We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots on offer at this resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Ranked #42 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Lots on offer at this resort”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at this resort for two weeks from 29th January to 12 February 2014. This was by far the largest resort in our numerous trips to the DR and it's been quite difficult to get my thoughts together to write this!
There's certainly lots on offer that will keep you amused, fed, watered , entertained. As there's lots of reviews that give good information of the layout and set up of this megga resort I won't go into those things in detail.
A few negatives:- Lack of clear communication between our UK travel company Thomson/ First Choice and their local office and booking agents caused us a delay and some confusion in our check in that really should not have happened.
A very busy time of year and really think having to wait at 5- 30 in the hope of getting a table at the a la carte's is so not really acceptable. We chose not to bother to do this so can't comment on these restaurants.
The Punta Cana lobby is in dire need of a makeover but it didn't put us off spending some time listening to the live music a few times and it had a friendly atmosphere.
The good bits :- This place is a tropical delight, lots of beautiful plants, palm trees, flowers. Hats off to the many gardening staff for their hard work to keep it so beautiful
The little trains that we used every single evening.... Loved the ride and kept hopping on an off at different lobbies for a drink and to people watch. Have to say we got a seat either on a buggy or
on a train if we needed it at anytime.
Our room was a promo and perfectly adequate for our needs. It had the open concept jacuzzi bath with the washbowl vanity in the bedroom. Toilet and shower separated by a wooden sliding door. The shower was excellent with good pressure and constant hot water. The bed was a king size. We needed ( and was told by our TA it WAS ) a two bed room for we two ladies ( young at heart oldies!) We decided to stay put and not change rooms the following day as offered as too tired and wasn't there to sweat the small stuff!!!
Good call..... it was peaceful, no noisy neighbours and near enough for us to get about easily.
The new buffet restaurant at the Bavaro resort is simply beautiful, spacious, well lit with excellent service. We had dinner here most evenings usually enjoyed whatever we chose. Sometimes it was a bit cold and maybe now and again wasn't even sure what it really was. But there is enough choice to not go hungry.
We had our breakfast at the restaurant by the side of the Punta Cana Pool. Had great service from Judetta who always found us a table and made sure we got our coffee. We did find the service poor with a few of the other staff, a bit unsmiley and very slow to bring cups, drinks cutlery etc!!
Don't moan about lack of English.... please use a bit of Spanish even if just "hello" "please" and thankyou". It astounded me how rude some of the guests were to the staff!!
The towel game was not as bad as expected.... We always got shade round the pool but maybe the beach palapas were snapped up early and I also saw strange items used for "sun- bed hogging"
We had the pleasure of meeting some really great people from all over the world during our stay.... Even got invited to a renewal of wedding vows in the gazebo in the grounds. Thank you Terence and Tracy for giving us the opportunity to share in you and your lovely family's very special day. It was so moving and in the most stunning setting
Now talking of stunning..... THE SEA!!! what a COLOUR..... the beach is beautiful and it's BIG WOW factor.... really enjoyed our walks in the edge of the ocean. One disappointment was my inability to go in the water this time. Lots of wave action while we were there and it looked to drop deep quite close to shore. Had a knee problem so not brave enough to go in too far.. hey ho!!
We enjoyed our stay at the resort very much but did find it just too big and too busy for our personal preferences. That is just us and may not be others opinion...... if you are bringing children I think it would be excellent. We took note of how well organised the children's club was, great pools just for kids with play areas in the shade and good programmes of activities.
Our thanks to all the staff who work so hard to please the guests and a little tip to Mr Grumpy on reception in the Punta Cana resort.......please smile and be more amenable to your newly arriving guests. It means a lot when you've travelled many thousands of miles if you're greeted warmly and that will always help to smooth the ground..... Then it's all "Tranquillo" !!!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quiet and more privacy on balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Drummermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, General Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Drummermum,

Thank you for your preference in selecting Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa as well as for the time you took to post your review.

Your remarks are greatly appreciated. We understand that there is always room for improvement and our guests’ experiences play the key role in this continuous process, which leads us to achieve service excellence.

Thank you for having shared your experience on this trip and we hope to have the pleasure to be your home for your next visit at Punta Cana.

R. Segarra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,640
    1,578
    795
    400
    272
See reviews for
2,249
2,927
71
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Sun beds reserved very early so unless you definitely want to go to a crowded beach, you may want to set an alarm.

No reservations taken for the a la carte restaurants and queues were forming at 5pm for some of these restaurants that opened at 6pm.

Water pressure in our room very low so we took it in turns holding down the button to keep water coming out of the shower rather than the tap.

Resort public area clean and tidy. Good slection of food if you join a queue/line early on. Staff on the whole welcoming and friendly.

The Jamaican hotel in the same chain was far superior to this branch and using Grand Lady Palladium hotel as my bench mark, I would only rate this hotel 3*

Room Tip: Some rooms are tired looking as the hotel seems to be in a refurbishment cycle so if your allocated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, General Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear suemetcalf,

We would like to thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to post your review after having stayed with us at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa.

With greatest interest we have studied your comments and are quite concerned since we did not surpass your expectations with some of our services.

We assure you that your observations will be discussed with our managing team; therefore, action plans will be placed in motion as to improve the level and quality of our services.

R. Segarra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boisbriand, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We traveled from Montreal to Punta Cana between February 6 to the 13th, 2014. The front desk gentlemen who serves was named Felipe and he was absolutely great and so helpful. We were in the Junoir suites situation at 1935 which was located 1.5 minutes to the beach. The room was amazing, clean, fridge refilled daily, air conditioner was very functional....there are not too many face clothes so don`t be surprised if you dont get them daily but you have all the other sizes. Our barman at the lobby bar was absolutely very entertaining his name Rene. If you are looking for something special ask for the Dominican Flower. Wilson was our busboy and available to us when required. The beach and grounds are kept clean continuously, they are always cleaning to make our stay more enjoyable.The a la carte restaurants were long unless you went to restaurant around 5 to 5:30 to make your reservations in person. The Japanese was the very best. If you go to the steak house ask for the filet de boeuf which is actually the filet mignon. I ordered the New York steak and it was not cooked to my asking and half of it was pure fat, we were also disappointed with the Brazilian restaurant, we actually left after a few servings of meat cause it was just too dry. If you want to get a hut by the beach be prepared to wake up early and bring your towels...I was up at 6am every morning to reserve our spot, there are just too many people. Try the buffet at Bavaro and if you go to the sports bar, you have to ask if you want fries. The food at the snack bars (on the beach) were really not to our liking, we tried it twice and then just skipped them completely. The beach is phenomenal and great for a long walk. The weather was the best 30 degrees everyday and if it rained it was during the evening so we never noticed it. I would definitely go back to Punta Cana but I realize how eating well is more important than I thought.......If the food was improved, I would definitely return no questions because we loved everything else. oh if you are going to party, they lack entertainment by the beach and pool, although there is nightly entertainment at the two theaters. If you are bringing children, you might want to speak to them before because there are women who are topless not many but they are there and many many women wore g-strings. Make sure that you dont forget any books in the pocket of seat in front of you. I forgot my book witht he souvenir photo taken at Punta Cana airport in which I paid $15 US and sunwing luggage department were useless.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wendyvaljean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, General Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Wendyvaljean,

We are proud to hear about your satisfaction with our overall services. At Grand Palladium Punta Cana we managed to create unforgettable experiences and it is truly a pleasure for us to learn that we have achieved our goal.

Your opinion is of the utmost importance and assistance to us since we are aware that there is always room for improvement and our guests’ experiences play the key role in this continuous process, which leads us to achieve service excellence.

We will be anxiously expecting your next visit. Your home in paradise awaits you!

R. Segarra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just got back from this place. It was okay, not the best and not the worst either. We had an issue with our room and could not use the toilet for 2 days and our room was surrounded by raw sewage out on the lawn 6" deep. Just wish someone would have told us what was going on instead of putting me off and saying we will send someone to fix it in 20 minutes. Turns out a sewage pump had broken down and was affecting many of the rooms. I finally grabbed our Sunwing rep and asked him to come and follow me to our room and experience the raw sewage smell for himself, after that we were promptly moved to another room.

After we were given another room it was a good overall experience.

Would we go back? Probably not.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, General Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear shackman,

On behalf of the family of Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa I would like to thank you for choosing us as the place to spend to spend your recent holidays as well as for letting us knows about your experience.

We are very concerned to hear about the situations described and for the fact that we could not reach your expectations with some of our services. These issues have been addressed to the corresponding, and immediate actions will be placed in motion aiming to prevent future coincidences and thus improve our product.

I hope that these situations do not deter you from returning in the future. We will be attentive to your next visit and thus ensure a pleasant and uneventful vacation.

R. Segarra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at this hotel/resort! The bartenders in the Grande Palladium Bavaro lobby were fun, professional and made our experience so much better! Chris, Elizabeth and Luis are the best bartenders on the island!

They make the best drinks and make you feel like a local. Go see them!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, General Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Jt T,

Thank you for having chosen Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino as your destination in Punta Cana as well as for letting future travelers knows about your experience.

Our staff is one of our most important assets. We are honored to hear about your compliments towards Chris, Elizabeth and Luis.

We thank again for your valuable comments and hope to be your home for a next trip.

R. Segarra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Felipe was courteous and went out of his way to make us feel welcome. We requested a room upgrade and he was the only one to take us seriously. Several other staff members seemed to be 'put off' by our request. He made it happen, giving us an ocean view and he seemed pleased that he could help us. Thanks Felipe! We will always remember your professionalism and kindness.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amgaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, General Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Amgaya,

First of all we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa for your recent holidays as well as for having post your experience.

We are more than pleased to hear that this has been a great experience. But what pleased us the most is to hear about your satisfaction with the attentiveness demonstrated by Felipe at Reception. Your compliments will be gladly transmitted.

We thank again for your valuable comments and hope to be your home for a next trip.

R. Segara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

My family and I had a great week at the Grand Palladium Punta Cana. My son made a comment that the pictures posted online do not do the resort justice. The grounds are immaculate! We stayed in building 2000 which is in an ideal location near restaurants, the beach, pools and the lobby. However, the rooms themselves are tired and could use some upgrading. We did have issues with restaurants and having to make reservations. Depending on who we asked, we were told that reservations were not needed or not possible or mandatory for a la carte restaurants. It was very frustrating and we felt like we were playing the "towel game" but with food. Not all restaurants are open for lunch, breakfast is over at 10:00 am but lunch doesn't start until noon. There are vendors selling excursions around the pool on the resort property who could be quite bothersome. Don't bother installing the Palladium App, the info listed regarding shows were never correct and you cannot make any reservations using it. We treated ourselves to a massage at the Spa and it was luxurious! The shows at the theatre were very entertaining. The staff - especially Wilson - were so happy to help us. All in all we had a great vacation and look forward to going again!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank kovos1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, General Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear kovos1745,

First of all thank you for choosing Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa as the place to spend your recent family vacation as well as for having taken the time to share your impressions.

We took a good note of your remarks. The comments and suggestions of our customers are of the greatest assistance to us. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you may have faced and you may rest assured that the heads of various departments are well informed about your particular observations.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

R. Segarra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
15.8 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
968 reviews
13.5 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,847 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
3.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Address: Avda. Francia s/n | Playas de Bavaro Higuey, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa enjoys a privileged, sea-front location on the renowned Playa Bavaro. The resort, located on a sprawling estate of lush tropical vegetation and a coconut plantation, is next to the Grand Palladium Bavaro Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino & Royal Suites. The facilities of these adjoining resorts are open to guests of the Grand Palladium Punta Cana (excluding the Royal Suites). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing