We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful golf trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Lakes Golf Course

Barcelo Lakes Golf Course
Book In Advance
$90.00*
and up
The Lakes Golf Club at Barcelo Hotel in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gatineau, Quebec
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful golf trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were 2 couples - the guys played 6 rounds, the girls 5 rounds. Our tee-offs were booked about 4 months before our arrival. We left our golf clubs at the the golf club all week. Each morning they would come pick us up at our rooms at the requested time. We had breakfast at the restaurant at the golf course all week - you could order from the menu or they had a small buffet set up. We would take sandwiches and croissants from the buffet (in a zip lock) to eat during the game. They give you a cooler with your cart filled with water. At the 10th hole, they would fill up the cooler with either beer, water, pop. Our only complaint was that their is no bar service on the course. For the women golfers, there are beautiful clean restrooms available on the course !! After each game, they bring you back to your room.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CaroleLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    55
    8
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice course.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We golfed this course and it is very well maintained. It's not a very demanding play. Recomended for Junior to mid level players. IMHO Free driving range but poor rental clubs, but on the upside the upgraded clubs are cheap.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Duane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful course.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I loved the fact that I got to golf in January while all my friends at home had to contend with snow! hahaha!
Designed by PB Dye, it's a very nice course, several challenges, but plays very smoothly.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

After 3pm it cost on $35.00 and enough till to play 18 holes! Good food served their all day and night!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank shannonculver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Challenging!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a good golf course! There is water on almost every hole, but it doesn't have to come into play! Don't be deceived by the look of the hole - there is lots of room out there. The greens offer challenging slopes. The ninth hole is especially challenging as are the final 3 holes. The wind is almost always blowing. I do suggest to keep your focus right to the very end!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barcelo Lakes Golf Course also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Barcelo Lakes Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing