We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room for improvement!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Ranked #40 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Service is really poor, nobody feels to feel responsible for the customer services. Room cleaning is very poor. Facilities are fine but all the staffing is not really at a 5 star level. Some organization would be appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MPGBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne K, Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear MPGBarcelona,

Received a warm greeting from the staff of Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort, Spa y Casino, we want to thank you for dedicating your time to share your experiences concerning your stay.

We apologize for our services and that we do not full fill you expectations as well.

Once again thank you very much; we hope to see you soon at our resort.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,891 - 1,897 of 7,894 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 7 days in July. After a long flight we arrived at 7pm - each of us had a room issue.. My roommate and I each paid for double bed deluxe suite and they gave us a king size bed-The room was very damp, the bed was very hard and there was no real shower, we had to wash in the jacuzzi tub. When we went to the front desk to change the room , it was extremely exhausting that we just ended up staying in the same room for the remainder of the trip-at that point all we wanted was to relax n sip on daquiris. One of our friends who paid for deluxe received a standard room half the size as ours and it was filthy-the AC wasnt working. Her room was like a Motel and I was thinking if they give them a room that the resorts workers stay in.

Customer service- If you dont speak spanish, nothing will get accomplished. The front desk people either look at you as if you have two heads or they hide out in the back and peek their heads out to see if you left. Totally unprofessional

Amenities- It was a headache when it came to reserving restaurants. Some resorts you didnt have to make reservations and some you did, some men had to wear pants some just took forever to serve you-- but you didnt know these things until you go to the restaurant- Thats poor communication. The hostess at times had nasty attitudes. one of our friends tried to make a reservation at the Japanese spot-she was told reservation was at 5:30-the doors opened at 6:30 and then the staff told her there are no more reservations-meanwhile she was one of the first persons on line for the reservations. That doesnt add up at all.
Pools - the pools needed desperate repairing. There were tiles that fell off. there is literally roots from a palm tree growing between the tiles into the pool-it was disgusting. Who wants to swim in the pool and see that?

The food for the most part was good. Some of us caught a stomach virus. We didn't drink the water but it was something we ate that was not sanitized well.

The next time I stay at Punta Cana, Im going to stay at the Riu chains.

Room Tip: Stay at the RIU. Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CarrievDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne K, Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear CarrievDavid,

Received a warm greeting from the staff of Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort, Spa y Casino, we wants to thank you for dedicating your time to share your experiences concerning your stay.

We work to improve every day; thank you very much for helping us.

We look forward for your return.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I arrived to the resort at 2:45pm our check in time was 3:00pm. The person at the front desk told us and another couple that the rooms were not ready and we could go eat lunch while waiting. We went back at 3:45pm he claimed the rooms were still being cleaned. We asked for an upgrade on the room his reply was he doesn't assign the rooms someone else does. When asked to speak to that person he would not tell us who to speak to. I asked to speak to a supervisor whom ended up being very rude. He left me standing at the front desk to take care of another group of people that came after us. We demanded to speak to the manager he made a gesture with his hands. Finally we spoke to a manager his name was Osiris. This was the only professional person in the whole resort. We got an upgrade. However the room had a sofabed that didn't open up. I was also traveling with my two kids. The room was hot. I spoke to Osiris he sent us a bed for the kids and stated the airconditioner works with water and the water temperature had to be decreased. The bed arrived it had 1 wheel when I told the guy delivering th bed to either remove the wheel or bring the 3 wheels missing he went outside got a big rock and removed the wheel. My husband asked if they didn't have tools to work with he said they didn't. The general feeling around the resort was of staff that haven't got a clue about customer service. They don't know how to speak to their customers and are generally very rude. I will never go back to this resort again. HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE I was dying to come back home

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Marcia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne K, Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Marcia P,

On behalf of Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort, Spa y Casino we want to thank you for the dedicated time you spent to share your suggestions.

We apologize for our services and that we do not full fill you expectations as well. I assure you we will consider your suggestions to improve our services.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We recently stayed at the Grand Palladium in Punta Cana for 6 days/5 nights, from July 27th to August 1st. My party included my wife and I, our daughter (age 17), and our son (age 15). We had thought that our kids would be off making friends as they did last year in a resort in Mexico, but that was not the case at this resort. It seemed like this resort is more for families with younger kids or for newlyweds or couples. I’m not saying we didn’t enjoy ourselves, but our vacation ended up being more about family togetherness than we anticipated. And that’s not necessarily a bad thing…

Here is my review of the resort.

The resort is absolutely beautiful. The grounds are immaculate with not a leaf on the ground. There are workers raking and pruning constantly. The complex consists of 4 resorts and actually forms a small town. We’ve stayed at other large resorts but this one seems more communal than the others. There are people walking around day and night. There are shuttles and a tram car train that can take you around if you don’t want to walk or just pop into any lobby and ask the porter for a ride and they will have a small golf-cart type of vehicle there in no time. There is a small casino (a great refuse from the heat), a disco tech (which doesn’t open till 11:15 but is very fun, if you can stay up for it), plenty of shops, several restaurants, a 24-hour sports bar (with a pool table that had an out-of-order sign on it our entire stay?), basketball courts, ping pong tables, soccer fields, archery complex and an auditorium for live entertainment. Each separate resort has its own pool, buffet-style cafeteria and lobby/bar, which also hosts live entertainment each evening.

We stayed at the Punta Cana section of the resort and had two rooms in the “3000” block. While we requested two adjoining rooms, we ended up with one room on the 2nd floor and the other on the 3rd floor. When checking in, we were told that there were no adjoining rooms, but of course, in the room our kids had, there was a door leading to the next room. Odd! Since our kids are 15 & 17, it wasn’t that big deal but I’m sure we would have been pissed if they were younger. I highly recommend the 3000 or 4000 blocks due to the proximity to the beach, pool and lobby. The rooms were spacious enough but lacked drawer space. Our room (adult room) was very comfortable but the kids’ room always seemed to be somewhat warm. There were plenty of stations to choice from on the television and even several English stations. The room had an alarm clock with an iPod adapter on it, which I loved. There was plenty of room in the bathrooms but the showers are very strange. There is a Jacuzzi style tub with the shower head on a bar against the wall. The water from the shower head really doesn’t reach into the tub very far, so water gets all over the place. Not a very practical design. The electricity in the room is controlled by inserting your room key card into a slot by the door. It took us a trip to the lobby before we finally understood how that worked since we didn’t understand the porter who took us to the rooms. It’s actually a very impressive feature, especially if you’re into conserving energy. There is a fridge in the room with water, soda and beer. We didn’t use any of it because we weren’t sure about the charges for those beverages. TIP: if you need to take medicine before bed, make sure you have some bottled water because you do not want to drink the water from the facet. There is even a sign in the bathroom warning against drinking that water.

The beach at the Grand Palladium is stunning! There is soft white sand, crystal clear water and the decent into the ocean is very gradual. Though it was very hot and humid inland, there was always a nice breeze on the beach. There was always plenty of chairs available and never too far of a walk for food, drinks or the restrooms. There were plenty of options available if you’re into para sailing, boating, kayaking, etc. One bad thing was that there were lots of vendors combing the beach trying to get you to purchase excursions or blankets or cigars or jewelry; way too many vendors. One after the other, it seems. Plus, if you like to snorkel, there was nothing in the water. In the 6 days we visited the beach, we did not see a single living creature in the water. I guess this could be either good or bad depending on your point of view!

If you’re not into the beach, then the pools were a nice alternative. They were kept clean and though the structures were aging somewhat, we had no complaints. There are plenty of chairs and umbrellas available, but it is wise to claim you own by mid-morning. There are swim-up bars and waiter service available for your liquid refreshments. Shout out to bartender Daisy! I’ve read other reviews that claimed that the drinks were weak but that was not something we experienced. The problem we had was communicating with the bartenders, (as well as everyone else in the resort). We don’t speak Spanish and even though, all or most of the signs and menus had English on them, nobody seemed to understand English. While cumbersome at times, it did add to the aura of being in a different country.

The food was much better that we had anticipated. The specialty restaurants were excellent. We especially liked the Steak house and the Brazilian restaurant, where they bring endless skewers of different meats to your table. There was a lot of confusion whether or not you needed a reservation for these restaurants. They claimed that they didn’t take reservations but some guests definitely had them. The Japanese restaurant seemed to always have the longest line but we felt it was not worth it. The food wasn’t that great and our “Japanese-style” chef was more annoying than entertaining. He seemed to feel that barking and chirping was amusing but it got old very quickly. The buffets had plenty of food to choose from and the majority of it was very good. One thing I did not like about the buffets was that you needed to wait for a waitress to serve you coffee/drinks and provide silverware. Why not just let people grab they own? Also, guys, be aware that they require all males to wear long pants to dinner. Good thing both my son and I brought a single pair of pants – we certainty got a lot of use out of them. I did not like having to wear pants – that rule has to go!

As far as the employees of the resort are concerned, they all did their job satisfactorily. But they just weren’t very friendly. Perhaps, because the resort is an all-inclusive with tips built in; there isn’t much motivation to work hard. But many of the servers there just seemed sour which we found strange. I came ready to tip but for the most part, the service I received wasn’t good enough…

Pros: beautiful resort, lush tropical fauna, clean pools, great food and a beach that rivals any in the world.

Cons: language issues makes communication difficult, resort employees not very friendly, free Wi-Fi in the lobbies was horrible, shows in the auditorium were not very good

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne K, Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Cary S,

From the staff of Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort, Spa y Casino we want to thank you for dedicating your time to share your experiences concerning your stay.

We are proud that once again you chose our Resort, also, thanks for highlighting these details; we work to satisfy your needs.

Once again thank you very much,

Greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

An okay hotel, but not one we would come back to.

Hotel- The property is nicely decorated and maintained, and the restaurants are pleasant. The stores and other buildings seem modern as well. Inside the hotel is a different story. Our room seemed old, the paint was chipping and the tiles were cracked. The ceiling tiles in the bathroom were peeling as well, and it just was not what we saw in the pictures. Make sure to get a second room card, because the hotel has a system that a room card must be in the slot for the room lights and AC to work. If you have 2 cards, the AC can run all day so it is cold when you come in the room.

Service- The hotel service from the front desk is very poor. There was no welcome, no hotel package that told us about the services, nothing. When we arrived at our room, they were fixing the AC, and we found out later that day that they had not fixed it, as our room was 30 degrees, and we were sweating just sitting in there. We asked them to fix it many times, no one was sent over to fix it. Finally we were moved to another room that was smaller than the first one. We are four people, so three of us had to use the king bed, and the fourth had to use the sofa bed, which had not bed sheets, and it took the front desk almost 2 hours to find us one. In addition, the bed springs are broken, so the bed was not comfortable.

The service at the restaurants change by the day. If the restaurants are busy, the service is poor, but on quiet days, it is excellent. It helps if you tip the waiters, because the next day they will serve you faster. If you don't know Spanish, it is very hard to communicate with them, and it gets frustrating after a while.

Beach- The beach is very good, and there are plenty of places to sit. The water is warm as well. If you are on the beach, you will be constantly bothered by people to buy services and goods, even if you have already refused them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor. The lower floor room had many ants and other bugs. If you can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne K, Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear S L,

From the staff of Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort, Spa y Casino we want to thank you for dedicating your time to share your experiences concerning your stay.

We are proud that once again you chose our Resort, trusting that we will give you your well deserved vacations.

Thank you for highlight this details, we look forward for your return.

Greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our 1 week all inclusive vacation (June 17-24) with myself and two friends started horribly with a 12 hour flight delay via Sunwing Airlines. We lost an entire day and finally arrived at the resort at 1 am and did a quick walk around the resort. My first impression was the resort was a ghost town. There weren't a lot of people there and it wasn't very lively. The disco wasn't very good, the sports bar was decent but believe it or not the lobby was the busiest. The entertainment staff was great. Shout out to Yeffrey and Johan who we became good friends with and who helped us enjoy our vacation a little bit more. The food was very average, and so were the a-la-carts. I suggest Japanese which was great. The beach was the best thing about the resort, very beautiful and clean. The grounds were kept clean and were very nice. Staff was very nice and provided good service. At the time there was construction going on and it was somewhat annoying as it slowed down trolly transportation (which was amazingly slow), created a lot of noise and it also contributed to three separate power outages resort wide. These power outages left us with no warm water, also making the restaurants hot and things like the room ac and fridge inoperable. I always read these type of reviews and over look them but this time I was an unsatisfied customer. Luckily we got a great price or I'd be furious.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the first floor as many families would pass the hallway with their kids and mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne K, Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Steven P,

Received a warm greeting from the staff of Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort, Spa y Casino, we want to thank you for dedicating your time to share your experiences concerning your stay.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had during your holidays, but I assure you we will consider your suggestions, we are working to improve our services.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Food was great, pool and beach was awesome, nightly entertainment was very good but the transportation on this oversized resort (3-in-1) sucked. Expect to waste time waiting for the train service to bring you around. There is train stop schedule that guests can follow. If you stay at the Royal Suites like I did, you can call private shuttle service (they call it 'buggy') and they will pick you up where ever you are. The problem is they drive right by you many times after requesting a pick up...you need to be practically in the middle of the road to stop them from going by you.
Also, they say you don't need reservations but the truth is you need to stand in line to reserve seats at the Japanese and Brazilian restaurants...not easy to get in!
In addition, if you go with a family, you cannot upgrade your room so that you can enjoy all the services the 'adults only' group are entitled to (staying in the Royal Suites i.e. the adults section is far better and almost like staying at an entirely different resort!

Room Tip: If travelling without children...don't bother with anything but the Royal Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RatingMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne K, Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear RatingMike,

Dear Lou W,

Received a warm greeting from the staff of Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort, Spa y Casino, we want to thank you for dedicating your time to share your experiences concerning your stay.

We apologize for our services and that we do not full fill you expectations as well. All comments are very important for us, which is a valuable tool for us to continue improving.

Thanks for highlighting these details; we hope to see you soon at our resort.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
0.5 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
TRS Turquesa Hotel
TRS Turquesa Hotel
#46 of 112 in Punta Cana
6,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 112 in Punta Cana
13,285 reviews
2.3 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
2.4 mi away
Iberostar Punta Cana
Iberostar Punta Cana
#10 of 27 in Bavaro
6,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa

Address: Avda. Francia s/n | Playas de Bavaro Higuey, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $195 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa enjoys a privileged, sea-front location on the renowned Playa Bavaro. The resort, located on a sprawling estate of lush tropical vegetation and a coconut plantation, is next to the Grand Palladium Bavaro Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino & Royal Suites. The facilities of these adjoining resorts are open to guests of the Grand Palladium Punta Cana (excluding the Royal Suites). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Palladium Hotel Group, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing