We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$335
$261
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$328
$218
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Excellence Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$370
$315
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Caribe(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$160
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Melia Caribe Tropical(Bavaro)
$234
$128
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$371
$311
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$516
$403
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$465
$311
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$259
$181
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$346
$270
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (8,256)
Filter reviews
8,257 results
Traveler rating
4,964
1,719
838
433
303
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,964
1,719
838
433
303
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssports bara la carte restaurantsbavaro sectionpalace poolpunta cana resortpublic relationsdominican republicjacuzzi tubbeautiful beachadult poolanimation teamlanguage barrierjapanese restaurantwhite sandsaona islandsteakjunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
1,938 - 1,943 of 8,257 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel is nowhere near 5 star. Rooms vary from good to poor. There are many problems with the air con and we had 2 rooms flooded when the air con pipes burst. There are not enough towels: you have to wait til 1700 for clean ones to arrive so you cannot shower til then as they take your dirty towels at 10.00. The hotel is huge but cannot cope when nearly full. Food runs out, long queues for resturants and you cannot shower as water pressure is too low. Wifi is poor do not buy it for your rooms as it only works intermittently. The beach, pools and grounds are the best features, food at Punta Cana section is poor, eat at the Bavaro catedral buffet (great) and try the a la cartes, Mare Nostrum was our favourite. The waiting staff are brilliant very pleasant and helpful. However the reception staff!!! give them all the sack is my advice. I have never met such grumpy, rude people. They talk about you in Spanish and say you are stupid and can wait until tomorrow. I can understand that much in Spanish!! When we arrived our 3 rooms were in different blocks, we booked as a family requesting ground floor rooms due to mobility problems, not our problem was the answer you get allocated what is available. We did finally get 2 rooms together as it was the first time our teenagers were on their own but it was 3rd floor no lift. I walk with a stick as I have RA. My parents did get ground floor. They are mid 70s & had to move 3 times due to unsuitable bathroom and then flooding. The receptionists thought it funny that you had to keep asking to get your phone, lights, air con or wifi fixed. We gave up in the end & my daughters showered in the dark and had a broken coffee machine, we just had a ceiling fan working & no aircon and my parents had no incoming calls, no bedside lights and faulty plugs. We decided we were ruining our holiday by complaining & just ignored the problems. Customer service Esther was very rude and answered the phone repeatedly whilst I was trying to talk to her. The Thomson rep Randy was too busy taking her photo on his phone to deal properly with my complaint. This place would be great if the management was improved a comment to me from the Mexican Palladium Team. I agree. Loved DR but not Palladium resort.

Room Tip: Do not book block 3000 as these rooms are dated and only have a shower over the bath which is difficult to get in & out.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ceeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne K, Gerente at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Mrs./Mr Ceeking.

Foremost we would like to thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to post your review after having stayed with us at The Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa.

With greatest interest we have studied your comments and are quite concerned since we did not surpass your expectations with some of our services. We assure you that your observations will be discussed with our managing team; therefore, action plans will be placed in motion as to improve the level and quality of our services.

Please accept our apologies and we hope that these situations do not deter you to come back in the future.
We will be attentive to your next visit and thus ensure an uneventful vacation.

Kindest Regards.

D. Krausch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Good experience overall.
The resort complex is HUGE, it felt like a small town or even a small city! It has three resorts combined together, so it definitely felt like the city. Restaurants The options are amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne K, Gerente at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear. Mr. Alex L.

Thank you very much for selecting our hotel for your vacations in the Caribbean. We want to offer you our most warm greetings because you have dedicated your valuable time to share your experience with us.

As well as for letting future travelers know about your wonderful stay.

We will be attentive to your next visit and thus ensure a memorable stay.

Kindest Regards.

D Krausch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We flew the red eye to get to Punta Cana, upon arrival at check in time our room as well as several others in our large party were not ready. The staff could barely communicate to us, which I understand this was not Canada however they should at least have a manager with good English. They could really care less that we were all very tired, it was really hot and there was nowhere for us to change without unloading our whole suitcase in the lobby. The food was hardly mediocre, I'd rather eat at Wendy's every day and the time schedule for eating was terrible. Our room was ok, there was a cockroach in our room one day, another we had no water. My biggest issue was the crappy food, I will never go all inclusive again! It was also virtually impossible to go anywhere off resort without booking an excursion because it was so far away from anything.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, General Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Diana S,

First of all I would like to thank you for the time you took to share your inquietudes.

With great concern I have studied all of your observations and I regret to learn that we could not reach your expectations. Please receive my sincerest apology for any inconvenience you may have experienced while on vacation.

The comments of our guests are of the utmost importance to us for the fact that we can detect rooms for improvements and can therefore take the appropriate measures to improve our product as well as the quality of our services.

Sincerely,

R. Segarra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The resort complex is HUGE, it felt like a small town or even a small city! It has three resorts combined together, so it definitely felt like the city. There were little trains/trams that transported guests around the complex which was not only fun but convenient.

Restaurants

The options are amazing. We tried almost every thing (Japanese, Brazilian, Tapas, American, etc) There was also a 24-hour snack bar with popcorn, fries, chicken fingers, soda, etc. Our favorite restaurant was Mare Nostrum - excellent steak and risotto! There was also a beach side restaurant (forgot the name) which was buffet style, while the quality was not as good as the other restaurants in the resort, the view and the ambiance was the best.

Resort/Beach

There's a lot of pools, like A LOT. The beach itself was amazing, plenty of space and vendors were no where to be seen (I feel like some hotel staff were watching to keep them away 24/7) Activities included dance lessons and such. There were also snack and drink bars by the beach which was convenient!

Rooms

Our room had a partial ocean view with balcony. It was AMAZING. The bathroom was huge, and it was kept clean. Beds were comfortable and it had a very nice charming Spanish vibe to it.

Service

Service was excellent and there were a tremendous amount of staff.

Overall it was an excellent experience, although keep in mind that the resort is HUGE. But there's some quaint spaces you could relax and it didn't feel crowded at all. Definitely a wonderful experience, would love to go back there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JetBlue777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne K, Gerente at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear. Guest.

Words are missing to express our gratitude for having chosen The Punta Cana Resort by Palladium as your second home in Punta Cana as well as for the trust placed in us.

We managed to create unforgettable experiences and it is an honor to hear that we have surpassed all your expectations.

We will be anxiously expecting your next visit to offer you a memorable stay.

Kindest Regards.

D Krausch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We booked a deluxe room-near the pool and beach. It was NOT as pictured on the website & had the most poorly designed bathroom I've ever seen or experienced. There was a raised oval tub with only 1/4 non-moving glass. The shower would spray everywhere as the tub shape was not suited to the shower & 3/4 was open. The repeated water damage was noticable on the walls, ledges, floor & rusting metal parts. We would make a dam using the hand towels so the river of water would not pool as much on the floor. (we went with a group of 21-three other families had the same type of room & SAME ISSUES- it has become a source of jokes of how horrid the room was) Toilet seat uncomfortable to sit on- weird to mention it, but I have never sat on a seat with a raised ridge on the edge-ouch.
Reception was NOT receptive to any complaints about the room & would not make reservations at the sit down restaurants -for any of the families even if we ate seperately.
Food-lots of European type choices for buffet-low to average quality. Saturdays are seafood nights-that was good. difficult for concierge to accommodate groups at the sit down dinners. Our only good meal was at the Brazilian place. We were unable to get into the Italian or Japanese places, we had to do the buffets- even if you go to a different buffet it is the same food they are serving. Our bodies became sodium swollen- which went away after a day 1/2 after coming home to real food.
Horseback riding excursion along the beach- shady stable,dirty horses, some tame, some a bit wild. Along the trash beach where fishing/boating remanents wash up and locals throw garbage.
Party boat & banana boat excursion- very good with friends.
All & all- good time with friends- weather was hot & sunny. Bring LOTS of cream type sunscreen because your skin will fry. Don't use the spray kind. I brought 3 spray & 1 cream- but spent $27 on HT cream that would go for $6 at home.
Recommendation; this strip of beach is beautiful & has 20 other resorts- look for another resort.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne K, Gerente at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear. Mrs Mr. D B.

Thank you for choosing The Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa as the place to spend your recent holidays as well as for having taken the time to share your comments.

We took a good note of your observations since the comments and suggestions of our customers are of the greatest assistance to us. Please accept our apologies for the fact that we did not appear to have succeeded in our effort to provide you a pleasant stay as well as for any inconvenience you may have faced while on vacation.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again to offer you an uneventful experience.

Kindest Regards.

D Krausch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews