We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could've been better, could've been worse”
Review of whala!bavaro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
whala!bavaro
Ranked #83 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed February 27, 2013

An okay place for a short stay, but I wouldn't go back or recommend the place.

Pros:
Beach is a short (90 second) walk away
Room was quite spacy
Beds were comfortable
Supermarket, Restaurants, and Cafe nearby (turn left as you walk out of the hotel and walk straight for 2-3 minutes)
3 pools on-site, so never any crowding

Cons:
Food at the all-inclusive buffet was limited and not very good; drinks were watered down
Terrible water pressure, i.e. no water at all sometimes
Some staff rather unfriendly and unhelpful
Do not book any tours through the hotel, they're overpriced and not very good

If you're staying here, you're probably doing it to save money, so here's a tip: DO NOT go all-inclusive here, as it's a waste of money for what you get. I tried going all-inclusive the first night of my stay, and didn't do it after that, because the food selection is really limited, not very good, and apparently doesn't change at all, and the drinks are watered down considerably.
If all you need is a reasonably-priced hotel near the beach, then this place is okay for that, and you can self-cater at the little mall down the block, where there's a supermarket, a decent bakery, and everything I tried at Danny's Bar & Grill was excellent and much better than anything the hotel had on offer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed a week and had a good vacation here. It's a nice open plan type of hotel as far as communal areas go. Open spaces with good use of wood. Great pool with plenty of sunloungers and a good choice of food on offer. Staff are friendly and make the effort to remember your drink of choice. Room was nice, on first floor overlooking the pool. A good place to get away for a week and relax.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Good hotel but not the best the place needs to be redone rooms are not all that service is no better all in all this place is no good for a weeks vacation. Their website needs to be more informative and it's a bit misguiding too the only thing that is true about their all inclusive is the unlimited drinks

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Princissa_DRos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Booked a suite after choosing this hotel and we were so pleased with the huge room for such a small difference in price. The hotel is nicer than some of the photos with a bigish pool and nice gardens if you want a lazy day around the hotel. The nearest beach is only five minutes and the white sand was what I have wanted to see since booking six months ago. It was so beautiful and worth waiting for. Our room had good reception on the cable tv and air conditioning that did blow cool. All bed, bathroom clean with good meals different every night. Breakfast was included in our price and was full of fresh fruit. Enjoyed our holiday and really felt refreshed after being looked after so well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 95Lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

During our 5 nights stay our room had no problems at all and it was cleaned to a high standard and that is what we appreciate and for us is one of the most important factors. The hotel workers are very friendly and polite. Food is decent and varied and tasty and we had some of the nicest Mangos ever as they all happen to be very juicy. A trip to the near city Rumana and Samana are both a must and the best is to get a local driver as renting a car for yourself was not much cheaper.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have spend 10 days in this hotel and it was our best decision! We decided us for this pleace for our annual holiday because of the price and the great location but we have received much more than expected! It is a small but beautiful and familiar style hotel. Nice and quiet place if you look for some relax. Perfect for couples and groups of friends. All the staff is so friendly and helpful that we feel someone very special there. Receptionists speak any language you might need even french and russian and are always smiling and willing to help. We have reserved a suite and it was very big and nice decorated with wooden furnitures. We had even our privat jacuzzi there! The hotel has 3 swimming pools, 3 bars and a main restaurant but it is not like this huge resorts where you feel so lost. If you reserve all inclusive (its really worth it) you can drink and eat all day long. There was a nice hotel bar close to our room open till 11 pm and another great bar at the beach. So we always had our cold beer or mojito to drink. :) The food in the restaurant was even better than we had expected. Homemade food menu that changes every day. All the bakery was fabulous: homemade bread, croissants and any kind of cakes you can ask for. One day we have tried mexican food and on another there was a delicious BBQ on the beach. This one is just 2 minutes walking from the hotel and there are always free sunbeds for the guests. We have spend very good and relaxing holidays in this hotel and for a very rasonable price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 16Kami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We picked this hotel mainly because of location and price and it worked like a charm. Stayed for 5 nights and the room was nice and clean and staff very friendly.Food not out of this world but reasonably good. Swimming pool was good. We enjoyed the area and enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.9 mi away
The MT Hotel
The MT Hotel
#86 of 112 in Punta Cana
142 reviews
9.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Puntacana Village
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cortecito Inn Bavaro
Hotel Cortecito Inn Bavaro
#107 of 112 in Punta Cana
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
RD68 Hotel Boutique
RD68 Hotel Boutique
#26 of 27 in Bavaro
29 reviews
15.2 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#44 of 112 in Punta Cana
984 reviews
5 mi away
Occidental Caribe
Occidental Caribe
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
9,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to whala!bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about whala!bavaro

Address: El Cortecito | Bávaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Alisios Bavaro Beach Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#71 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $68 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — whala!bavaro 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the beach, whala!Bavaro is the ideal place to enjoy the summer heat. Bavaro Beach is part of the Dominican Republic most exclusive coast resorts, thanks to its fine white sand bathed by the beautiful Caribbean Sea with crystal clear and emerald tone waters. Located in front of the beach, whala!Bavaro is the ideal place to enjoy the summer heat. The hotel is located in an excellent location that offers a wide variety of sport and leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your whala!bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alisios Bavaro Beach Hotel
Hotel Alisios Bavaro Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing