We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
VIK Hotel Arena Blanca
Nearby Hotels
$201
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $257/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Occidental Caribe(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$193
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Excellence Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$352
$316
Excellence Resorts
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$506
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$427
$311
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$226
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$420
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melia Caribe Tropical(Bavaro)
$293
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$1,891
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,580)
Filter reviews
3,580 results
Traveler rating
722
1,529
787
321
221
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
722
1,529
787
321
221
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot dogssmall resortseafoodother resortsocean viewfrench friesa la carte restaurantsgreat beachanimation teampasta stationfamily suitebeach barstayed in buildinghamburgernightly entertainmentboth directionswhite sand
Filter
Updating list...
827 - 832 of 3,580 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This resort on Bavaro beach has lots of palm trees and you never go without a Palapa no matter what time of day. The complaint I had was that people should respect nature and pick up after themselves: cigarette ends, plastic bottles and bags and especially glass.
I was disappointed with the resort and my room which was a superior renovated that I originally requested but didn't get until the 2nd day (2nd floor - building 4). Areas that showed cheapness: air conditioning not adjustable and stays at a consistant 24 degrees, unable to change ceiling fan speed, intermittent smell of sewage in room, not always able to have hot water, and no soda, just water in minibar, bottom bed sheet not fitted so matress exposed.
We stuck to the buffet mostly, which was good, and the restaurant Estrella de Mar had an amazing Chicken Cordon Blue dinner. If you wanted a lobster meal, it is $32 US and you have to go to the Cayenna area of the resort. You WILL get stopped frequently by the timeshare sales reps for the Cayenna but just insist you are not interest and a no thank you usually gets them off your back.
We tipped very well as the staff were friendly and tried their best to accomodate you. We received the better choice of drinks.
Unfortunately, I will not be returning to this resort. In my opinion, it is best to spend the extra and stay at a 5 star.

Room Tip: Don't stay on bottom floor, 2nd or 3rd floor in building 4 or 5 is your best bet but they are not greatly renovated.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vacatravelerMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear customer,

We want to thank you for having preferred our VIK Hotel Arena Blanca for the enjoyment of your holidays!
Also, we appreciate the time that you took to write this review about our resort. Thank you for recognizing as well the work of our employees, we are always happy to work with for our guests, striving for excellence services.
We regret that our hotel did not meet your expectations.

Sincerely,

Francisco Amancio E.
Guest service Manager
VIK hotel Arena Blanca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Not sure were all the people stayed with the bad reviews.But we had a great time there were 4 couples Checkin went smooth we stayed in building 3.The room was nice and clean Maid did a super job each day a little musty smell when we ran the AC but not bad.No hot water just luke warm but did not matter Bring face cloths and bar soap as there was only liqiud soap in shower and sink.Had a nice little sitting area outside room which was nice at the end of day.As far as the food goes we always found something to fill us i ate alot of fish and it was always good.At the breakfast buffet it was good and Leonarldo the omlette maker made a great omlette.At the Lunch and Dinner buffet there was always something good stir fry was the best.I liked the Italian resturant but disliked the Mexican Resturant but others did so it all depends on your likes.Every dayat noon they had brick oven pizza hamburgers french fries and Chicken Which i thought was great.Bring a insulated cup for the day and Solo cups for night it will save you alot of trips to the bar.Also dont forget to tip a dollar it makes a big differance
As far as the Staff goes i give them all an A+they were all very friendly and a smile and a Hola goes a long way But if you walk around grumpy i think you will get that right back.Most of them new alittle english and others new alot We made friends with alot of staff Thanks to Raffel,Ricardo and Felix They helped make a great vacation.....And if you see Isaih on the beach selling jewelery help him out he is a great guy and has some great jewlery as our wives will agree.Yes some of the vendors are agressive Just handle it with a no and a smile and walk away
I told them i was Mike No money and they laughed and walked away.It's all how you handle it.
As far as the beach goes OMG it was absolutlyBeautiful and the water was warm and the sand was like powder.Bring lotsa sunscreen.So do not listen to the negatives and go to the VIK with an open mind and a positive attitude and have a great vacation.We cannot wait till next year!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hello, My family, and I stayed at Vik. First of all please don't listen to the negative comments written for this place. I was truly worried before we left. For the money you pay, what more do you want? Arriving at the airport was fine, the Dominican people are very kind. The bus ride to the resort was 20 mins. Our check-in was fast. Our room was very plain, but clean. The resort is small, but adequate. We have three children, and found the size of the resort perfect. The staff was kind. The staff would do anything for you, not expecting a tip. Our food was good, lots of choices. We did not care for all the food served at the all a carted. The buffet always had a wide choice. The entertainment was adequate, for a small resort. The beach was amazing and the water was crystal clear. We were not hassled at all on the beach. Do not trust the previous reviews. Overall we had a great time, we would suggest this resort. For the money you pay, I think looking at past reviews people expect the staff to be like personal slaves. For a family or anyone, as a matter of my opinion. I rate this resort a 4 out of 5. A vacation is what

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mamalisozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a great time. Staff should have communicated better with those of us who are English speaking. Bed was too hard. Sheets didnt fit bed either. Food not great. A/C didnt work.
The beach was really great, no solicitors harassing you. Pool was good, with a lot of chairs to choose from. For the most part we enjoyed our trip!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanddsauve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Positives - Not far from airport, clean, friendly staff.
Negatives - Old rooms, looks like it has not been renovated since the 80s. Leaking from the from the bathroom ceiling. AC was not working. Food was worst then cafeteria food. Couldn't cut the meat because it was so dry and hard. Mattress was hard and old, sheets didn't fit the mattress so you were sleeping on a uncovered mattress. 19 inch, tube TV, no toiletries, no iron. I could go on and on. We arrived at 6:00PM, the next morning we checked out and went to another hotel (Secrets resort and spa) that our travel agent found for us. Oh yes, when we arrived in our room at VIK hotel we found a note in the room indicating they were going to fumigate the room the next morning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmb201147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear customer,

Thank you for sharing with us on trip advisor your constructive comments.

We regret about all the inconveniences that you mentioned happened since your arrival to the hotel, and we appreciate that you let us know about this, because by this way we can improve our services quality and grow, preventing that this won’t happen again in the future and satisfying all our guests, this is our principal target. For this reason we are always happy to know all our client’s opinions. We are very regretful that our hotel did not meet your expectations.

Sincerely,

Francisco Amancio E.
Guest services Manager
Vik hotel Arena Blanca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews