We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Punta Cana Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #32 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We have been to Punta Cana about 15 times and stayed at 10 different resorts, some 2 and 3 times. We love PC, it's a paradise, beautiful weather, fantastic beach and some of the nicest people you can meet, these are standard no matter where you stay. I am simply blown away by the great reviews this resort gets, they definitely swayed me in making my decision. However we were completely disappointed. There are some nice features so I will start with them. Check in is easy and desk personnel are very responsive to problems or inquiries. There is only one pool, not overwhelmingly big but nice and the animation team work hard in the afternoon to keep you entertained. The swim-up bar is great, good service and great drinks. The best thing on the resort is the Beach Bar, which is open 24 hrs. There is a snack bar attached where you can get coffee and breakfast and lunch is available there. OK, so that's the good bits. The "renovated" rooms are small, really small, new bed was ok and new TV, but no dresser for cloths, tiny table and tiny chairs, smallest bathroom ever, one sink, no room whatsoever for toiletries or make-up, small shower, water runs out on floor, small toilet stall with seat that does not fit, terrible lighting and of course absolutely no privacy, no door to bathroom and glass doors on shower and toilet, even with that you can clearly see the person in the shower through the mirror, funny really. The balcony has two chairs and something they call a table. They are the $4.99 tiny plastic chairs that you buy at Walmart plus the table probably costs $2.99 and even then it was in a filthy condition. The patio door was off the track for most of the week, my husband had to literally lift it up in order for us to get out, we finally got it fixed. The phones did not work, it was always hit and miss, we would tell them they were not working and they would fix them, after a couple of times we gave up. The glass door to the bathroom had screws coming out of the wall and looked dangerous, we let them know about that too. What can I say about the lobby...to us it was just a black hole, truly horrible, the furniture is so old (not in a nice way) and sooooo dirty, I had a hard time sitting on these. I took some pictures and you will see that I am not lying. Also there are supposed to be computers in the lobby and according to Sunwing we would get 20 mins each free per day on the computer. The third morning we went down, no computers, not one, all broken apparently and they never reappeared! Shows were poor at best, very unprofessional, seem to make them up as they go. We went over to the adjacent resort one evening and found that it was a hassel getting back as there were not enough trolleys going back and forth and they were all full. There is no walkway through the property to the other resorts which is a shame since they clearly had more vegetation. The buffet we found to be so basic, not attractive at all, again old furniture, dismal looking, forget candles on the tables in the evening or nice table linen, think more holiday camping style. Food choices were about half of what we had at other resorts. We always found something to eat though. The a la carte's were just ok, however there are four but never open all the time, usually only 2-3 at the most will be open so if you have decided (like we did) to save the Italian for last night, then you may be disappointed to find it closed. One other thing we observed is that there are no hand sanitizers offered at the buffet door, this has been the norm at almost all the resorts we've stayed at as well as morning mimosas (you'll get one if you ask). The beds on the beach are severley worn and do not fit the frames either. They have about 6 reasonably new ones, the rest should be dumped and the all of the cushions in the beach bar need replacing, really dirty and torn, they removed a whole section the second day we were there but never replaced them. So for all these reasons we were very disappointed, yes we still managed to have fun, the weather is beautiful and the beach and the people at the resort are all lovely, no problem there but we will never return to this resort or any Princess resort. There are small resort and adult resorts in PC, we've been and they are much better but this is just our observations and obviously it suits others. There is no hint of glamour or luxury at this resort, as far as we are concerned this is nowhere near a 4 1/2 star resort.

Room Tip: Our friends had a honeymoon suite and it was much nicer than ours but they don't have many.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank generic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-BavaroP, Community Manager at Punta Cana Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear generic1,

First of all, many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and for highlighting some of the fantastic points of Punta Cana Princess.

We are truly sorry to hear that your stay was such a disappointment. Please accept our sincere apologies.

We appreciate the constructive nature of your feedback and have addressed your concerns with our team so that corrective action may be taken to improve our services, the entertainment and the aspects you mentioned about the room. Please accept our sincere apologies for any unintended inconvenience.

Although we have not been able to meet your expectation, we sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back again.

With kind regards,

Yours sincerely,

Patricia Aguirre
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,918)
There are newer reviews for Punta Cana Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,248 - 2,254 of 5,918 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

We just returns from one week vacation in Punta Cana Princess .The service was Exceptional!!!
Food very good,no reservation needed in A-la-carte restaurant -loved.The beach is beautiful
Our room # 4003 very nice,clean and renovated .We highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yoshi1934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This will be our 4th trip in as many years to this resort. My husband and I are counting the days until our return on February 7, 2014.

After our first vacation there, we realized that we had to look no further for a resort. Punta Cana Princess is exactly what we are looking for. A resort for adults that want to relax and spend quality time together and is small enough to navigate by taking a leisurely stroll.

I'm especially excited to see the room makeover and to see Hector, Emilio and Luisa (just to name a few).

As our kids used to say "are we there yet?"

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sisbro54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I spent a week there with my daughter. The grounds were so lucious and the ocean was very beautiful. The hotel staff were awesome and always ready to give you a hand. We will be going back next year but for 2 weeks. Best holiday ever.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are beutiful.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

To start off with don't listen to any of the bad reviews i have been to many resorts in Punta Cana and this is one of the good resorts.
Rooms 4110 beautiful room king bed sunken living room flat screen tv mini bar bathroom all great.Plus the beds where great also just ask for another pillow really small.
Restaurants all were very good buffet was really good always something to eat and lots of it.
Beach well whats to say besides i think Bavaro beach is the most beautiful in the world great swimming and sun bathing.
Resort is well maintained always guys working around never anything lying around very hard workers.
Booze really good no complaints staff is always their to get you what you need they are very quick.
Our room was always clean you also get turn down service which is nice for clean towels for beach and shower in the am.
Staff well what can i say besides they are all terrific especially Raysay she is the sweetest girl i have ever met plus such a hard worker.
Entertainment was also good remember it's an adult resort so a little different then a family resort the 80's night was a blast plus all the other nights.The older gentleman at the beach 24 hour bar is excellent makes the best Sangria's love love them and him !!! Plus the 24 hour bar is so nice right on the beach with the best lounge chairs great romance spot !!!
Any how i highly recommend this spot quite relaxing and a great adult resort .

Room Tip: We stayed in building 4 close to beach and pool for us its the beach
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leah41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My wife and I have been travellling to Punta Cana for more than 15 years now. We mostly go to 5* resorts. Based on my experience, I would say that there is no other resort (adults-only) in Punta Cana that has a best price value than the Punta Cana Princess Resort.

We were there for New Year's Eve and were extremely pleased with the evening. From the food to the entertainment to the service to the fireworks, we couldn't have asked for more.

The beach is extremely beautiful with comfortable lounge chairs. The pool area is very beautiful, with a brand new pool. The lounge chairs are in excellent condition along with the towels and both are kept extremely clean at all times.

The rooms have just been renovated with nice furniture and are quite beautiful and kept extremely clean so is the whole resort. We did not encounter one problem with either the air conditiioning or the hot water. Maids bring you clean beach towels every night in the room.

The food at the A-la-Carte restaurants are very good as well as the buffet. The service is excellent. The staff is extremely polite and helpful.

The Animation Team do a great job at planning activities through the day either at the beach or at the pool and offer entertainment at night in the lobby.

We have been to nicer resorts but we paid a lot more than what we paid to go to the Punta Cana Princess Resort. Even the 5* resorts that we visited were not perfect....so why should we expect this specific resort to be perfect.. I'll say it again, for the money we paid, we were more than satisfied and pleased with our trip and would return without hesitation.

There was a gentleman by the name of Hector, I believe he is the Guest Manager, who provided us with excellent service. For that matter, every member of the staff work extremely hard to provide excellent service and they are to be commended for the quality of their work.

I highly recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a beautiful tropical resort with good food, excellent service, amazing beach, amazing staff, with a mix of relaxation and fun.

If you have any question, please do not hesitate to ask.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Charger6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Everything was Fabulous. If you have any questions you can e-mail me.
ennsis@mymts.net. Food was very good, service was exceptional, beach was awesome, other people we met were awesome also.

We went on 1 tour and it was very good

Room Tip: Make sure you have some sort of Medical Insurance, rooms 3000-4000 are the best
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bigboyManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
2.8 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
0.1 mi away
Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino
0.5 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#27 of 112 in Punta Cana
13,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
0.5 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
0.2 mi away
Ocean Blue & Sand
Ocean Blue & Sand
#13 of 26 in Bavaro
13,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Cana Princess All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Cana Princess All Suites Resort & Spa

Address: Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $157 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Punta Cana Princess All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punta Cana Princess All Suites Resort & Spa in an Adults Resort (18 years old and over) where the fascination of an unforgettable holiday is readily available to our clients. Caribbean style and art of living combine in each of the corners and rooms of this pleasant, high-category holiday resort in Bavaro Beach. Five-Star All Inclusive Hotel, quiet and relaxing, on a heavenly beach; that offers all the services and facilities of our sister hotels Caribe Club and Tropical Princess.The charm of the 263 beautiful Platinum Suites, the seduction of the 7 Honeymoon Suites equipped with a thousand and one details and including a full range of services are completed with the careful and selected menu of our 5 restaurants (main buffet, Italian, Tex-Mex, Mediterranean and Swiss), and a functional snack. Wedding packages available. A full range of daytime leisure activities, extensive gym and spa area, a beautiful bright environment, with a large number of evening activities, next to the famous Princess Tower Casino (located at Bávaro Princess Hotel), and Areito Disco (one of the best in Punta Cana); that add the pleasure of some days of rest and an unforgettable holiday at the famous Bavaro Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Idiso Digital, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Punta Cana Princess All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Cana Princess Resort
Princess Punta Cana
Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort Punta Cana
Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort Spa & Casino
Punta Cana Princess Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing