We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday.”
Review of whala!bavaro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
whala!bavaro
Ranked #85 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great family holiday.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We are a family of 6, ranging from 16- 60 yrs. old. Wanted a beach holiday that wouldn´t be overpriced and too flashy and found this just right for our needs. A bit old in certain areas and rooms could benefit from a make over, but there again it was one of the cleanest hotels we´ve stayed in. Cleaners always popping in to change towels and make beds. The swimming pool is the heart of the property and was very clean and had lots of places to lie down around it. Found the staff good and loved the beach location. I can see why so many people love to visit this area now as it is picturesque. We all enjoyed the food and cocktails at the hotel and had no problems of any kind during our stay. We didn´t spend much time out of the hotel so can´t give any info on the area as such, but I know we just wish we´d had longer there!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    233
    185
    88
    90
See reviews for
205
519
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Like the pictures and what you read about this place? Well, you wont get it. Honestly, i dont know what kind of drugs these people are on that are leaving good reviews. Maybe they have never been to another resort in their life. Yes, this is a 3 star resort, but that is all i have ever been to, and this "resort" does not compare. First off Roberto should not be in customer service. He was very rude to me. He basically implied that i was an alcoholic because when the repair man came to fix something, i was in the cold dirty salt water shower, and could not answer the door. Yes you read that right, i had hot water for 1 day. there was only one resturant that was open, even though they say there are two. The food was ok, nothing amazing. i will never go back to the dominican republic after going to this "resort", and i will never recommend it to anyone else. Save your money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank kittehface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Punta Cana hotels

Michigan City, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We came here after a difficult year with the chance to relax for a few days. It was our first time to the Dominican Republic and we just loved it here. The room, facilities and staff service were all fantastic. The whole concept here is a winner, the beach is wonderful and the way we were looked after was really appreciated. Food, and cleanliness was always done well, with no complaints from us. The other people staying here were also good company and it will be good to meet up again as we have planned next year. Going home was not so much fun but we do have 2014 to look forward to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Scottreplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was by far the best hotel and location we have been to. The beach was so close to the hotel, it's amazing, sea and sand as far as the eye can see, it's the kind of place you hope to find. To make it even better the staff seem to have a good sense of humour and were great with our small requests. The room was simple, comfortable and clean. The food was great with a relaxed way about everything. The swimming pool was big, but to be honest with the sea just two feet away we were drawn to it everyday. We turned into two lazy very happy layabouts and could easily come every year. Great place for a romantic break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LewishamKynel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The friendly staff make a difference here and after a long journey gave a good welcome. Nice clean room, and ok not very modern, which we weren´t expecting anyway, but very clean and comfy for a 12 day stay. Cleaners came in and replaced towels and changed sheets and you can see they make an effort to keep it as clean as possible. The room overlooked the swimming pool which was nice but we were there for the beach and went down every single day to sunbathe and swim and had a fantastic time. There is a small beach hut bar which serves cold drinks. We found the food in general was good at the hotel and we also ventured out a couple of times and ate snacks outside which were tasty. Great location and somewhere you can really relax and enjoy the weather and beautiful beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The location is to die for. Sea, palm trees and the beach is just out back. Our room was clean with an individual feel and the hotel was quiet and peaceful, it seemed as though we had the place to ourselves a couple of times, the other travellers were a nice bunch and kept themselves to themselves so it was nice and private. The ten days was just not long enough and we will be coming back at the start of the season next year. So pleased to find somewhere that suits us so well. Our own secret beach hideaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chrissy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We went as a group of 6 ladies for my sisters 40th. My cousin booked it and I didn't know much about it really apart from that it was in The Dominican Republic, which is somewhere I'd always wanted to go. We were all so excited when we saw that the hotel was right beside the beach! What a fantastic location to vacation at. Our welcome was good with nice front desk girl and the rooms were all close to each other and all pretty much the same. Very clean and although not spanking new and particularly modern they were very light and had comfy beds and new towels and sheets and the cleaners came in regularly to clean, so all good! There is a nice swimming pool and a good little beach bar and the whole hotel and grounds are kept tidy and clean at all times.
The food was very nice and better than expected and we had a very good time here. You need lots of beach wear as we just lived in our bikinis the whole time!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Gil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.9 mi away
The MT Hotel
The MT Hotel
#84 of 112 in Punta Cana
136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cortecito Inn Bavaro
Hotel Cortecito Inn Bavaro
#105 of 112 in Punta Cana
175 reviews
9.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Puntacana Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Karibo Punta Cana
Karibo Punta Cana
#2 of 18 in Bavaro
382 reviews
3.9 mi away
Natura Park Beach - EcoResort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Occidental Caribe
Occidental Caribe
#61 of 112 in Punta Cana
9,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to whala!bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about whala!bavaro

Property: whala!bavaro
Address: El Cortecito | Bávaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Alisios Bavaro Beach Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#71 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — whala!bavaro 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the beach, whala!Bavaro is the ideal place to enjoy the summer heat. Bavaro Beach is part of the Dominican Republic most exclusive coast resorts, thanks to its fine white sand bathed by the beautiful Caribbean Sea with crystal clear and emerald tone waters. Located in front of the beach, whala!Bavaro is the ideal place to enjoy the summer heat. The hotel is located in an excellent location that offers a wide variety of sport and leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your whala!bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alisios Bavaro Beach Hotel
Hotel Alisios Bavaro Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing