We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so clean room. Food is like HomeTown Buffet or worse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames
Ranked #74 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not so clean room. Food is like HomeTown Buffet or worse”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed/visited a few resorts in Punta Cana.

PRO:
+ Nice beach (all resorts in Punta Cana have nice beach)
+ Many drink selections on the complimentary bar menu.
+ Attentive and friendly bar staffs
+ 2 excursions booths on site that offer packages from various companies. Lots of options.
+ Nice swimming pools (most resorts in Punta Cana have nice swimming pools)

CON:
- Room quality is not good:
-- Dead spider in the bath tub
-- Many smashed bug stain on the curtain. The curtain in our ground floor room doesn't
close all the way.
-- Smashed bug stain on pillow cover.
-- Found dead bug on towel.
-- Need to pay to get a key to use the safe box inside the room.
-- Wifi is not free (it was free on the other resort we stayed).
We paid for a few days of wifi but the signal in our room is so poor.
-- Door knob is not working very well. I had difficulty opening/closing the door every time.

- Food quality is not good:
-- Worse than Home Town Buffet (an American budget buffet chain).
-- Flies over the buffet counters. There are no lids for the food trays.

- Service is so so:
-- Front desk not well trained. If you forget your room key, they give you replacement key
without verifying your name. Anyone could get a key to your room that way.
-- Front desk manager is not customer oriented. We paid extra through expedia.com for a king bed but they put us in a room with two twin beds. There was clearly miscommunication between Expedia and Sirenis. Sirenis should work with Expedia to sort things out. Front desk manager refused to honor what we paid for. Another front desk staff was willing to look for a room with king bed for us. It wasn't fun to walk to the front desk a few times to get what we paid for.

- Taxi ride is $70 one way from this resort to airport. It is on the far north of the coast. The further away from airport, the more expensive taxi ride is.

- There are staffs that stop you on your way to your room to try to sell you something. Imagine that you have to walk between your room and the restaurant multiple times a day. It gets annoying sometimes. The other resort we stayed doesn't have salesman rendering around.

TIP:
* There's transport service at airport that make you share a mini van with other people. USD $22 per person comparing to having a taxi all by yourself $70 one way. Depends on # of people in your group. It's cheaper to share a mini van if it's just two of you.

* US dollar is widely accepted everywhere we went in Dominican Republic. No need to exchange money at the airport. Rate at airport 1usd:36pesos. Rate at retail stores 1usd:42pesos

* There are 2 excursion booths in the resort. One near the reception desk, one facing the garden behind the fashion boutique. They offer different excursion packages and different price. Compare both before you sign up. We went with the one facing the garden. Its snuba diving package is $8 more but you get to drive a speedboat.
The 1 day tour to Santo Domingo was usd $80/person. Cheaper than the booth near the reception desk. The tour was very good value. It includes lunch. They take you to cave lakes, half a dozen capital historic landmarks, see cigar production. The tour bus is very clean and modern with air conditioning. Tour guide speaks fluent English. Don't buy stuff at the shopping stop they take you to. Price is bad. Wait till the 1 hr shopping time at the end of the tour at Santo Domingo. Go to the local super market chain call Jumbo for cheap coffee, cocoa, rum. There are also small shops on the same shopping street with cheap postcards and cigars. Same direction as where the Columbus statue is pointing to. Shop where the locals shop!

* Popular excursion fill up fast. Sign up on your first day of arrival if possible.

* Each excursion is about usd $80-100 per person. Both booths offer 10% off if you pay cash. Bring enough cash if you want to save $$

* Some tour offer English tour only on certain days in a week. For example, the Santo Domingo tour we went offer English tour only on Wednesday and Friday. Plan your excursion accordingly.

* Bring some dollar bills to tip the bar tender so they will pour more rum in your drink.

* T-mobile has 2-3g network coverage here. But if your room is far from the lobby, you barely get any signal.

* Power outlet is same as US. US travelers no need to bring power adapter.

* There are 3 restaurants on site that you can sign up for À la carte dinner. Steak house is the worse of all. Over cooked steak with stale vegetables on the side.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank a l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquagames, Assistant Manager at Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi a l,

First of all I have to thank you for taking the time to write your review and I’m sorry to hear you didn’t have such a good vacation staying with us. Your comments will be taken into consideration in order to improve the quality of our services.

Please don’t hesitate to write me if you want to give me more details about your experience during your stay at assistantmngr.dr@sirenishotels.com or if you decide to come back in the future.

Veronique Garon
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,164
    2,628
    1,384
    803
    654
See reviews for
3,436
2,642
165
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,052)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

ok, maybe a little harsh wording in the title, but this was our 4th time to this resort and first time in May. May 10-17. First time since they opened the waterpark. We know that we don't go there for great food or for great rooms, but the beach and the weather is hard to beat.
They said that the hotel was about 50% occupied and it sure seemed like it. We usually go there in Feb/Mar time and the crowds are much larger and the activities are much more.

We are Members also and so we enjoy a little upgrade on the rooms and a little better service. But what we also heard was that the regular staff take a month off after the Spring rush dies down in April. So that is what it felt like, was that the B team was in charge and trying to learn the job and English at the same time. Only a few staff did we fell we could carry a conversation on with them that would get understood. All were very nice, but if you had a problem or a question then it was tough to get someone to understand you. When we've been there before, everyone down to the waitress on the beach understood what you were saying or asking.
They had the whole Steak House side closed, restaurant and bar. Our Steak House dinner was on the other side in the Mexican restaurant one night.
One night, we were having dinner in the Italian Restaurant and a group of 4 women's and 8 kids came in for dinner. The children ages 1-12 ran around and grazed off the appetizer bar, food was dropped on the floor and they made so much noise no one else could hear anything. The kids were in tee shirts and bathing suits the 4 women were in bathing suit cover ups. No where near what the dress code for the restaurants require. The poor wait staff had to work 3x harder to try to get their food to them. My Wife almost went nuts as this was a date night for us.

It was nice that we didn't need to go to the beach early just to find a lounger, there was plenty empty on the beach every day. They didn't have the cook-out on the beach everyday, but there was never a line at the bars, sometimes in March, the line at the front bar after dark, there is 3-4 folks waiting for the drinks. There were plenty chairs empty for the 9:30pm entertainment plays.

The Aquagames did have a little lot of kids on one day, lot of local kids were there, but they looked like they did have a lot of fun. The Waterslides are only 3 floors up, so they are ok for 7-11yo. We have some Waterslide around here that are 8-10floors up so the Sirenis's are too much fun for us.

So if that is what your looking for, then May be a good time to go to the Punta Cana Sirenis. Just enjoy the Sun and the view of the ocean and the great warm temps and the empty resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at Sirenis for 5 days and it was very enjoyable. The check in people were great and we were assigned to "Able" and he was great and took care of our needs. The evening bartenders in the lobby were fantastic but I have to say the very best service we received was from "Darling", he was the best waiter I have ever experienced and many waiters could gain from his knowledge. He has a wonderful, positive, upbeat personality and he made sure we had everything we needed and answered all our questions about the resort...he deserves a reward because more often than not the service is one area that was lacking at this hotel, but Darling changed our attitude about that. The grounds are gorgeous, the beach beautiful, the food in the ethnic restaurants was amazing, we had a suite which we enjoyed. The evening shows need some help. If you saw one you've seen them all. The are all the same people and at the end of each show the thank yous and goodbyes are so drawn it it was very boring. Ping Pong was great and Daniel on the coconut bar, other than that, the hotel needs some help in the entertainment area. All and all its a great place, not five star but a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lmwtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquagames, Assistant Manager at Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi lmwtravler,

First of all I have to thank you for taking the time to write your review and I’m happy to see you and your family had an great holiday with us. I will definitely pass on your comments to Abel and Darling as I’m sure they will be so happy to hear that.

I will leave you my e-mail assistantmngr.dr@sirenishotels.com if you ever want to come back to our resort. It will be a pleasure meeting you and ensuring you spend another great vacation with our Sirenis Team!

Veronique Garon
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Had a great vacation, the staff is so nice and the food is good , alot to do ! Great entertainment !! Had so much fun. I most certainly recommend the Bavaro Runners excursion !! What a great days that was!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquagames, Assistant Manager at Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Jimmy P,

First of all I have to thank you for taking the time to write your review and I’m happy to see you had an amazing holiday with us.

As I mentioned to you the last time you were here, don’t hesitate to let me know when you come back to visit us and we’ll make sure you spend another great vacation with all your friends here at Sirenis!

Veronique Garon
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Recently stayed at Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Punta Cana and had a great time with my family. My kids had an awesome time. We spent seven fun filled days there. The property was very beautiful and clean. We had the junior suit for all five of us. The staff was all friendly and most spoke english. I will be visiting this resort again in the near future. We had a great time from April 29th thru May 6,2014. Special thanks to management and staff Abel,Amber, Mr.Banana, Charli and the rest of the staff. I cant remember everyone name but thanks to all. We will see you guys again soon.

Room Tip: a112 is a real good room and good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Duane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquagames, Assistant Manager at Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Duane A,

First of all it’s always a pleasure to receive great reviews as we work really hard to ensure our clients spend a great vacation. I will definitely pass on your comments to Abel, Amber, Banana, Charli and the rest of the staff as they will be happy to hear they helped make your stay memorable. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you and your family back soon.

I will leave you my e-mail assistantmngr.dr@sirenishotels.com if you ever want to come back to our resort. It will be a pleasure meeting you and ensuring you spend another great vacation with our Sirenis Family!

Veronique Garon
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Not a 4 star in need of Reno to rooms ......door casings were falling off when you unlock the door. Got sick on the food . Maid service was great. Room was clean and the bar restocked every day. The beds were very hard and uncomfortable .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 197Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquagames, Assistant Manager at Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi 197Don,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I really appreciate it as it will help me improve the quality of our services as we are continuously working on it.

Please don’t hesitate to write me at assistantmngr.dr@sirenishotels.com if you want to discuss these issues in more details. If you come back to Punta Cana in the future and decide to choose our resort, I will personally insure you have the best vacation at our hotel.

Veronique Garon
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

My friend and I recently spent 7 nights at this resort.

Positives:
The resort is absolutely beautiful and very clean, pictures don't do it justice. I think management really need to add more photos as we were wowed when we got there.

The beach is stunning - white sand, crystal blue sea, more than enough sun loungers to cover everyone then some. It's a huge beach so whether you want to be surrounded by people/music or want some privacy to read a book or sunbathe in peace you can decide. The pool is also a good size and play music from 3/4pm onwards to get you in a good mood for the evening. VIP section on the beach and pool area offer beach beds so upgrade if that's what you're looking for (although we often went to the VIP pool bar and no one said anything!)

Service - cannot fault the service at all. The team are extremely polite, called our room every evening to check how our day went and if we needed anything. The concierge, bar staff, animation team, everyone went above and beyond. They make the resort seem like the happiest place in the world.

The buffet is good (not amazing but it is all inclusive so as good as we expected), we were vegetarian so can't comment on meat/seafood but the pastas were nice (added lots of Tabasco to give the food a kick), average pizza, veg. Italian restaurant was heavenly (veg lasagne, ravioli and tiramisu are a must - looked and tasted delicious), DO NOT go to the Mexican restaurant as a vegetarian (we walked out after 10 mins when they served us a jalopeno with a few strands of grated cheese on top as our main!!!), the desserts at the buffet are yummy and lots of different flavour ice creams like vanilla sponge cake!! The breakfast buffet is the best part -
Fresh bread, omlette station where they make it exactly how you want, waffles, pancakes, toastie machine so you can make one yourself. Great start to the day!

Entertainment - it's worth checking out bingo bongo as you will spend the whole time laughing, the bars are a nice place to chill out - extensive list of cocktails (have to pay extra for premium brands but local rum and coke was the best), the shows are very dated and need a lot of work but we weren't looking to watch too many shows anf kept ourselves entertained at the bar so didn't mind. The nightclub is okay, good music and the DJ takes requests (but note it is very small in size and you would need to get the party started yourself as no one really dance).

Massages on the beach - one of the best parts of the holiday, great massages around $100pp. We got them twice as just couldn't resist!!!

Improvements:
The rooms can definitely do with an upgrade, the showers were a bit rusty and the rooms had a bit of a funny smell but we didn't spend that much time in our room so wasnt a deal breaker for us.

The casino is terrible, not really a casino more like a few machines and a roulette table in the corner. We joked when we were on our way to the on site waterpark if it'll be as great as the casino and it was laughable - only a few water slides, we were done in 5 minutes and went back to the beach.

Buffet - there can definitely be some improvement on vegetarian options so you don't spend all day and night eating carbs (although we were on holiday so not complaining too much!)

Our aim was to simply relax and we did that, it was perfect for a relaxing beach holiday. We didn't leave the resort as we didn't feel safe to do so but you didn't really need to so that wasnt a problem. We would definitely come back in the future simply due to the amazing service and beach location. Thanks to all the staff!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HonestTraveller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquagames, Assistant Manager at Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi HonestTraveller14,

Thank you so much for sharing your opinion about our resort with everyone. I’m glad to see you had a great time during your stay with us. I will definitely pass on these comments to our staff as they will be happy to hear their hard work pays off.

Thank you also for you feedback and suggestions as they will definitely help us in our plans to improve the services we offer.

Please contact me at assistantmngr.dr@sirenishotels.com when you are planning your next vacation so I personally welcome you and make sure you have as much of a good time as your first vacation.

Veronique Garon
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
27.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
956 reviews
25.8 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,790 reviews
35.9 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#86 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,326 reviews
12.3 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#81 of 112 in Punta Cana
333 reviews
10.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#63 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames

Property: Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames
Address: Playas Uvero Alto | Macao Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#63 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#66 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#68 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames 3.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino And Spa
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Sirenis Resort Punta Cana
Sirenis Cocotal Punta Cana
Hotel Sirenis Cocotal Beach
Sirenis Cocotal Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing