We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of whala!bavaro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
whala!bavaro
Ranked #83 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Hoofdplaat, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Loved the location, great simple hotel ; excellent value for my money.
This was a planned beach holiday after too much working. I have paid more before for holidays but this was a bargain too good to miss. The room was cleaned nicely, tidy comfortable furnishings. The people and staff were too very nice and spoke greeting every morning with hellos. The beach is wonderful, warm sand and the water was not freezing, very good for swimming. We did a little sight seeing, but as I mentioned the real reason was for the beach. It was a great time and I must thank the lady at the reception for her local knowledge when we arrived. It's the little things that make the difference. Enjoyable time for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    205
    164
    81
    78
See reviews for
188
466
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lennoxtown, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

First visit to this part of the world and we were both a little worried (and excited) but once we settled down into our room and had our first drink we realized that there was nothing to worry about. It is not the Ritz of Paris and my rating is congruent with what we paid. We mainly liked this hotel for the location and nice staff. It´s clean and runs very smoothly with all the staff busy working and keeping it tidy at all times. We liked the pool view from the room and thought the room was maintained well and the cleaning ladies came in frequently. The beach is really the best thing ever though! It´s more beautiful than the pics and what better way to enjoy your well earned time off than lying on a picturesque beach with a cool drink in your hand? It´s why we came and it did not disappoint. Fantastic and returned home very relaxed and ready to take on the world!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just home with our suitcases and sandy clothes after an amazing beach holiday. Loved the location of this friendly hotel, we weren't sure what to expect as this was our first time to the Dominican Republic. Met some real nice people staying here, but also enjoyed some time on our own on some of the more deserted parts of the beach. Great big pool with nice garden area. Clean room, good hotel facilities. Everyday was a pleasure to wake up and spend a day here. Easy street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ronnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We are a family of 6, ranging from 16- 60 yrs. old. Wanted a beach holiday that wouldn´t be overpriced and too flashy and found this just right for our needs. A bit old in certain areas and rooms could benefit from a make over, but there again it was one of the cleanest hotels we´ve stayed in. Cleaners always popping in to change towels and make beds. The swimming pool is the heart of the property and was very clean and had lots of places to lie down around it. Found the staff good and loved the beach location. I can see why so many people love to visit this area now as it is picturesque. We all enjoyed the food and cocktails at the hotel and had no problems of any kind during our stay. We didn´t spend much time out of the hotel so can´t give any info on the area as such, but I know we just wish we´d had longer there!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Like the pictures and what you read about this place? Well, you wont get it. Honestly, i dont know what kind of drugs these people are on that are leaving good reviews. Maybe they have never been to another resort in their life. Yes, this is a 3 star resort, but that is all i have ever been to, and this "resort" does not compare. First off Roberto should not be in customer service. He was very rude to me. He basically implied that i was an alcoholic because when the repair man came to fix something, i was in the cold dirty salt water shower, and could not answer the door. Yes you read that right, i had hot water for 1 day. there was only one resturant that was open, even though they say there are two. The food was ok, nothing amazing. i will never go back to the dominican republic after going to this "resort", and i will never recommend it to anyone else. Save your money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank kittehface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We came here after a difficult year with the chance to relax for a few days. It was our first time to the Dominican Republic and we just loved it here. The room, facilities and staff service were all fantastic. The whole concept here is a winner, the beach is wonderful and the way we were looked after was really appreciated. Food, and cleanliness was always done well, with no complaints from us. The other people staying here were also good company and it will be good to meet up again as we have planned next year. Going home was not so much fun but we do have 2014 to look forward to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Scottreplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was by far the best hotel and location we have been to. The beach was so close to the hotel, it's amazing, sea and sand as far as the eye can see, it's the kind of place you hope to find. To make it even better the staff seem to have a good sense of humour and were great with our small requests. The room was simple, comfortable and clean. The food was great with a relaxed way about everything. The swimming pool was big, but to be honest with the sea just two feet away we were drawn to it everyday. We turned into two lazy very happy layabouts and could easily come every year. Great place for a romantic break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LewishamKynel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.9 mi away
The MT Hotel
The MT Hotel
#82 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cortecito Inn Bavaro
Hotel Cortecito Inn Bavaro
#104 of 110 in Punta Cana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Punta Cana
NH Punta Cana
#67 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Puntacana Village
3.9 mi away
Natura Park Beach - EcoResort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
#20 of 25 in Bavaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to whala!bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about whala!bavaro

Property: whala!bavaro
Address: El Cortecito | Bávaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Alisios Bavaro Beach Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#70 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — whala!bavaro 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the beach, whala!Bavaro is the ideal place to enjoy the summer heat. Bavaro Beach is part of the Dominican Republic most exclusive coast resorts, thanks to its fine white sand bathed by the beautiful Caribbean Sea with crystal clear and emerald tone waters. Located in front of the beach, whala!Bavaro is the ideal place to enjoy the summer heat. The hotel is located in an excellent location that offers a wide variety of sport and leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your whala!bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alisios Bavaro Beach Hotel
Hotel Alisios Bavaro Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing