We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place--we are going back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #54 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We just got back from the Caribe Princess, (6/1) so I wanted to post while the memories are still fresh.
Let me start with some generalities. I have read thousands of reviews over the years as we plan our trips—some of them just clueless. I have to assume they are written by first time travelers. 1) When you are down in the Dominican Republic (pick a country), you are a guest in their country. They speak Spanish as their language. Bring a phrase book or dust off what you learned in school. I used my awful college Spanish and it opened up a lot of doors for me down there. 2) It is the tropics and is humid 100% of the time. There might be a faintly musty smell associated with this. It goes away very quickly. 3) You might see an ant in your room. Not a big deal. Hopefully the geckos will get them quickly. 4) You are not on a culinary vacation. Do not expect Michelin presentations. 5) People sell stuff. Most of these countries are extremely poor. They stay alive by selling trinkets. If this bothers you, usually a simple “no gracias” will suffice.
Pros—Check in. Very smooth and easy. Nice lobby and they had a cocktail for us quickly as we went through the paperwork. Elias and Miguel were extremely efficient and cordial. We ended up with an excellent ocean front room. Met the now famous Jose Obama behind the lobby bar and he is everything written about and then some. One of the best bartenders I have met, and that is saying something. For piece of mind, rent the room safe.
Room—Excellent room. Extremely spacious, with our balcony right on the water. We were in the Carliillo (sp?) building which is a perfect location. Big bed, bathrobes, slippers, stocked fridge, nice bathroom. Everything was great.
Grounds—Very nice. Well maintained. The peacocks had just hatched their chicks, so that was fun. Plenty of flora and fauna to give you that tropical feeling.
Pools—Great with plenty of chairs. Every pool had a bar very close by. The pool with the swim up bar is the party pool The crowd was too young for us (18-25), but they were having a blast every day. Lots of music and dancing at the bar. Caution: watch out for the Mamajuana. Local drink that will absolutely sneak up on you.
Food—Meals were very good. This is an area that always receives a lot of attention. If you are on a culinary vacation, do not go to an all inclusive. Once you get over that, you will enjoy the food. The buffet was good, with a theme each night. Breakfast and lunch were standard and very tasty. Will not blow you away, but then you are just getting fuel to get back to the beach. The theme restaurants were very good. The Chinese and Mexican were quite good. La Cava (French Steakhouse) was outstanding. You will think you are in Provence. Food was beyond expectations!
Beaches—Beautiful. Good security on the beach. We left our stuff on our chairs during our swims/walks and never had a problem. Plenty of chairs.
Crowd—What a blast. Very few Americans. Met Russians, Germans, Brits, Aussies, French, you name it. Very diverse and fun crowd.
Customer Service—Outstanding. The entire staff worked extremely hard to make sure your every need was met. These folks hustled 24/7. We took down about $100 in ones for tips and that made a huge difference. By day 2, they knew my name and what I wanted. I was always served first. A dollar or two wherever we went made the difference. I became extremely sick for a whole day and the staff responded with some local remedies and checked on my wife the entire time. Bring Immodium and Pepto!!
Casino—Easy tram ride to a very nice casino. Free drinks and $5 blackjack tables. Spent a wild night there.
Challenges:
Dinner reservations—What a bad process. You have to get in line at 9am to be told there are no reservations left. After being polite but firm. I was able to secure mine each day. Funny thing is when we dined, there was never anybody there We were in La Cava for 2 hours and saw 1 other couple, yet it was “sold out” for the week.
Internet Café—personal vent here but the guy that works there needs to be fired. Extremely rude to myself and my wife. We had to change flights at the last minute due to illness and he turned off the service in the middle of our reservations and kicked my wife out so he could go to lunch. We missed that flight as a result. I hope to see him again.
Overall a great experience, especially for the money. I would highly recommend this property to anybody and we will return this year. We made many friends on the staff (thanks to Miguel and Jose Obama who helped us through my illness!) On a side note, do not go on the snorkel trips unless you want the party atmosphere. The locals allow the tourists to stand on the very shallow reef. As a result the entire reef is now dead. It is a silted over mess. The only fish left are there because the tour guides bring bread to attract them for the tourists. I experienced this on 2 different trips. Complete waste of money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NCSTATEGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,508)
There are newer reviews for Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,998 - 2,004 of 5,508 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2010

I was at the Caribe May 1-8th.

ROOMS- Our rooms were very close to the 24 hour bar/buffet and were well ventilated and clean.

STAFF- The staff from Francia (at the front reception) to "dimples" at the beach bar showed great service. A friendly hola and a smile went a long way. Jose at the main buffet gave us great service all the time. We did tip (not all the time) not because we wanted great service but because we received great service.

FOOD- The best a la carte (for meat lovers) was the brazilian. Otherwise, the main buffet was really good and at most times better than the a la carte restaurants.

BEACH- the beach was great. White sands with healing waters. Beware of sand flies though. We went when it was 30-40% capacity so there was always enough lounge chairs all the time.

NIGHTLIFE - we went to the resort club , Mongu, Carwash, and Imagine. They were great. I recommend just buying bottles because they are cheap and better than the harsh domestic variety. I can only take so much presidente beer and brugal rhum. If you meet a nice local, they can get you into clubs free or a lot cheaper.

I would recommend the scooter cabbies. They are fun and cheap! For a cab pay $10 max. to get to Mongu. You can also take the free casino trolley than walk to the club.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tredayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

This place is absolutely beautiful......I would come back here 100 times....The staff are very friendly they were all willing to help you out.....The rooms is very neat and clean the lady was on point every morning to clean or room..she always greated us with a smile.....Muray @ guest services was very polite and couteous to us......Mr. Johanny (JBG) @ the photo shop was so funny and polite.....Yahhhh johanny keep up the good work.......Frm the front desk staff, bar, cleaning staff, resturant staff everyone I must say a job will done........LOOK OUT FOR ME NEXT YEAR.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sexygoodas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

OVERVIEW:
It didn't take us more than fifteen minutes to reach the resort from the airport. As we arrived at the resort, we were pleasantly greeted with a glass of juice and a few dancers who entertained us.

PROS:
1) The resort is ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL!
2) The pools were clean
3) The service was good
4) The staff was friendly and I especially loved Miguel, who works in the lobby
5) The night entertainments were fun, enjoyable and entertaining.
6) The food at Sombrero and Shangay restaurants were awesome!

CON:
1) While at the resort I noticed one person who was topless.

Additional notes:
1) WALK WITH MONEY FOR TIPS... (especially if you are going outside of the resort)
2) As soon as you enter your room, you will notice a card that's inserted into a device on the wall. Please note that if electricity goes, you will have to re-insert the card after it returns, or your room will remain without electricity.

All in all, I had a fun, relaxing, entertaining and enjoyable vacation and I'm absolutely in love with this resort!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tnjshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

I have never been to any kind of resort before this so I don't have anything to compare with. But, it was amazing. The people are friendly and the food was amazing. JOSE OBAMA, the bartender at the swim up bar and Migeul ("it's my pleasure") were the best. I highly recommend Caribe for anybody who wants to have a ton of fun and not spend too much money..

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahaley198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We were greeted with friendly smiles and "hola's" as we entered the amazingly beautiful lobby. They employees grabbed our bags instantly and instructed us on where to go. This was both my friend and I first time out of the country, so naturally, we were a little anxious. The friendly greetings put us instantly at ease. Although many employees speak little to no English, the front desk staff spoke it fluently. With in seconds a waitress brought us two drinks as we checked in. Jose Obama - the awesome bartender in the Lobby greeted us enthusiastically. Once he meets you - you are a friend! He was fantastic. We read tons about him at the pool bar, so we told him he was already famous!!

The food was hit or miss, but quite frankly, laying in the hot sun and drinking all day - makes one's appetite very small. We ate at the Dominican resturant - Thumbs UP! and the Brazilian restaurant.

We ran into some troubles with the ATM and no one was able to help or seemed concerned as we were very panicked. The have a laissez fare attitude and when your freaking out, it is quite annoying.

I enjoyed the excursions, we snorkeled, drove speed boats and para sailed. The staff is very friendly, OVERLY friendly. Maybe it was because we were single gals, but the men, were beyond flirty, although they did take a hint quickly and scurry off. They remembered our names, which made it feel like a second home.

The maids did a good job with the room - my friend and I trashed it on a daily basis with clothes, makeup etc. They did come too late in the day.

Do not brush your teeth with the faucet water or open your mouth in the shower - my best friend and I got DEATHLY ill on two different days - and we ate the same food. Bring pepto and Imodium - as it is common for your tummy to get upset with eating in a country like Dominican - they do not have the same FDA type standards and do not go to the extent to purify the water as we do in the States. They give you bottled water, but they were only giving us 2 a day - I guess the incessant requests drove them to cough up 6 a day - you can only get bottled water in your room. The night club is fun and there are many scheduled events during the day. We did not participate as we were anti-schedule on this vacation. The other guests seemed to enjoy.

It was not crowded at all - apparently May is not a heavy season, although the weather was beautiful! Just enough sun and clouds!

Are only horrible experience was check out - we called 30 min in advance of the time we would need pick up to go to the lobby. At 5 after our scheduled time, we decided to lug giant suitcases from the 3rd floor. To say the least we were pissed! Then we waited 15 more minutes for the bus to come and NO ONE would help. They kept saying no worries, no worries. Well we were worried we would miss our departing bus to the airport!

All in all it was a great time, I am already planning my next trip!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank somerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

we stayed at the caribe club princess from 5th-20th may 2010, we where checked in by Lilin, what a nice guy!! he made us feel so welcome, i knew then that we where going to have fantastic holiday, whilst in reception we decided to have a drink at the lobby bar where we met jose obama, what a scream he is, we never stopped laughing every time we went to the bar, it makes a massive difference when you get a good barman, two others that worked behind the bar that went out of their way for us where isidro caxton and candida.

we got room 2207 which is in the coralillo building, i would highly recommend it, the bed was absolutely huge, not two beds pushed together, one massive great big mattress, and it was surprisingly comfy, the aircon in our room was fantastic, the first night we had'nt looked at it properly and spent the night freezing, but we soon sorted that out and got it just right, we never had a shortage of hot water no matter what time we showered, most days the maids came in 3 times (and did a fantastic job) i have NEVER known that before, they even started leaving us more water in the fridge cause we where drinking all the four bottles that they left at first, apart from freezing on the first night i was also uncomfortable because i only had one pillow, the next day i sort of used sign language to ask the maid for another pillow and she brought me two (result!)

the food in the main buffet restaurant was very good, the only qualm i had was that it was not very hot, i appreciate that the food is not replenished until all the other is gone, and sometimes it might be sat there for a while, meaning that it is luke warm, a microwave or two would be the perfect solution in my eyes, the one member of staff that stood out from the rest was esther hernandez, she was always very attentive, even going to the trouble of having a flower display on a table and making sure we sat at that table, we did'nt eat at any of the other restaurants, apart from the warmth of the food it was more than satisfactory. we did actually book the dominican restaurant one night but my husband had to see the doctor because of an ear infection and got there 15 mins late and where refused entry, so we just ate at the main buffet restaurant instead.

now onto the entertainment, WOW, absolutely amazing, especially the shows at night, the first one we saw was the lion king and where blown away with how professional they are, i don't think they realise just how good they are.

overall this is the best hotel i have stayed in, and believe me i have stayed in a few, there is no doubt about it i will be back at this hotel as soon as i possibly can.

sam and jaqui from england xxx

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wackyjaqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
16.5 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
975 reviews
14.3 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,872 reviews
38.2 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#85 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,404 reviews
52.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
2.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#48 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#48 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $121 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the most beautiful beaches of the Dominican Republic, the famous Higuey beach, and in an area where the beauty of the countryside and the delightful crystalline water, combined with fine and delicate sand, leave visitors with a strong feeling of pleasure and an exceptional sensation of relaxation and peace. Feelings which reveal never-ending possibilities as we stay in one of the marvellous Royal Suites, or allow ourselves to be seduced by the charming Honeymoon Suites, all of which include all conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Club Princess Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort And Spa
Caribe Hotel Punta Cana
Caribe Hotel Princess
Caribe Club Princess Punta Cana
Caribe Club Princess Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing