We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight stay”
Review of NH Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Punta Cana
Ranked #71 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Our flight into Punta Cana arrived late Christmas Day, so we stayed here the first night our vacation to save money. Here’s the bad part: staying here was a last minute decision done with little research; we booked on a third-party website and paid extra for a third adult only to be assigned a room with a king bed – and, as requested, it was a handicap room with an open bathroom in which one could view somebody bathing & using the toilet from the bed. Subsequent research yielded that the hotel is all king beds and only sells double occupancy (we’re in the process of contacting the third party). But here’s the good part: we were only here overnight, we were tired and the bed was among the most comfortable we’ve ever slept in so time flew by. We solved the bathroom issue by taking turns in and out of the room.

The service in the hotel and restaurant was very good, although English skills were shaky. The front desk clerk had difficulty understanding our situation as well as our requests for a pair of additional pillows, but they were ultimately brought. And while we believed breakfast was included in the rate, we weren’t completely certain and when he quizzed him he’d merely point at the restaurant, smile and relay ‘yes, yes, that’s the breakfast room.’

The breakfast buffet was good, but far from being the “best ever” as many have described. We actually found the traditional hot American breakfast items to be poor (or average) at best – the best part was the hot lunch/dinner items as well as dessert cakes. And we were hungry from missing out on Christmas Dinner the night before (the restaurant was closed and room service was a little pricy).

We paid a premium to stay here over the Holiday period, although the hotel itself appeared to have a low occupancy, but the rate was still substantially less than the next lowest-priced property. It’s a beautiful, sleek, ultramodern hotel; the lobby had complimentary fruit, cookies and juice; there was complimentary WiFi throughout the property; excellent in-room toiletries, cable TV with plenty of US channels and a super comfortable oversized king bed; and the initial contents of the mini bar (a few sodas and a bottle of water) were free. Depending on pricing elsewhere in the area, it has the potential to be the gateway to save some money – but getting around isn’t completely easy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PNS2CLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, General Manager at NH Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of the entire NH Punta Cana Hotel Staff, we would like to thank you for your good comments. We are delighted to see in your letters that you have lived the kind of experience we want to provide.

Your feedback will encourage us to continue providing the high level of service we believe our guests deserve.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and remember that this will always be your home in Punta Cana.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 328 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

Had a very nice stay here recently. The rooms are nicely sized (some reviewers say they are small but I have stayed in much smaller rooms in other places!) with bath amenities (shampoo, conditioner, lotion, etc.), refrigerator, had tv available in the room. The beverages in the refrigerator see even free upon arrival. The hotel also offers a free buffet breakfast each morning and the selection rotates each day to offer some variety. The only thing that would make this hotel better is if they had their own pool, though the staff was friendly in helping to get access to the pool at the neighboring hotel as well as directing us to the nearby beach. This hotel is a good alternative if you don't mind not being directly on the beach and don't want to pay a lot of money for one if the all inclusive resorts.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank luvnyc106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, General Manager at NH Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of the entire NH Punta Cana Hotel Staff, we would like to thank you for your good comments. We are delighted to see in your letters that you have lived the kind of experience we want to provide.

Your feedback will encourage us to continue providing the high level of service we believe our guests deserve.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and remember that this will always be your home in Punta Cana.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The NH Punta Cana exceeded our expectations! The price was very reasonable and the hotel staff was outstanding. A highlight was the awesome breakfast. In particular, Raymin, with the dining staff, created a welcoming environment, he was gracious and very helpful in planning our island tour. We will definitely visit this hotel for our next vacation to the island!

Room Tip: Make arrangements for transportation to the hotel prior to your arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Director General at NH Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear guest,

On behalf of the entire NH Punta Cana Hotel Staff, we would like to thank you for your good comments. We are delighted to see in your letters that you have lived the kind of experience we want to provide.

Your feedback will encourage us to continue providing the high level of service we believe our guests deserve.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and remember that this will always be your home in Punta Cana.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My partner and I were attending a wedding at one of the all inclusives but wanted to save some money. We decided to stay at the NH which was a great decision. The staff were very courteous and knowledgeable activities. The room was small but comfortable. They let you use the all inclusive next door for a fee.
They include a great breakfast buffet with eggs made to order. It was easy to get around by taxi.
I would reccommend to anyone that wants to save a few dollars that could be better spent on activities.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beerbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Director General at NH Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear guest,

On behalf of the entire NH Punta Cana Hotel Staff, we would like to thank you for your good comments. We are delighted to see in your letters that you have lived the kind of experience we want to provide.

Your feedback will encourage us to continue providing the high level of service we believe our guests deserve.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and remember that this will always be your home in Punta Cana.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one week with my wife since I had to work near by. Very curteous staff attending to all our needs. Rooms are adequate but not large, quiet most of the time since some guests get noisy on arrival. Good selection for the complimentary breakfast and the bar is small but has a good selection, and the service personnel are outstanding and make your stay very pleasant.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank LDOEMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, General Manager at NH Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear guest,

On behalf of the entire NH Punta Cana Hotel Staff, we would like to thank you for your good comments. We are delighted to see in your letters that you have lived the kind of experience we want to provide.

Your feedback will encourage us to continue providing the high level of service we believe our guests deserve.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and remember that this will always be your home in Punta Cana.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking to a beautiful, modern, clean and fresh place to stay in Punta Cana then this is the place!

Went with my girlfriend in june but choosed this place since we wanted to do lots of things outside the resort and not stay in and All Inclusive so when we saw this small and elegant hotel we knew it was the right one cause it is simply perfect for todays travelers.

Room are perfect size and decor is just right that it makes you feel at home. We planned to stay 2 nights but it was so good and the relation "quality - price" was so well balanced that we ended up staying for 4 nights.

Breakfast was the est i have seen on this type of small hotel and staff was always very attentive. The only thing we did not like much was the view and room service was a bit expensive.

I would stay here again no problem!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bothfeld1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, General Manager at NH Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear guest,

On behalf of the entire NH Punta Cana Hotel Staff, we would like to thank you for your good comments. We are delighted to see in your letters that you have lived the kind of experience we want to provide.

Your feedback will encourage us to continue providing the high level of service we believe our guests deserve.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and remember that this will always be your home in Punta Cana.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

It was an a great experience. My husband and I enjoyed everything about this stay. The food, the attention, the amenities were all great. The staff was attentive most specially Miguel, radnams and Julio. Looking forward to going again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, General Manager at NH Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear guest,

On behalf of the entire NH Punta Cana Hotel Staff, we would like to thank you for your good comments. We are delighted to see in your letters that you have lived the kind of experience we want to provide.

Your feedback will encourage us to continue providing the high level of service we believe our guests deserve.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and remember that this will always be your home in Punta Cana.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.8 mi away
The MT Hotel
The MT Hotel
#83 of 112 in Punta Cana
140 reviews
8.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Puntacana Village
10.5 mi away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Eleven Palms by Inmense
Eleven Palms by Inmense
#24 of 27 in Bavaro
49 reviews
14.7 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
977 reviews
4.6 mi away
Blue Beach Punta Cana Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Punta Cana

Address: Avenida Alemania S/N, El Cortecito | Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range: $132 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NH Punta Cana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new four-star NH Punta Cana hotel offers comfortable and contemporary accommodations in the popular Bavaro district of one of the Dominican Republic's most famous tourist destinations, right by the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your NH Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing