We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Entry difficult” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park & Reserve

Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park & Reserve
Book In Advance
$139.99*
and up
Punta Cana Combo Tour: Off-Road Buggy and Catamaran with Lunch
Ranked #7 of 84 things to do in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park and Reserve is a private protected area owned and operated by the PUNTACANA Ecological Foundation. Consisting of lowland subtropical forest, the reserve covers 1,500 acres of land dedicated to conservation, scientific research, and recreation.The Ecological Reserve is a forest reserve with twelve freshwater lagoons, five of which visitors can swim in. Historians discovered that the Taíno Indians, the pre-Columbian inhabitants of the island, referred to the lagoons as “eyes” because of their distinctive shape. For this reason, the Ecological Park and Reserve was named “Ojos Indígenas” or “Indigenous Eyes.”The Ecological Park consists of numerous exhibits describing the cultural and natural history of the island. Visitors can visit a petting zoo with many domesticated animals common in the Dominican Republic since colonial times, a sugarcane exhibit, an iguana habitat and many other attractions.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
München
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Entry difficult”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We rent a villa at Punta Cana resort, precisely in Tortuga bay, this is however Not considered being a guest at the resort. After being told that we would get access paying 10 dollar per person entrance fee, we were still denied the visit because we could not provide a so called CARD. In the end we gave up discussing the issue at the entrance. I only warn that being a guest does not necessarily give you access to the parc.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Crfami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    152
    37
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blaine
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“No response”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were at another resort Punta Cana last week. We emailed them and never heard anything from them. Would have liked to go on the tour.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank nekko8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Lagoons are very beautiful. The paths are nice to walk although they can be a little confusing. take a pic. of map before you go in.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great learning experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I went on the walking tour but they also offer Segway tours. My guide made me taste different fruits straight from the trees and explained everything about the local fauna and flora. The tour involves a hike through the rain forest, visiting the clear water lakes with turtles and fish, and swimming in a lake in were you can see the bottom at 8 meters. This park is accessible to folks staying at the Punta Cana Resort but you can also book an appointment to visit for a fairly reasonable price. Put on bug spray when you go.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Alice669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The highlight of my trip to Punta Cana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

One might think that the best part of Punta cana are the beaches and resorts, however, there is a little hidden forest with fresh water pools and an incredibly knowledgeable and charming guide that took my breath away.
I love nature and I could appreciate true unspoiled nature in this reserve. Yes, there is lots of pretty landscaping at the resorts, however it is mostly fake (the golf-course like grass for example). At Indigenous Eyes (Ojos Indigenos) you can see and learn about the trees, plants, birds and animals that are local and brought in from overseas (with the colonization) but that are basically existing undisturbed there and in their natural surroundings. If you go, get the guide Christian. Without him you will not be able to truly understand this very unique dry jungle. He will explain how the incredible fresh water lakes formed and you will even be invited to jump and swim into one. Don't be startled by the seemingly at arm's length bottom. It is much deeper than it looks. Personally, i have never seen such crystal clean turquoise water and swimming in it felt amazing. There were turtles and fish and beautiful coral rocks. In fact, the whole forest is basically growing out of coral. There are ancient medicinal trees that Christian pointed out (almost extinct) that the Tainos used for blood clotting and other healing and that were cut to near extinction by the colonialists. The foundation that manages the forest is working on some interesting projects, including recovering the growth of these trees, the coral reef and a type of rare Iguana that inhabits the forest.
The location of the forest is a little tricky to find. You have to go into the Punta Cana hotel and resorts property next to the Aeropuerto and the keep driving and following the signs. Visit Playa Blanca on the way back- a very sweet secluded white sand beach with a shnazzy bar/restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank TeoKoleva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park & Reserve also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Parque Nacional del Este, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing