We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Greek”
Review of The Greek Sports Bar And Grill - CLOSED

The Greek Sports Bar And Grill
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Greek, boasts the best seafood and mediterranean cuisine in Punta Cana. Located on one of the most beautiful white sandy beaches in the world, The Greek is open 24 hours per day, 7 days per week. The Greek has an air conditioned sports lounge inside with billiards and casino, and 160 seat restaurant right on the beach, with live nightly entertainment to boot.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

***This is my second review of this establishment. My first one was taken off by TA as I apparently did not comply with the TA rules. Mia culpa... Here is my new corrected review. I tried to be as objective as possible.***

We stayed at a place next door - decided to try it out, although the place was empty most of the time. But it was steps away, so we went...
Very overpriced average food, nothing special at all. Emphasis is made on bland starches - boiled carrots and plain rice sides. Greek salad had 1 kalamata olive per person... The owner's response on my previous post was - "All you had to do is just ask [for more]".... I do not think it is acceptable. BTW - same quality olives (imported from Greece) are being sold at Pola supermarket - USD 3 per jar... Atmosphere - OK, maybe for sports bar, but not for dinner - plastic furniture and sketchy decor (and I stand by that - sketchy). A couple of local people, male and female, in very casual attire was hanging out few yard away by the music box while we were eating - making out... I do not believe they were customers - nothing on their table for whole evening...
Would skip it and look for something else.
That's my and my family view on it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Piramidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitri T, Owner at The Greek Sports Bar And Grill, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Your review was removed because of false accusations. Why not be honest? The response you got about the olives is that if you weren’t satisfied with the quantity, you could have asked for more. I strongly believe you are not being honest about the quantity. What do we have to gain by cheaping out on olives? How can that be the main focus of a restaurant review? The honesty of all your reviews should be reviewed by TA.

I can’t help it if you find Greek art sketchy. Your racial issues should remain your own and not be part of a restaurant review.

As for people making out… In the evening, The Greek does have a night life crowd. Anyone conducting themselves inappropriately would be asked to leave. We do not allow non customers to come in and “hang out”. If you’re uncomfortable with public displays of affection, I apologize. Dining by the sea may be romantic to some people.

You mentioned in the review that you initially posted that you had read previous reviews. Yet did not see the explanation I gave another patron about the plastic furniture. This is only outdoors on the beach. Any other material would corrode due to climactic conditions. We have very comfortable wood furniture in the bar area and leather sofas near the televisions for comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 88 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service, fun staff! Greek salad was the best thing , we got grilled seafood platter, was very average, lobster was bad, got sick right after. Also two people got souvlaki, very small portions. Beware of 26% taxes ! Great atmosphere, but a bit disappointed with the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank AriSHaRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitri V, Owner at The Greek Sports Bar And Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Arisharus,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on my restaurant.

Firstly, I am glad you appreciated the first rate service that we offer at The Greek.

I am, however, extremely disappointed with your other comments regarding the lobster and I am currently looking into this. ALL SEAFOOD is purchased fresh EVERY MORNING directly from the fishermen, and I find it very hard to believe that it was bad.

The fresh seafood is maintained on ice all day and we take the utmost care in preparing it.

It is more likely that the person who felt ill, may have an allergy to some shellfish, but again I will look into it more carefully. Perhaps they should have it checked out by a qualified allergy specialist.

Thankfully, I have a state of the art surveillance system at my restaurant where these types of issues can be investigated thoroughly and the truth revealed.

Thank you again for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Awesome food, Service and everything in between !!!!!!!
We think that the restaurant was the best we ever tried in the whole Dominican !

Thiago Neves
Toronto - Canada

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ThiagoNeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitri T, Owner at The Greek Sports Bar And Grill, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you for your visit and kind words. I hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I spent quite a bit of time at the Greek Sports Bar and Grill and can not say I have any complaints. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was excellent. The grecian paintings around the restaurant were very beautiful and the wait staff were phenomenal. They were funny and right there when I needed them. One of my favourite meals was the seafood platter. It was a huge amount of food and i enjoyed every bit of it. The waiters ended each meal by having a drink with me called Mamajuana, also known by the locals as "Dominican Viagra." It is a great place for groups of all sizes. I plan to make the trip from NY back to Dominican next year as well to get out of the cold and see the friends again that I have made at the Greek Sports Bar and Grill in Punta Cana.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jake P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitri V, Owner at The Greek Sports Bar And Grill, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you kindly for your review. Your business is greatly appreciated and I hope to see you in the near future again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Me and my associates went on a trip in Punta Cana we where 5 people, Let me tell you when you are from Montreal and you never went in Domican Republic you realise that the food at the resort is good but it gives you trouble if you know what im sayin... the thing is you don't feel like you are eating nomal food on the resorts... Luckily enough we where walking on the beach and BOOM we discovered «The Greek» restaurant, so we go there and right away we get greeted we haven't even sat down yet ! SERVICE 10/10, then we order food gets there wow fresh vegetables, fresh meet thick steaks, tender filet mignon my partner ordered the ``Sea Platter`` M GOD the sea in your plate everything was there lobster, langoustine, shrimps, fish, calamary and all that was very affordable FOOD 10/10 the decor is perfect with the sea about 20 feat away on the terasse you feel the ocean brease and the sound of the water while eating its just great : IF YOU GO TO PUNTA CANA YOU HAVE TO TRY THIS PLACE !!! Alexandros, i'm greek and Iknow Greek food this place was A1

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alexandre N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitri T, Owner at The Greek Sports Bar And Grill, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you for your visit and kind words. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Dimitri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greek Sports Bar And Grill also viewed

 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing