We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach on your doorstep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VIK Hotel Arena Blanca
Ranked #76 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We managed to get this hotel for a fantastic price and were surprised on how good it was.
We luckily ended up with a sea view room which was a nice bonus, however you could end up being away from the main area and near the casino end.
The room itself was a good size, tiled throughout as is the norm in the carib, bathroom was ok but not the most modern.
King size bed as standard, which was pretty comfy.
There is a hire shop on the beach for all your scuba needs and kayaks/sail boats etc.
The beach is stunning and when we were there loungers a plenty, although you can get up too late.
The pools are large and plenty of room to escape any unruly kids.
Food is a standard affair, some nights are better than others, however there are a few restaurants to pick from for a change.
Entertainment is good, if not spectacular, but there is a small casino to escape to if you feel the need.
I would stay here again at the right price, had everything you need, there are better hotels in punta cana but if you compare prices and this is a lot cheaper its a good option.
If you are fussy and want 5 star...this aint for you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brsgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear client,

As a service oriented company, we highly appreciate our guest’s opinion and therefore we recognize the value of taking your time to let us know about your experience. We continuously work for improve the quality of our services.

It delighted us to know that you enjoyed your holidays with us and we hope to see you for one more time here, in a near future!

Sincerely,

Francisco Amancio E.
Guest service Manager
VIK hotel Arena Blanca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,366)
There are newer reviews for VIK Hotel Arena Blanca
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

689 - 695 of 3,366 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Before choosing this hotel I have read almost all comments and I have to say I was kinda scared,
But it was a big surprised.Food was great and was abundant.The room was big and clean.
And the staff is so amazing,extremely helpful and cheery!
Thank you for the wonderful experience !

Room Tip: Corner suites are sunny and quiet
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 2gether409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear client,

Thank you for selecting our Vik hotel Arena Blanca!

It pleased us to know that you enjoyed your holidays with us and you really liked the attention of our staff. We want to thank you for sharing your positive and constructive opinion with us on trip advisor. It will be a great pleasure for us welcome you in the future for one more time, repeater guests are very especial for us.

Sincerely,
Francisco Amancio E.
Guest service Manager
VIK hotel Arena Blanca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

When we first arrived we asked for a room that wasn't on the first floor, they said they didn't have anything available check back the next day. We checked back the next day and still nothing so we just gave up and dealt with the room we had. (Our initial issue was the sliding glass door didn't lock, they did promptly send someone to lock it though). Our other issue with the rooms was the beds were really uncomfortable. It just felt like a box spring. We stayed in block 2, not sure if that makes a difference but people said the rooms were a little nicer closer to the beach, blocks 3 and 4.

The food was alright. Nothing exceptional or horribly awful, we managed to find something to eat everyday and did not go hungry.The one thing that was nice is that you didn't have to make reservations for the a la cartes so you could just show up and they would seat you. I'd avoid the Italian though it was not very good, and they forgot my meal.

The best part of the resort was the beach as it was beautiful, the water was nice and clear, and we could always find loungers with some amount of shade. There are also little shops a short walk down which was really convenient to do all out souvenir shopping and we didn't even leave the resort. The excursions they had were so so, the only one that was appealing was a boat ride to a beach but why would we pay the money when we had a beautiful beach we had already paid for. All in all it was okay but I would recommend another resort if you want something a little more pleasurable.

Room Tip: Blocks 4 and 5 are supposed to be better
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear client,

Thank you for selecting our Vik hotel Arena Blanca!
Thank you for sharing with us on trip advisor your opinion regarding your vacation experience in our Vik hotel Arena Blanca.
We are glad to know our client’s opinion because by this way we can improve our service quality and grow. We take note about everything mentioned in your comment for improve this points in our service.

Sincerely,

Francisco Amancio E.
Guest service Manager
VIK hotel Arena Blanca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We arrived at noon and did not expect a room right away. Had Patrico who was very nice take care of us and around 2pm we got an upgraded room in building 4. The room was definitely nicer than the last time we stayed. They were renovating alot of rooms while we were there as it is low season as well as doing reno's to the pool. Room was very clean and nice. We had a leak in bathroom ceiling and they were there quickly to repair and even came back next day to check on it. Still one of the nicer beach areas in this area. Staff are very friendly here. I will agree with others that the resort does cater to a large german, french and russian crowd but there are english tourists. Felix the bartender at the beach gives excellent service ! A tip here or there never hurts ! Food at buffet is okay never had a problem finding something to eat. It all depends what you pay for the resort - I got a great deal for oceanview so I was satisfied for what I paid. It is a 3 star resort. I do agree the non-upgraded rooms and not the best for sure. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyboyaircan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear client,

Thank you for expressing on tripadvisor your opinion regarding your recent visit in our Vik hotel Arena Blanca! We are so glad to know that you spent a good time with us, and that you liked the attention provided by our staff as we love to work every with our guests, making their stay an unforgettable experiences.

Thank you for visiting us and we are looking forward to see you soon here at your home Vik hotel Arena Blanca!

Cordially,
Francisco Amancio E.
Guest Service Manager
VIK Hotel Arena Blanca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

2nd time here to this Resort! We stayed Sept 7th-14th. Were in Love again! Staff is friendly and very helpful! We stayed this time in building 3 over looking the pool and beach. Building 5 and half of the pool being remodeled but when done looks to be awesome! The room had a king size bed which was a plus and as usual very clean! Housekeeping does do a great job of keeping rooms clean and the building facilities spotless. We had a problem with the television reception called room service, they switched the tv out right away and worked great after that. The food was great, chefs do a great part preparing variety of different dishes especially at the International buffet. They have pasta bar, homemade soup bar, sushi, Chinese bar it prepared right in front of you what you want in it, hot and fresh. Every night they do a different theme and prepare something special. I always found something different every night to try. There is three restaurant. We enjoy the Italian restaurant the best, must try! Has great lasagna and grouper fish along with seafood crepe, to die for. Of course, we come for the wonderful white sand beach. We get up early to see the sunrise and walk the beach every morning we were there, also went to there gym after breakfast. Again, we call the chef, the eggman, was there to greet us with a big smile for breakfast! He makes omelets and any kind of eggs right in front of you. For lunch, there is the homemade pizza, hamburgers, hot dogs and baked chicken, French fries or you can do the buffet. I did the awesome pizza most days. We were a little disappointed that the internet center is down right now, forgot our computer but there was free Wi Fi in the lounge you could use with your phone or I pad. They do a great job with keeping every age entertain! They gather all the children even the toddler age and do activities every day with them. We also watch the activity center gather any one who wanted to play sand volleyball, games on the beach and exercising in the pool, they asked us but, we just wanted the relaxing vacation and read books on the beach. The bar drinks I think were better this year they custom more to what you like in them, stronger or weaker. They do wonderful night shows, we enjoyed this year the beach party, they had all sorts of music to dance to. Some nights we just enjoyed playing a little pool and having a night drink. We also met a lot of different people from US and other parts of the world on the beach and at the activities, were interesting and very friendly to talk to. We would be consider over the 50 crowd and have more time on our hands now, that my husband is retired from his job, we have been to a lot of different places around the world, but this resort is high on our list to return back next year for that Wonderful and Relaxing Vacation Again!!

Room Tip: Building 3 was close to everything and we had the view of looking the beach
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear client,

We would like to show you our gratitude for your preference in our Vik hotel Arena Blanca for the enjoyment of your vacation. We really appreciate your comments and it is a pleasure to know that you spent a good time with us.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again here in your home Vik hotel Arena Blanca.

Best regards,

Francisco Amancio E.
Guest Service Manager
VIK Hotel Arena Blanca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was our first trip to Dominican Republic, so I wasn't sure what to expect. I've stayed at 4 star and 5 star resorts in Mexico, so that was my basis for comparison. This is no 4 star resort.

The first thing that strikes you when you enter your room is the bed- make that "bedS". There are 2 twin beds pushed together and made separately (twin sheet sets), so you can't actually touch your partner when you sleep unless you share a tiny twin bed. (My husband often woke up sore, exclaiming "I slept in the crack!") Even if you like the idea of twin beds, these beds are apparently made out of cardboard or something equally comfortable.

After the surprise of the beds, we were a little surprised to find that only one of the six electrical outlets in the room worked. (Perhaps because there is actually a light switch in the shower!)

Speaking of electricity, the power went out several times a day... which makes me believe the food was never refrigerated nor cooked properly. Every time we ate we got sick. We went to the seafood restaurant and puzzled at why the shrimp looked and tasted canned when they are located right between the Atlantic and Pacific oceans. The restaurants all have different times they are open so there are times in the day when they are all closed. If you sleep until 10 you're having a hamburger for breakfast. We were also surprised when they had advertised a Friday night seafood BBQ on the beach, both on the internet and via hand-delivered flyers, yet when Friday came we went to look for it and they seemed totally bewildered... like they had never heard of such a thing.

Two days in we noticed that the ceiling in the bathroom and closet started leaking. We assumed that it was because of the rain... then we remembered that there are two stories above us. This wasn't rain dropping on our heads... it was someone's bathroom. Then our toilet stopped flushing. Very bad when- as previously mentioned- the food makes you sick. Our friend's bathroom started backing up, leaving her room full of sewage. Half of the pool was closed for repairs, so we were serenaded by the sound of jackhammers nonstop.

The gym was nothing great... old school equipment with a few broken pieces. The most interesting part of the gym was the huge dead cockroach behind the door of the men's bathroom... and the matching dead cockroach behind the door of the ladies' room... and the fact that they were there on day one of our vacation and STILL THERE on day SEVEN!

Speaking of bugs... our companion (the one with the sewage problem) noticed lots of mosquito-like bites on her legs. She was the only one who had them and they were getting worse. One day she returned to her room to find a note saying that they were fumigating her room that day! All of her personal items got fumigated without her consent!

Everywhere you go you will be bombarded by people pressuring you to buy tours from them. WARNING: THE TOURS YOU BUY FROM THE GUYS OUTSIDE ARE NOT THE TOURS THEY ADVERTISE THROUGH THE HOTEL. We paid for a trip to Catalina Island which was to include a river boat ride, an all inclusive Lobster BBQ, and a tour of a medieval town. Instead, we were merely dropped of at the shore of Catalina Island where we huddled under a bar umbrella in the pouring rain for 3 hours, drinking the most watered-down rum ever poured. (We are not big drinkers but my husband was able to drink 12 glasses of straight rum without even feeling a buzz! Hey- what else are you going to do while standing in the rain for 3 hours?) Not only that, but we were told we had paid for the all-inclusive lobster BBQ lunch only to find that this wasn't the case; they expected another $20 for one lobster. We did 3 other excursions... the best by far being the time we rented motorboats to drive from the Atlantic to the Pacific where we went snorkelling and visited a natural swimming pool. The only downside was when the person who sold us the tour gave my husband a small package wrapped in toilet paper. He told us to not look inside the package but to give to the driver. I kicked up a fuss so the delivery was not made.

Now for the good part... the beach was FANTASTIC. PERFECT. BEAUTIFUL. Beats Mexico hands down.

I've done a lot of traveling so I just resolved myself to the fact that this is a 3rd world country and assumed that Punta Cana was not developed enough to deliver the type of resort experience that the average Canadian would expect. Out of curiosity, we took a cab to a very elegant restaurant, “Noah”, and then went to the Hard Rock Resort. This is when we realized that there are modern, safe, clean places to visit in Punta Cana. VIK Arena Blanca just doesn’t happen to be one of them!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cecilia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear customer,

As a service oriented company, we highly appreciate our guest’s opinion and therefore we recognize the value of taking your time to let us know about your experience, as this is the way for keeping improving and grow our quality service. Thank you for informing us about the situations that occurred during your stay with us, we really would have liked the opportunity to talk with you during your stay at the hotel and in this way we could have taken immediate actions to address these irregularities.

Cordially,

Francisco Amancio E.
Guest Service Manager
VIK Hotel Arena Blanca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I liked this hotel and would stay here again, especially for the price. It is a large hotel that has a feel of a smaller one, not at all crowded.

Pros:

Awesome beach with decent snorkeling right in front (decent for the D.R.)
Plenty of chairs at the beach and pool
numerous activities available to participate in
awesome housekeeping
clean room, except i did see a few ants one day
fridge with water, pepsi and 7 up available in room for free
all staff was nice and helpful
nice lobby area with free wi-fi
gift shop with nice prices (actually better than the local shops) this is the gift shop (not the "market")

Cons:

Wi-fi only in lobby--it needs to be available in the rooms or at least the beach/pool area
pool under construction and half closed
also the pool was not kept up very well. It should have bee kept cleaner and the sand vacuumed, it was like they decided since they are remodeling it there is no need to keep up with it.
charge for room safes
The market at the hotel has insane prices, as in 40$ for sunblock. I carry on luggage, so I bought sunblock at the airport after i cleared security.
Food. the food here was edible but not very good. The chicken fajitas at the mexican place were decent, everything else kind of sucked. It was typical all-inclusive food, there is plenty to eat, but very blah.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank runaboutPgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having preferred our Vik hotel Arena Blanca as your holidays destination for the enjoyment of your vacations. Our hotel is passionate about customer satisfaction. Our target is to build strong customer relationships as well as providing spectacular experiences that create long lasting memories to our visitors. For this reason we put our greatest interest in all the guest’s opinions, because this is the way for keeping growing and improving our quality services, in your case we are glad to know that you enjoyed your vacations in our resort.

Warm regards,

Francisco Amancio E.
Guest Service Manager
VIK Hotel Arena Blanca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.9 mi away
Vista Sol Punta Cana
Vista Sol Punta Cana
#19 of 26 in Bavaro
3,781 reviews
6.4 mi away
Natura Park Beach - EcoResort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
#16 of 26 in Bavaro
1,749 reviews
2.4 mi away
whala!bavaro
whala!bavaro
#84 of 112 in Punta Cana
995 reviews
2.6 mi away
Occidental Caribe
Occidental Caribe
#60 of 112 in Punta Cana
9,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Hotel Arena Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Hotel Arena Blanca

Address: White Sand, Carretera Arena Gorda | Bávaro, Punta Cana 290217, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#65 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#70 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $121 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Hotel Arena Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 447
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Hotel Arena Blanca is placed overlooking the incomparable beach of Bávaro, just 30 minutes away from the International Airport of Punta Cana. This hotel in Punta Cana was renovated in 2006 to be able to offer a wide variety of environments: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your VIK Hotel Arena Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vik Hotel Punta Cana
Lti Beach Resort Punta Cana
Lti Punta Cana
Lti Resort Punta Cana
Lti Beach Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing