We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware! Mugging on the Beach!! Don't leave the Sirenis Premises!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames
Ranked #73 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We just came back a week ago from our 11 day trip to the Sirenis Cocotal. The resort in itself is good value for the money. The food is good. No need to book the restaurants though. we found the food was better at the buffet. The staff is friendly, but speaks very limited English. Don't go to the promotional breakfast where they want to sell you a 25 year membership for more than $ 10000 and promise lower rates. We did this and found it to be a very unpleasant experience. We went running along the beach and were threatened with machetes. The Sirenis security didn't do anything about it nor let us call the tourist police. They seem to have swept it under the rug. There are two yellow signs marking the hotel limits on each respective side of the beach. That's where you can be safe. Tours: We booked the Santo Domingo tour with Luna Tours and LOVED it. We do NOT recommend the Catamaran Snorkeling tour unless you want to party and not snorkel. There is also a public bus outside the resort to Higuey and we were told by other travelers that it was worth the trip, safe and cheap.

Room Tip: Building K or L are right by the beach and quiet. Avoid buildings close to the lobby, discoteca or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 11an10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,674 - 2,680 of 8,824 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

it is my 2nd time to the Sirenis we actually became members last this year was even better than last year. the rooms were clean the hospitality was incredible, the entertainment was good food could have been a little better but overall good Polaco and Salcerim at the Bar were great very Polite and Friendly also Antonio De La Playa was incredible on the beach always taking care of us (12 People ) good job Antonio hope to see you next year also Jose the manager was very helpful throughout our trip
See You Soon

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gcoutinho123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our Stay at the Sirenis Cocotal Hotel

General

We travelled with First Choice/Thompson as we have done for the past 7 Years. We upgraded to Premium and also private Taxis transfer (Fantastic Upgrade). The flight out was long (10.5 Hours… head winds)but good. However, having Families with very young children on this type of service (Premium) can be detrimental to the reasoning why most have upgraded for.. this however, unfortunately, is unavoidable as everyone can book premium! It did affect our enjoyment of this service, too and from Dominican :-(…. It’s all about respecting other people and the environment you are all sharing for that period of time. The flight back was nice and short (7.5 hours .. Tail wind), first flight into Gatwick on the wednesdat morning… 30 Mins total clear time… NICE!
Taxi too/from Hotel
Great service…. No waiting direct to hotel. Peace of mind and no hassle… great service!

The travelling to Ultro Alvero was long… but I must say worth the distance to then be at only one of three other hotels in 15 Miles of beach…. Stunning… absolutely stunning… I will explain more in the beach section.
Hotel
The Sirenis complex is split into 2 halves, Cocotal one side and the Tropical suites the other. We had upgraded to a suite so we were allocated a room in the tropical Suites area. The room was adequate, nothing special… but adequate. There were a few issues, mosquito’s and the Shower/Bath did not work…. This was quickly sorted. We were travelling as a family of three Mum, Dad and daughter (15). The suite was 2 x double beds… not an real issue as they had provided 4 x bed sleeping spaces. The two double beds were side by side… so privacy would have been … NONE! I went to reception and without hesitation they offered to put a single bed in the suites living area away from the double beds… this was fantastic… they did this promptly and all was now fine and dandy!
Hotel Grounds
Spotless… the ground staff were fantastic cutting and pruning the shrubs and coconut trees… cutting the coconuts and offering them to the residents. The Orchid display in the bar and reception areas is also stunning. There is a resident peacock with his 2 x hen’s that wander freely in the grounds… again stunning performances of his tail fanning!
Pool
Nice… but the will need to keep the maintenance going …. The complex is getting old. The pool Bars/swim-ups are staffed by great people, smiling most of the time!
Beach
The hotel area of the beach is good and the sea, immediately in front, is stunning. This beach afforded the best, off beach, snorkelling I have ever had. Large areas of paddling sand interspersed with coral reef within 5 yards of the shore… FANTASTIC! Further afield from the managed and policed area of the Hotel beach is, without doubt the best beaches I have ever had the pleasure to walk upon. Due to there being only 3 hotels in this area (They themselves being a considerable distance apart) the beaches are totally natural and unspoilt…. Everyday we walked out onto the beach, turn either left or right and was able to walk for 45 minutes in any direction, without seeing more than a dozen people. There have been reports of muggings ect… we saw a police motor cycle patrolling the beaches most of the time… even the Dominican people we meet were all really friendly… once told you did not want to buy… they left you alone..
Food
All inclusive buffet, is was it is!…. It’s a buffet! So many times when you read criticism’s regarding buffets… they all start with the food was luke warm… Yes it will be… its cooked … but it will be luke warm. At the sirenis the buffets were extensive… but became monotonous at about the 10 Day point… nothing can change that… they are what they are!
The Restaurants were OK, the Steak House and Japanese being my favourite. You can only use 2 per week.
Staff
I found all the staff friendly and totally willing to help in any way they can…. I am an avid believer of tipping and we budget always for this when calculating our holiday cost’s. TIP: You do not have to tip… however, trust me, if you do here and there you become known and your holiday becomes far better… they acknowledge it and then look after you.
Not so nice
The Hotel company is trying to mix normal holidaymakers with a ‘Premium travellers service’. The premium Travellers pay for an added experience and get better accommodation, lounge , pool and staff service. However, this is then offered and delivered in the none exclusive areas… causing conflict with the normal travellers.. almost to an extent that functions were arranged in the public areas.. taking over the areas, excluding the public and rubbing their noses into what they were missing… (Marketing takes all forms!). The other thing which all have to suffer is… this .. Premium experience is then pushed onto those non-premium travers arriving at the complex… you will be targeted and then asked to attend a meeting (Takes the same shape as a Timeshare sales pitch) at the meeting you will be asked to consider upgrading and becoming a premium member… we attended and was underwhelmed by the sales pitch and the media they were using to sell the product (2 or 3 years out of date, no covers, pages missing etc…). So Be aware!

Summary
This is NOT a 5 Star Hotel… so do not expect it.
3.5 – 4 star yes!

Beaches … SUPERB!

This was a value for money holiday and I have no regrets for going there… would I return to this Hotel.. No… I have been so will now go elsewhere.

Room Tip: The better rooms are on the Tropical Suites area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

A group of us just returned from the Sirenis Cocotal, and it was like we never left , it had been 2yrs since our first trip and we were remembered. In the dining room from Ana at the breakfast buffet, our table always ready , even juice and coffee waiting. to Pedro at the supper sitting. the same always ready for us . the atmosphere here is the best . the lobby is the center of this hotel. always bustling with people ,in the evenings live band playing, dancing . just fun and great way to meet new people. the staff amazing , the waitresses always nearby. Dulce Maria was the sweetest , always smiling and looking after everyone. the bartenders all around were great. from Sergio at the upper Lobby bar to Mel, Giovanny , Jaun Carlos. Julio.. so many to remember . but all great. this hotel is very big on customer service.. yes i heard people complaining but I personally had no problems with anything i needed.,i didnt have to ask for much because i had no issues, my bed was comfortable. for those who didnt have the newer mattresses foam toppers were available,
The food was good, might not be exactly what you are used to but good, we never went hungry . the Japanese is very good, the steakhouse is also very good. i recommend both. i heard mixed on the other al a cartes. the pool is great , i seen people going with towels at 3:30am saving the beds , we usually managed to get a few beds, depended on the day , the animation team has changed , they are on the beach then around the pool after 3, for games and compitions, the team works hard , PingPong, Alvin, Blackberry, Tony Montana, Banana.. great bunch. I could go on for pages about how much i like this place .but it is something you will have to decide for yourself, but i have send many friends here and none have been disappointed . I cant wait to return .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maritimeghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocotalbeach, In House Manager at Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Hello maritimeghost,
Thank you for taking your time to write the review where I can see that you met part of our staff and like you said made your time like at home.
Please take my address and do not hesitate to contact me before your next visit to have the pleasure to meet you in person.
Joaquín Mateo
In House Manager
Email: assistdir.dom@sirenishotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The beach and ocean view are absolutely beautiful...our room was meh. The beds are terrible. The food is ok, nothing special. The staff was very friendly and helpful, until you check out then they could care less about your or your family. It's all good when they are getting your money, but when you check out and need assistance, then they could care less!

They also like to get their employees to push a resort tour. This tour you will receive a $50 gift certificate if you finish the tour...what they dont tell you its a sales pitch for some ungodly expensive vacation package. This was a waste of my time and my families time. We like most families go on vacation so that we can get away from the everyday crap that we experience on a daily basis. Alberto was the guy in charge pressing the package on us...he is the type that wont take NO or a the hint that we wanted nothing to do with it. Actually had to get a bit crappy with him so that he would relent...not sure why he is even working at the resort...since his customer service skills absolutely suck!

They will tell you that its safe to brush your teeth with the water...do not believe them! Use bottled water. The entertainment staff is a bit dull...there were a few members that actually looked like they wanted to be there, but in general it looked like bored high school kids putting on a show.

The gym...if that's what the call it was a joke. Most of the equipment was not in working order. The treadmilll was rusted and bowed in the middle...felt like running in a sewer tunnel.

My family and I loved the view...and that was pretty much it. We would visit again, but just not the Sirenis resort. Their staff needs a overhaul on how to not press the vacation purchase plan, the front desk needs to learn that customer service just doesnt stop once the guest checks out...and for the love of all invest into some decent beds that dont feel like street pavement!

Room Tip: Not sure, since most of the people we talked too had the same craptastic type of bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

It was our fourth trip to Sirenis, this year we went with our dauther, son in low and two grandkids ( 4 month and 2 years old). And again it was good value for price that we paid, like usuall we stayed for 2 weeks. Good food, exellent service in buffet, its very important when you with two small kids. Every time when we showed up in buffet our table was set up with special chair for bigger granchild and service was outstanding, especially I woud like to mention Anna - always smiling and ready to help. Excellent service in all bars, you never wait long for service even some times there is really busy. Guys and girls in all bars are very professional.
Animation team is doing great job, but looks like hotel try to safe money on some small things. I like to play volleyball and other years we never had problems to get good ball to play, but this year they have only one old, egghaped, torn ball to offer for play.
I would say that rooms cleanliness is not impressive and hotel has problems with maintenance. When we moved in our room in bathroom only one bulb from three was OK, after they replaced one but third anyway no functiona. Airconditioner in my dauther's room did not work properly, repair guys came several times to fix it and always said its OK and, I think, only because my dauther speaks good spanish, she managed finally make them to replace motor. But anyway we had good vocation and next year going to Sirenis again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TorontoPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocotalbeach, In House Manager at Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Hello TorontoPit,
Thank you very much for your comment and mentions to our staff.
I will also take your points as a constructive critic in order to fix them and improve the service that we give to our customers.
As you are thinking to come back, I invite you to write me at assistdir.dom@sirenishotels.com as soon as you know your new dates, to welcome you and at the same time make sure everything goes smoothly to you and your family.
Joaquín Mateo
In House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The resort has beautiful beaches that were clean. The rooms were only ok. The décor was outdated and we had to have them replace a pillow because it smelled like BO and was really gross. The worst part of the resort was the food. After going to two of the restaurants we decided to just eat at the buffet so we knew what we were getting. The Mexican restaurant caused both myself and my friend to throw up afterwards, and the Italian was pretty pathetic. The buffet wasn’t fabulous, but we could choose the items and see what we were getting. The employees at the restaurant were very nice, it was simple the quality for the resort and food. My advice is to go somewhere else. It wasn’t worth the money that we spent on it.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank kaitlinmc206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
27.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
977 reviews
36.0 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
25.8 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#85 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,419 reviews
10.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,238 reviews
12.6 mi away
Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames

Address: Playas Uvero Alto | Macao Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#63 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#67 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#67 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $146 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames 3.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino And Spa
Sirenis Resort Punta Cana
Sirenis Cocotal Punta Cana
Hotel Sirenis Cocotal Beach
Sirenis Cocotal Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing