We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we came here”
Review of whala!bavaro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
whala!bavaro
Ranked #84 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Booked a suite after choosing this hotel and we were so pleased with the huge room for such a small difference in price. The hotel is nicer than some of the photos with a bigish pool and nice gardens if you want a lazy day around the hotel. The nearest beach is only five minutes and the white sand was what I have wanted to see since booking six months ago. It was so beautiful and worth waiting for. Our room had good reception on the cable tv and air conditioning that did blow cool. All bed, bathroom clean with good meals different every night. Breakfast was included in our price and was full of fresh fruit. Enjoyed our holiday and really felt refreshed after being looked after so well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 95Lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (994)
There are newer reviews for whala!bavaro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 995 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

During our 5 nights stay our room had no problems at all and it was cleaned to a high standard and that is what we appreciate and for us is one of the most important factors. The hotel workers are very friendly and polite. Food is decent and varied and tasty and we had some of the nicest Mangos ever as they all happen to be very juicy. A trip to the near city Rumana and Samana are both a must and the best is to get a local driver as renting a car for yourself was not much cheaper.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have spend 10 days in this hotel and it was our best decision! We decided us for this pleace for our annual holiday because of the price and the great location but we have received much more than expected! It is a small but beautiful and familiar style hotel. Nice and quiet place if you look for some relax. Perfect for couples and groups of friends. All the staff is so friendly and helpful that we feel someone very special there. Receptionists speak any language you might need even french and russian and are always smiling and willing to help. We have reserved a suite and it was very big and nice decorated with wooden furnitures. We had even our privat jacuzzi there! The hotel has 3 swimming pools, 3 bars and a main restaurant but it is not like this huge resorts where you feel so lost. If you reserve all inclusive (its really worth it) you can drink and eat all day long. There was a nice hotel bar close to our room open till 11 pm and another great bar at the beach. So we always had our cold beer or mojito to drink. :) The food in the restaurant was even better than we had expected. Homemade food menu that changes every day. All the bakery was fabulous: homemade bread, croissants and any kind of cakes you can ask for. One day we have tried mexican food and on another there was a delicious BBQ on the beach. This one is just 2 minutes walking from the hotel and there are always free sunbeds for the guests. We have spend very good and relaxing holidays in this hotel and for a very rasonable price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 16Kami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We picked this hotel mainly because of location and price and it worked like a charm. Stayed for 5 nights and the room was nice and clean and staff very friendly.Food not out of this world but reasonably good. Swimming pool was good. We enjoyed the area and enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I had 12 days at this hotel just and we loved it and we don´t understand the bad comments. It has a lovely location and when you arrive you immediately feel lucky to be there! The staff gave us a great welcome and checked us in quickly and we got a very nice room which was bigger than the usual standard hotel room, not sure whether it was a suite, but it was nice. It is a clean and well laid out hotel. Nice gardens and greenery everywhere and of course the beautiful beach just outside. We went away mainly to get some peace and quiet for ourselves before the mad festive season back home and we certainly got it! I got through 2 new books and totally chilled out most days just hanging round the hotel and pool or the beach. It is a hotel that you can be yourself in and no need for airs and graces, which was exactly what we liked. We ate well, met some other very nice people and probably drank a few too many cocktails!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Here it goes....A/C..didnt work, patio door wouldnt lock, bathroom ceiling was leaking and falling in. So we upgraded to a suite for $40/night. Well worth it I guess. A few problems in the suite jacuzzi didnt work shower hose busted ceiling leaked a bit toilet had a tough time flushing. All were fixed VERY slowly !! FOOD... very limited and never hot always warm to cold. Pork chops three nights were the main course. Two times I took pork chops and were barely half cooked third time i didnt bother. No hamburger or hotdog buns.. processed hamburger patties were disghusting.First morning no eggs or bread "technical diffulcties" the ran outta gas/propane.Bacon every three days if you were lucky and very under cooked. Custome service was not great customer CARE was no exhistant. One entertaining evening a man climbed up on the lobby desk and lied down and said "you wont fix my leak over my bed so i will sleep right here" they said to him we have no rooms left except suites and you have to pay extra. I was at a loss for words at that answer. I'm a firm believer that you get what you pay for but that is not the case here at all. This dump is a 2.5 star at best. there was a constant stream of people at the lobby desk with problems. I think the management limits what the desk clerks can do..NADDA.
Zero nightly entertainment. If you do have to go because you booked already there are a few close restaurants that are good..pizzeria around the corner called "le petit jardin" great food and service and great prices.Also a great bakery just up the street. the beach is about a 2 min walk.
I have travelled the world on a budget and this place is not worth the frustration that a few extra hundred bucks can solve. PLEASE dont waste your hard earned money !! A guy i met from sweden said good thing I didnt fly 11 hours to get here for the food !!

Room Tip: if ya gotta go updrade to a suite
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KenOntariocanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is our first time in Punta Cana but we have previously stayed in Puerto Plata so we knew what is to be expected and there was no surprises. Room was nice and the beach is very close. The food was some days better than others and overall we felt happy for what we paid. I think customer service was one of the better things Whala offered and we felt at home. We had a week of sun and swim and relaxation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 937MaB937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.9 mi away
The MT Hotel
The MT Hotel
#83 of 112 in Punta Cana
139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cortecito Inn Bavaro
Hotel Cortecito Inn Bavaro
#104 of 112 in Punta Cana
178 reviews
9.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Puntacana Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eleven Palms by Inmense
Eleven Palms by Inmense
#23 of 26 in Bavaro
48 reviews
3.9 mi away
Natura Park Beach - EcoResort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Occidental Caribe
Occidental Caribe
#60 of 112 in Punta Cana
9,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to whala!bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about whala!bavaro

Address: El Cortecito | Bávaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Alisios Bavaro Beach Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#71 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $64 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — whala!bavaro 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the beach, whala!Bavaro is the ideal place to enjoy the summer heat. Bavaro Beach is part of the Dominican Republic most exclusive coast resorts, thanks to its fine white sand bathed by the beautiful Caribbean Sea with crystal clear and emerald tone waters. Located in front of the beach, whala!Bavaro is the ideal place to enjoy the summer heat. The hotel is located in an excellent location that offers a wide variety of sport and leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your whala!bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alisios Bavaro Beach Hotel
Hotel Alisios Bavaro Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing