We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Ranked #45 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Poor service”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Hotel service was not very good. For the first day and a half we had no bottled water in the fridge after asking the front desk three times and then having to ask our sunning representative who fixed the problem. Also, the air conditioner was not working and nothing was done to fix this. The over heated room made it difficult to sleep making us tired for most of the trip. The room also had a strong musky smell. Serving staff were not always attentive. The first few days of vacation the staff were very attentive but the last days we were ignored a lot, or there simply wasn't any one around to help us. The resort should not let in outside vendors onto the property. Around every corner there were vendor tables selling jewellery that harass customer to buy from them. One of them even grabbed my arm to put a bracelet on. They should not be allowed to be aggressive and they should not be allowed to touch vacationers in anyway. The food was not great, the buffets presented the food in an unappetizing way and the food was very bland. The only standout employees were a few waitress from the lobby and Anderson who is a promoter for the Zentropia spa who took the time to remember our names and to stop by and chat with us after we had already been to the spa.

Room Tip: make sure air conditioner works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lerouxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcervera, Gerente at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for selecting Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa as well as for the time you took to share your inquietudes.

The comments of our guests are of the utmost importance to us for the fact that we can detect rooms for improvements and can therefore take the appropriate measures to improve our product as well as the quality of our services.

With great concern I have studied all of your observations and I regret to learn that we were not able reach your expectations. Please receive my sincerest apology for the inconvenience you have experienced while on vacation since our goal is to surpass all your expectations. This isolated case has been exposed to the managing Team in order apply corrective measurements and evade future coincidences.

Sincerely,

W. Cervera.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,458
    1,525
    776
    386
    266
See reviews for
2,121
2,833
68
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The resort contains 4 hotels of which the Grand Palladium Punta Cana is 1 of them (look at reviews for Grand Palladium Bavaro and Palace too). The complex is huge.It has a small town feel to it - so it feels safe and friendly with pools, bars and restaurants everywhere. You will never get bored for somewhere different to eat or drink. We loved hopping on and off the little train, meeting all sorts of interesting people. If the train isn't around then usually a member of staff will stop and offer you a lift. We enjoyed the choice of restaurants and particularly enjoyed the Brazilian restaurant. The lunch restaurants were also fantastic, our favourite was at the Palace area closest to the beach with sea views.
We had 3 different rooms during our 2 week stay, some are cleaner than others. My advice is that if it's not up to 5 star cleanliness then go and ask for another. We stayed in block 75 and on 3 occasions found raw sewerage gushing out of the man hole cover next to our room door. This affected our toilet and basin plumbing (let alone the smell). Eventually we moved rooms but the hotel appear not able to fix this on going problem.
If you are travelling from the UK with Thomson First Choice and don't have a Jacuzzi bath in your room then go and request a free upgrade because you will have only been given a standard room and not what you have paid for or what is being sold in the brochure.
The beach is absolutely beautiful and the sea is just great. The current is quite strong so be careful not to go too deep. We had hours of fun in the sea every day just jumping around in the waves. We visited the shops along the beach and found the atmosphere and the prices good. We played archery every day, sports facilities and tuition are great.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcervera, Gerente at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for selecting Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa as well as for the time you took to share your inquietudes.

The comments of our guests are of the utmost importance to us for the fact that we can detect rooms for improvements and can therefore take the appropriate measures to improve our product as well as the quality of our services.

With great concern I have studied all of your observations and I regret to learn that we were not able reach your expectations. Please receive my sincerest apology for the inconvenience you have experienced while on vacation since our goal is to surpass all your expectations. This isolated case has been exposed to the managing Team in order apply corrective measurements and evade future coincidences.

Sincerely,

W. Cervera.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Stephen, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Overall very satisfied. My wife and I stayed in a loft suite. Sheets could be a better thread count and water pressure could be better as well. Jacuzzi tub took 3 hours to fill, however, can't base the overall experience on just the room.
Food was really good. Restaurants were great, and a lot of staff were fluent in many languages.
The resort is a lot bigger than expected and there were a lot of pools to choose from.. beach was very shaded, something I haven't seen before and nice for my wife and I after burning the first couple of days.
Reception reps were great to deal with as well, could always point us in the right direction.. some include:
Lorin, Yicaun, Jose Miguel, Felipe, Jose Alonzo and Faustin.

Overall great experience, would definitely return after exploring what else is out there.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shhol12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, Director General at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear shhol12,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa for your vacation, as well as for letting us know about your recent experience.
We put our greatest interest and value in our guests' opinions. Focus our efforts and dedication to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities.

It is truly a pleasure for us to confirm that you enjoyed your stay with us and we have surpassed all your expectations.

We appreciate your compliments to our staff, as it is due to their endeavor and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal, which is the total satisfaction of our guests.

We also would like to have the opportunity to serve you in the future to offer you a memorable stay.

Best Regards,

R Segarra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The beach is very good. The pool is very beautiful. The room is very nice and the housekeeping always put the room very beautifull. The food is amazing. The drinks are amazing... People is very friendly and helpfull specially at the fromt desk and guest service ... yicauri, lorin, felipe, Jose miguel. Faustin . jose alonzo . roberto...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvochinaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, Director General at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear kvochinaa,

Thank you for having chosen Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa as well as for having taken the time to post your review.

Your opinion is of the utmost importance and assistance to us since we are aware that there is always room for improvement and our guests’ experiences play the key role in this continuous process, which leads us to achieve service excellence.

It is truly a pleasure for us to confirm that you enjoyed your stay with us and we have surpassed all your expectations.

We hope to have the opportunity to hosting you again in the near future.

R. Segarra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Just got back yesterday - 8 nights 4/25-5/3/14. As usual, the resort was amazing. Grounds are so well maintained and gorgeous, beach to die for. Staff super friendly as always. We asked for and got Building 2000, top floor so a nice short walk to the beach. Maid kept our room spotless all week, AC worked fine. Overall another wonderful trip. We only ate at one ala carte as the buffets were great as always. Liked the buffet in Bavaro - El Cathedral the best.

Suggestions - property needs more ice machines. Every floor should have one. Unless you get ice right away in the morning, the machines are out of ice

BBQ by the Beach - 2 years ago, this was much better. I think the reason why is because 2 years ago it was only once a week. It had live music and the food was great. Now that it is every night, no music and the food was not nearly as good as 2 years ago

Excursions - Buyer beware when using Dolin Dive right on the beach. Building is right by Building 3000 in the Punta Cana Section. While really nice people, make SURE you know what you are getting. We asked for a catamaran trip and they offered an all day trip to Sanoa island. Told us it was snorkeling and cat, which was what we wanted. Told us the ride over would be about 45 minutes, included lunch and all the free drinks - rum, beer, water, etc.

WELL - here is what is actually was - ride was over 2 hours. On the way there we were told that 1/2 the trip would be on "speed boats". Had we known this, we would NEVER had purchased this excursion. The "speed boat" was a fiberglass boat with the really hard fiberglass seats. The water was rough and the boat went zipping across the water almost shattering your body in the process. It was incredibly rough and hurtful. My husband is 70 and I am 58 with 2 back surgeries. We would never had gone on this type of trip had we known about these boats. We don't even go on waverunners b/c it is too hard on our bodies. I was horribly sore for 2 days after this trip and still have some pain in my lower back b/c of this trip. In addition, the boat had to turn around b/c of engine problems so we sat for 1/2 hour while he fixed that, and then when we got back after the catamaran part of the trip, he ran out of gas so we had to wait for that. Drinks were almost none. never got a thing to drink until we had boat trouble - and then it was just rum and coke - no water, no ice, nothing. On the Cat portion of the trip, nothing to drink until we were almost 3/4 of the way back to port. Good thing I took stuff with me. Only place they had anything to drink was the bar at the beach.

So while they were nice, please make sure you ask EXACTLY what the trip is going to be so you don't end up in pain like we were. I would never recommend any of the Sanoa trips, way to long of a ride and it is just not worth it. not nearly as nice as the beach right at the resort

2nd trip we took was a 3.5 hour trip with PowerAdventures. We walked down past the shops to where the dead tree is out in the water. The owner has an office there. Much cheaper than going through the hotel. Had a great time. They picked us up at 1:55 and it was supposed to be a 3.5 hour trip, we never got back until 7 pm so it was a fantastic afternoon. Great snorkeling on the reefs, lots of drinks, fresh fruit, great music and dancing. Exactly what we requested and received. So if you want a great excursion, PowerAdventures is a great one to do

Room Tip: We like buildings 2000., 3000 or 4000 because they are close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karena1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, Director General at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear karena1,

I am delighted to hear that your experience with us has been “perfect”. At Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa we managed to create exceptional moments so I am proud to learn that we have achieved our goal.

Thank you for sharing your impression with future travelers to our destination and let them aware about our excellent product.

Hope to have you back soon.

R. Segarra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We had a great time at the Grand Palladium! Our room was great and the food was delicious. There were so many restaurants to choose from! The beach is absolutely beautiful with the white sand and beautiful blue ocean. Thanks Ruben for being so friendly!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, Director General at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Lisa597,

Many thanks for your preference in selecting Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa as your vacation destination. I also would like to extend our gratitude for having shared your experience on this trip and letting future travelers, be aware of our wonderful services and facilities.

I am delighted to hear that it has been an excellent experience. As a service-oriented company our goal is to achieve the total satisfaction of our guests and it is a pleasure to confirm that we have fully exceeded your expectations.

I reiterate our thankfulness.

R. Segarra,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Grand Palladium Punta Cana in February 2014 and we had a great time, First Choice need to look at their reps and how they advertise this resort as all paperwork says your will be staying at Grand Palladium Bavaro, if you book a 'Garden Room' this is not the case, you will be in the Punta Cana section now if you were lucky like us then your holiday will be great, but some of the people we met had a completely different experience, so a tip nake sure you read what your booking or you may be disapointed.

HOWEVER with all that being said we had a great time and didn't want to go home, all staff were polite and attentive and work hard, animation team or People Of Palladium also do a great job. food was good, as were the named beverages (good to see in an all inclusive), I did not like the face that we could not book the A La Carte restaurants, only those in Royal Suites could do this, it usually ment a long and really unaccepable wait, we tried the Steakhouse, Oriental/Indian and Brazillian which were all nice (apart from the wait to get in)

Pools and beaches were all great and no need to hunt down sun loungers or get up at the crack of dawn.

The rooms were tired and dated but who goes to the Dominican Republic to stay in their room???

One thing to be aware of with some of these trip advisor reviews, some people have been persuaded to provide positive reviews with the names of staff members at this resort to get booked into the restaurants or other assistance, just remember 'If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.'

All in all my partner and I had a lovely time but due to the problems had by the people we met, I could not recommend this resort to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sevenstripped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, General Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear sevenstripped,

Thank you for having chosen The Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa is as the place to spend your vacation as well as for the time you took to post your review. Your feedback is of the greatest assistance to us.

We regret to hear about your dissatisfaction with some of our service; please receive our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have endured. We understand that there is always room for improvements and our guests’ experiences play the key role in this continuous process, which leads us to achieve service of excellence.

I reiterate our apologies for the impression you may have received due to the attitude of some of our staff. This is not in any way the image that we want to project.

Please be advised that our managing team was properly informed about the particular situations you experienced, As a matter of fact, corrective measurements have being settled, since we understand their importance in our continuous effort to improve the quality of guest service.

If your vacation plans towards Punta Cana for a next visit, please let us know; we will be attentive to offer you a pleasant and uneventful stay.


Best Regards,


R Segarra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
15.8 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
13.5 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
38.9 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
0.5 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Address: Avda. Francia s/n | Playas de Bavaro Higuey, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa enjoys a privileged, sea-front location on the renowned Playa Bavaro. The resort, located on a sprawling estate of lush tropical vegetation and a coconut plantation, is next to the Grand Palladium Bavaro Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino & Royal Suites. The facilities of these adjoining resorts are open to guests of the Grand Palladium Punta Cana (excluding the Royal Suites). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing