We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park & Reserve

Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park & Reserve
Book In Advance
$140*
and up
Punta Cana Combo Tour: Off-Road Buggy and Catamaran with Lunch
Ranked #9 of 83 things to do in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park and Reserve is a private protected area owned and operated by the PUNTACANA Ecological Foundation. Consisting of lowland subtropical forest, the reserve covers 1,500 acres of land dedicated to conservation, scientific research, and recreation.The Ecological Reserve is a forest reserve with twelve freshwater lagoons, five of which visitors can swim in. Historians discovered that the Taíno Indians, the pre-Columbian inhabitants of the island, referred to the lagoons as “eyes” because of their distinctive shape. For this reason, the Ecological Park and Reserve was named “Ojos Indígenas” or “Indigenous Eyes.”The Ecological Park consists of numerous exhibits describing the cultural and natural history of the island. Visitors can visit a petting zoo with many domesticated animals common in the Dominican Republic since colonial times, a sugarcane exhibit, an iguana habitat and many other attractions.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Took a tour here and the water was beautiful. Easy to get too and clean. Worth the trip to go look at. Make sure you bring bug spray for the walk through the woods.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Floridatourist17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    150
    36
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
München
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Entry difficult”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We rent a villa at Punta Cana resort, precisely in Tortuga bay, this is however Not considered being a guest at the resort. After being told that we would get access paying 10 dollar per person entrance fee, we were still denied the visit because we could not provide a so called CARD. In the end we gave up discussing the issue at the entrance. I only warn that being a guest does not necessarily give you access to the parc.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Crfami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“No response”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were at another resort Punta Cana last week. We emailed them and never heard anything from them. Would have liked to go on the tour.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank nekko8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Lagoons are very beautiful. The paths are nice to walk although they can be a little confusing. take a pic. of map before you go in.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great learning experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I went on the walking tour but they also offer Segway tours. My guide made me taste different fruits straight from the trees and explained everything about the local fauna and flora. The tour involves a hike through the rain forest, visiting the clear water lakes with turtles and fish, and swimming in a lake in were you can see the bottom at 8 meters. This park is accessible to folks staying at the Punta Cana Resort but you can also book an appointment to visit for a fairly reasonable price. Put on bug spray when you go.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Alice669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park & Reserve also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing