We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Bavaro Palace(Bavaro)
$345
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$475
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$631
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$332
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$378
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melia Caribe Tropical(Bavaro)
$304
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$441
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Excellence Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$258
Excellence Resorts
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Caribe(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$152
$119
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$271
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,159)
Filter reviews
1,159 results
Traveler rating
435
296
213
106
109
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
435
296
213
106
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barbbq nightsimple hotelbeach holidayall inclusive optionbooked last minuteall inclusive drinksdominican republicsun loungersbeautiful beachfresh towelsbavaropoolsvacationcleanersaerobicsdancing
Filter
Updating list...
441 - 446 of 1,159 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Most USA residents head to Punta Cana for the 5 star mega resorts (luxury). But we go for the average, so we can travel again soon with the savings. This resort is fine, decent food with good selections. Very average room and grounds. The workers try very hard to keep the place clean and welcoming. But they are understaffed really, and not enough tables in the buffet dining area. But we had a great week there. We knew what to expect. The best part is the location right on Bavaro beach. You are right in the middle of the action. And there is shopping, dining, and nightlife just down the street if that's what you want. The place is mosty Europeans, they seem to attend the lower cost places. I give it a 2 or 3 stars, and that's what we paid for and expected.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank niceguyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelle L, Guest Relations Manager at whala!bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for writing you review on whala!bavaro. I was happy to learn that you appreciate the laid back feel of our hotel and the great locationa. I also appreciate your instructive feedback, offering our guests outstanding service and making their stay as comfortable as possible is important to us and your comments won’t go unnoticed. If you wish, you can send us more details about your experience in our hotel contacting us directly on our website.

Thank you and best regards from Punta Cana!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

So why 4 stars? because we had to wait to get our room after a long trip from Santo Domingo and they should have not made us because I know they had rooms ready. But other than that, it is a very very nice relaxing hotel and the staff are all super stars and breakfast is nice. A few days before we come here we read that some people had complained here and say bad things about the hotel but there was nothing to worry about. When we were in this hotel sometimes we felt that the whole hotel and the beach was only for yourself and we liked that. We recommend this hotel to people that want a nice quiet hotel with not many children screaming.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Albert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelle L, Guest Relations Manager at whala!bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Mr. Albert,

Thank you for choosing the hotel whala!bavaro for your stay in Punta Cana and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I was happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your instructive feedback, I apologize for the inconvenience the delay with room caused you. We hope to welcome you back in your next visit to Punta Cana.

Thank you and best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

After a few weeks of travel visiting family we saved the best till last and had a ball here. We expected nothing so we wouldn't be disappointed and we really loved the laid back attitude which started right from the time we arrived at the airport. Not to be outdone the smiley staff at the hotel were quick to laugh at my husband and his rotten jokes. Spent a whole ten days doing zip, just lay on the beach and planned our next holiday. Not loads to do, no loud disco, peace...... that's what we loved best about the place. Recommended to all like minded souls.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ronnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelle L, Guest Relations Manager at whala!bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Mrs. Ronnie,

Thank you for your review, it looks like you understood our philosophy perfectly and I am happy that you enjoyed a relaxing time in Bávaro. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Arrived travel weary and in darkness nice to be offered a hot drink. Front desk very helpful and the hotel looked clean and inviting.
The room itself was big for just two of us and we found the bed ok and shower became like an old friend by the end of the week, it had it's own way of doing things.
Although we were all inclusive we did try a few other places to eat, found the restaurant to be as per but with better service than usual.
Had a little bit of noise from other guests but nothing to annoy us, think we are particularly quiet people.
Although we saw photos on the web, it isn't until you actually see the beach in person that you realise how marvellous it is.
Totally recharged, didn't want to go home so soon.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phoebe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelle L, Guest Relations Manager at whala!bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Mrs. Phoebe,

I am happy you got to enjoy your stay at whala!bávaro and that you liked the area, it sounds like you took some good memories back home. Thank you so much for your review and best regards from Punta Cana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed in Whala bavaro Dec 2013 with sister and partner and our parents. We normally go away on our own so this was a great choice for such a different holiday. We arrived late so we didn't get a chance to get a look round. Checked in and ended up in the bar. Room was spot on, asleep before my head hit the pillow. We all met for breakfast there was loads to choose from and we took advantage of this as we're not small eaters. After breakfast we had a wander round before settling down on the beach. What more can a man ask for? Sometimes you take a punt on a hotel and I have to say we chose well. It was clean and tidy everywhere, the staff were always polite and the beach location is out of this world. This is no 18 to 30's holiday and it was just what the doctor ordered. Brilliant location, great hotel, paradise beach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank carpyboy245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estelle L, Guest Relations Manager at whala!bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay in whala!bavaro. I am pleased to see that our efforts are noticed and appreciated, we want whala!bávaro to be our guest's home in Punta Cana.

Than you and best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews