasn't unbearable. The staff was very pleasant and attentive. I would definitely stay again but I would chose to stay in a luxury room on the main property instead of The Reserve.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Reserve which is a separate part of the hotel which is considered an upgrade but if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indya26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I Just stayed at THE ReSERVE IN PARADISUS PUNTA CANA.. breathtaking and amazing service. i cant say it enuff.. We have been to CABO N CANCUN N MIAMI N VEGAS AND PUERTO PLATA AND MANY PLACES but none comare to the service and way we were treated here.I went with my husband and 1 yr oldson. there were familys, friends , young couples and older couples, even singles.. my husband and i both lost our cell fones on the flight and the staff at front desk , LADY, WILLY, ZULEIKA worked non stop for 2 days calling NY N PUNTA CANA Jetblue offices .. Finally, THEY FounD It In PUNTA CANA hold for me not maNY PPL Would take extra time to help us like they did ..Then, ThE Manager SILVIO overheard us Stressed With our fones n personally came to To us and sai dhe would make sure we had the best vacation ever n wouldnt b mad even if we didnt find our fones N O Boy did he do that... HE made our reservations every nite for us ReSERVeD A CABanNA AT THE POoL AnD THe Beach every day For 11 DAYS WITH our last name on cabannA..N EVEn ArrANGED A Private Dinner At THe PoOL FoR uS wiTH oUR Own CHEF AND waiter and set uo our son to b watched by the amazing staff at the kidszone SO, THE KID ZONE MADE OUR TRIP OVER THE TOP BECAUSE I ACTUALLY GOT TO HAVE SOME ALONE TIME WUTH MY HUSBAND . EACH DAY WE WOKE UP, WALKD OUTSIDE 8 FEET N OUR CABANNA WAS SET UP BY THE WONDERFUL SERVERS SANTO, LUIS SANTANA, AND EMILIO.. THEY MADE SURE BEFORE WE WOKE OUR CABANNA WAS FRESH AND WOULD HAVE WATERS N DRINKS READY AND WAITINg AS SOoN AS WE ARriVED... KIDS ZONE wAS GREaT!!! SOMEtHING IVE NEVER EVeR SEEn.. ... I LEFT MY 1 YR OLD THERE Every DAy FOr a FEw HRS because of the great staff who was always there, always watching them, always feeding them , changing them, n ven playing with them.. THey were perfect with kids, WHen u VIsIT KID ZONE, MAkE SUrE To hAVE NATHALI, ANGELINA, KILVANIA, BERLIS, AND BERLINDA Watch ur kids .. U will thank me wen u CAN leave them there for a few hrs... u cant ask for anymore.. BETwEEN ThE amAZING MAnaGER SILVIO WHo WEnT oUT OF HIS wAY TO MAke SUre We HaD BESt TImE JUsT BecausE He SEEN US UPSET oveR OUR FONES, THE AMAZInG STAFF WhO WOrKS EXTRA HarD FoR U AT ThE FRoNT DesK, AND THE GUYS AT THE PoOL WHo ARE ALWAys tryin to please u, U Couldnt ask for better place to stay

Room Tip: stay in the reserve .. master suite was huge breathtaking.. u walk right outside ur room n downstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soodeadsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

A couple friends and I traveled to Paradisus Punta Cana for a wedding. The location, property, service, cleanliness, and rooms were impeccable! Al a carte restaurants were good but Mole was my favorite. Pool was very clean and was maintenance daily. Excursion of banana boat and dune buggies were very fair in price. The employees go out of their way to make sure the guests have a great time! Two people who made my experience so much better were Danny (bartender by the pool) and Sandra (concierge at the reserve) they were amazing and deserve a raise! They really went out of their way for us.

Two things I wasn't a fanatic about was the buffet food and bugs. I know it is a developing country but buffet food gave me some stomach aches. The Mosquitos really come out at night and fully attack. I had to have gotten bit about 100xs just on my legs. Make sure you bring bug repellent.

Overall , great experience! I would definitely return!

Room Tip: Reserve Paradisus is definitely the way to go! Great rooms and great service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Absolutely Fantastic!!!

My family and I traveled with 2 other couples and their children to the Reserve in Punta Cana. Our stay, the accommodations, the hotel staff, the food and the premises were wonderful. It was an all inclusive package and we were treated like royalty. Everyone catered to our every need to ensure that we had a great vacation. And the Kids Zone was great for the children who were ages 5-6 years old. Special thanks to Dhoralix Polanco and Luis Amparo are the best hosts you can ask for. Their professionalism and concern for all in the group was truly amazing and their hospitality and warm welcome will never be forgotten. We can't wait to re-visit the Reserve next year!!!--Robin T. and family

Room Tip: Master suite!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our vacation took place between July 31 and August 8 and the wedding on August 3, 2013.

We were surprised by an upgrade to the Reserve. When we arrived at the room there were roses and chocolate waiting for us. The room was very clean, very big and nicely decorated with a beautiful bathroom (almost as large as the living room).

The wedding organizers (Romance Assistants) - Miguelina Martinez and Jennifer Alvarez - exceeded our expectations: they took care of every detail and more, were always available for all kind of questions/doubts/last minute requests and extremely helpful and reliable. Because of them our wedding day was truly perfect. The photographer - Joaquin Rodriguez - was very professional and always smiling. He made us feel comfortable when taking the pictures. The pictures came out great.

There were many surprises done by the staff - rose petals on our bed the night of the wedding and the morning after the wedding we had a huge breakfast served in our room.

In general, food was excellent, staff was friendly, professional and always there to help us.

We had at our wedding a total of roughly 50 people coming from Europe, the US and South America and all of them very much enjoyed their stay at Paradisus Punta Cana. They are already thinking about coming back. My wife has been sad since we left (almost 3 weeks now). We plan to return soon.

Thanks again to everyone who helped us with our wedding, including the people did not mention.

Annie and Alberto

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Since I suspect this will turn into a long review, I'll start with the headline and then you can choose to read the details. We stayed at The Reserve from 8/2 to 8/9. The four of us (my wife and two daughters -- 21 and 17) stayed in the 2 bedroom master suite (basically the master suite with the attached single room). While there was one big issue and some minor things, we very much enjoyed our vacation and would like to return to the Reserve in the future. We loved the scenery, beach, pool, rooms and the people of the resort. The food is not spectacular but we certainly did not go hungry. The difference between a 4 and a 5 boils down to some of the peripheral things, e.g., excessive gift shop costs, timeshare push, room service, etc. Not big things but enough to bump down the rating a notch.

There are many pros about The Reserve. At the forefront are the many individuals with whom we felt genuinely cared about our enjoyment of the resort. Our concierge was Anthony Sosa and he got us off our trip off to a good start with dinner reservations and periodic check ins throughout our stay. Alexander Lopez seemed to go to great lengths ensuring we were entertained by greeting us with daily hellos and updates on the days entertainment. Good guy. Jose Reinoso and staff at the Hydro Grill were tremendous. Thank you Jose. Felix and Carlos in the Gabi Club. Good guys. Caesar and Emilio. Friendly and helpful. Many more to recognize -- all friendly, respectful and genuine.

We liked the food at the Hydro Grill, Melo and The Grill. The buffets were good. We did not enjoy Vento and were exceptionally disappointed in not being able to eat at Bana (the first few nights we couldn't get in and the it was suddenly closed down for the later half of our week). The menus at the other specialty restaurants did not interest us. I think the bottom line on the food is if you want 5 star cuisine then maybe all inclusive is not the best option. We all found things to eat throughout our week -- some things were better than others.

The grounds are amazing. They work hard to keep the resort beautiful which is no small task given the size of the place. The grounds are simply beautiful. We enjoyed walking around and very rarely felt the need to wait for the shuttle. The pool was clean and comfortable. We usually spent mornings poolside and the afternoons at the beach. The beach at the resort is not like the Corona commercial, it is the Corona commercial. We had no problems securing an umbrella and chairs at the beach after lunchtime. We did feel the need to rush out before 8:00 a.m. to line up a poolside cabana as they do tend to fill up. The later was a little frustrating as many spots were "reserved" with personal effects yet nobody seemed to show up many hours later. We did find if you asked the staff about a spot, they were not shy about liberating a reserved but unused spot for you. We made the walk to the beach in under 10 minutes and did not mind walking. We used the shuttle a few times but did not find the wait times to be excessive (as others did).

We thought the rooms were terrific. Lots of space. Very comfortable. The maids did a great job cleaning the rooms and did circle back some nights with extra towels. We are not sure about the other buildings but ours (#39) seemed generally up-to-date and did not have an old feel to it. I will say that the building was really noisy as doors constantly slam and (as we learned) there is a lot of activity in the early mornings maintaining that wonderful landscaping I mentioned earlier in the review. The maids did a nice job and were exceptionally prompt on days 1-4 but had to be tracked down for the latter half of our trip including missing a day (we had to follow up 3 times the next day to ensure the rooms got cleaned -- a bit of a nuisance since we did need breaks from the hot sun).

Again, lots of pros about The Reserve. Our biggest complaint was the "personal tour" which in effect was a vacation plan pitch. Now it may sound naïve that we would not have figured this out beforehand but we actually did and asked if the tour was going to be a timeshare push. We were told "no" as they did not have timeshares. Call it whatever you want -- it was a timeshare push. Once we were handed off to the tour person, we asked again and were told for the first time it was going to be a "sales presentation". When we politely declined, their tour person (sales person) became rude and condescending. This was annoying and a terrible way to start our vacation. Fortunately, there were a lot of other people at the resort that made up for this one particular individual's bad behavior.

The rest of our cons were more inconveniences:

- Resort Coupons: we found no value in the coupons given the excessive charges for the products and services included in the coupon booklet. We expect a resort premium and would have liked to have taken advantage of some things but the pricing (even after the coupons) was a huge turn off, e.g., manicure/pedicure $135 pre-coupon ($50). My free advice to management. Charge a little less and many like us would begrudgingly spend in the spirit of being on vacation.

- Internet Service in Rooms: if it weren't for all the advertising the resort does about their WiFi service I wouldn't even mention this but the wireless service in the rooms is simply bad and needs major improvement.

- Dinner Reservations: if Anthony had not helped us out (and this was a service included in our package) with reservations we probably would have eaten buffet all week. There are no in-room menus or instructions on how to set reservations in the specialty restaurants. Interestingly, the places we ate at were always about 1/3 full.

- Room Service: we expected to wait a little but 80 minutes for a couple of pizzas is way too long and on two subsequent nights no one even answered the phone.

- Gift shop: who doesn't want to come home with a souvenir but there are resort prices and then The Reserve premium gift shop prices. Again, charge a little less and watch sales volumes increase.

I'll end the review as we started. The things that bothered us were more than offset by the many positive things offered by the resort and we do plan to go back in the future. Hope you find this review to be helpful (and not just lengthy) as you plan your trip.

Room Tip: Building #39 (first floor, facing the road) is close to the Gabi Club and maintenance areas so it go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Rita,

Receive warm greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, thank you for having taken the time to share you experience with us.

Let us begging by telling you that we deeply appreciate the way you describe every single detail of your experience since we give high importance to our guests comments and feedback because it is the most certain way we have to identify our areas of improvement and reasons to feel proud. Therefore we want you to be completely sure that your review is already in the hands of our heads department with the purpose of making the adjustments needed for you to find the true Pure Freedom experience in your next visit.

We would also like to assure that you gratitude will be extended to those who made you stay an
¨ Enjoyable Family Vacation ¨.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we are already waiting for you.

Kind Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
2.5 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
0 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 114 in Punta Cana
13,697 reviews
1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 114 in Punta Cana
4,496 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
2.5 mi away
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana

Address: Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 114 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range: $299 - $766 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing