We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“First class treatment at a first class resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“First class treatment at a first class resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Words can barely explain the wonderful time my family and I had is past week at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana. From the minute we arrived to the minute we checked out, every staff member greeted and treated us like the mot important people in the world. Special thanks to Miguel De La Cruz and Diana Rodriguez for making sure we had everything we needed for our weeklong stay.

Alex, from the entertainment crew also ensured that my family had great seats for the wonderful evening shows. Gracias Alex
My kids had a blast at the rock climbing wall with Jose de la Cruz and Jonathan Borilla. It was so much fun, my husband and brother in law decided to climb up too.

The staff of the Gabi Club restaurant and pool area made our stay more enjoyable. Thanks to Jose Reinoso, Luis Vasquez, and Hebruan Ramirez Mercedes for making sure we had everything we needed while we enjoyed fun in the sun poolside.

My family and I have traveled extensively throughout the Caribbean and, overall, this trip is by far the best! Congratulations to all staff for working tirelessly to ensure that we enjoyed our week in Paradise.

Although we are RCI members already, my husband and I were so impressed by the level of service provided throughout the resort, we decided to join the club.
Special thanks to Marisela and Juan for treating us like royalty and welcoming us to the club in grand style.

I highly recommend Paradisus Punta Cana to anyone who wants to get away and escape a little bit of heaven on earth.

Room Tip: I recommend the Reserve but anywhere you stay on this property you will be greeted by happy people w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Vanessa,

Sunny greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana! Thank you for sharing this review with us.

At The Reserve your journey begins even before your arrival and that is why we feel a great joy knowing that from the moment of check in everything was how it is supposed to be. Our entire crew is excellent and we feel proud of them, because of the intense and passionate work they do every day and for the commitment they put into our guests memorable moments.

You have given us a great gift with this positive comment.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we will be waiting for your return!

Best Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,400
    682
    202
    51
    36
See reviews for
2,090
1,165
50
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at The Reserve on June 25th exhausted after a long wedding weekend. We enjoyed the buffet at Gabi Beach and walked around a little afterwards to explore. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and you feel like you have stepped into paradise. We spent 8 days and 7 nights and it was hands down our best vacation ever. The service was impeccable and we felt really special. Nikel aka Superman was our concierge and he was very kind and always greeted us with a smile or hello. He and some other ladies even came up and ran a bath for us with rose petals! On our last night he sent up wine and cheese via room service. He was just amazing. We also loved talking to Alexander Lopez the Best!! He is a funny guy and he always made sure we knew about all the shows each night. Mikey Mikey at the beach made sure we had towels and that we always had a cold drink in our hands. Emilio at the bar was fun to hang out with and Frankie at Gabi Beach was really helpful and friendly. Our favorite restaurants was Fuego and LapaLapa! Can't wait to come back and try Passions! We will be back for sure!

-Brian and Meika Mitchell from Atlanta, Ga

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meika23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Meika,

Once again congratulations on your wedding! Thank you for choosing The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana.

We love honeymoons; we are experts at it because we deeply believe in true love. Our team is always waiting for the great moment to surprise you and give you unforgettable memories.

Your review gave us the certainty that all our associates feel the same passion and commitment to service and for that we will congratulate them, especially to Nikel, Alexander Lopez, Miker Ramirez, Emilio and Frankie.

We will be waiting for you o celebrate your many anniversaries to come!

Best Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We been to the Reserve 3 times, and the third time proved to be another charm. There were 21 of us all staying at The Reserve and Ovidio and his staff took amazing care of all of us. Mikey/Mikey welcomed us to the beach each morning and introduced our kids to Island livin'. They're still asking us to make them drinky/drinky's the way Mikey made them.

Thanks again to Ovidio, Mikey, Louis, Chef, and Yosemary for making our family trip so much fun!

Bob

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Bob,

Warmest greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana!
Thank you so much for choosing us for the 3 third time, we are very satisfied to read that every time is as good as the last one or better and that Ovidio and Maiker helped your big family to achieve a memorable experience with us.
I already shared your kind feedback with all of the Reserve team and on behalf of each of them I will like to extend you their most sincere thanks.
We look forward for your prompt return.

Sincerely,
Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We'll come back next year. We have to find out when Alexander Lopez "the best" is working!!! Will not come back without him! We had a wonderful time. Learned to dance Dominican. Make sure you order pineapple juice, rum and licor 43. But don't order 43 of them! Food was excellent in every restaurant. Make sure to stay in the Reserve!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ballintempleusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We really enjoyed reading about your experience and the wonderful time you spent learning how to dance and enjoying our delicious drinks.
Alexander and the rest of the associate’s at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana are looking forward for your return and will be waiting for you until your next vacation!
Once again, thank you so much.

Best Regards,
Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Being our first visit in the Dominican Republic, we weren't too sure what to expect other than we had heard good things from friends and family. Upon arriving at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, we were greeted warmly, shown in the right direction to check in and given a welcome drink deemed the "Paradisus". Once we were ready to go to our room, there was a team (literally) of people ready to escort us and provide information along the way about the grounds, dinner reservations and so on. When we arrived in our room, it was truly more than we could have asked for or ever expected. Waiting for us was a dozen beautiful pink roses, chocolate covered strawberries & champagne. All this and we hadn't even been there a half an hour! Our concierge, Fernando, was a doll. He went way above and beyond to accommodate us and answer any and all questions we may have had. He made all of our dinner reservations for us and made sure it was what we wanted. Our favorite dinners were at Vento (which is right at The Reserve), Mole & Aqua. On our last night, we decided to make reservations at "Passion", the six star restaurant on the resort. At first looking at the menu was slightly intimidating because we weren't sure what some of the things were, however the manager of the restaurant, Charles, made sure to explain in detail what every single thing was, even bringing out the chef at the end of our meal. I still can't stop thinking about the out of this world cinnamon caramel ice cream, to die for!!! It was an experience unlike any other and beyond the most AMAZING food we have ever tasted. Although these were our favorites, it's not to say the others weren't great as well, it's just a type of food preference on our part. ALL of the resort staff, from bartenders to maintenance, went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and make us happy. We can certainly say that while on vacation we felt as "at home" as possible. At Gabi Beach - one of the bartenders, "Little Mike Tyson", put a smile on our faces every day and night. His personality is contagious and fun-loving. My husband couldn't leave without getting a picture with him, behind the bar nonetheless. :) Room service is a must, it was delicious, especially for breakfast!! We also visited the Yhi Spa and had such a relaxing massage together. The facility and staff there are great as well. Overall, we had an amazing time that we will NEVER forget.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lbanas718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Alexander Lopez (The Best) is a energetic person. He will be sure to meet your needs. He goes the extra mile to make sure your trip is wonderful. I would recommend looking for him once you visit!

Albert Gutierrez, works as a concierge, he is very attentive to guests. He will call you daily to make sure your stay is wonderful and you are well taken care of.

Emilio Valdez, is a excellent waiter, he will make drink/food runs for you no matter how far or what you need.

Overall this is a wonderful place to be with friends or family, but the staff treats you like royalty.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blacsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Sunny greetings from Punta Cana! And thank you so much for writing us such a kind review. We are aware that our associates are an important asset to reach our goals which is the satisfaction of our guest and we feel really proud to read the value and recognition that our customers give them.
We will be pleased to make you feel like royalty again by hosting you in your next vacation.

Sincerely,
Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Paradisus Punta Cana for 10 days at the end of June. We had very mixed feelings about the resort. We were upgraded on arrival to a beautiful suite in the 'Reserve' area of the hotel because my boyfriend works with Melia hotel group in the UK. This upgrade turned out to be the high light of the holiday...

After an 11 hour flight from London we were very happy to arrive in Punta Cana. I had read reviews about taxi drivers at the airport that try and con you into paying more than the fixed $35 rate to the hotel. Thankfully I speak half Spanish and told the driver to forget it when he tried raising the rate once inside the taxi. We hoped for a quick check in once we arrived as we were jet lagged however we were standing in a queue for 45 minutes before ultimately being sent to the Reserve. As in many other reviews I can confirm the staff conducting check in were doing so at a glacial pace. We didn't understand why the process was so slow as we have visited resorts of the same size in other Caribbean countries and never been made to wait like that. The Reserve area had it's own dedicated pools and restaurants away from the rest of the hotel. Our suite had a lounge, dining area, kitchen, shower room, jacuzzi room, bedroom and pool view (the Reserve is set away from the beach.)

The service in the resort, other than our concierge, was hit or miss and not to the same standard as similar resorts in Mexico for example. We noticed a lot of staff were totally tip orientated only being friendly with the guests who were tipping. Our maid did an awful job of replenishing/ cleaning our room despite us tipping daily! Some of the staff at the front desk also had a bad attitude. Our concierge Nikel went above and beyond and helped my boyfriend to organise a very special birthday celebration during our stay with roses, dinner on the beach, champagne, room service, coconut drinks etc. Nikel also managed to get us DVDs as we were without any cable signal for the first 3 days of our trip! There wasn't much to do when it was raining so this was appreciated. It's very silly that there are DVD players in the room but there was no real library of movies to borrow.

The biggest disappointment of the trip was by far the food which was frustrating as we enjoy eating in nice restaurants and had selected the hotel as it had lots of choice. The food at the a la carte restaurants generally looked ok but was totally tasteless and dry. We found Mole (the Mexican) to be the only exception to this rule so we ate there twice. We ordered room service a few times and they got the orders wrong every time. The best meal we had during our stay was a lobster dinner down at the beach organised by my boyfriend which obviously he paid extra for. The buffet standard was thankfully much higher than a la carte so we ate in the main restaurant for dinner twice. Breakfast buffet was also great with everything you could want. Both my boyfriend and I were ill during the holiday which we havn't experienced this on other trips to the Caribbean.

Overall we wouldn't return to Paradisus as we would rather go back to hotels we have visited in Mexico or Jamaica any day, the hotel did not justify the long journey to get there from the UK. I don't think I would recommend the hotel unless you can afford to upgrade to the Reserve or Royal Service as I heard several people in the main part of the hotel saying how unimpressive their rooms were but also due to the issues we experienced with service and food. I wouldn't classify the hotel above a 4*.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Selina88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.0 mi away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#3 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,177 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana
Paradisus Punta Cana
#25 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10,679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
14.6 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana

Property: The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Address: Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing