We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Ranked #23 of 108 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Carrollton, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed here from June 29-July 6, 2013 with a group of 22 people for my wedding, and had an amazing experience. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. Food in the buffet is good. We ate at the Japanese and Brazilian restaurants, and the Brazilian was my favorite. There are no reservations, so you do have to get in line at 6pm to get your name on the list. The beach is gorgeous with convenient bars on the sand (cups are a bit small, but they will fill up any glass you bring, so plan on packing an insulated glass!) Rooms are nice, but the beds are a bit hard. Skip the snorkeling excursion, there's not much to see. Dolphin Explorer is amazing, and the dune buggies are lots of fun (be prepared to get muddy!).
The wedding was beautiful, and easy. I met with a planner for about 1/2 hour for the details and everything was planned for me, down to the nice little surprises like rose pedals on the bed when we got back to our room. We had our reception at the Brazilian restaurant and it was fantastic.
Overall, I would absolutely recommend a stay here. It's great for the price, and we didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Viviana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Viviana E,

We want to thank you for dedicating your time to share your experiences concerning your stay at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa y Casino.

Comments like yours are the best motivation for us; thank you for choosing our Resort for you and your relatives and for trusting that we will give you your well deserved vacations.

We will be waiting for your next vacations.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,246
    957
    383
    225
    142
See reviews for
1,156
1,911
45
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

No English spoken unless they see money. The buffet looks like slop in a steam tray even all the employees beg for money. Treat yourself and spend the extra and go to a nice place and have fun. Screaming in halls all night people fighting and telling slamming doors and kids screaming in hallways. The only way this could be good is to stay drunk 24/7 and the rooms are so old and stink and what air you get is not much. The one good thing is what employees that can speak english agree it has become run down

Helpful?
1 Thank storm1764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear. Mrs ./ Mr. Storm.

On behalf of grand palladium Palace Resort and Casino: we are tremendously thankful for dedicating your time to comment your experience with us.

We have noted your expectative was not satisfied on your recently staying, so we are extending you an apology for the inconvenients you faced and invite you once again to our complex to see our improvements.

At grand palladium hotels and spa: we effort with devotions to assure to our guests wonderful memories back home.


Kind Regards.

L. Tajes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma Panhandle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were here from June 24 to July 2, 2013 and had a very enjoyable stay at this resort. It was our first time to the Dominican Republic so didn't know what to expect. We found the staff very friendly and the rooms comfortable. The beds and pillows are pretty hard and I usually sleep on a soft bed, but you get used to them easily enough.

The food isn't that great, but it isn't bad either. There is a large selection on the buffet. I don't recommend the specialty restaurants (except the Japanese). The upsides of them is the salad bars were excellent on the Mediterranean & Italian, but the food was not that great. Get reservations early for the Japanese to sit at the grills and it is a good show with the best food IMHO.

If you are going to dive, pick somewhere else... The diving doesn't compare to Belize or Cozumel - dead reefs and hardly any fish at all.

If you are going to lounge on the beach, this is your place, but get up early (I was up at 6am - but that was prob too early) to get a lounge in the shade or you will cook. Just take your towel out early and hold your spot. Also, take a 20oz insulated mug as the drinks get warm fast.

All in all, it was a very pleasant stay and I would return if I want planning to dive.

Room Tip: Request the beach buildings - 81, 82, 91 or 92
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maharals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear maharals,

From the staff of Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa y Casino we want to thank you for dedicating your time to share your experiences concerning your stay.

We greatly appreciate that we have totally satisfied your well deserved vacations.

We will be waiting for your next vacations.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Beautiful resort. It is huge. Several pools and restaurants to choose from. First time there but will definitely return. We went as group of 11 for my bday, the habachi restaurant went out their way to make it special. The resort accommodated us by putting us all in the same villa. It was great stay, don't have nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mspoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Mspoca,

We are really thankful for the precious time you dedicate to share your good experiences in the hotel with us.

It is a satisfaction to know that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and that we have totally satisfied your needs.

We look forward for your return.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Great resort covering a huge area. Numerous pools and huge beach area. Rooms were super clean and fresh flowers placed in room everyday. In room fridge stocked daily with drinks from water to sodas to beer. Huge jacuzzi tub in room that was very clean. Numerous bars and restaurants (buffet, Japanese, steakhouse, Brazilian, Italian and more). Great service and friendly staff. Only negatives were the people trying to sell stuff in the beach (not affiliated with resort and they run them off when they see them) and some staff cant speak english. the view from our room was of the building in front of our building which wasn't great but we were in the room and balcony so rarely it wasn't a big deal. i can't say enough about this resort and would recommend it to anyone. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Asgh2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Asgh2010,

Received a warm greeting from the staff of Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa y Casino, we wants to thank you for dedicating your time to share your experiences concerning your stay.

Comments like yours are the best motivation for our team;

Once again thank you for choosing our Resort and for trusting that we will give you your well deserved vacations.

We look forward for your return.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

2nd time to resort provided our group with the same enjoyable vacation as in the past.
Rooms: Adequate for the amount of time spent in them. Air conditioning needs to be revamp...inconsistent...thank you Fernelias hotel manager for handling room key issues
Food: Appetites of all ranges should be met as the nightly themes change and the specialty dining venues offer variety....thank you Deysi for remembering us and taking care of the group
Entertainment: POP crew kept everyone involved...thank you to Barbie, you made my husband's trip!
Bars: From the lobby to the beach and back to the pool bar....all waiters served with distinction...thank you William and Jiordana at the pool bar for making sure our glasses were never empty.
Looking forward and already talking of returning in 2015 with hopefully a larger group!!!
Lastly a thank you to Irena from Apple for always being there in the lobby when we needed you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hairdoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear hairdoer,

From the staff of Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa y Casino want to thank you for dedicating your time to share your experiences concerning your stay.

We are proud that once again you chose our Resort as your special gateway, we work to satisfy your needs.

Once again thank you very much, we look forward for your return.

Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was absolutely the worst place I have ever been. Our cousin decided to choose this resort to celebrate his wedding and we attended and extended our visit as a second honeymoon. Although the grounds were beautiful, everything else was absolutely awful. The food was disgusting! This was the first vacation I've ever been on where my husband and I actually LOST weight! Even the "al la carte" restaurant used packaged style luncheon meat! The beach was really nice except for the locals constantly pestering us to take their excursion offers. They were at every entrance to the beach and contstantly roamed the beach pestering us! They even had booths set up at the pools and they bothered us there! OMG! AND . . . don't believe their ad about the mini-bar being replenished daily. After the fourth day I finally had to call and ask when the bar was going to be restocked. After several hours of waiting they finally showed up. Several members of our party got sick because they only way to get drinking water was in the restaurants or the mini-bar.

Although some did try, hardly no one spoke English. Some of the locals became frustrated at my husband attempting to communicate with them by speaking Spanish.

The "free water sports" is a joke! There were several floats at the pool that were being used by swimmers. When we asked the towel guy if we had to make an appointment to reserve a float he first asked if we were American. When we said yes he told us the the floats belonged to someone but for $5 each he could probably convince the owners to sell them to us. We said "no thanks" and he came later and found us swimming and said that we could have the floats for $7. We paid him the $7 and just considered it a rental fee because we did not take them with us when we left for home. They were fun while we had them though.

BEWARE OF THE CASINO!!!! The slot machines crashed each time we used them. And each time one of the casino workers just turned a key into the machine, opened the door, and then slammed the door really hard. After a couple of times we realized that something was wrong with the place and decided not to play the last time the worker did this to the machine. When I cashed out after she slammed the door I took my ticket to get my remaining money and they did not give me my entire amount. They actually kept the coin portion of the money. They said they did not cash out for remaining "coin" money so they kept it! Seriously?? It was only $.70, but it wasn't my fault the machines broke. ALSO, just a personal note, I swear those workers were prostitutes! The entire casino had an unnerving feel about it. It was almost always vacant when we went, except for the workers, and ALL EYES WERE ON YOU THE WHOLE TIME!!! It was so creepy! AND the drinks were NOT plentiful! We had to keep asking for drinks and they brought really small glasses of wine.

As for the "unliminted alcohol" . . . everything was brought in tiny plastic cups and took really long periods of time before they were brought to us. This just didn't happen to us, we overheard many, many people talking about the same issues.

The air conditioner in the room was so loud we could hardly sleep for the first couple of nights. After a while we just got use to it. One couple in our party asked to change rooms twice because of the noise of the air conditioner and once because the air conditioner didn't work. They never got their issues resolved.

In the end we were all anxious to get to the airport. We had about 30 family and friends travel there for the wedding and by the end we were fighting over who was going to cram in the first bus for the airport. It was an absolute NIGHTMARE!

I will NEVER go to this terrible place again and I will certainly NEVER recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Melinda C,

Received a warm greeting from the staff of Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa y Casino, we want to thank you for dedicating your time to share your experiences concerning your stay.

We apologize for our services and that we do not full fill you expectations as well. All comments are very important for us, which is a valuable tool for us to continue improving.

Thanks for highlighting these details;

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
1.2 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino

Property: Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Address: Avda. Francia s/n | Playas de Bavaro Higuey, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino enjoys a privileged sea-front location on the renowned Playa Bavaro. The resort, located on a sprawling estate of lush tropical vegetation and a coconut plantation, is next to the Grand Palladium Bavaro Resort & Spa and the Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa. The facilities of these adjoining resorts are open to guests of the Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Palace Hotel
Grand Palladium Palace Punta Cana
Palladium Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing