We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, wonderful honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
VIK Hotel Arena Blanca
Ranked #75 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, wonderful honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks for our honeymoon from 15 Aug until 29 Aug. I am impressed with the quality of service. We had booked a standard double room and we upgraded to a luxury room in block 4 (renovated room with a very nice view to the pool and the sea). The room was very clean, every day there were fresh towels. The food at the buffet restaurant is very nice also, for a one week vacation there is no chance you get bored with it. As to the a-la-carte restaurants I found those a bit dissapointing. The menus are almost the same at the 2 restaurants and the food is nothing special. For me the food at the buffet was more delicious. The beach is fantastic, very clean, the water is crystal clear and hot. I did not feel any need to use the pool (which is very big and nice).
Do not expect much from the nightlife. The disco is very small, but still there is a place you can dance. The eveninig entertainment programs were fun, I loved the dance shows!
As to the trips, I would recommend the Safari tour as you can see many places and different aspects of Dominican life. The Saona trip was a bit disappointing for me, as we spent only 3 hours on the island, which was overcrowded with tourists.
I had a wonderful time at this heavenly place and I want to thank the hotel staff for allowing me to experience this! Keep up the good work! :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marieta I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear honeymooners!
Thank your for taking some of your valuable time to share your experiences with others thru Tripadvisor.
We are glad to know you enjoyed your vacation with us, that you liked our honeymoon upgrade to a better room category, our buffet, the beautiful beach, the pool and the dance shows!
We are sorry you were not impressed with our a la carte restaurants, usually they are everyone favorites. Menus are very different, one is the Trattoria with and Italian menu and the other Estrella del Mar with an International Menu, hopefully on your next visit you can give it another try with other dishes.
Thank you for choosing VIK Arena Blanca for such a special occasion and we hope to host here at your home in a very near future.
Best wishes,
Cristina Socias
Public Relations and Quality Assurance
VIK hotel Arena Blanca
E-Mail: c.socias@vikhotelarenablanca.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    1,387
    698
    301
    199
See reviews for
881
1,285
150
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hawkesbury, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Just a short resume of our holiday at Vik Arena Blanca. Stayed Aug 27 – Sept 3. after hurricane Irene, nothing was damage on the resort, they only had rain and a bit of wind. Site and grounds are very well maintained. Renovated rooms are also nice (block 4-5). Food is OK, buffet is repetitive every night, as for the A la carte resto, there OK we didn’t starve. Word of advice make sure men/boys wear closed shoes for the A la carte resto or they will not be allowed in. They can wear capri pants but must have closed shoes no sandals. Animation crew needs some sprucing up a bit, my husband was the one arranging the volley ball games practically all week. With this initiative we made good friendships with Dominicans, Germans, Russians. Beach is just great. We were out on a fishing excursion… word of advice make sure you take 2 gravol at least ½ hour prior to boarding the boat or you might be seasick, don’t take a chance, it’s not worth it. We had a lot of fun all week, weather was great.

Room Tip: It you are with Tours Mont Royal, Transat, Nolitours you will have renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaMama0665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience on Tripadvisor. Your comment always helps us evaluate our performance and keep improving to satisfy our guest.
We appreciate your observation on our animation team, we do have a daily and night program were clients can participate on any of the programs and times of their preferences.
We hope you allow us the chance of hosting you once again to provide you with a great vacation experience in the Dominican Republic. We look forward to welcoming you back as part of our valued returning guests.

Best Regards,

Cristina Socias
Public Relations and Quality Assurance
VIK hotel Arena Blanca
E-Mail: c.socias@vikhotelarenablanca.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We came to the VIK hotel for our honeymoon. We read all the reviews and went with an open-mind not expecting much. We had to wait for our room which was expected because we showed up early. When we got to our room we had NO towels and our honeymoon pkg was missing and Also our luggage was not in our room. We called the guest services and they said everything will be on its way after explaining what was missing. The luggage and pkg came but no towels. I found a maid later on and got some towels off of her. Everyday our room was cleaned the housekeeper was very nice and tried her best to speak english which she couldnt. The only bad thing about housekeeping was every day when we came back from breakfast our Towels were gone and didnt not get any new ones till 3pm or later. So we had to make sure to take a shower before we went for breakfast. No hot water though and rock hard pillows (we had a renovated room). Our view not so nice we barely saw the ocean and paid $$$ to upgrade to oceanview. Waste of money. I had 1 day with it and it lasted only a few minutes but we managed. The food was good repetitive but always found something to eat. The TACO's were my favorite 3 times a wk!! So good. The beach fantastic and the pools very clean. The drinks were very strong especially if you tipped. WE enjoyed talking to Felix at the bar and Felix the cashier he was FANTASTIC!!!... Now the downs. well the main reason we won't return to this property. Too many ppl selling you stuff on the resort. Every time we went walking through the resort we were bugged to see Cayena or to purchase a trip or to buy souvenirs or take photos. This got annoying... All we wanted to do was relax and we got bugged every day. Even while we suntanned at the pool we were asked again to buy a photoshoot. This resort is a nice size and most staff friendly but the fact of feeling like being bothered. All in all great beach & food. We got over the rest eventually. It was our honeymoon so we made the best of it!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JSTMRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing a review in Tripadvisor and this will help us to improve and measure our performance. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed the Tacos, the beach, the pool and found our staff very nice. I will make sure that both Felix and the maid receive a copy of this comment, to let them know how their performance affected positively your stay.
You mention the vendors being the main reason of not coming back, we are sorry if at anytime any of the vendors and or the salespeople of our vacation club that have access to the hotel disturbed you in any way. Most of our guests welcome the advantage of having excursion representatives available on site as well as we have a lot of members in our Vacation Club family that keeps steadily growing. In any case they should not be invasive at any time.
We are aware that towels sometimes brought later to the room after maid pick them up, sometime it takes a while to have them back from the laundry because of the amount of clients. However we are evaluating this situation and in a near future this will be resolved.
Again thank your for having chosen our hotel for your vacation and we do wish to welcome you back as part of valued returning guests.

Cristina Socias
Public Relations and Quality Assurance
VIK hotel Arena Blanca
E-Mail: c.socias@vikhotelarenablanca.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penkridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

After reading all the negative reviews we arrived with trepidation, but were very pleasantly surprised to find the booking in was quick and efficient, the rooms no complaints at all, we had 2 faults during the 2 weeks stay both were rectified within the hour. Both rooms were comfortable and clean. Resorts and grounds immaculate, staff on the whole friendly and welcoming, food and drink excellent apart from a large list of cocktails at each bar but some were never available! Dining great, we had 2 choices of seating area smoking and non-smoking, also an Al A Carte (take long pants, shoes and a shirt gents) there was always a good choice even for the kids. Breakfast excellent especially the omelette bar. Last night in the Al A Carte was a disaster though, a 45 min wait for table then the same again for food to arrive due to an influx of visitors but no extra staff provided (managers take note), this did put a downer on the dining experience because other visits to this restaurants were excellent. Beach excellent, just what we expected from pics we’d seen. Pools clean but floor needs resurfacing, very rough. Trips excellent via Thomas Cook and hotel reps, we did the Dolphin Explorer Excellence package, which we couldn’t recommend enough, very helpful and knowledgeable staff, we purchased several pics and the DVD which was expensive but well worth it. We were worried about the vendors on the beach after reading previous reviews but we found a polite no was all that was needed for them to leave us alone. Booking-out not such a pleasant experience, miserable staff who failed to give us correct paperwork leading to a delay in departure which could have been avoided and a smile and a ‘thank you for coming and we hope you enjoyed your stay’ would have been nice!
On the whole a great family holiday experience would go back again and happily recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kez4466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your positive comments about our resort as well as from the rest of your observations that help us find any areas of improvement in our product and services.
We are very happy that you have found the rooms to your comfort, enjoyed the cocktails (even though you say some were not available – we will check on that!) and loved the omelet at the breakfast.
We are sorry that the last night you had to experience some delay on the service, if you remember the day and send me a note I can revise this with the Food and Beverage Manager since it is very unusual to wait that long for a table and for the food.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you and your family here again at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca!
Best Regards,

Cristina Socias
Public Relations and Quality Assurance
VIK hotel Arena Blanca
E-Mail: c.socias@vikhotelarenablanca.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Nice hotel...very good for Dominican Rep.
The pool: unbelievable. Clear water, clean, huge.
Food: very good, also a la carte restaurants.
Travel around: Saona Island : one of the most beautiful places on Earth...
Santo Domingo - the capital of R.D.
Bavaro: the Manati park: swim with the dolphins. Crocodile show. Bird expo.

Room Tip: Tip the receptionist for a nice room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing VIK Hotel Arena Blanca for your vacations, we greatly appreciate taking time to post a comment on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcome you again in a near future!

Best Regards,
Cristina Socias
Public Relations and Quality Assurance
VIK hotel Arena Blanca
E-Mail: c.socias@vikhotelarenablanca.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

We were stuck at this resort after our flight was canceled. Coming from a beautiful 5 star resort, this resort was a terrible way to end our vacation. The rooms were not clean, there was no hot water, and the food did not appear to be edible. I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jas310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. It was never out intention to dissapoint you in any way, our ultimate goal is always to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations.
Please be assured that we take your comments very seriously. We pride ourselves on providing good quality service and sincerely apologize that you experienced inconveniences during your stay.
We have clients from all over the world, many repeat guests, we are just very sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Best Regards,
Cristina Socias
Public Relations and Quality Assurance
VIK hotel Arena Blanca
E-Mail: c.socias@vikhotelarenablanca.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Punta Cana hotels

Helsingborg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed here 12JUL2011 - 31JUL2011 and we LOVED every single second of it. I cannot for the life of me understand all the negative reviews. If this paradise of a place failed to make them happy, they must be immune to happiness!!

Room: We were in the Family suite, 2 big rooms, sofas, 4 beds and full bathroom. Large balcony with view over the pool area. Clean and neat, the AC was a bit weak, kept the room chilled to 24 degrees (acceptable). Large flatscreen TV, minibar stuffed with water every day. GREAT!

Restaurants: 4 of them, large buffe daily, and plenty of child friendly food (burgers & Pizza every day). Fish dishes are fantastic, the Paella is out of this world, and the sushi is great! The waiters are polite and attentive, they serve drinks at the table and make sure that the glasses are refilled instantly. We stayed for 21 days and I did NOT get tired of the food at all!!

Beach: A fairy tale, white sand, plenty of palmtrees and beautiful water.STUNNING!

Drinks: NOTHING like European All-in, beer, wine, sodas and about 20 different cocktails such as gin tonic, tequila sunrise etc etc.

Staff: Incredibly friendly and sweet. All speak at least English and Spanish, and most of them speak additional languages like German, French and Russian. They service style is much more familiar than formal, which I love. They all called me amigo instead of Sir and at the end, they actually did feel like old friends.

Animation: Kids club was awsome, the staff spoke English, Spanish and German and could communicate to most kids. The evening entertainment was great, folklore and traditional dance every evening.


To sum it up, we all LOVED it, my wife cried as we had to leave and I am 100% sure that we will return one day!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank The_Swedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear Guest,

You can not imagine how pleasant it is to read that we not only succeeded and satisfied your expectation but EXCEEDED them! I will take your nice comment and share it with the rest of the staff that works hard to conquer our guests hearts. They will be truly happy as I am.

Thank you for sharing with the Tripadvisor readers. We hope that we will be lucky enough to host you and your family again at VIK Arena Blanca.

Best Regards,

Cristina Socias
Public Relations and Quality Assurance
VIK hotel Arena Blanca
E-Mail: c.socias@vikhotelarenablanca.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.5 mi away
Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa
6.4 mi away
Natura Park Beach - EcoResort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Vista Sol Punta Cana
Vista Sol Punta Cana
#17 of 25 in Bavaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
#18 of 25 in Bavaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
3.6 mi away
IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
Be Live Collection Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Hotel Arena Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Hotel Arena Blanca

Property: VIK Hotel Arena Blanca
Address: White Sand, Carretera Arena Gorda | Bávaro, Punta Cana 290217, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#64 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#68 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Hotel Arena Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 447
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Hotel Arena Blanca is placed overlooking the incomparable beach of Bávaro, just 30 minutes away from the International Airport of Punta Cana. This hotel in Punta Cana was renovated in 2006 to be able to offer a wide variety of environments: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your VIK Hotel Arena Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vik Hotel Punta Cana
Lti Beach Resort Punta Cana
Lti Punta Cana
Lti Resort Punta Cana
Lti Beach Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing