We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gem of nature!”
Review of Hoyo Azul

Hoyo Azul
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.98*
and up
Hoyo Azul Cenote Tour at Scape Park from Punta Cana
Ranked #6 of 90 things to do in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Scape Park, Cap Cana. After passing an interesting trail where you will find some of the most peculiar flora and fauna in the Caribbean, you will reach this spectacular lagoon at the foot of the 65mt high cliff. These turquoise waters have a depth of 37 meters in its deepest point.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful gem of nature!”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Fresh cold water to plunge into refreshes you from a hot day. The natural beauty of Hoyo Azul was breath-taking

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,702
    507
    163
    42
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hoyo Azul”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was part of our cap cana dune buggy excursion. it was nice to see, but the line and wait time down the stairs was not good. Would I do it again or recommend it to someone, probably not.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mttblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaga
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Blue Hole Cap Cana”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Just been to the Blue Hole or Hoyo Azul again and thought I would update my review. We booked through caribbeanbeachholiday and had a fabulous condo right on the beach at Cap Cana. Once again we took a trip out to this wonderful natural phenomenon. Managed to swim there on our own which is particularly special (most people go after a Dune Buggy ride which is also awesome but its even better when you are staying there to be able to go when you want). Cap Cana has so much to offer a family holiday, this was just one of the attractions which can be organized or go independently there. Our concierge desk was able to help with so much information. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank margaretspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irkutsk, Russia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Will be back many times!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I must say that Punta Cana has not much to see by the moment. Many excursions from hotels, I agree. But... Escpecially if you travel with a kid. We found such place very well designed for independent travellers with kids. We drove from Bavaro to Cap Cana, left my ID at the entrance and entered the fantastic world of Hoyo Azul. My recommendation is to try to go there on your own and early morning, when no tours arrive on buses and no buggies reach this attraction. Another reason is the Sun. You can catch sun rays in the morning in the cave, and it disappears after 11am on November, e.g. We were the only humans this morning, then a huge buugies group arrived, we waited for 20 minutes they were able to spend there and went on swimming and enjoying this beauty. By 1100 another group of tourists on a big couch arrived and we moved to the Juanillo beach was just excellent and we spent the rest of our fantastic day there.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Vlad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome site!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was one of my favorite scene in Punta Cana. We visited as the last stop at the Scape Park Adventure Day...Absolutely beautiful!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoyo Azul also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Hoyo Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing