We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had better times”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames
Ranked #73 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We got to the resort and checked in and got to room and found safe was broke. I took four hours to get it taken care of for first day. Ok, next day sick from spoiled food and then running to bathroom for the rest of week wih my husband. Oh yea, rooms are clean but very run down and outdated. Ok, now the good - Workers are very attentive to all your needs and for the most part , the food was good. We would not go back because we have traveled thru out the carribean and never have had these types of digestive issues. Which it turned out to be common here after talking to other customers here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank memabake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,765)
There are newer reviews for Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,927 - 2,933 of 8,765 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

April 4th to April 18th, 2012 - Spent 2 weeks here and after a few days we were depressed. There were 4 of us...it took 1 hour to get to resort...it is not in Punta Cana as they say...it is even further away from Macao...rooms weren't ready and had to wait an hour or so...and the resort was highly over crowded! Beach and pool were far away from our room...beach was the worst we have ever encountered...tons of yucky sludge and seaweed!! We were only in the ocean 2 times because it was very dangerous...very windy and huge waves with a very obvious and dangerous undertow, and you only walked out about 5 or 6 feet and it dropped off to very deep water...very murky and not clear at all...we all love the ocean, but this beach was highly disappointing! If you want a shady spot on the beach, you will have to go around 4 or 5 am to reserve a spot with your beach towels, (that's if you can find one already) and hope that someone doesn't steal your towels and your spot! (under those little hut pilapas) So the beach for us was out!! Didn't appreciate having sand flying in our faces because of the wind! We spent most of our daytime water activities in the pool...the quieter side because the other one was very busy, noisy and rowdy! The El Rancho restaurant by the pool during the day had amazing food for your lunch...no disappointment there...the lady at the swim up bar (Challas) was absolutely amazing! She made great drinks and was always happy and singing!
As for the room, we killed 2 gigantic cockroaches, and had them in to fix the fridge a couple of times and still not working...always a puddle of water on the bottom and drinks were barely cool... the beds were horrible...very hard and hurt to sleep on them! One of the beds, the leg broke and it took 3 days for them to finally fix it...(the beds were very, very old and dilapatated) when they fixed it, it had a huge dip in the center and you couldn't sleep on it without rolling into the middle...took till last Saturday night to exchange it, and so had a total of 4 half decent sleeps out of 2 weeks...very slow and terrible service for literally ANYTHING!! Took 3 days to get 2 blankets after telling about 4 people, including the maid, reception, guest services and concierge! I had to get upset with the reception and ask them why it was so hard to get things done??? That's when the bed was finally exchanged!
Also, the language barrier was awful...got very stressed trying to ask for certain things and nobody uderstood English very well...I don't mean everyone...but in general, if you didn't speak French or Spanish....forget it! We all got very frustrated with the lack of communication...we had to use our hands to describe things and still had a hard time...I have to say that Concierge was very good...especially Juan Perez and Joselin who helped us very much!
The entertainment was enjoyable and very good, the food in general was very good....but if you want certain meats (like the roast turkey or roast pork or fish) with a server standing behind them serving you, you will need to ask about 3 times if you want something more than just a little piece, because they are very reluctant to give you more than what they want to, and their facial expressions will let you know how they feel about it....we ALL experienced this, ALL of the time!!
But there was plenty of selections of food and was mostly good! (Buffet that is) The a la cartes were good...but good luck trying to reserve a dinner booking for them. We weren't able to have all we should have! The grounds were beautiful and very clean, resort was big and fully booked at times....
Anyway, needless to say, this was our first experience in the Dominican, and will be our last! This was anything but a pleasant experience!!

Room Tip: Best room you will get is with Sirenis Premium Travellers which you have to have the Membership!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sugarpink2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I travelled with my daughter and her family with 2 children and this resort was awesome for our needs. Our rooms were right next to each other and on the ground floor in I Section with the balconies facing the pool and one of the a la carte restaurants/ snack bar with lovely landscaped lawns and trees, flowers in between....we could also see the ocean.....there was a bit of a walk to the main restaurants, but the landscaping and walkways are lovely--just a few minutes. None of the villas were over 3 stories and there were elevators for the upper floors. There were lots of activities for the kids and a great kid's club with a half hour set aside each evening just for the kids in the theatre area. I had never experienced a large resort before and I thoroughly enjoyed it...there were no waiting for meals or crowds anywhere as the pools were spread out and the white beaches very clean and you could walk a long way if you wanted. the food was good and there was a great selection....we enjoyed the festival excursion of only a few hours.....we swam with nurse or reef sharks, petted the stingrays and fed bananas to the colourful fish near a reef....the waterpark was quite expensive....but my daughter/hubby had breakfast with the time share people....who weren't pushy at all and received a voucher for my son in law and grandson for the waterpark and several other coupons, some of which we used at the hotel shops...the extensive grounds are also home to several peacocks and lots of lizards....the animation staff had evening shows at the huge outside theatre and there is a disco after that....this resort also has a spa and casino, which we did not use and vendors come 2x a week to sell their wares on the main walkway....they can be a bit pushy, but we just were firm if we werent interested and there prices are very negotiable--we were happy with our purchases and they gave the kids lots of necklaces free. The staff and vendors just loved the children and my daughter was very surprised at first...when they would pick the toddler up and walk around with her....not used to that at home.....we had no problems with our rooms....very clean and lots of bottled water left in fridge....as well as soft drinks...air conditioning worked well and the only thing I would have liked were screen doors as the mosquitoes were out at night and it would have been nice to open the door to the breeze.....we had nice weather except one day of torrential rain....I had read a lot before I went from other reviewers and found this very helpful....please feel free to email me if you need any info?

Room Tip: I felt that ground floor near the pool area was the best......we really lucked out....Section I....b...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Den560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed at the Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort from April 1st thru the 8th 2012. Overall, we had a great vacation, and have nothing negative to say about the resort, the staff, the service, the food, the beach, or the pool. My only negative comment would be that where this is a fully smoking resort, this non-smoker found it very difficult to find a spot to get away from the smoke (outside of our room). A designated non-smoking area / bar would have made our trip that much more enjoyable. For that reason, I would not return to this resort.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Krissalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Went to Sirenis for a seven night stay & had a great time. Arrived mid day Friday, waited about an hour for our room to be ready. This time was spent with a couple of drinks and a walk to the pool and beach. Check in went very smooth & the staff is great. Sirenis has a large open air lobby with two bars, two very large seating areas & a pay for WiFi area. The resort is made up of two diffrent sides both are open to all the guest. Our room was made up of a large bathroom a sitting area or t.v. room, the bed room & a patio. The beds were hard but comfortable.The Grounds are beautiful every inch painstackingly groomed. There are two huge pool areas for adults with swim up bars & four smaller pools for the wee ones. The beach area is very clean & goes on for miles. On your walk there are a few privite shops that are fun to take a glance through. The ocean, what can be said, much calmer than I expected & the coral reefs are close to shore. Lots of activities to keep you busy banana boat rides, kayaking, sailing, sail boarding & snorkeling. The resort has two very large buffets & three sit down eaterys Mex, Jap, Med, & a steak house. Can not say enough about the Staff. From check in to check out top notch, even the grounds keepers that speak very little english will take time to cut up a fresh cocconut for you. A special shout out goes to Jeffery who took care of any issue we could come up with asap & checked in with us almost daily. Over all except for a rain soaked day I would rate the stay an A. P.S. shows were offerd nightly & a disco offered dancing also a spa & gym.

Room Tip: Most buildings are away from the ocean.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank fren1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I travelled to this resort the end of January 2012 with my niece and mother. The only negative thing to say was that it rained for 2 mornings!
This resort is 1 hour from the airport. We walked forever on the beach and never came upon another resort. We didn't mind this at all, but if you are looking for lots of sight seeing, most will be all day trips because of the resort's location. It was very windy most days, so the water activity centre was closed until the 2nd last day of our trip. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. Everything seemed to be in working condition and there was no construction work being done, except at the entrance to the resort where they are building a water park, which should be open next year. Very nice beach and pool area. One side of this resort is Sirenis Tropical and the other side is Sirenis Cocotal. All facilities are shared by all guests. Resort is very easy to get around.
Restaurants - There are 2 buffets which have huge selections. We tried the Steakhouse, Italian and Japanese and all were great. You can book your a la carte's throughout the resort at different concierge stations. Ate lunch most days at the grill on the beach or the 2 restaurants by the pool. Ice cream is superb!
Room - We stayed in building E, room 104, which is on the second floor. This was a renovated room and was very nice. We were 2 minutes from the buffet restaurants & lobby and 5 minutes from the pool and beach. There are 2 restaurants by the pool and a grill on the beach. The pillows were quite lumpy and small.
Spa - the spa is at the very front of the resort. There are 2 cold water hot tubs and 1 hot water hot tubs as well as a cold water pool. Didn't try any of the spa services.
Lobby - Very nice with lots of activity in late afternoon. Bar area very busy at night. Look for the peacocks that wander freely throughout the lobby.
Internet - very reasonable prices but there are only 4 computers that are available to use.
Nightly entertainment - Remember the entertainment staff work all day and then at night as well. They try their best and it was very entertaining. The show "Ideal Couple" was hilarious (audience participation required). The Friday night beach party was great as well.
Bars - Lots of bars to choose from! Bartenders very accomodating!
Overall - if you are looking for a relaxing holiday, this is the resort to go to. I would definitely go back. Email me if you have any questions you would like answered.

Room Tip: Building E, D, B and H are central to the resort.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dds123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Great staff, beautiful beach, nice pool, food was far better than last we visited the DR in '04.

We spent two weeks here and they were wonderful, glad we took the extra week as we were really just getting familiar with the resort after the first 6 days. We did have a bit of a hiccup at check-in, our travel company had booked us a 1 bedroom but were checked in to a suite on the ground level. They couldn't accommodate us so were given a standard room with a ocean view on the third floor of building 'I' which suited us just fine.(will be in touch with our agent about the screw up). The staff is exceptional, always cheerful and willing to help in any way possible. Donald and Senior Trinidad at the front desk were very professional, Sara with Tran-sat was a great resource for assisting on excursions and any other questions we had. SUPER Jacson who was our concierge, was always polite and helpful, he went out of his way to make our stay as pleasant as possible.
This is a SPANISH speaking country so therefore the majority of staff are uni lingual, I get it. There were times it was difficult to communicate but with the help of a pocket dictionary and a bit of practice we overcame any problems. I found that a little patience went a long way to making it a great trip. Be courteous to the staff and be realistic in requests and you will have a far better time. I saw too many angry travelers (they stood out from the rest of the crowd), a family in particular from Toronto whom I met on their first day there who were complaining at everything (including their own traveling companions) and just had a terrible stay.
The buffets were good, always able to find more than enough to choose from, and other restaurants had a great selection on the menus. The only complaint was the wines, especially the reds left a lot to be desired. Anyone out there know if you can buy good wine off resort somewhere nearby? Would have stocked up if I knew where to get some good Cabernet or Shiraz.
Got a massage on the beach, snorkeling was great, lots of coral to cruise, take some bread with and hand feed the fish - it is the coolest thing. The resort is pretty well alone on Uvero Alto beach, some condos nearby but no other resorts for a mile or two either side of us so this cut down on the number of venders nearby, just one cluster of shops on on side of the resort. Walk down the beach about 20 minutes to the Tropical Treasures gift store for quality items, prices are not negotiable here but excellent selection and craftsmanship.
We will be returning as soon a possible, and will be bringing family along. Can't Wait!!!

Room Tip: The resort has two sections, Tropical side on left has suites while Cocatal on right has standard ro...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeHappyNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
27.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
975 reviews
36.0 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
25.8 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#85 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,404 reviews
10.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,216 reviews
12.6 mi away
Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames

Address: Playas Uvero Alto | Macao Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#63 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#67 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#67 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $137 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames 3.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino And Spa
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Sirenis Resort Punta Cana
Sirenis Cocotal Punta Cana
Hotel Sirenis Cocotal Beach
Sirenis Cocotal Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing