We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Ranked #23 of 107 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here at the end of November. this is a self-contained village-like resort with 4 sections. Stayed in a loft suite in block 9300 of the Palace section. First time at a Palladium hotel but 3rd in the area. It is the oldest hotel in the chain in the Caribbean/Mex locations they have but to be honest there is nothing wrong with the hotel at all and most people that were there were quite happy including us. In fact staying here at the start of the higher season; all sections of this complex were busy with high occupancies. This is a huge indication that the hotel is doing something right.
it is located on one of the best stretches of the beach in Punta Cana, 2 min walk on the beach to a local market for some shopping, consists of 4 different sections which i will try to break down later and despite the fact that it is older - it is kept up VERY well on most part.
It is a large hotel but you get used to it and you will find that it's not so bad. The interconnecing walkways make it easy. Each section has their own pool(s), I didnt visit the Bavaro section or Royal Turquesa pool so i will not comment.My favourite two pools were the Palace and the Punta Cana pool (the one with the adjacent kids pool/splash pad). and not the one close to the beach. Each pool has its own vibe. Music is playing at each pool, with activities scheduled throughout the day but not too overbearing, swim-up bars have a nice atmosphere and have some restaurants nearby for lunch. There is a pool and a place for everyone--regardless of what you prefer to do when you are on vacation. The food is excellent on most part - you may have a night where you may not like particular theme (in my case mexican was my least favourite) BUT there are many restaurants to choose from and to be quite honest i really liked the buffet and the choices offered. You can go all the restaurants in Bavaro, Punta Cana or Palace section-not too shabby. They have a pager system here for the a la cartes which has its pros and cons but line-ups are inevitable on most part at every resort you go anywhere. It's either you lining up in the morning in the lobby to make reservations or you lining up at the restaurant to be granted a table the evening of. Either way you line up. What can you do? that is the only way to handle masses at all inclusive resorts. You can go to the other a la cartes and see which one can take you in sooner or you can go earlier and give it some time to get seated. My favourite a la carte was most def Japanese. Fantastic! One of the best i have been to. The Brazilian steakhouse was great too. Service is excellent everywhere...i mean you can get an odd ball especially at a buffet but dont stress about it. So what if they forgot to bring your coffee, they have such volumes coming through the doors to serve everyone, their heads are spinning. Go to the lobby and get a coffee there or by any other bar. There should not be any complaints about service here. I've had worse at better hotels in Punta Cana so i was quite pleased to have on most part happy service. Each lobby has its own live evening entertainment. Best part is that if you dont like one, you can go to the other by the amazing choo choo train lol which by the way runs all day long roughly every 15-20 min. They also have 2 amphitheathres for shows which may not always be open simultaneously but there is always a show. I preferred the lobby entertainment better. There is a lively disco here, 24 hr sports bar with fresh pub grub, pool tables etc. Again, something for everyone. Kids club looked pretty neat but the main highlight is the kids pool with slides. Bravo! My kid loved it. There is a huge sports court too for those that are active - very impressive. Best part about Punta Cana is the beach and with this location you hit a jackpot. The rooms are dated but again very clean and i personally had no issues. Major tip for the management would be to get the rooms updated with new flat tvs, bedding, matresses so that the hotel remains competitive with the rest of the hotels in the area. The upper level of the lofts needs some structural support as the floor are crooked and literally hanging. I dont think my life was at danger sleeping upstairs but it looks a little unstable. The rooms definitely need to get into the contempo decor like the rest of the hotels are doing. It would be worth the investment to upgrade the rooms to impress new and retain old clients. One negative part that i simply can't skip out on is the amount of vendors selling excursions on the premises. I have traveled to many resorts in various countries and i have never seen that many tour booths around the pools or people simply trying to sell things right at the hotel. Luckily they are not too pushy maybe cause i have seen worse or maybe because they are at the resort and have to behave but regardless it gets annoying after a few days. Some fellows at the beach are quite friendly and are not a nuisance but it's just a weird and uncomfortable set up especially when you want to exchange towels and each time you do you get questioned and lured into some brochure...come on! Mngmt should reconsider the set up of this perhaps. Have them in the lobby as guests enter maybe? overall i have to say this complex is a solid 4*. There is no such thing as 5* hotel anyway as ratings can be subjective to pesonal experiences but i give this complex a solid 4* hotel. If they upgrade the rooms, they can be a huge contender to hotels like Barcelo, Bahia, Melia, Ocean complex. Palladium keep up the good job! I would definitely come back because of the set up of sections, food, service, pools and ahh the beach.

Room Tip: Block 69 is central but away from the beach, Block 92, 93 are close to the beach and the Palace pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ktza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,316
    975
    390
    226
    149
See reviews for
1,208
1,939
45
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Went trhere with my girlfriend and loved the room and hard rock cafe.Was not to excited about the sales call they talk you into but the hotel and Palace resrts are great.
Loved the restaurant views and the service was very very good.
I would recoimend for any couple f

Room Tip: ask for a single suite its super
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mklav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

First of all.. its was an absolutely amazing trip! Everything a just so beautiful. and a great lace to host a wedding. I did not want to go home!
Ive been trying to find some of the songs that were played everywhere (Resort, Train, Bus, pool, disco) But i don't know any song names. but the music was fantastic and fun to dance to.

The POP people the staff that walked around and tried to get you more involved were great!!, always trying there best to get everyone active and join in on the activities.

I really enjoyed the trip and look forward to visiting again once i have some money!! :D

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcantarilha, Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just back from a great 7 days in Punta Cana.While the resort was beautiful there were one or two problems. Firstly, the very dated air conditioning in our loft suite! So noisy but you couldn't sleep without it! Then on the third night it developed an intermittent metal clanging noise. Ear plugs at the ready!!
Couldn't fault the staff at all. Always smiling and everyone said hello in passing. So friendly and always helpful. Except for in the restaurants! Which were by the way a bit of a joke to try and get into! All of them on a first come first served basis. Not able to reserve a table so if you were later than 6.30, expect to wait for a couple of hours for a free spot. They give you a buzzer so you can have a drink in the bar. Drunk before dinner!!
Apart from this, it was a fabulous holiday. Close to the beach, pools and sports.
Just be prepared to wait for dinner!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe. Loft suites are difficult during the night if you need the loo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frecklet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 7 days and I agree with some of the other reviewers that the rooms are a little dated, some of the bathroom fixtures were rusted or looked old. I stayed at the 6800 building and the bed was OK and clean, but felt as if it was too old. Toiletries were OK, not the best, towels were clean.
The bad part about the stay was that we didn't get towels for 2 days and we had to ask the front desk for them. Also, our key didn't open the door 3 nights in a row and when they sent us back with the bellboy (as if we didn't know how to operate a key), they found out the batteries in the device were low so the key worked after they replaced them. Again, like other reviewers, no appology from the front desk. The shower in the morning was not hot, just warm and the TV was grainy the whole stay (lots of networks in English and other languages).
The best part of the stay was the location, beautiful beach and facilities, very clean and the people working in the hotel were excellent (Guadalupe from the breakfast buffet, the guy making omelets, Karina, Delvin, pool entertainers) but also some of the people were not as friendly, such as some of the lobby staff.
Food was good, loved the Dominican night and it was unfortunate that they didn't have Domnican food every night, at least one or two dishes. The paella for lunch at the restaurant by the beach was fantastic! Had also the Brazilian restaurant (twice) and the Japanese restaurant which was good. The Brazilian restaurant had an assortment of meats and it was OK but the meat was a little over cooked for my taste.
The drinks were OK but it is best to ask for the "añejo" rum rather than white. Tastes much better!
Service can be improved and this hotel could really be a 5 star.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Senorskytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswiecim, Poland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a big resort with 4 gotels, pC, Bavaro,Palace and Royal Suites. We took palace and had a 91 house with oceanview, There was 10m to the beach, beautifull view. Lobby is Close to the a la carte Japanese and Brasilian restaurant. If you want go to other restaurants a la carte(mexican,asian,italian,steakhouse) there is closer to other lobby of Bavaro or PC. Can take a train hotel which curse every 20min or take a walk 5-10min.
Hotel has huge sport center. Few courts badminton, table tenis and tenis, Also have for basketball and football. At the beach volleyball and other competitions. In the afternoon there was another competitions at the pool. Also water polo. I won a lot of ron and cafe:) stayed 6 days , beacuse I can't stay longer in the resorts. Need do something.

If you want to go to the a la carte rest, should go at 6-7. You get pager. We went sometimes before 8 pm and wait with pager almost 1 hour, and another 1 to eat.

Still can't understand why hotels in this kind of country can't do the fresh fruits juices after breakfast? There isn't fruits?!
Do not drink to much pina colada and coco loco.Can have a stomach problem.

If you like that kind od resort think about travel club! They can explain you,more cheaper and better option for long way.

We had a jacuzzi at the bedroom but old tv.
I paid for the taxi 33$ to the airport.There should be 35 but driver hadn't small cash.

If you don't wanna be very close to the beach tak cheaper pC or Bavaro part.

Room Tip: 91 bulding is close to the beach. Think about travel club. A la carte before 7 pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amigoucieka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Great location, immaculate grounds but the rooms are very dated and most things were broken. We had no tv for a week, we asked 3 times to fix it. The domestic booze isn't very good at all and the food was mediocre. We chose this one because it was listed as 5 stars but if I could rate it I'd maybe give it 3. Great value and location but that's about it. We won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Good afternoon, thank you very much for your appreciation. We are sorry that your expectations wasnt fulfilled, our main objective is to accomplish excellence. We are renovating our premises and investing in refurbishing our rooms, since we have 1823 we are doing it by fases. We hope that you give us the opportunity to host you again to probe our usual fine service.

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
2.8 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino

Property: Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Address: Avda. Francia s/n | Playas de Bavaro Higuey, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino enjoys a privileged sea-front location on the renowned Playa Bavaro. The resort, located on a sprawling estate of lush tropical vegetation and a coconut plantation, is next to the Grand Palladium Bavaro Resort & Spa and the Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa. The facilities of these adjoining resorts are open to guests of the Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Palace Hotel
Grand Palladium Palace Punta Cana
Palladium Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing